Gigaclear Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Gigaclear.

Recent Customer Ratings for Gigaclear

  • Satisfaction
    2.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.6 stars
  • Reliability
    2.3 stars

Based on 145 customer ratings since 2023-07-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Gigaclear   Read our Gigaclear buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

211 Customer Reviews over 6 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Never showed up for the install. Fed up waiting so cancelling the service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    OX14
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Connection lasted 15 days, just long enough for them to get over the cooling off period. Now 11 days without connection and I’m not convinced they will fix it anytime soon. Have asked to leave penalty free but they want the full 18 months of the contract. Having to look at getting another provider to run alongside them. They’ve expanded too fast and don’t have the engineers to support the service. I guess those at the top are just taking the money while they can. I can see them collapsing with this business model. AVOID THEM
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrendous service and the worst customer service I’ve ever known.
    Numerous emails and they do not get back to you. I paid to keep my number and it has now gone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    little easton
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Installation contractor complete cowboy left open trenches with no safety barriers for days, then they cut though our electricity cable. Fibre still sticking out of ground by our gates and we have to take them to court as they won't pay for a new electricity cable to be reinstalled.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Ordered in January 23, sales lady promised early installation and possibility of contact negotiation when initial 18 months expired.
    No one turned up on the install date and despite MANY phone calls, emails and online chats no new date offered. We have Gigaclear in the village and the access point is 5m from my house. The company communication is the worse I have encountered. I will have to cancel and go back to a "fibre to the cabinet" contract. I have been
    paying top price for no contract broadband while waiting for Gigaclear......wasting 8 months!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cb114gt
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Went to sign up , went through all the stages, got to the select an engineer date, nothing for at least 3 months now have to wait hours on hold on the phone just to cancel my account. Not happy
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrendous Customer Care – PLEASE stay away!!

    In Jan 2023 I had a call from Gigaclear to say that full fibre would be installed in my area in May/June. I said that I was interested.

    In February 2023 I contacted them and said that contract with my existing supplier does not expire until February 2024 and I would have to pay a cancellation fee to change. I proposed that they help me pay the cancellation fee and in return I would change supplier. They said that they could do better than that and give me 6 months free full fibre to trial Gigaclear and run it alongside my current broadband. If, after the trial, I was happy, then I’d change supplier. This seemed like a good deal as the trial would expire at around the same time as my current contract. Assuming Gigaclear proved to be successful in the trial I would swap. I agreed and Gigaclear sent me a contract and I was welcomed to the customer portal.

    The fibre infrastructure was completed on our street in July and a week or so after I received an email welcoming me and thanking me for the order. A separate email arrived with a link to book an installation date. Before I could use the link I received a call asking me to pick an installation date. A date was set at Friday 11 August. I was told that I needed to keep the whole day free as the installation could be any time between 09.00 and 18.00 but an engineer would call me approx.. 30 minutes before arriving at the property.

    Arrangements were put off, furniture was moved for the drilling into walls and we duly stayed home all day on 11 August. NOBODY ARRIVED, NOBODY CALLED TO APOLOGISE!!

    I emailed Gigaclear on Monday 14 August and expressed my annoyance. I received a response apologising for the unfortunate event and stating that it was unclear why the installation didn’t happen! I should enter the portal and book another date. I booked another date on 29 August.

    Once again, arrangements were put off, furniture was moved for the drilling into walls and we duly stayed home all day on 29 August. Trying to learn from the previous experience I called Gigaclear mid morning to confirm that installation was due on that day – just to make sure. Yes, everything is fine to go ahead I was told. Yes, it would happen. You guessed it...NOBODY ARRIVED, NOBODY CALLED TO APOLOGISE!!

    At the time of writing, 7 days after the last scheduled installation date, still nobody has called to explain, apologise or otherwise attempt to keep me as a customer. Really!!? Do they not have any systems that check through the scheduled installations and follow them up? This is a company that would like my business and hopefully tell others about a good experience so that their sales will expand and the company will prosper. Based on this terrible experience, and I can see from others who have reviewed Gigaclear, the company will not be around for too long and people should stay away from them.

    To say that their customer service is poor is a vast understatement. They are terrible, disrespectful and rude.

    I sent this review to Gigaclear a few days ago hoping that they might react and call me on an urgent basis. NOTHING, THEY REALLY DON'T CARE!!

