Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 5391 customer ratings since 2019-11-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3217 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

  • Showing page 1 of 81, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Have been with plusnet for many years and up to the last year its been great. I went on their FTTP trial and was getting 80MBPS. But in July 2019 everything went wrong - their billing system failed , and I couldn't change anything on my account - on the plus side they stopped billing me , and haven't done for over a year
Rang up to change something on my account as couldn't do it online , and was told changes could only be made if they closed my old account and opened a new one , but I would have to give up my FTTP and go back to FTTC (speed reduction from 80MBPS to 3 MBPS)
they have now had a year to try and fix , and it just seems beyond them sol leaving and moving to BT
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Brigg Plusnet  
Been with Plusnet for a couple of months and started having problems so rang them. They are no help on the phone but they arranged an engineer. The engineer came to fix the problem and made it worse! Been running speed checks and the download and upload speed is both below 1! Terrible service and everything takes forever to fix!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
I would not use this company they are just after your money no loyalty for having been a good customer for over five years ... Due to coved I had to cancel and they try and take 200 pax of me not taking account my situation and my customer record.... They don't care about anything but money
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Devon Plusnet  
A yorkshire company ripping yorkshire people off. I am a pensioner who was taking in by this company twice. They promised me i would not pay more than £23.00 per month. My last bill was £75.00. Dont go with them. Robbers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
wakefield Plusnet  
I have been a Plusnet customer for many years. I was quite happy, until September 2020, when I was invited to upgrade for less money for an 18 month contract. I have had continuous drop-outs and very low speeds for much of the last 2 months (Sep - Nov 2020). Very disappointing - I canNOT recommend Plusnet anymore.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Plusnet  
Do not use this company!!
I ordered broadband with plusnet at the start of October with the plan of having the account setup and engineer booked for the start of November, when I was planning to move house. I was told by Plusnet that this would give plenty of time to get an engineer and they would book one for the day we moved in. Myself and my partner both work from home at the moment so Internet is essential for us. It gets to a week before the end of October and I call Plusnet to confirm an engineer was booked and they assured that I would get confirmation by email. No email arrives so I call again only to be told that no engineer had been booked by Plusnet and they would do it in this call, this in now 3 weeks behind when I originally ordered my broadband and this means an engineer can't be booked for 2 weeks into November and 2 weeks after we were meant to move. Due to this we haven't been able to move house and have been staying with family instead so that we can work.

I then get an email saying Plusnet have delayed our broadband appointment because they forgot to book a survey even though I told them at the very start that a line needs to be connected. Finally I am told our service will be expedited and that we will have an engineer on the 23rd. Two days later I get an email saying the date has changed again and that the service is further delayed. I am still without Internet and the ability to work due to the constant mistakes this company make.

