Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 2872 customer ratings since 2021-05-17 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2,048 Customer Reviews over 52 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's been now over a month that we have signed a contract with sky and don't have internet.
    All the problems started when the SKY engineer connected the wrong flat to the network. It took them over 10 days to find the issue.
    Once they found it they said that they will cancel our contract and create a new one (that was 8 days ago).
    If you live in the Brixton area I recommend you strongly to go for another provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst broadband ever, constant issues never again.broadband keeps dropping every few days. Please don't join
  • Reviewer
    Location
    EXMOUTH
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    I had to wait for a whole week for Sky to get my broadband router and set up device How good are they CRAP How are they going to sort this out I shall probably cancel sky broad band within my 14 day period I also have a full sky bundle which costs me nearly a 100 pounds a month I do think they deserve my membership I want to be compensated
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We've been with Sky just under a year, and their DLM keeps capping us by sticking the SNR (line noise) up on our line more and more. We keep getting passed from person to person with no real help, they keep blaming our equipment even though we've had the BT engineers out to test our equipment saying there's nothing wrong & that our line is good. Which is correct as we live less than a mile away from our exchange, it's not a company I would recommended for broadband they slow you down and blame your equipment. Once my contract has ended I'm switching.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Useless customer service and lousy speed!
    Recent connection problems and sky's complete incompetence in sorting them out led me to switch to plusnet. It led to me checking the speed of my sky connection which was the slowest of any provider in the area.
    Despite being informed of my leaving (they even phoned me to ask why) sky has continued to deduct the direct debit. Its taken me a number of expensive phone calls and an email live call to get any action. I am now waiting to see if they refund the money they have taken from my account.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Connection is constantly being cut off, avoid at all costs, if you make one decision today make sure you decide not to join sky, the supposed 'fast and reliable connection' is non existent,IT IS ABYSMAL.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelsea, London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Was with O2 Broadband for five years and never had a single issue. Was dumped onto Sky after O2 exited the market and have had nothing but problems. Clearly, bandwidth throttling is in use (speeds falling from 8-9 Mb/s to 0.2Mb/s) despite their protestations that this was not the case.

    Their useless black box showed 11.3 Mb/s(!) at all times and they told me that this was the only accurate guide! Throttling so bad that sometimes I couldn't even receive basic text emails. All on a supposedly 'unlimited' tariff that cost £9.50 pm as opposed to £7.50 pm on O2.

    Their support people are hopeless - pleasant, but without a clue beyond chanting the standard "Have you plugged in a filter? Have you tried changing wireless channel?" Tier 2 people even worse, charmless with impenetrable Ulster accents, asking you to dismantle telecoms sockets and leave all your phones unplugged - then failing to call back despite heartfelt assurances that they would.

    On demanding a MAC code, you will be deluged with extraordinary offers - e.g. free unlimited broadband for a year - but don't weaken. This is a terrible company. (Any wonder with all that Murdoch involvement?)

    So I'm off to BT. But not very optimistically now that I've read some reports on here. Are there any halfway-decent providers - ones who simply deliver what they promise, say?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Altrincham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Recently changed from bt infinity. Very happy with move to sky fibre, faster speed, more reliable and have had fantastic customer service!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Changed from Sky broadband in March to BT as they had an offer on plus I could get BT sports thrown in. BT broadband is fine, as was Sky, but getting Sky to stop charging me for broadband and refund what they have taken since THEY cut it off is mission impossible!! Their incompetance in the billing department is stunning. Getting mony back that they owe you and stopping them taking more is beyond me I'm afraid. I just hope somewhere in my life time I can sort this out. Not holding out much hope though :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst signal EVER. I would absolutely not recommend Sky to anyone. We literally have to sit on top of the router or within 5 meter radius if we want any wifi connection at all and even then it's slow and often disconnects. Absolutely shocking that such a reputable company could allow this after a very apparent dissatisfied collection of customers. Hate, hate, hate it!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Sky Broadband is total crap!! After being with them almost 2 years and having NOTHING but problems.. Constant phone calls to sky customer service.. To do the same ridiculous tests over and over again.. And yet still NOTHING we had our router changed.. Still had problems yet sky didn't want to take responsibility for the super poor connection.. When I'm meant to have speeds of 15mb and was finding that I was only receiving 3mb.. Streaming and online gaming is non existent and we constantly need to restart the router as we lost all connections!!