    By the way, this review is a reflection on the company, not on my initial contact with the company. I'm assuming he realised what type of company he was working for and is now long gone.
    P.S. I gave 1 star for speed and reliability but never got as far as actually having an installation!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    PE6
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It was great to start with - fast, reliable and reasonably priced. But over the last 12 months the service has become awful. It keeps dropping out, and when it does connect it is showing at 5mps when we're paying for 300! Customer service is a nightmare, doesn't help, called me a liar so I'm switching to Sky now,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful from installation to customer service.
    Customer service is absolutely disgusting it's beyond stressful, complaint department never responded or resolve the matter, full of excuses, speed isn't stable and kept dropping out then, customer service advisor do not listen to anything you tell them, they cannot cancel anything correctly, nor have the ability to correctly update contact information when you given it too them hand full of times.
    The installation was absolutely appalling it definitely wasn't professional service.

    All in all by far worse company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Briavels
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    First visit for installation was back in January.Still not working 8 months later.Very poor communication throughout.Road has been dug up 3 times.Finally gave up and when back to phone line internet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bicester
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely cowboy internet provider.
    Avoid to use this company , rather to pay more and to have your connection on at all the time.
    Second time in the month the internet is down ;
    First took then 8 day to come and to realise is a error in the system that can be fixed easily.
    And now again down the internet and booked someone to come and have a look in 6 days.
    So basically 14 in the month without internet and the bill came as normal and on top of this they notified the next bill it will be increased with 2£
    Absolutely rubbish internet provider with lots of issues that brings you stress time lost and money if you relay on internet for work.
    So avoid this as much you can
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Forest of Dean
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    They have a monopoly in our area. After the first 18 months their price went up 300%. When you first pressure their sales team are super friendly and helpful, the renewal team are aggressive and generally unfriendly. As soon as they no longer hold a monopoly I'm gone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Been nothing but one seemingly continuous problem with Gigaclear from the very outset since installation only 18th July 2023. Problems include

    - actual installation under the lawn area circ only 2" - documented and photographed
    - Failure to provide a 2nd Node at the time of installation until 6 days later (more than half the house had no internet as very thick walls)
    - intermittent internet / speeds
    - 1st visit site engineer - found that installation wiring inside house incorrect by original installers
    - Notified of Gigaclear price increase WITHIN ONLY 2 WEEKS of installation
    - 16/08/23 internet down no service
    - 21/08/23 - 3 engineers attend (2 separate vehicles) - found that the fibre optic cable entering the box on the house exterior needed to be replaced as fitted incorrectly
    - 22/08/23 another outage - no Gigaclear service again

    Technicians only coming on 29th Aug I work from home so terrible situation

    Customer service department is just lip service BE WARNED this is a TERRIBLE COMPANY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Been nothing but one seemingly continuous problem with Gigaclear from the very outset since installation only 18th July 2023. Problems include

    - actual installation under the lawn area circ only 2" - documented and photographed
    - Failure to provide a 2nd Node at the time of installation until 6 days later (more than half the house had no internet as very thick walls)
    - intermittent internet / speeds
    - 1st visit site engineer - found that installation wiring inside house incorrect by original installers
    - Notified of Gigaclear price increase WITHIN ONLY 2 WEEKS of installation
    - 16/08/23 internet down no service
    - 21/08/23 - 3 engineers attend (2 separate vehicles) - found that the fibre optic cable entering the box on the house exterior needed to be replaced as fitted incorrectly
    - 22/08/23 another outage - no Gigaclear service again