No point during this process have they called me to explain what has happened and instead I have had to chase them for updates. There is absolutely no customer service offered by this company. As soon as my line is finally connected I will be moving providers. Don't waste your time with them!
Plusnet  
After 1 month, I’m so happy of ending my contract with Plusnet. I’ve been never exposed to such a friendly incompetence.
October 10 I received an email stating that my landline was being taking over
October 13 I called Plusnet to tell them that was not my decision; that was someone else that was trying to take the landline.
October 20 and 21 I tried to reach them by Twitter because I was having problems with my internet speed. Plusnet did not answer
October 25 I lost my internet connection
October 26 I called Plusnet, and they told me they made a mistake and they never stopped the process of taking over the working line, basically I lost it. Plusnet told me that the way to solve it was to open a new account and close the previous one. Plusnet told me that they will fix the problem between 4 to 5 days. Supposedly I would l be reached by Plusnet team to discuss compensation. I did not receive a call nor my service back.
November the 4. After not receiving any answer from Plusnet, I called. Plusnet told me that the order was never processed. So nothing happened during those 10 days. Supposedly, I would receive the service back on the 20th of November and I would be compensated.
November the 12th. I received an email indicating that there was a problem with my order. No waay!
November the 13th.Email: My current service provider denied the request to take over the working line. But Plusnet was my service provider!!
Sunday 15 of November: Plusnet informed me they were taking the payment for an account that Plusnet closed 20 days ago.
Monday 16 of November: After a month, I’m glad to say that we ended the contract. They could not solve the problem. On 26 they told me that Plusnet will compensate me for the additional expenses but now they told me that something like that doesn’t exist.
I've been never so happy to end a contract in all my life.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
Can i just say ive never had a worst broadband service ,slow to load , not good in other rooms tv, slow to load, none of my other providers have been as rubbish as this , will never use PLUSNET again wish id never changed
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Peebles Plusnet  
Plusnet are a joke start to finish .I was being charged £30 a month for phone and broadband .The intermittent service and slow speed are a joke and bloody frustrating. I have had no router update offer either .Very frustrating while watching a movie on Netflix when it kept dipping also a waste of money I was paying for my Netflix as wasn't getting proper use of service .If I could I would give them a zero in all ratings .No connection or very slow if my partner and I or any visitors are online on our mobiles there is no signal at all This went on for months and months and when I called customer service I was offered £10 compensation but have decided instead to move on and refuse to pay my final bill .Bye bye Plusnet sort your service out .Go elsewhere people or you will regret it
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Forfar Plusnet  
Worst start ever to a broadband package. Fed up with TalkTalk & didn't want any TV package so decided to give this a go instead of sky bt etc. Was assured would have no break in coverage but as well as being told I would change over on 6th Nov it then ended up being the 10th I was left a whole day with no broadband, really unhappy as had asked about this in advance of signing up. When I rang Customer Support the girl I spoke to after a very lengthy wait was rude and patronising and highly defensive about the fact my service wasn't active, she then said she'd transfer me to speak to someone about it and I was put back into another queue, I just hung up! It finally went on at 19:30, a whole day of work lost. The installation was a nightmare, router kept going off, took ages to reset passwords, change wireless name etc, laptop & printer connected but all mobile devices wouldn't work then had to reset router more than once and do everything all over again. I tried twice to call CS and was just in an endless queue, I tried a separate number that I found for Technical Help and it had the very same menu so I think I just lost my spot in the first queue just to rejoin the same thing on another number. Finally got everything sorted without help from PN, broadband was slow at first but now seems to be stable. Hub info online has removed all the device names I set so have to redo them all again for the third time. Really not impressed but hopefully the service will be stable from hereon and I won't need to call them again any time soon.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Manchester Plusnet  
Terrible service, I’m lucky if I get 0.7 mbps on a regular basis after being promised a minimum of 2 mbps. Very, very sporadic broadband speeds which leads to frustrations daily.
If you want a cheap experience this is the company. I will be switching very soon.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sherborne Plusnet  
Terrible customer service. They have failed to communicate and failed with my switch. I am without my broadband service. It took 13 calls to get through to them on the phone, transferred 3 times giving my details repeatedly before they blamed my old supplier for the issue. They have given me no timescale despite me needing the connection to work from home. They have given me no apology. I spoke to my old supplier who say it is not their issue. Then again to Plusnet- this time I was dismissed - he told what I said wasn’t true despite it being what his colleague had told me earlier in the day (with a whole heap of patronising thrown in) I have been messed about by Plusnet. They had not even sent out a router. If you choose them be very careful.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
East Sussex Plusnet  
Awful broadband. Try to complain and raise a speed fault and they tell you there is a problem on the line which they will fix. Nothing changes. Speed gets worse. At the worst time it would take 3 minutes to load the youtube homepage (not even a video!!)
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Newcastle upon Tyne Plusnet  
