Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3.1 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 2672 customer ratings since 2021-01-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,492 Customer Reviews over 88 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Alyth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    3 years with Plusnet with 5mbps,so not movies or music and for £32/month only:) I was complained with not successful but they arranged appoitment with,,engineer,, but hi was to busy and did not comes.
    I sent email that want to cancel contract because I am strongly not enjoy speed and customer service since 16.06.2014 with last payment.
    After 2 weeks Plusnet sent me outstanding fees but I had Direct Debit so all payments had been automatically.
    I did not paid because they do not want to explain me why and for what I have outstanding fees.....and for last2 months not answers.I had a couple of good enough reasons for cancelling but they do not want to understand me.
    Plusnet blocked my access to my account and doN't want to give MAC code which is required for the next provider...but this is not all. Plusnet is still connected with my line and do not want disconnect....

    So slowest broadband,poorest and most rude service ever
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They used to be great, renewed my contract when I moved house, now I pay more, get less speed and the connection drops around 3 or 4 times an hour. It will be down from anywhere between 5 mins to half an hour. The tech support ends at "turn it off and on again". The routers they give you are useless (5m range) so expect to buy your own one if you actually want to use wifi
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I moved to plusnet because of the mantra about customer service and quality etc... all I can say is, what a load of pants. I have found them to be incompetent and ineffective, and incredibly difficult to get ahold of. ide rather they didn't make such a big deal about there "UK" based call centres and just enough staff to actually answer the phone (or webchat!)
    I have had multiple problems with my connection which has meant that my connection speed has been a 1/4er of what it should have ben for nearly 6 months whilst they attempted to fix it. when I asked for compensation for my time and hassle in discussing with them I got told "they don't do compensation". when I asked to speak to a complaints team they said they didn't have one!
    I would 100% not recommend plusnet to anyone. really poor experience all round.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Poole
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I was a new customer to plusnet, but wish I wasn't! I placed an order for fibre broadband online on the 25th July. choosing for the installation to occur on the 6th August. After waiting for 5 hours I called Plusnet, who explained that my order hadn't been processed and I would need to wait for a further 24 hours before they could even confirm my account details and order. I am now having to wait nearly 1 month for broadband installation, and they can't do anything to help... I guess you get what you pay for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bromsgrove
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    Moved from BT to Plusnet 6 months ago and have been very disappointed with the poor service. When it works the speed is good but it is extremely unreliable and constantly drops out and makes using it for anything impossible, including sending this review (crashed the 1st time I pressed submit). Avoid!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Anglesey
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Having switched to plusnet from Sky I wish I stuck with my standard broadband!

    Was set up eventually after a 2 week delay leaving us without any internet or mobile coverage - as we rely on a booster box for mobile signal - and to put it bluntly the wireless is possibly the slowest I've ever encountered and considering it's supposed to be fibre broadband, I can get higher speed through 3G in most places.

    If you ever want to phone them, you'll get stuck with someone who doesn't care about the issue and will instead hide behind terms and conditions and tell you that you have broken your router by putting it near other electronic devices and then have the cheek to charge for a replacement.

    Honestly, if you want broadband STEER CLEAR, I'm currently waiting for a cancellation cost (been waiting 3 weeks) just so I can pay to leave.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stroud, Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Switching from BT who's service was 54mb/s to Plusnet who promised to deliver the same but turned out to be 21mb/s at best. Asked to leave after a month because of the poor broadband speed and worse reliability. Was told I couldn't leave without paying nearly £100 as an exit fee. Sent a Breach of Contract Letter, uploaded via their website and signed up for BT. Within 24 hours Plusnet were on the phone agreeing that they'd breached their contract and agreed that I should be able to leave without financial penalty. I'd never go back to Plusnet, BT might be more expensive but at least they deliver the speeds they promise when you sign up. Good honest Broadband? Bad and dishonest in my experience!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    a month and a half with no internet, was obviously not their fault and even trying to cancel my account was a hassle. Oh I forgot to mention they perhaps may give you a 2-5 pound refund if you're lucky.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rochdale
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Utterly awful!! WOULDN'TRECOMMEND TO ANYONE. I signed up with these lot told me it would take up to 2 weeks, 15 days later they tell me it actually takes up to 3 weeks to get connected so because of that and much more I cancelled with them and they told I would take 3-5 working days to get my refund . 5 days later no refund so I contacted just to get told some FALSE INFORMATION that it takes 5-10 working another few days later no refund so I decided to call them again and here comes the SHOCKER they can't refund me as they don't have my bank details BECAUSE (which had I not called I would not have known) ALL MY DETAILS HAVE BEEN DELETED from their system yet they still ask me for "MY DETAILS" so they can speak with me ( strange) now the only way to get my money is through cheque and that takes 20 days if not more as They are NOTORIUS LIARS!!! lies after lies it took them under 2 mins to take my money but a whole eterny to give it back and bear in mind I'm not the only who is experiencing or experienced their is a whole lot complaints about ex customers NOT GETTING THEIR REFUND BACK just cheque it out on the plusnet cancellation refund community website..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Teesside
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Appalling experience with plusnet. Connection drops out repeatedly. My order has been messed up again and again, paying over the odds. Only moved to them because BT was so bad, and these are worse. When on the phone the people sound helpful then they don't do what they promise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DON'T TOUCH WITH BARGE-POLE

    Why did I do it? Moved from BT, BB running at 6 mbs down. PROMISED by plusnet no change to speed. at connection <1mbs. They also changed tel number without being asked.

    BT own plusnet - I wonder if they have decided to run plusnet to make themselves seem good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rugby
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst broadband ever!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dunmow
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for almost a year. Customer service is really good but internet is very slow. Modem looks cheap and connection fluctuates. Not happy with price rise. Switching internet providers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Inverkeithing
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The service is unreliable. Intermittent connection for broadband. Website says 24/7 customer services. The reality is the chat service says currently unavailable and the phone support says 30 minutes wait.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gillingham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible,we had ordinary broadband before and occasionally it dropped signal so we went too fibre through plusnet, BIGGEST MISTAKE OF OUR LIVES. We was with new call Telecom before plusnet and thought they "WOULD DO US PROUD" absolutely rubbish, poor customer service,poor broadband,poor telephone signal,they even forced us too buy new telephones be sure they said they were causing the problem with everything. £90 later still the same. I regret signing too plusnet, can't wait for contract to end. Garbage,the whole package,just garbage.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derby
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The broadband speed is variable but generally okay. However it crashes repeatedly and despite numerous attempts to sort the problem persists. Getting hold of @Customer Services' at Plusnet is a joke. They refer you to online chat (which no longer works), otherwise set aside a couple of hours to get to speak to someone. It took them three weeks to advance my last fault complaint.
    There must be better suppliers in the market!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackburn
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just signed up with plus net and extremely disappointed with service. speed is next to none. customer service is poor, taking 15-20 min to answer and then not understanding problem and not offering solution. i have wasted all my day chasing things up and now they are asking me to do certain tricks with router. Annoyingly , they also asked me to connect directly to router if i want to get better speed. In this day and age, who would sit next to router ( which is wireless for a reason) to get proper speed!
    please avoid plus net at all cost.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wembley Greater London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    On joining prices very good, customer service excellent, but after two years of loyalty, prices three-fold, customer service fair, and recent speed a tenth of those promised.
    Still better than BT!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Customer service so so so slow, painful. Helpful when you actually get through. Not always skilled to solve the problem so sometimes you have to ring again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belper
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    DO NOT touch them with a barge pole ! You will be wittling spoons forever.
    From initial contact, received the router in two days. After that all downhill, never actually used their broadband and went back to my reliable TalkTalk service where issues get resolved straight away and don't get logged and never answered for days on end !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ipswich
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst of all Broadband providers I had to deal with. Broadband speed is below recommend OFCOM speed guarantee. Even when writing this review I am using my mobile data. The customer service is for themselves I gave up on calling them , the one thing I did not give up on is to review there services so less of us end up with lengthy contract and horrendous contract the better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ayrshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been without phone for at least two weeks. The broadband drops frequently and when I reported this to Plusnet, the best response I got was to phone them! It's not the first time my phone has been out of order for at least two weeks at a time, it's usually at fault in the cabling, but it's still up to Plusnet to get it dealt with. I have been a customer of Plusnet for many years and this is the first time I've felt strongly about their service to want to leave.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Have been a victim of PlusNet customer "service". Waiting on the phone for up to 40 minutes before being disconnected on more than one occasion. Truly terrible customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have been with Plusnet for 6 years now and have just moved house and not taken them with me. Every time I need to call them, I am told its at least 15 minute wait. I queried this on a number of occasions and the response was "There is a new call centre being organised that will help". I think they need about 30 calls centres as its a right pain to get through to them when you need help. eBay are quicker to get through to and that's saying something. I have absolutely no idea how they manage to rate highly on customer services but getting through to them has to be a zero star to 1 star. Over the years my fibre speed has degraded as well. Connection seems stable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    No stars from me. 1 month in and already regretting joining plus net should have read the reviews. Can't wait till 11 months is over so I can dump this rubbish company. My advice stay CLEAR .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would not recommend - the router’s power cable stopped working suddenly on DAY 1!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not believe the marketing hype, they have rubbish customer service and mid term price rises.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Arnold
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Noooooooo don't do it. This company is useless. We got connected 11 days ago. I'm looking for a way out already . Super slow. Terrible customer service. It's all lies and deception. The cooling of period is from the day you sign not the day of Installation they told me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fleetwood
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor customer service skills it’s took 4 days if
    Me chasing them for money they took out of my account which wasn’t due to get
    Them to put it back in the excuses they come up with and the attitude in the phone was crap!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I started with plusnet phone and internet five years ago and was very impressed with the fast responses to phone enquiries to helpline, can do attitude and prices...sadly things have changed A LOT!
    I just moved house and have had to deal with the helplines again and it is just appalling I have been trying desperately to get the new phone line and internet installed, one call after another waiting 30 mins to 50 mins in a que with the music driving me nuts only to get cut off or to be transfered around and around because they do not seem able to understand what is wrong and who can sort it all out.
    On three occasions now I have been promised that my internet will go live on a certain day only to find it is not even ordered let alone likely to go live, this is causing chaos for my family, business and after just having moved home it is a really bad time to be without interenet generally.
    At this time I have again been promised that my internet will go live next in a weeks time...a whole extra week away! when I was first told it could begin just 24 hours from order. The original order went in two weeks ago!
    I have no confidence what so ever that the deal discussed and agreed for my contract will be forthcoming because this on off on off stuff may well mean that 'deal' has vanished as when I mention this they get very vague and sound confused!!
    I actually feel very sorry for the people working there they must spend their days listening to people going nuts in frustration.
    Plusnet what on earth went wrong !!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Broxburn
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    customer care is nonsense. have to wait for 45 min to get hold of anything and then they will say to talk to another department so more waiting.. have fun with plusnet as a customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Pricey after the initial contract and terrible customer service.

    Originally I had Broadband and Phone for £19.99 a month. Over time the cost has crept up now to over £33 per month for the same product! Plusnet hide the prices rises by separating out the products after your initial contract - BB - £9.99 per month, Phone Features (free calls) - £7.00 per month, then Line Rental Saver - £16.45 per month - Total £33.44 from an initial £19.99 for the same product.

    Also, customer service sucks. They're polite but when it comes down to eg a router issue, after 1 year, the router is "out of Warranty" meaning you have to buy a new one if it goes wrong. No free replacement. Have to ask just what am I paying £33 per month for? I can pay for a service I can't use because the provided equipment has gone wrong?

    Also had a lot of reliability issues albeit it's been good for a while now.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst mobile and broadband service I have encountered in last 10 years! Staff are incompetent and in cases actually lie! Made manager listen to call and confirmed this despite initially trying to excuse it. Routers are substandard and was offered £60 to buy my own after the 3rd replacement!!! Avoid this company at all costs
  • Reviewer
    Location
    otford sevenoaks
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you have the time to call their help line you could find yourself in a queue up to 1 hour before you can even speak to someone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    I started to join Plusnet on the 22/10/18 on the 5/11/18 they took £23.99 i left it to a couple of weeks but nothing was happening I emailed and received no reply I posted 2 messages and was meant to get a reply within 14 hours, you guessed it no reply I rang at least a dozen times and was in a queue for 1 hour. In the end I rang my current provider and was told Plusnet had not contacted them to say I was leaving, this was now 25/11/18 finally on the 26/11/18 I contacted my bank and they refunded my money. Beware Plusnet customer service is very very poor so glad I didn't go with them in the end.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shotts
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    i am happy with plusnet service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    essex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    crap!! had no phone for weeks couldnt call or email, want 50 pound to leave
    never again they need to change the advert as a load of tosh
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Although our broadband speed could be higher we still like the reliability and customer service of Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    morley
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid plusnet at all costs there fibre is useless. Down load speed should be 38mb but lucky if get 24mb on a good day
  • Reviewer
    Location
    herts
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    had no phone line for weeks i had a mild heart attack and couldnt use the phone for an ambulance internet slow wifi rubbish luckily a carer came around and made the phone call stopped the d debits going to vodaphone on the 29th theyll get no more from me

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.