    Technicians only coming on 29th Aug I work from home so terrible situation

    Customer service department is just lip service BE WARNED this is a TERRIBLE COMPANY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ascot
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The most awful experience. I have not seen any other utility company as ignorant, careless and disappointing than Gigaclear.
    Really feel bad I signed up with them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I’m surprised by the number of negative reviews.
    I switched to Gigaclear a year ago and have been pleased with the service.
    We needed new cable laying from the street to our houses on a small cul de sac and this was done quite quickly once permissions, etc were agreed.
    I have the faster 600 Mbps package and consistency get 500-620 at the main router and 400+ around the house. There have been no outages recorded. I use the service for regular home working as well as video and hifi audio streaming and gaming usage with many devices connected at once.
    Apart from the initial installation I have not needed to contact customer services, and I found the service professional and pretty sound to be honest. I’ve not had to contact them since.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid this company, they basically keep cancelling the installation date without any notice, so you basically have no idea what is going on and when it will actually be installed you could be waiting months or years, appalling service. Do not waste your time with this company just pay for a reliable provider instead
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AWFUL!! We waited 7 months for installation, when they told us it would be 6 weeks. The installation got booked on my birthday but as we were so deseeoate for WiFi as myself and my partner work from home, we cancelled our plans to be home for the engineers to put the WiFi in, but they never showed up!! And didn’t even tell us they wasn’t going to show. We phone them at 7 pm and then they noticed us when we called them!! So then becasue they just didn’t show up our installation got pushed back another month!! It was finally installed on 16th June (7 months since we purchased!!) but it’s slow, always drops out and our extender has never worked. Today our neighbour had their WiFi fitted by this awful company, they have been fitted into the same box as our WiFi, and ever since our WiFi has been down!! We’ve now been told it can’t be fixed until 3 days!! So again we both work at home and have been lefter with no WiFi. We were promised 12 months free WiFi for the 7 month delay, but the person that promised this has left and there’s no record of him saying this so we’ve been charged for the months we’ve actually had WiFi. Awful customer service, the agents have no idea how to deal with customers, no sense of urgency what so ever!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Somerset
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    After only one issue in 18 months you would think the service was good, right? Well to be honest the service , less when it went on holiday for 4 days, has been faultless. Now I came to the end of my 18 month contract and it was time to renew. Gigaclear was sold to us on the promise that if we saw an offer we wanted on their site we could change and it would be created as a new contact less the time we used. Well end of contract came and my charge was lifted from £24 to £54. Contacted and arranged the new contract after a fight and the advisor not believing the promise until I told him it was then classed as mis-selling and I could claim back my contract costs he checked and was advised that this was promised by sales people to secure the sale. The change was made but Gigaclear still tried taking £54 which my bank rejected. Needless to say Gigaclear wasted no time in cutting my service. Had to phone again and was promised it would be looked into. Was then told I would have to pay the £5x and they would credit my account with the excess. I reluctantly paid the £54 just to get back online but requested the excess back. They held onto my money until the following months charge went out then refunded me £3! A week later my connection went down again. I’m disabled and it’s my only way of being involved with outside world. On the second day I was promised a call back to advise a time and day or tech engineer to attend. No call or email. So they left me the weekend without any form of communication and my TV runs through broadband connection. They don’t conform to Offcom code of compensation because they know they are awful at customer service. Paid for from the public purse in government subsidy yet won’t conform to the automatic compensation amounts which have been proved a fair reflection for level of disruption caused.
    Please whatever you do think long and hard about signing for Gigaclear because when things are working they are great and the network is a godsend however the customer service is quite possibly the worst I’ve known in any sector. There are more excuses than you can think of and I think they work their way through them one by one. Communication is shocking in actual fact it’s non exsistant. It’s no wonder they don’t conform to Offcom rules because they would lose so much money they would be out of business by now. I’m writing to my MP as the money for installing this rural network has been paid for by government eg from you and I and as such they should be made to conform and government should impose these requirements on them. I have a14 day cooling off period for my new contract and if they don’t get their act together and make good an offer of compensation I shall be off and going to BT or Sky.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Petherton
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Experiencing speeds slower than my old FTTC connection. No customer support. Rude employees end chat sessions with you and lie. AVOID Gigaclear.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Launton
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst internet provider EVER. Internet breaks once a week on a regular basis for various reasons. I am spending £40 monthly on BT wifi because I work from home and Gigaclear is failianing regularly.

    AVOID GIGACLEAR !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A simply awful provider. Took some nine months from initial installation date to get service up and running. Their support team are clueless. We have had two total service outages this week. Their engineers don't work on Sundays so we will have been without broadband for 36hrs before they even book someone to take a look. Appalling. I wish we had stuck with dsl.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South West
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgraceful service, non existent customer service and they use a very dodgy 3rd party installation company called MACK UTILITIES LTD from Bristol who are almost criminal in their practice and rude beyond belief.

    Do not be duped by the deceptive cheap advertised prices as they will not deliver if there is anything non standard/straightforward regarding the order, and they WILL leave you hanging on a litany of broken promises for MONTHS!.

    Avoid with your life, especially if you reside in the south west of England.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blandford Forum
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor customer service and experience.
    Very very dissapointing and such a let down by Gigaclear.
    Complaints go unanswered for weeks (stated 5 day response time!).
    Installation of our fibre has remained incomplete for over 3 months now - we've delicate fibre cable coiled all over our front garden above ground awaiting the return of gigaclear to finish the installation.
    Cannot cut grass or bushes or continue building works until the installation is completed and cable protected however, according to Gigaclear customer services my systems working so no problem!