Absolutely terrible customer service. Took a month of corresponding to get broadband. Hours and hours on the phone waiting. Engineer not turning up and then after all the hassle got an email saying I was to be fined for an engineer appointment. Broadband once in is fine but if there is any problems it is a pain to contact them to sort out competently. Not a company to go for if you're a busy person.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Worcestershire Plusnet  
A truly dreadful company. My mother in law died in July.
She had set this up a few years back and has been paying through the nose for a phoneline only (she had no computer).
After a long long wait we spoke to Plusnet who refused to close the account without speaking to her! We sent a copy of the death certificate by post (they are apparently very old fashioned and have never heard of emails) but they have ignored that and keep sending more and more bills.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton Plusnet  
I've been on and off with Plusnet Broadband for 10 years albeit with copper broadband as Fiber not available in my area. Since lockdown, homeschooling and working from home kicked in this service had been inadequate and not fit for purpose. In April 2020 Plusnet recommended we move onto Fiber broadband as it was now available.I had been using the free unlimited data plan that vodafone kindly supplied its customers in that first month of lockdown (thank you Vodafone!) We find out in July that after trying to resolve issues with getting Fiber broadband set up that it was not actually not available and we cancelled the contract, requesting a refund for a not fit for purpose service April - July. I've spent so much time on the phone to the Customer service team, which whilst always polite have failed to process a refund and have essentially ignored my requests promising call backs that never happen. On November 6th Plusnet offer a £30 refund for a failed manager call back and still refusing to process a refund for the failure of broadband provision through lockdown period. Well done Plusnet, your customer service has really gone to pot!
Northern Ireland Plusnet  
Abandon hope all you who enter here. Do not be deceived by the cheerful north-of-england vibe. The "Customer Service" I experienced was endless waiting on telephones, unanswered messages on their help system and (kind and apologetic) people in far flung places running through scripts that they and I knew had nothing to do with the problems I was experiencing. Avoid at all costs.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cambridge Plusnet  
Rubbish company ordered broadband any anytime calls for £31.99.a month. Canceled next day as they could net even set up my account properly, still waiting for my money 4 months later. All promise to sort it out nobody does a thing. Worst provider going.
Cheste Plusnet  
Plusnet don't want their customers to get the Rewards promised by them, then you are locked in to a contract which you have to pay in full to get out of. The only good thing about this company is the advert. Do not join as the price is not worth the pain of dealith with this dishonest company, poor service, poor speeds and they avoid paying the rewards they promise by not sending you the email. I am disgusted by Plusnet.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
West Dunbartonshire Plusnet  
the fraudsters - in the contract guarantee a minimum signal speed of 50 mbps after checking the speed every day, the result was between 11 - 36mbps. I reported many times, but they did not do anything - now they blackmail me that I cannot change the supplier to another. Does this mean that you can lie in the offer and then block? They are scammers, do not sign a contract with them - extreme dishonesty, insolence and rudeness
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scotland Plusnet  
This is the worst service in history the staff are incompetent they actual don’t know themselves you ring about your service they have you doing their job like your an electrician...And still its does not work then they tell me my service is bad here why offer a service you know you cannot provide but yet my neighbours have internet with another provider and its great so stop lying plusnet your just useless they say they give you back a refund and they giving me £7 back do i sound homeless what is that are they serious when its been months of bills and most of the time theyve had me trying to fix their modem i tell them i cant keep doing this its not right i cant manage do what they want me to do to repair it and they do not care..... Do not do not use them pls people stop using them they have to go its a scam big massive scam... We have to work from home and its stressful enough lets get rid of them
Manchester Plusnet  
Scam artists. Took advantage of me when I had just left my job and was distressed about having to move back home. Forced me to move the terrible patchy internet connection with me but started a NEW 18 month contract and charged me £10/month more then the existing contract with another provider which was much better and I was so distressed/stressed about moving and they knew it so fully took advantage of me when I was down. WILL NEVER USE PLUSNET AGAIN do not recommend. AVOID AVOID AVOID they are scam artists.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Windsor Plusnet  
I joined PlusNet as they were a fair bit cheaper than BT but are still part of the group, which I thought would be useful for answering line problems. I have had an ongoing lowering of speed problem since July. At first +net were'nt listening. After at least 4 Openreach Engineer visits they say they have found faults. Their reports are passed to + Net who show me all the BT conclusions and the report there is a good adequate signal.After a week I am back to square one with the speed. I feel sorry for +Net and put the lack of skilled effort at BT's feet.I would have the same problems with whichever supplier I engaged.PlusNet bravely try to tell us that Their Fibre broadband is wonderful but until BT are made to get rid of verdigris covered wires and junction boxes underwater or up poles with covers flapping in the wind etc instead of investing Millions and millions of £ into football the suppliers have their hands tied ,badly. I'm going to stay with +Net until it's sorted.I've been paying for a landline for 50 years and the best BT can do is 6.5mbps (if that some days.). That is my experience.