    I would never recommend Sky broadband or sky atall.. Only when I said I was leaving they rolled out the red carpet.. Sorry sky 2 years to late!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    chesire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    VERY VERY BAD SERVICE AND NOT ALWAYS HONEST! I have been a customer for 8 years.I have just found out that when you call sky on their 08442 number or any other of their number you actually get through to a generic call centre called 'whetherby's'(They told me to search 'whetherbys.co.uk and told me they were a legitimate company howEver after searching the internet I could find no such company or website so ive reported them to the I.C.O.They may of course be genuine.Sky however is their client.Whetherbys actually told me this.
    When calling they answer as sky tv but they have actually stated most customers think they are calling sky and speaking to them when its an outsource company or 'external employees' who are not employed by sky buy employed by a third party company to represent sky or work alongside them but are not the actual company sky!.I asked them directly if they were sky or whetherbys as they had my account details they wouldn't answer but said ' yes we are one of the two' but were reluctant to tell me they were whetherbys and not sky but they answered the phone as sky telling me this is normal.
    I was very shocked to find out this isn't in skys terms an conditions and nowhere can I find any info via sky of why they are a client of 'whetherby's.I was bullied by an individual or I felt bullied and this is why the service is terrible I should not have to be treated like i'm a stupid woman I even said I feel I have been treated unfairly and I feel uncomfortable he stated' No I DON'T AGREE THAT I HAVE DONE THAT' And he is representing sky !!
    I reported it to sky today this is how I found out that I was not dealing with sky directly but this middle man company so to speak, other company .It is being investigated.The fact that I have had to deal with aggressive rude male advisers who make it clear they dont like women who say 'hang on a minute can I check that's actually the right info' then this is very very cus ser but also and unpleasant stuck up man who has zero respect and tried to make me think the service 1571 was a line fault and not a service from your provider I checked this is a service not a line fault and he didn't like I knew this and this is when he turned unpleasant and passive aggressive.
    So After being a customer for 8 yrs i'm leaving.I'm not going to continue getting bullied.Ive only been a customer for sky talk 6 days and after being treated like this I'm disgusted.VERY VERY BAD SERVICE AND COMPANY WHO DON'T ACTUALLY TELL YOU THE TRUTH WHEN THE PHONE NUMBER THEY GIVE YOU (THE OFFICIAL 08842 NUMBER) IS NOT SKY TV BUT ANOTHER COMPANY WHO HAS ACCESS TO YOUR PERSONAL DATA AND A DOZEN OTHER TOP COMPANIES ON ONE DATA BASE.They identify you by the number called which is affiliated with that provider and then put your details in to find the provider your with but dont tell you this they tell you they are your company to begin with.This isn't exactly even if this is how it fully works.I dont feel my personal data is safe in the hands of a company I never knew had it and who have sky as their client.Sky should tell us our personal data is given to whetherbys!Plus their broadband service is dire and I got a card in my router box to tell me my ssid and pin and password and sky argued with me and were skeptical were i got that card and told me that there could not be these codes on the card as the router or router code and user password were one and the same codes but they were totally diff numbers which sky didn't actually believe!

    Nope.The age of adults bullying other adults and men trying to make women feel stupid because they know a little technical stuff and can not be man enough to admit they may have made a mistake as they are not know it all should be over!