    Ive emailed and spoken to customer services on countless occasions - even instructed the revoking of direct debit mandate thats not been actioned (Gigaclear are currently debiting my account WITHOUT approval).
    Equipment supplied Nodes are faulty and will not connect to the network amd insainley difficult to set up.
    Complete dissapointment, with the competitiveness of fibreoptic suppliers choose carefully, im trying to exit my contract due to all the above after four months service to go with a reputable provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    I signed up with gigerclear over a month ago they said they had technical problems with the engineer so they promised me they were coming out on the 12th of July to fix the problem and they will phone me on the day to make sure I all is okay still no phone call still no engineer phoned up the next day. Couldn’t tell me when engineer was coming. Promise me that they’re phone me back after they talk to the engineer. Still nothing nearly 2 months now and they can’t be bothered to phone you back or help you in anyway cancelling my prescription going somewhere else absolutely crap service and full of liars strongly advise stay away from them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    We have been Gigaclear customers for a number of years. When it works, yes, it’s fast, but cross your fingers you don’t ever encounter a fault because if you do, you’ll soon wish you’d gone for a slower speed with an ISP who understands the need for rapid fault-finding and restoration of service in this day and age. To say Gigaclear are appalling at this would be an understatement - a quick search here and on other review sites will reveal plenty of horror stories.

    We are currently on our 8th day without broadband service and live in an area with poor mobile coverage. It took a few days after reporting the fault for an engineer to visit our property. He established the problem was at the cabinet which supplies our service and went off to investigate, returning 30 minutes later to tell us the cabinet didn’t exist and Gigaclear’s infrastructure plan is wrong… so he left.

    Since then we have been lied to numerous times by agents promising to call back with updates. At one point we were told the issue was with their build team and progressing, only to learn two days later that the build team knew nothing of it until that morning.

    Gigaclear do not class weekends as working days. On Tuesday 4th July it wasn’t even possible to speak on the phone with a customer service agent - lines were closed all day for training.

    Ignore the usual trash they post online about reaching out and ensuring customers are kept updated with the most accurate information at all times. As I write this (7/7/23) another deadline agreed with customer service for a progress report has been and gone.

    Short outages happen and are unfortunate, this is different. We’ve been lied to repeatedly and are nowhere nearer to finding out when our service will be restored. Our jobs are home-based and we have been unable to work for over a week. Enough is enough and we are in the process of taking our complaint beyond Gigaclear.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Kilworth, Leicestershire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up for Gigaclear in May (as soon as the network was ready) and booked install for July after a pre-booked holiday. Few days after ordering chaps from the cabling contractors dropped the fibre from the pole and attached it to the side of my house...

    ..4 days before installation - phone call from Gigaclear - cancelled no resource.

    Re-booked for the following Saturday (which would see me with no broadband for 2 days as had already cancelled my old service - more fool me)

    2 days before the new installation date, phone call from Gigaclear - cancelled, we're not doing overtime that day so cant do it.

    Lost my temper and told them to sort or order cancelled. Too late to reinstate old service and am running on 4G with poor coverage.

    Based on this experience I have no confidence of getting a service at all and can see me cancelling.