Andy Waring
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bootle Station ,Cumbria Plusnet  
It's the worst ISP I've had by a mile! I'm a University lecturer and need to teach from home now. However with plusnet I cannot even turn on my camera on zoom or other platforms using for teaching! While ask them for help they just covered their back indicating the contract indicates the minimum speed guaranteed is 500kbps! Yes they did say that in the contract. Be very careful with them and avoid altogether if you can ... extremely unreliable internet provider
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh Plusnet  
What an absolute shambles of a company!
I recently placed an order to change from my current provider who have connection issues, And because of PlusNets incompetence cancelling my order and not informing me and nearly leaving me with no internet as a NHS staff member working from home. I am now forced to sign up a new 12month contract with the company i was trying to get away from. To add to matters of incompetence I cannot get a refund for my £22.99 signup fee that was promised over 12 days ago I have had to contact my bank to recover the funds. Complete waste of time!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Alaro Plusnet  
What a caring company! Having recently received a new router from them, I asked if they had a router without a blue light as it was affecting my seizures. The answer was no, but immediately they said I could get one on the open market, and would credit me with £35.00 towards it! They did not need me to return the old one. This is the sort of service you would expect from expensive providers. I thoroughly recommend them!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Wimborne Plusnet  
I've had a download speed of 4.06 and under for the past week with Plusnet's Fibre Broadband. I joined in February and have had nothing but problems with the wi-fi continually dropping. The customer services, when they don't cut you off mid-call aren't worth contacting. I ended up going through Ofcom and have now been released from my contract. I've signed up with BT for £1 more a month. Judging by the other reviews on this site, I'm not alone. However the "senior" manager from Plusnet says - well people only leave reviews when they're unhappy, so won't take any notice of people's compaints. "Do you proud"? I don't think so. It's like being on dial up again.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kent Plusnet  
Utterly disgusted with Plus Net. I have been a customer for a few months and having serious issues with the WiFi dropping out about 3 or 4 times a day.