    I am cancelling b/b and sky talk too!
    HORRIBLE COMPANY HORRIBLE PEOPLE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Renfrewshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Service leaves a lot to be desired. Various reasons for inability to down downgrade subscriptions easily i.e. remove Sky Movies. Various responses from Sky, toraise an MHR in response to an MHR to already raised, to a phone call from Sky explaining due to data protection I could not be allowed to downgrade when signed in to MySky - although obviously no such issue in upgrades; also Sky rep would require my password - I declined. Also had the following response to my complaint to Sky - "Please be adviced that downgrading any package would involve changes in billing and this would not be easy for the customers to understand. Hence we request our customers to contact our Customer Service team in order to felicitate a downgrade on the Sky account." Obviously Sky customers are able to understand their bills when upgrading but understanding a bill following a downgrade would be a step too far - obviously we can't be expected to understand the complications of a pro rata bill. Please Sky, make up your mind what is the reason for inability to make downgrades on line - could it be income generated?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    17:18 Connection Lost - 24th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
    16:16 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 4 minutes
    16:59 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    17:04 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 minutes
    18:52 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    19:36 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    15:44 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
    15:58 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
    17:01 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
    20:03 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 1 minutes
    22:37 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    16:37 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    16:53 Connection Issues - 03 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    18:05 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:10 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:15 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:28 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    23:49 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    00:24 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    00:48 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Merseyside
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    Sky Broadband is without doubt the most abysmal internet service I have ever had. I signed up to Be Internet about 6 years ago (having read their Which review) and never had any problems with them. Recently they were bought out by Sky and I received letters telling me when my service would be transferred over. I was a little apprehensive, having read the Which website review, which revealed that Sky came 11th out of 12 suppliers for customer satisfaction.

    A day or so after the transfer, I began experiencing internet outages two or three times a day and my ping rose from its usual 50-60ms to around 159ms. Download speeds were also awful. I was supposed to be getting 10-15mbps and if I were lucky, I'd get 100k/s (a tenth of the speed) on a good day and with a following wind. Then I received an email confirming that my monthly fee would be £30 (with Be it had been £17).

    So I rang their customer services to complain about the jump in fee and the poor signal and to request my MAC code. Their advisor was very professional and explained that the reason for the monthly fee of £30 was merely because this was a first payment to Sky for being transferred over to their service and it would return to £17 per month thereafter. She put me through to the technical support, who told me that Sky were running a test on the line so my signal would be going up and down for about tne next 4 days but should settle down and return to it's previous levels.

    My signal didn't improve. In fact, if anything, it got worse. More disconnections and streaming video was pretty much impossible.

    5 days later my MAC code arrived and - in the same post - an itemised bill from Sky which revealed that my monthly internet fee was actually £12 for the broadband. The remainder of the £30 was made up of surcharges for not having Sky Talk and Sky TV included in my package!!! So effectively Sky were charging me for NOT having a product. I'm surprised they didn't chuck in a charge for not seeing the latest X-Men movie.

    I immediately used the MAC code to subscribe to Zen (which I'd selected from their Which review). The next day, I get a phone call from a Sky customer sales advisor expressing sadness that I was leaving and asking the reasons (which I explained) and then asking me to hear what they could offer me - which included offering broadband for only £12 a month (he must not have realised I'd read my itemised bill) and significant discounts for my continued loyalty which he assured me - as a longstanding customer - I'd lose if I left them. I explained that I hadn't actually joined Sky by choice, I wasn't a long standing customer and he could give me the broadband for free for all I cared but I still wouldn't want it because it was so unreliable). He seemed genuinely perplexed that I'd happily pay MORE to leave Sky and go to a more reliable ISP.

    The next 3-4 days were a trial as the Sky service continued to be abysmal. Then on the Friday, the signal changed over to Zen and - what do you know? - my signal improved immensely, my pings dropped from 160ms to 50ms and my download speeds went through the roof. I had a slight hiccup with the new router they sent me but I rang their technocal support team and their advisor talked me through how to set up my existing router to do the job until their replacement came. I haven't had any problems since and I couldn't be happier.

    As to Sky broadband? I can say with conviction "NEVER AGAIN!"
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rochdale
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    £56 TAKEN FRAUDULENTLY BY SKY WITHOUT MY CONSENT AFTER THEY ADVISED ME TO CANCEL DIRECT DEBIT!

    I'd had sky tv for over 12 months and my bill was due to increase dramatically. I contacted sky over 3 times to see if there was a way to keep me as a customer. In the end the deals were all over £60 a month which is a ridiculous amount of money (especially when youve got a baby on the way). So I was advised to cancel my direct debit with sky to terminate the contract.

    Over a month later, I received a bill for sky talk and broadband. Turns out sky had terminated my tv account but kept the talk and broadband service open. I was quite annoyed, however, I decided to make the final payment. I phoned sky customer services and authorised a payment of £30 to be taken.

    Now, over a month later I've had a payment of £56 taken from my account. Although when speaking on sky chat, the adviser has no idea how it was taken as I had cancelled the direct debit about 2 months previous. If sky don't know how they obtained the money, how am I supposed to? I now have to go through my bank to get the money back as Sky won't do a thing about it. They don't seem concerned at how it was taken in the first place.

    To make matters even worse, they are now offering me the deal I wanted with them before I cancelled the contract. Absolute joke. Everything they do is to make more money from you.

    I'm now left heavily pregnant and £56 down on my bills this month. No apology from sky, no money back.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East sussex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would highly advise not choosing sky if you are thinking of upgrading to a fibre optic connection. When it works it's great, but getting it to work is like trying to get blood from a stone. I signed up for 34mb fibre unlimited, I receive about 0.6mb. Totally useless 'Sky Heal' which is "designed to help you get reconnected" really what it does is tells you to make sure you have plugged in your router so unless your a total idiot it cant help you in any way. Cant play a computer console online, simply will not connect.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pontefract
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had the same problem for at least 3 years. The speed is terrible and constantly cuts off connection.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AS WELL AS BROADBAND EVER! they first promise you they will do and that and they will never call you back, ignore your calls, replying after more than 5 days to emails, offering boosting connection service obviously at extra cost, customer service is never reachable, it is all based on LIES! and finally they were making contract cancellation procedures very difficult to me so I would potentially give up or change my mind, stay away from Sky!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First of all, I'm a Network Engineer.

    I've had 3 ISPs in the last 12 years. Pipex, Be, and SKY
    Pipex were great. Until they got bought out.
    Be were brilliant, right up until I left looking for a cheaper deal
    Sky? Sheesh, absolute nightmare.

    two week long outages with me doing all the chasing for updates/progress
    Unsteady line and long outages. I don't think it's ever been up for 24hrs without a break.
    Apparently it's always Openreach to blame, which is odd because Be was down only twice in the wee hours, in the entire 4 years I was with them.
    No offer of compensation when I told them I couldn't work from home.

    Absolute worst ISP I have ever been with.
    I strongly recommend you think twice.
    What's cheap isn't good and what's good isn't cheap.
    I'm moving back to Be at the end of the month.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Enfield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had to put this review on to warn others about NOT signing up for SKY broadband.
    I booked my home move on 7th April and was due to have broadband installed in my new house the next day.
    On the 8th, the day the broadband was meant to move over I got a text saying there was a 'problem' with install.
    Since then, two weeks later, all I have had from SKY is excuses. There is a problem with the exchange, its BT Openreach's fault and they have NO IDEA when it will be fixed.
    Meantime they turned off my internet on the 7th so my whole house has no net connection.
    When I rang up to complain saying my home relied on the net I was cautioned "I hope you are using it just for domestic purposes as work purposes are not allowed".
    Gee really?? Thanks for that. I pay you over £100 a month for my package, you havent delivered and you have the cheek to lecture me on terms and conditions.
    Now thanks to SKY having no idea whats happening my teenage son has to live at another address as he does computing and needs the net for study and I now have serious childcare issues as every Friday I used to do some of my work at home, to look after the baby, but now I cannot use my net at home.
    Please be careful before signing up to SKY, dont be left without internet!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oldham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Comments
    The worst company I have ever come across. I average 2mb whatever time of day. I'm paying for 16mb. Just another pack of money hungry assholes who don't care about their customers. Customer service is laughable, they hire morons who know nothing about their own products let alone technology. Will be switching to virgin soon. Although I'm dreading what bull I'll have told deal with when I notify sky.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting, low level service and total mess inside of the #Sky organisation! We dont have internet already for 1,5 months! We have contract! The first appointment with engineer was booked on 27th of March, all the day, working day! we were waiting at home but nobody appeared- women from call centre fed us with promises that engineer should appear from 1 to 6 pm. After complaint weve got new appointment, for today! And what we have in fact? I just want to ask guys from customer service: are you joking?!... Exhausted engineer entered the flat, checked smth, then called to colleagues with the words:" Dont tell me that im rude! I do a favour to someone who doesnt want to do his job". Then the guy looked and said: " Sorry, love, but actually it is not my area and i dont have a key. She wants ( the girl from the office) me to go to another part of the city and to get the key from the guy who has it, and actually it is his job. Hope you will understand, i cant do it. Sorry, love, bye". And we called again to customer service, and we got again the answer:" Sorry, we will call you tomorrow to tell what was the problem and why we had this situation". Great! But perhaps you will pay me money for those 2 days that i spent at home instead of work and getting salary and waiting for your team ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I've been a Sky+ HD, telephone and broadband customer for the best part of 3 years and during that time had very little issues with the (non-customer support) service received in return for my £60 pcm. The broadband was always fast and reliable, the phone line was always active and the HD TV quality was great.

    When we first signed up to Sky 3 years ago, they confirmed an installation date and then didn't even turn up/communicate they were no longer coming so having taken a day off work wasn't a good start.

    In addition they started the cancellation process of my Sky contract on the instruction of a 3RD PARTY without even checking / validating the request with me!! This has led to weeks of jumping through hoops and being passed between Sky departments to avoid having the broadband and TV cut off.

    I'm now looking to move house which will require me to move to a temporary property before moving into my new permanent one. This means that I can't simply move my Sky subscription so instead I'm having to cancel my subscription with the intention of re-joining in a month or so.

    Trying to cancel my contract has been a complete nightmare. Sky appear to have deliberately made the cancellation as difficult as they possibly can, ignoring emails and letters, not returning phone calls, cutting me off whilst on active phone calls and passing me around department to department. When asked to speak to a senior manager/complaints department they repeatedly cut hung up on me or refused to put me through, stating that Sky doesn't have a complaints department (despite it clearly stating you can complain by phone on their website).

    I am SO dissapointed with Sky's customer service that there is now no chance that I will re-sign up with them when I move into my new property as I will opt for BT or Virgin Media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I called Sky with fault in sky broadband and they told me engineer will be with me on Sat between 8 - 13:00, I was told I must be home to attend engineer or else I will be charged £99, I cancelled all my plans for the weekend (a bright sunny day) and waited whole day no one arrived no call about cancellation. At 2:00pm I called Sky to find out an engineer may visit me later, so waited another hour and half and called again at 15:35 and at that time I was told actually no one is planned to visit me today as broadband is out due to common fault and I must wait for another 7+ days before this fault get fixed.

    This company have guts to charge you £99 for booking an engineer and not attending the call, but have no customer service ethics to inform you in time when this engineer visit is cancelled, and when you complain that you called they give you candies for not providing you internet and all the service for good 10 days by refunding of £20.

    I will never recommend such a company to anyone, and will be looking for a switch as first priority.

    If you are thinking of going for a broadband with sky, think twice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I would never again subscribe to Sky Broadband, TV or anything else from sky. I only got sky because of the pause, rewind and record function but now evey provider has that ability. I found i never actually watched any of the sky channels. I have had nothing but bad service, technical faults and poor technical advice from the begining. I was with them for 2 years overall. They didn't fix anything, they charge you for everything even if its their fault. They don't actually have a customer service department which i found out when i tried to complain, I was passed around to people who couldnt speak or write in English. I was about to re-instate the broadband just because I thought it would be easier than finding another provider - how wrong i was! I have just been on the phone for 10 minutes to sky who didnt actually do anything for me in the end and wanted to pass me to another department. I told him I was leaving sky permenantly because of this phonecall and he said ok and hung up! It turns out anything is easier than trying to get through to sky or get anything out of them. Once they take your money and set up direct debit. They no longer care. Also after looking around at some other providers have found that others offer the same kind fo package for broadband but at faster speeds and lower monthly payments! If sky knew how thier agents talk to customers and that skys only hope of staying ahead of the game is to retain thier existing customer base because once the exisiting customers see they are being over charged for a lesser service they will change too!
    Don't bother use Sky chat they justignore your questions and give you a number to call! Dont try to complain because they dont have a complaints department! Im so glad im no longer with sky - what a horrible experience it has been over all - Waste of time, energy and money.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rotherham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    So I changed address, I used to have Virginmedia but unfortunately they don't supply at my new place so I switched to Sky. Well, it's like stepping back in time 5 years, I'm supposed to get 16 mb download speed b ut only get 11 mb, the connection is dodgy at best and if I use On Demand it uses my broadband. So let's see, for exactly the same price with Virginmedia I had 60 mb download speed and a TiVo box with it's own dedicated 10 mb supply for On Demand, now I'm basically paying for the same speed my TiVo box had for itself. Please, please if you have a choice, go Virginmedia every time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I'm writing this as an ex sky customer having switched to EE. I want to move back go Sky. Ok, it's a big more, but worth it for no broadband glitches in iplayer, remote working, better Xbox performance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I cancelled my Sky account in November 2013 due to changing to Virgin for a cheaper solution, all went well and closed all accounts. At the end of February 2014 I get a letter from Sky detailing an outstanding balance on my account relating to bills after I cancelled with them and furthermore bills I have not seen. Straight on the phone to get to the bottom of it and I go round and round in circles with customer services being passed from pillar to post not getting a straight answer. Finally a billing consultant confirms the error is with Sky and that they will clear the bill and close the account. All seems good. one week later I get an email and letter from a debt recovery service working on behalf of Sky seeking to recover the outstanding balance! Contact debt recovery service and they say they are just doing as told. Contact Sky and have to go round the houses again to explain the problem and get a solution. Today I have spoken to Sky, all calls at my expense as they never call back or contacted me by other means and they say they have cleared the account and notified the debt recovery service. They claim a letter will arrive in 7 days to clear this mess up, I will be surprised and suspect the next knock at the door will be the police to take me away for unpaid Sky bills! Utter rubbish and a waste of money by Sky, would be better not to have customer services and make more profit!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Slough
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish as anything as i was with O2 and when i was moving house they transferred to Bloody sky. Ever since i am paying every month for NOT WORKING BROADBAND Called numerous time with sky no help at all. All they ask to do unplug and plugging the wires no any improvement on speed. And customer service talks rubbish as my main socket is by the main door and asking me to move the computer which is not possible. Now im going to cancel the contract or cancel the direct debit.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Whitchurch, Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Unable to use any broadband after
    16.00 Hrs.due to bad Sky equipment at exchange. BT was fine for 10Years
    with no problems. Wish I had not changed to Sky broadband.I have had download speeds of .02Meg!!!, and also nothing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sussex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful, awful, awful.
    I would recommend Sky to people who are lonely and like the idea of being on the phone for 45 minutes every other day for a month trying to sort out installation problems. Especially if you like talking to people who have no understanding of what has been discused previously as they work in different buildings and information is not passed on.
    It took us a month to get our internet sorted and even then the 'fibre optic' speed was slower than under my old contract. I will be leaving as soon as my contract allows.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BRISTOL
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Sadly there isnt a 'no star' rating, so Ive had to choose 1 star. Connection keeps dropping tho sky say its fine. It doesnt drop now and then, it drops regularly, dozens of times a day for as much as an hour at a time before you can get back on line. Joined 2/1/14 and as of today, we are STILL having issues. No connection for as much as 45/60 minutes at a time. Was with 02 for 6 or 7 years never an issue. Sky say they are waiting for the line to 'stableise'. They have had me plugging and unplugging things in and out. Sky are bloody useless. NO WAY would I recommend them. Its that bad, despite me currently having an offer of £15 for the YEAR (as a previous 02 customer) I am now off to Virgin and will gladly pay for it just to get the internet. AVOID AVOID AVOID. Dont waste your time and effort. Spend your money elsewhere, SKY are just totally and utterly diabolical. Cannot stress enough how useless they are. there arent sufficent words to describe their incompetance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fife
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have had sky internet for quite a while and it is so slow sometimes the 3G on my phone is faster I have changed to virgin broadband and is being installed this minute.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Comments
    Their e-mail service via Yahoo is rubbish. Every function is exceedingly slow to perform, and when contacted all Sky can do is tell you to change Browser. But the fault is obviously with Yahoo, as most of our problems started with an "upgrade" they carried out last month. If you want to deal with disinterested low-IQ customer service "advisors" speaking in pidgin English and residing in a far-away continent, using a FAQ cribsheet chalked onto a piece of wood or chalkboard, then Sky is for you !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    leeds
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    we have been with sky for over three years all sorts of stuff happening :
    - be careful they are only maintain sky box and router up to a year afterwards its up to you to fix them or 100 pounds for an engineer visit they will always tell you it is your fault so you need to pay
    - they wont send engineer to check the line if your internet is bad just tell you on the screen it looks ok and if you insist on engineer coming 100 pounds a visit
    - regular internet speed adversed up to 16 Mb NO YOU CANT GET MORE THAN 5.5Mb as routers they give to costumers will only do 5.5 (factory setting)
    and the best you are not allowed better router its said in contract and if they catch you using one they can end contract with you but you still need to pay up to a year services or go to court
    - fibre optic fast? no well it is when it works as I speak 2.6Mb
    on average 8-9 they promise 15 but that's rare only when you get lucky there is a wave coming your way
    - try terminate contract with them that is where it really starts 6 days an hour and a half each day on the phone and it is still not done ( we have done over 3 years with them so its not like we are cancelling early.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst broadband ever, i was on standard broadband with o2 for nearly 5 years with no problems at all, with sky fibre i can't even watch youtube clip or bbc iplayer without constantly loosing connection, i got fed up with phoning sky and telling them that my connection is not stable but they seem to be reading from their book, same answers all the time, they do not seem professionals, i am on the case for over 3 weeks now and still on it, will put an update when i cancel them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aylesbury
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking is the only thing I can say. Do not go with sky for phone or broadband. Our broadband hardly ever works our phone is cracking. We have phoned and phoned sky they have done nothing. We need an ads filter that didn't work. Line checks all the time, tests on the line . Need a new router £70 that didn't work. Basically tough 14 years of sky and we get told tough. I have tonight cancelled my direct debit and contacted virgin. £10 cheaper fibre optic. 2 new boxes and no call out fees. Goodbye sky .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Westbury
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I suspect sky broadband to be very overloaded with insufficient bandwidth. I have a solid 7mbit connection to exchange. However the real speed over that link is severely throttled at most times of day. Most the time on a speed test I see barely 1mbit most of time it is 0.2mbits. Video content is unusable emails with larger attachments hang for ages. Sky help desk are only concerned with the connection speed of router they simply don't comprehend the issue or don't want to know. I work in IT support and have worked in telecoms so my wiring and setup are fine. I wouldn't recommend sky at all. I had plusnet at previous address and found their service and support very good. The connection speed was half what I get now but I could achieve 10 times the download speed I get with this sky product and it was consistent. I am looking to go back to them soon.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    willenhall
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have had my on going isue with sky regarding broadband now since may bank holiday 2013. The signel is week and regularly drops out. To down load a 30 min show on demand can some days take any thing from one hour to 4 days which was its worst.

    I have been calling sky on avarage once a month and still no improvement. They even sent out an open reach enginner who rewired the hole lot from entry to putting in a new bt open reach socket so no need for the filter. This has still not resolved the proble. When we had the old netgea router we had no problems with signel or speed. Now speed is another isue. Again we are only 10 houses down from the bt box and acording to skys customer agents. We are getting such good speeds to the house we would not requier fiber. (If only it was true). We can at best only get 1mb or less. And no how many times they ask you to unplug this and that. I have placed an order for the wireless boster hoping this may help as the router its self is not fit for purpose. Aweek after I placed the order went online to track the order and yep you guest it has not been procesed. So called today on the live web chat only to have some one called Osker tell me it will be another 28 days now as they have been overwhelmed at the request for this product.

    I then repeted my erleyer coment that mite have somthing to do with the router being not fit for purpose.

    MY ADVICE IS DO NOT CHOSE SKY BRODBAND AS THEY DO NOT LIVE UPTO THE ADS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A JOKE THEY DO NOT HELP YOU.

    THEY WILL DRIVE YOU INSAIN.

    THE CUSTOMER IS SO NOT APRECIATED.
    THE PRODUCT IE(ROUTER HAS NO QUALITY SIGNEL RANGE. SPEEDS SO SLOW YOU EITHER CAN NOT CONECT AND SERTANLY STRUGLES TO COPE WHEN YOU HAVE MORE THAT ONE DEVICE ON AT A TIME NOT GOOD FOR A FAMILY.

    DO NOT CHOSE SKY UNLESS YOU ENJOY A FIGHT WITH PEOPLE WHO COULD NOT GIVE A 4X ABOUT YOUR SERVICE......

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.