    Looks like this is very standard for this company - how have they got ANY customers!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Herefordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi All. I live in West Herefordshire. Gigaclear installed a Broadband network last year around our area and started signing up customers. I waited for a few months and then thought I would give it a try. On the appointed installation day (after an initial scoping visit), I waited and waited. NO one turned up and Gigaclear were never able to explain why. Frustrated with this I cancelled my service without ever receiving a service, hence no rating for that. After a month I saw Squirrel broadband advertised, they use the Gigaclear network. Unfortunately, this means that Gigaclear, or their contractors carry out the installation. Squirrel appear to be good and responsive but today I have waited all day for my installation and guess what, NOTHING has happened. Gigaclear are apparently unable to tell Squirrel why this is. Yes I know it is a 'First World' problem in the great scheme of things. How Gigaclear has any customers I find difficult to understand given their approach to customer service. I am unsure what to do next. Living in a rural area can be lovely but some basic services, and that includes 4G are not great.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkeley
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    when it works it's great but when it doesn't don't expect a speedy resolution as it won't happen. You'll be left chasing to be told your case has been escalated and you're now in a black hole. BEWARE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Drayton Parslow
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Service randomly stops working then starts just as.randomly sometimes a day or two days later very frequently. My wife and I both rely on the service for working from home and we are loosing so much revenue from these outages that I have had to have BT Install a service as a back up for when Gigaclear fails.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Would be nice if it has even been installed. We've had 2 dates for installation first time didn't even turn up said the engineer had cancelled by mistake,but made a fresh date for July but now they are saying that it's not even to our property how didn't they know when the engineer came , but he told us was all good but had to go overhead this company is a shambles stay away and go with swish
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ascot
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst thing is being lied to by the customer service, when they know they have an outage but they deny it like a fool taking you as an idiot.
    Day 2 without any broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ongar
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    We have the basic package and my son uses it to play his computer which works well. However if we're watching a film or sports on T.V the speed generally isn't quick enough which is really frustrating
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashdon, Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ordered back in October 2022. A wide variety of reasons later I'm still without a completed connection. Contractors are clueless and turn up when they feel like it (and frequently not when booked). No idea whether the system would work if the installation ever finishes, so I'm cancelling the order now.
    As others have noted, Gigaclear is the monopoly supplier here so I'm guessing I'm going to stick with what I have (landline, which is more than adequate).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yeovil
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They connected broadband cable and internal and external boxes in March.
    The Engineer couldn’t get a signal and said there must be a problem with the connection. He said someone would be out that day or the following day to fix it.
    Weeks later someone from gigaclear came and said he could not believe the mistakes that had been made.
    The cable had been connected to a street terminal that didn’t serve our house. It had also been attached to an electrical pole which isn’t allowed. 4 weeks later After numerals phone calls to customer services and given false promises with no results, I was forced to cancel gigaclear and stay with my current provider before they cut our broadband off.
    Now I have asked gigaclear to remove the boxes and they say they must stay attached to the property!
    If I remove them myself it will be classed as criminal damage.
    So not only have they not provided any broadband but have left me with there useless boxes.
    This company is a complete disgrace and I wish I had never had any dealings with them.
    Don’t be taken in by there flashy adverts, read the terms and conditions carefully they are cowboys!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ascot
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Utterly hopeless.
    Install booked in Dec 2022. Engineers looked at house and then went away again saying they needed different gear as the telegraph pole was too tall or something. Could have done that on Streetview without getting my hopes up. Engineer came back in March and fitted external and internal boxes. Boxes still don't work as something somewhere hasn't been plugged in or switched on.
    I have increasingly furious chats with some poor person on their chat room, and occasionally I write in and raise a complaint case, but there's very little point.
    No-one there seems to realise that they won't start getting paid until they start providing a service, so there must be a bank somewhere wondering whether they will ever see any return on their investment. I hope those bankers start getting somewhere with the pressure they're probably applying, because there's absolutely nothing the (potential) customers seem to be able to do about it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manningtree
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst service I have ever experienced. I booked an engineer on the 14th April. No show and no communication. Re-booked for today. No show. When I chatted online I was told the engineer was sick, but I had to contact them to know this.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Having agreed to change to gigaclear, the cable to the house was installed, then an engineer came to the house and installed what I think is a large black box on my lounge wall which I was not expecting. Then he told me there was a fault somewhere outside my house. I accepted that as he told me it would be sorted within a couple of days. That was 3weeks ago. I’ve called them twice. Was told the 1st time it would take longer than two days and I asked him to find out what was happening and inform me. I phoned again yesterday and he said he would be in touch today. I told him if he didn’t then I want the black box removing and holes in wall repaired and forget gigaclear. I have heard nothing. I shall be on the phone again tomorrow and finding out how I stand legally as they’ve now damaged my walls for nothing. Cowboy company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chepstow
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    Just out of interest has anyone got a good review for them if it did not work first time or mended an issue fast? To me they do not seem able to fix anything!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    When it works, it works really well. I host multiple web servers on my local network, as well as an FTP server to store files. There is significant freedom when it comes to opening ports e.t.c.

    The customer service has been satisfactory for me. The people are polite, although their call centre seems to be closed for large durations of time.

    In terms of the reliability, this is a different matter. My internet connection regularly cuts off and stops working for extended durations. I've had it cut out for multiple days in a row before without warning, and sometimes these outages don't even show up on their status page.

    Overall, the service is unreliable, yet speedy. It's better than what I had before, but I still have complaints about the company.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.