Have lost about 4 hours on the phone trying to get the problem resolved over numerous calls and emails.

Have decided the only option I have is to leave and they want to charge me £130 and are not prepared to waiver any of the fee as they don’t guarantee WiFi connection.

I’m literally sat next to the router and it doesn’t work so I do not think this is good enough.

Don’t have a problem that they can’t resolve the issue, just have a problem they won’t let me leave without massive charges! Repeatedly telling me that 99% of their customers are happy does not help. If that was true then surely letting the 1% such as me leave without penalty would not be too detrimental to their business.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton Plusnet  
really poor service - avoid at all costs!!
devizes Plusnet  
Terrible customer service! Yesterday our direct debit failed. We immediately resolved the problem however with 4 hours our Web traffic went on some redirect that made it unworkable. Could not access their Web site to make a payment. Still on hold to get through to accounts after an hour. Use someone else if you want a business service
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Saffron Walden Plusnet  
Plusnet, you will lose customers by the tens of thousands if you don't improve people's ability to contact you. It's a joke and very soon you will be too.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Swindon Plusnet  
Absolutely horrific, the slow Wi-Fi speeds along with a data plan that DOESN'T even work. Avoid this provider at all costs, I will recommend BT as it actually works and has very nice customer service. The servers can handle more than an a E-mail unlike PlusNet.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
England Plusnet  
Got to be the worst company to deal with, after signing up for a new deal, my old provider came back with a deal that was far superior and cheaper than plusnet,As i was within my 14 day cooling off period I cancelled the plusnet deal which was fine, but trying to get my initial deposit back as been a nightmare, trying to call them expect to spend 90 minutes in a queue, emails with promises that the money is being released broken promises, their adverts should be banned for for misleading, they are a shambles
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bromsgrove Plusnet  
Plusnet were fine for my first year and I renewed for another year with upgrade to faster speed of 63mbps. Since then about 2 months ago. it’s been awful drops out many times per day and the speed is only fast early am and late pm. Contacted them and they don’t care they just say daft things re my end that has zero to do with the real problem and the broadband dropping out all the time. As working from home and need a good connection will have to now pay for a virgin media line as well. As it’s almost impossible o work with the constant drop outs so will now pay 2 lots of fees just because Plusnet are a bad company and don’t care.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Brighton Plusnet  
All of your worst nightmares. Beware of switching. Broadband worked reasonably well with Sky but since switching no TV, computer, wifi in house. Plus net detected a fault on the land line. BT and therefore not our fault. How often do providers seek to blame somebody else. It was absolutely fine the day before and the month before that and the six months before that. Why did I switch - I was promised seamless transfer, slightly faster speeds and marginally cheaper service. Deep regret.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bath Plusnet  
Connected today. The broadband speed is well below the guaranteed speed but it is impossible to speak to someone and there is no chat line open. My minimum guaranteed speed is 31mbps on a 40mbps package and I am getting 20mbps. My previous provider (Vodafone) was a 35mbps package and I was getting 33mbps from day one consistently. I wish I hadn't chosen Plusnet
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Plusnet  
I was due to be connected yesterday afternoon. I stayed in as I was told if there was a problem the engineer would need to visit the house.....no one called at the house so assume the connection went ahead as planned. I still have no dial tone. I can't test if I have broadband as the router has not arrived yet. I have made numerous attempts to call customer service for an update but can't get through, their text chat is also disabled. The only line I was able to call was for cancellations. That was handy as I was able stop this madness before I was locked in to a contract. I don't know what award they have been given, but I can think of a few...none of them pleasant. AVOID this supplier.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
South Wales Plusnet  
The actual reliability/speed of the service has been OK, the cheap router they send out is nowhere near as good as you'd get from EE or BT broadband, so you need to factor in buying your own router if you want reliable wifi. The main issue with Plusnet is the horrendous customer service. 'We'll do you proud' - no you won't!!

They send out e-mails, yet have 'no records of this on our files'. They then make it almost impossible to send it to them to prove that they sent it as they don't have any contact e-mail addresses. They then claim that you have to send them a screenshot of the e-mail as if you sent them the e-mail you could type whatever you want in it. You really couldn't make this up! All in all I would seriously avoid using plusnet - it's not worth it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Edinburgh Plusnet  
I'm disappointed with plusnet. My mum has been a customer for 11 years and still has her original router. She is on a very basic plan, she uses less than 10 gb a month data. The old router is unreliable and slow. I have asked for a new router and the answer is 'NO'. She is 88 years old , completely deaf and relies on email to communicate with everyone. The best suggestion from customer support was you can probably get a router from somewhere else.
sale Plusnet  
Was supposed to be switched to PlusNet on 6th October. Received an email at 05:30 telling me the phone service was ready to go. No dial tome on the phone service so no phone. Tried to contact them a number of times throughout the day and only got through after waiting for over 50 minutes on hold. Used over 200 minutes of my monthly call allowance trying to contact them. Left questions to be answered only for them to be placed on hold until 07:00 7th October. Come 7th October no response. Posted another question and still no response. I still have no broadband a day after was supposed to be switched. Have had to go into the office because I can't work from home. Have tried to contact them again today but cannot sit at work on hold for almost an hour. My wife did manage to get through but they refused to deal with her as she is not the account holder.
The service is appalling and not fit to be called a service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Caverswall Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 3217 reviews, showing page 1 of 81, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk