Shell Energy Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Shell Energy.

Recent Customer Ratings for Shell Energy

  • Satisfaction
    1.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    1.9 stars
  • Speed
    1.9 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars

Based on 202 customer ratings since 2019-05-29 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Shell Energy   Read our Shell Energy buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

265 Customer Reviews for Shell Energy

  • Showing page 1 of 7, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Extremely slow and unreliable can’t leave the same as the router without it being unreliable. Would not recommend betrer of paying extra and get something better
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Shell Energy  
Avoid like the plague.
Appalling speed, wifi coverage and customer service.After 6 months of below average service wifi started dropping out. Got the usual guff about 'too many devices connected' (I didn't have) all a con to get me to sign up for 18 months superfast fibre.
I'll be changing provider ASAP.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dorset Shell Energy  
I have to restart the router at least once a day; most often it needs two restarts to connect to the internet. When it is working the speed is as good as with my previous supplier. Needless to say I will be changing when my contract ends.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northumberland Shell Energy  
This is a warning to all people considering Shell. I signed up for "fibre" in April 2020. Shell are my gas/electric suppliers. I was previously with TalkTalk (normal, non-fibre connection) and before that, PlusNet (so I know how to switch and I know how to track speed!). Immediately I saw a massive drop in speed. TalkTalk non-fibre was about 15mb in the middle of the day (I'm in London, zone 3). Comparatively, Shell "fibre" never goes above 1-2mb. Indeed, it's so bad that for large parts of the day, SpeedTest etc. simply says "no connection". Do NOT switch to Shell, they are simply simply terrible. This is nothing to do with Covid; they are simply a business that believes in over-selling and the result is that people like me are desperate to leave them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Shell Energy  
Haven’t used customer services as yet. I’ve signed up to super fast + and of this moment 44.6 Mbps down and 6.97 Mbps up so I’m well pleased with Shell so far.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Bristol Shell Energy  
Aweful, can't get out of the contract even though they can't provide the promised speeds. Customer service horrible also.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Middlesbrough Shell Energy  
I can’t comment on the actual broadband as I’ve had to cancel within my 14 day cooling off period. However as far as customer service goes, it was easy to get in touch and on both occasions when I needed to speak with someone, I spoke with Ali who is a credit to the company.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
Caerphilly Shell Energy  
Similar experiences to others. Service appealing, constantly dropping out, off more than on. Speed reminds me of when I had dial up. After 11 days without a service I was forced to get another provider. They now want to charge over £100 for a service that was not as advertised. How can they get away with this with the various consumer protection legislation that is in place.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hampshire Shell Energy  
Constantly drops out, even when it’s working you can’t even connect your phone, when complaints are made they have covered their crappy service in their t&cs, charge you to send an engineer if you refuse you’re liable for cancellation changes - even ombudsman won’t help because, as mentioned- they have covered themselves in the t&c... AVOID AT ALL COST
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lincoln Shell Energy  
Disaster... yesterday i was waiting for an engineer between 8 and 1 pm to fix my faulty broadband he didn't come... no reason no call from shell energy broadband NOTHING !!!! First bill is 41£ another disaster 41£ for what ? For dropping signal and bad speed ? Do not choose that provider ! Dropping signal. Bad speed. Expensive. Thanks.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Chester Shell Energy  
Only get this off you love alone and use your device within a 20cm radius of the router. Incredibly slow and incredibly unreliable. You are better off paying a little bit extra to go anywhere else.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
West Midlands Shell Energy  
I am 100% annoyed and disgusted with this WiFi it’s absolutely terrible.
It doesn’t work and cuts out during the day and late at night
Sometimes it’s good during the day but seems to stop working all together at 11pm.
The worst thing is that you can’t get out of the contract which is 18 months long
As soon as it’s finished I will be returning to sky and I will be much happier with there WiFi
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Uxbridge Shell Energy  
I started having my broadband with Shell Energy 26.03.2020 and today 21.04.2020 I have left them. I regretted the decision to go with them because the broadband was inconsistent, cutting out multiple times. I tried to contact Shell but it was impossible as they are extremely busy. Today I had an email to say that I will be charged £111.36 early termination charge. I spoke with a resolutions gentleman, who was polite and understanding, however his senior manager said that they could not waiver the charge. I am thoroughly disgusted and disappointed with their decision.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey Shell Energy  
Staff are quite helpful but the speed is absolutely woeful and the connection drops frequently. The best thing to do is not sign up at all. Today's average speed is 1.3mbps, my mobile hotspot works better. Not sure how Shell is still able to sell this product, pretty much feels like a scam.
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Yorks Shell Energy  
A total bag of excrement it has not given me anything near the speeds advertised it is always buffering and when I finally managed to contact their "Technical people" I was expected to monitor my broadband for 24 hours on the normal socket and then monitor it on the test socket for a further 24 hours and compare the two and give them the results.
I would leave them now but am tied into a contract with exit penalties so what can I do?
Stockport Shell Energy  
Avoid at all costs there a terrible ISP you will never get the Mbps you pay for your be lucky to average 10 Mbps even when paying for 75mbps there customer service is terrible I've been hung up on multiple times and have been told "the jokes on me we have your money" after they failed to connect me after 14 days and I threatened to leave I will be canceling and going back to virgin this is the most stressful experience with any ISP I've ever experienced there a joke
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Shell Energy  
Please Avoid! Gone from 50Mbps with Sky to averaging less than 10Mbps with Shell, whilst paying for 75Mbps! They tell me it's to do with the positioning of the router/number of devices connected which is absolute rubbish as everything consistent vs previous Sky setup. Will be cancelling and going elsewhere.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
West Sussex Shell Energy  
Having signed up with them life descended into a nightmare .Self isolating fault on phone line for 12 days . Internet appalling . I switched to another company on the cooling off period only to be told I was out of time . Actually NO I wasn’t . I was wise enough to log each/incident . E mails unanswered ,vantages get through to them .Hours on mobile trying to get help . The worst company ever .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
StHelens Shell Energy  
Since set up in February this year have had to restart the router every day as it freezes, more recently the internet keeps going offline several times a day,have tried everything they have suggested on how to resolve it but no joy.
Been told it's my BT master socket causing the issue.
Never had a problem with sky, plusnet or talk talk.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Westhoughton Shell Energy  
This is the worst broadband provider I have ever used. My download speed is approx 1.2 mbps. The internet barely reaches anywhere in the house and it’s bad even if you sit next to the router. My dad switched to this broadband because it was £5 cheaper than utility warehouse which was incredibly fast. I’d of happily paid that £5 for him after what we go through everyday with this god awful internet. At least this internet is consistent in one thing even if it is for being garbage! Not to mention we’re stuck with this for over a year because of the long contract which traps it’s customers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
England, Maidstone, Kent Shell Energy  
It’s ridiculous how their customer service is ,i had no internet for two weeks they’ve sent an engineer to amend it but they charge me for fixing the problem instead of making discount , by the way this was happened on 19/12/2019 and payment was taken on 01/04/2020 it’s absolutely ridiculous it’s the worst customer service I have ever had.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Morden Shell Energy  
Absolutely shocking don’t attempt to play any console games with this connection....! It’s terrible! Doesn’t even reach my kitchen which may i add is 2 metres away! The whole lot the price and the results are absolutely ridiculous and so not worth the bad head...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle Shell Energy  
Agreement was 'VAT included' prices. First bill had VAT added to these prices!
Unable to get a reply from Shell, looks like OFCOM next.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Luton Shell Energy  
I get 40mb with Shell, PlusNet were far faster.

I also didn't use the correct link to get the 'deal' and by the time the first bill came, I contacted them and they just said 'well it's too late to cancel now'. Awful customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Shell Energy  
Wifi is at best shocking - anything located more then 2 foot from the router will have issues connecting!
It is the old adage; you get what you pay for and this maybe be cheap but it is crap
We'll be moving to Sky as soon as the contract is up.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Cheltenham Shell Energy  
User experience is awful - Bills available to view in current month only; logged in account functions are very poor and finding a sensible answer to any query is a real challenge. Avoid
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hertfordshire Shell Energy  
When I signed the contract they agreed with the speed between 11-16mbps. But actual speed is 1-8. After two months I cannot log in to account. If you buy shell broadband you will get talktalk their explanation are they sharing services. Actually we are getting talktalk in anothername.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
BIRMINGHAM Shell Energy  
The worse internet I've ever had. Stay away as far is possible. the speed is so slow that you won't be able to do anything.

AVOID!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
london Shell Energy  
It's 2 months since I switched to Shell Energy Broadband on my rural ADSL line. Due to distance from the cabinet / exchange, my speed has never been more than about 2mbps down and 0.5mbps up.

Initial setup on the go live day was fine. The supplied router is plug and play. Make sure you use the RJ11 cable that comes in the box. It is 4 core whereas many other cables are 2 core. I tried a good (shielded, just 25cm) 2 core cable and found that my line speed halved.

While getting the supplied router up and running was a breeze, things get a bit more complicated if you want to use your own hardware. You need your ADSL user name which can be seen in the router's web interface, but the password is hidden. I rang the technical support team who gave me the password over the phone.

My first bill was high than I was expecting which is a bit of a worry when you're dealing with a new supplier. On looking more closely, I'd been billed for about 6 weeks which is why it was more. This could have been communicated more clearly.

The service is working really well for me. I've got broadband that's as good as my previous service with the added benefit of anytime phone calls.

I know about the "disconnection fee" and will surely query this if it's applied when the time comes. OFCOM guidance is that it can only be applied where the provider has actually incurred a fee themselves so as a consumer, you are entitled to ask for proof of this.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Otley Shell Energy  
Everything about them stinks ! Bad customer service .. bad WiFi signal ! AVOID AVOID AVOID !!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wakefield Shell Energy  
Only recently installed but pre installation information was top notch, equipment seems reasonable, change over (from previous supplier)was less than 30 minutes, speed is slightly higher than previous. Overall very impressed so far
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Wellingborough Shell Energy  
Unfortunately made a big mistake and signed up for the offer trusting Shell name. Oh boy, couldn't be more wrong. To the reader who is just checking the reviews - SAY AWAY! worst experience ever. They promised 11 mbs in average for 17.99, while signing the contract sneaked that they will be providing from 5 to 9 mbps. Actually providing somewhere below 5 and max 6mbps and less than 1 mbps upload! It is not a broadband! It's a dial-up service. All I lack is that modem sound dialling to get online.

I filed the complaint and their solution was......ATTENTION get higher band! which mean they are capable of providing the service it's just unfair business practices designed to lure people in and push to higher band as the cancellation fee is 100 pounds!!! CANT BE MORE CLEAR, TO ALL READING THE REVIEWS - STAY CLEARLY AWAY OF THIS "SERVICE"
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dartford Shell Energy  
The worst broadband company the don't let you know when your bill is due they don't let you know when your cut off because the modem will flash all green to show it's active but really it's cut off shell energy shut your broadband down please I said to them if they can talk to my mother but the woman rudely said no you are the account holder! I was about to shout back don't ever go with shell energy if you want to be screwed over.
Gosport Shell Energy  
Well they started poor, and ahve not got much better. Regular 12mbs Fast broadband, for over a week the max speed I had was 1.2mbs, then I had 3 days of 12mbs before it all came crumbling down, for the last 5 days I have when I have been able to connect speeds measuring around .2mbs and even one that returned as low as 67kbs. All with hardwired connection to router. Still no response from Shell. If I had know they were a talktalk reseller would not have joined.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Shell Energy  
Stay AWAY from this broadband they are a bunch of scums, I had to cancel my broad band because my home was renewed,the engineer was there with my neighbour, t7ried to contact them the day before stating that my landlord didn't allow me to have it they said I would have to pay costs over this, the broad band was not installed, it did not go live and the engineer was there called them on the 19/02/202 which they put me o hold for over 50 mins, to cancel again because there was no open breach cable, they scums twists the things around saying that there would be a cost for £65 for missing the appointment the scums first told me they needed 48 hours before the engineer updated the report, then after they kept on saying I miss the appointment and I should be glad there would not be any extra costs, requested to speak to manager she did not put m through to him instead put me on hold for another 40 mins. They still send an email to make another appointment with the engineer , i told them I would be making a complain to OMBUDSMAN they say I could do it on they website tried to go in comes to appoint that it doesn't let you further. YOUR BLOOD Sucker just want your own commission to pay of your salary, an email will be send to every were I can to put your **** company down.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Borehamwood Shell Energy  
Definitely the worst broadband provider ever on planet earth. Connection began to drop since December 2019 and have had to call them to repair it for 6 times, with them booking BT engineer for 3 times however after each visit the service begins to go off again after 2 days. I was forced to listen to their t&c every single time without exception even though the person on the phone provides absolutely no help at all. Worst of all is it is not possible to cancel the contract even though the service goes off on a weekly bases and a they’ve had to book a BT engineer over and over again. This company is disgusting and should be avoided at all costs!! Absolute waste of time!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Shell Energy  
Appalling. Even if the speed was any good (it isn't) it's no use because it is constantly dropping out.

Customer service was basically a fifteen minute phone call that resulted in them suggesting I turned it off and on again.

AVOID AVOID AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sussex Shell Energy  
Absolutely shocking. Had broadband installed in november 2019 fine for first couple of weeks then on day bill was due to be paid my service was suspended at 10am. Spoke to customer services and paid bill. Was told it would take 24 hours to reconnect. 5 days later still no reconnection. Tried calling customer services and was passed to various people. Eventually spoke to someone who me i had only paid half the bill (i hadnt). Was put through to someone else who said i had paid the full bill and would be reconnected. 24 hours later i was reconeccted. Gets to decembers bill and same thing account suspended at 10 am on 23rd december. Again called and paid again told it would take 24 hours. It was january 5th it was reconnected. Absolutely appalling service i have now cancelled my broadband after only 2 months. AVOID AVOID AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Rotherham Shell Energy  
I am a disabled person who has to input my medical blood results every day, these incompetent guys have left me with no phone and no internet and are even trying to charge me £60 for a new line which wasn’t installed. I’m now left with nothing for a week because that’s how long they have said an engineer will take to come out. I do not know the levels of medication I’m meant to take because I cannot input my blood score so this time tomorrow I could be in hospital because I could have taken to much medication or to less and these people at Shell just don’t give a crap so they have left me frightened ***AVOID AVOID AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE ***
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stoke-On-Trent Shell Energy  
Signed up for the service back when they were still First Utility, at which stage they were nothing to write home about, but inexpensive and serviceable enough - the occasional drop-out notwithstanding.

Since the takeover by Shell Energy, the company has become increasingly unable to provide the service we pay for. Of late, they have even resorted to aggressive 'traffic management' (throttling of downstream speeds) at peak times; it's been a lot like using an ISP from the early 2000s. In 2020, with homes far more reliable on a stable, reliable internet connection than they were in, say, 2003, this level of service is wholly unacceptable.

Worse, from the moment we informed them we were leaving, the issues have increased. As we await the switchover to BT, Shell have quite blatantly de-prioritised our account in reaction to our departure... and will be charging us an arbitrary £15 for the pleasure of extracting ourselves from an inadequate and worsening service.

Poor to begin with and petulant towards the end. I'd strongly advise potential customers to opt instead for grown-ups who can operate a service fit for the 2020s.

Use Shell Energy only if you're nostalgic for the early days of broadband. Or even, at peak times, the good old days of dialup speeds.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
South Coast Shell Energy  

Loading...

  • 265 reviews, showing page 1 of 7, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk