TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for TalkTalk.

Recent Customer Ratings for TalkTalk

  • Satisfaction
    2.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.6 stars
  • Speed
    2.5 stars
  • Reliability
    2.6 stars

Based on 1691 customer ratings since 2021-09-29 (Show all time ratings)

Visit TalkTalk   Read our TalkTalk buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

6,654 Customer Reviews over 167 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Appalling customer service, contacted them as my direct debit went from £28 to £56 the following month. I mentioned that I had received an email from them stating that if I did nothing the new charge would be £32.37 per month, however they had only included the Fibre 65 part of the bill and not comparing apples with apples. Eventually got past onto customer retention department and said they could refund a part of the fee from today's date as they would like to keep me in the Talk Talk family. Whilst most companies are trying to help customers during these difficult times, Talk Talk are misleading theirs and taking them for a ride
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Colchester
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I would have thought taking the trouble to phone them to ask if they want the router back after changing to another provider would have been welcomed, but instead because I was unable to supply them with the correct 'security details'. (Why would keep detail of a service I no longer use?) They refused to tell me how to send it back the only way is a prepaid bag they supply, customer services said she would send to me if she could confirm my identity. Apparently I now have to pay a £50.00 fee, What a scam, If they can't confirm my identity, can't see how they can charge me for anything? So they can take a long walk to nowhere. Ohyes, and the phone call cost me a few pounds because of the wait time, all for trying to do the right thing!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Torquay
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Use this company at your peril. After 4 aborted engineer visits to fit fibre, 6 hours + on the phone, taking excess money out of our bank, and basically refusing to let us complain. This outfit have to be the most unprofessional bunch I have ever encountered. The keystone cops siding to mind. Don’t say you have not been warned !!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    I've spoken to 6 different people to say I don't have wifi and I was told a new router was getting sent out in 3-5 days that was 3 week ago and then I recieved a bill for a service I want even receiving total joke of a company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancs
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service. Phone line and broadband been inoperative for 7 weeks. I have 12 text updates giving times and dates when someone will ring me to discuss my complaint, but no one does. I have spent 20 hours on the phone trying to get my service up and running. Eventually they set up a call divert to a mobile, only to remove it after a few days when they said problem was fixed. Still no telephone. Cannot understand call takers who cannot speak proper English. Prior to switching to Talk Talk I was with another company, wish I never changed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've pretty much given up on getting a decent service from TalkTalk- just so unreliable. I had to have a fibre connection to get a speed a bit higher than landline and the connection drops on and off - it's never been fully stable. Theyhad the best price in my area for fibre - the minute my finances improve I'll be going with a different provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting!
    I chose talk talk for my new braodband in february and since then the wifi cuts off 15 times a day everyday !Ive emailed them 7 times rang 5 times and messaged 3 times.. Still they have done nothing !I went to bed at 11 pm as the wifi cut off and still now 11 am 12 hours later its still not on they are liars,they take your money and givr you nothing they think its acceptable to take my money and not bother giving ne wifi im discusted and as if now im cancelling my bank with them and ill go back to virgin i should never have left please do not use these cowboys !!!!You will get no wifi im totally discusted annoyed and very upset the sooner this company goes under the better !!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Engineer never turned up after waiting in the end told we did not need a visit. Roll on a week of phone calls to them an felt like being pared of with it will be ready tomorrow then it will be ready in 48 hrs , absolutely avoid not botherd u ar getting charged for mobile data and no functioning internet full of promises and don not communicate with you do not bother with them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    I’m a disabled vulnerable diabetic living on my own and there was a problem with my line many calls later no one called me back about what was going on or when it would be fixed … DO NOT USE THIS PEOPLE FOR YOUR WI-FI they should be ashamed to call them self’s TALK TALK….. for disabled people and people with mental health issues do not use these providers for your Wi-Fi and customer service is disgraceful 30+ phone calls what a waste of my time and my phone bill …. Talk talk and no one listens get your act together
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rainham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service in history. Wait time is 45 mins- 1.5 hours on hold. When you finally get through to someone, they either hang up or pass you to another department. This wasn't a one off, my internet went down and I had to call every day for about 2 weeks trying to get it fixed. Nobody could help, so I cancelled the contract and went with Virgin. 2 weeks later, Talktalk took money out of my account. I rang them (another hour wait on hold) and then they told me my account has not been cancelled.
    I've never seen anything like it, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst Internet company! They cut off your Internet and when you call them someone answers who cannot speak English properly so you try to explain over and over again they don't understand. English is not my first language either but god people who work in contact centres it should understand what people are saying. I haven't had Internet for 10 days I've been calling them every day to sort it out but they don't do anything, they listen to you for a bit then they pretend that they can't hear and they hung up. They offered me broadband plus Netflix they said I do not need to contact my bank and cancel the Direct debit for Netflix they would sort it all out they said but they didn't, so I paid Netflix twice every month for nine months until I noticed it. This is what a terrible terrible terrible company talk talk is do not signed up a contract with talk talk.
    I ASKED THE AGENT NOT TO HUNG UP LIKE THE REST OF HIS colleagues BUT HE STILL HUNG UP, A DECENT PERSON WOULD AT LEAST CALL BACK, I worked at a call centre too.
    SHAME ON YOU TALKTALK.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    MY EXPERIENCE WITH TALKTALK.

    I switched from my previous Broadband provider to TalkTalk on 14/7/22.

    My reasons for switching were: 1) my previous provider was going to increase their monthly cost by an unreasonable amount.
    2) I was getting nothing more in return for the unjustified price increase.

    After using a comparison website, I decided to go with TalkTalk. - THIS WAS A BIG MISTAKE AS I SHOULD HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH FIRST ON TALKTALK BEFOREHAND!!!

    I started to receive update emails telling me that my service would go live on 29/8/22 and that “Fast Broadband Speed Is Coming!”…

    After receiving my TalkTalk router and setting it up, I performed a Speed Test… I was receiving a download speed of 0.96 Mbps and an upload speed of 0.43 Mbps!!!! This is utterly PATHETIC!!! - Also at this point, I’d like to point out that TalkTalk “Guarantee” a MINIMUM speed of 7 Mbps to (strangely, and again, quite pathetically!) 1 Mbps…!

    For those of you unfamiliar with such slow Mbps speeds: Simple web pages will not load correctly or fully. YouTube videos will constantly buffer. Netflix movies are unwatchable. You’ll be lucky if you can get the app to load at all!!

    I was NOT even getting their ABSOLUTE MINIMUM that they “Guarantee”…

    So these are the first & second issues right out of the box, day one! - Incredibly slow speed and a speed LESS than what they guarantee, and NO WHERE NEAR the upper end (7 Mbps) of what they “Guarantee”!

    I then attempted to contact their Customer Service Line (I’m putting their number here for convenience, because if you DO make the same mistake I did and decide to go with TalkTalk, you’re going to need it… A LOT! 0345 172 0088).

    This was also a terrible experience and nothing shot of vastly frustrating and awkward. - You initially get through to an automated service… The problem is, it’s voice recognition based. I can tell you this system DOES NOT work well or is even remotely effective! The system does not recognise what you are saying, who you are, what your mobile # is, and the reason why you are calling… Eventually after going through this highly frustrating and unreliable system, you get through to a person… This is where the frustration increases substantially!!! - Firstly, they are based in an office / call centre most likely NOT in the UK… Secondly, it’s one of those ridiculously noisy call centres where the ambient background noise is deafening!!

    Whatever ‘training’ that the staff there have, it is completely inadequate and ineffective. - There’s more to customer service than just saying “Sorry” and “I apologise” 100 x on a phone call with a customer…

    After just about managing to fight through the Customer ID / Security Checks which involved me repeating myself multiple times, I told the TalkTalk person what the issue was (VERY slow speeds). I’d like to point out here, that this is the third issue: A completely shambolic Customer Service call centre that has to be accessed through a highly frustrating, barely functioning voice recognition system…

    The TalkTalk person on the phone told me that there is usually an initial 7 - 9 day period where the line “Settles Down”, and if the slow speed persists they will send an engineer to assess the external street box equipment…

    This is nothing short of a lie!! - I have been informed by an 18 yr veteran of telecommunications that a line will either do 1 of 3 things: 1. It will either work very well. 2. It will either work very poorly. 3. It will not work at all. - It will CERTAINLY NOT change its status / performance after having a “Settling down” period!! It is what it is!! - And in TalkTalk’s case this line worked very VERY poorly!!

    BE ADVISED: Being told to wait for a “Settling Down” period is TalkTalk’s way of stalling their customers from cancelling their service… If its poor speed from day 1, its always going to be poor speed. - The following backs up that statement…
    Again, here, Im pointing out that this is issue number four: There IS NO settling down period. This is fictitious. Even if it was an actual legitimate ‘thing’, it was completely ineffective and did NOTHING!!

    After foolishly waiting for the “Settling Down” period to complete, shockingly, my Broadband speed Mbps had NOT got any better at all!

    So, unfortunately, I was forced to call TalkTalk’s frustrating and useless customer service number again… After once again having to deal with the numerous repetitions on my part due to their useless voice recognition system, just to get through to an actual person. Then deal with the customer ID / Security questions with all the background noise and a TalkTalk person with a VERY ‘heavy accent’, making it almost impossible to understand what they were saying, I managed to book an engineer. - This engineer was going to inspect the equipment in the street for faults…

    On 03/08/22 I receive a TalkTalk email titled “Our Engineer Has Resolved The Issue” (Also a similar message sent to my phone via text)…

    I conduct a speed test…

    …… 0.63 Mbps Download Speed… Congratulations, TalkTalk! - You managed to make your already abortionate performance even worse!!!

    Id like to point out here that this is issue number five: - They sent an engineer, said that the issue had been fixed when it really wasn’t fixed at all!

    Which does raise 3 questions: What, exactly, did the engineer ‘fix’..? AND, did TalkTalk even ACTUALLY send an engineer in the first place or are they lying..?! If they are not lying, why wasn’t the problem fixed, because the email I received said it was…..!?!?

    Another frustrating phone call to TalkTalk for me… GREAT!

    This time, an engineer is arranged to attend the inside of my property on 17/08/22 between the hrs of 07:00 - 09:00.

    Now, if you think things are bad so far, they are about to get A LOT worse..!

    So, on the above date, I arrange to take the day off work so I can be home and finally have this problem fixed… (Also, as Im self employed, this involves losing a day’s income for me…).

    So, Im sat there on the sofa from 06:30 hrs waiting for a ring of the door bell or a knock…

    At 08:12 hrs I receive a TalkTalk text message saying “Hello. ‘Bradley’, your engineer is on the way and due to arrive between 07:00 and 09:00. Please make sure you are at home between these times. Thanks. Talktalk.” Now I’m thinking “Excellent! Anytime now…”

    … It gets to 09:00 hrs… No ring or knock at the door…

    At 09:11 hrs I receive another TalkTalk text message…

    “TalkTalk Update: Hello, we're sorry we missed you when we came out to do a repair. To arrange another appointment with our engineer, just go to our online Service Centre talktalk.co.uk/bookengineer, or reply to this message. We have to charge you for the missed appointment and you'll see this on your next bill - to find out more, see our terms and conditions talktalk.co.uk/engineerterms”.

    I WAS ABSOLUTELY ******* LIVID!!!!

    AT NO POINT DID ANY TALKTALK ENGINEER COME TO MY PROPERTY!!! I received NO knock at the door! I received NO doorbell ring! NOTHING!!!

    Oh, yeah… This is issue number six…

    … You see, there’s a little trick that various engineers use to “lighten their work load” for the day when making house calls… They get close enough so that their work tablet is in job geo-fence range, barely ‘brush’ your front door (certainly DON’T ring the doorbell because that will be loud and the homeowner will answer the door, and the engineer will actually have to do some work!!!), get back in their vehicle and enter into their work tablet that there was no one home… Oh well, on to the next job….!!!

    I instantly (at 09:12) get on to TalkTalk customer care (which, again, is great fun, highly dynamic and really professional as I’ve previously described…!) and tell them what has happened and to get the engineer back here IMMEDIATELY!!!

    IM FURIOUS!!!!

    ….. TalkTalk put me on hold for 31 minutes…. No updates…. No info…. And that’s where I give up, end the call and they lose a customer! - They don’t call back and obviously the engineer doesn’t “return”…

    I then and there select a different Broadband provider to switch to after only being with TalkTalk for 24 days!!! ABSOLUTELY SHAMBOLIC ACROSS THE BOARD!!

    I have been charged in 24 days of “Service” with TalkTalk the following amounts:
    £ 31.48 (Initial “monthly rate” £ 19.95, plus “charges since you’ve joined” £ 1.58 and a “one off charges” £ 9.95?!)
    £ 59.95 (Engineer call out fee who never turned up!!! Plus, normal monthly rate!!!)
    £ 180.73 (‘Contract Breakage Fee’, WHICH I WOULD’NT BE BREAKING IF THEY WERE’NT COMPLETELY INCOMPETENT AND DIDN’T HAVE ASTOUNDINGLY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!)

    £ 272.16 TOTAL…. In 24 days…!

    I, THE CUSTOMER, am paying £ 240.68 purely because of THEIR SHORTCOMINGS!!!

    How is this right?!

    Their level of incompetence defies belief!!! I can summarise my experience with TalkTalk and describe them by the words: Horrendous. Unprofessional. Dishonourable. Unorganised. Low Grade. Dishonest. Embarrassing. Infuriating.

    But there is somewhat of a happy ending to this story…

    My new Broadband provider is supplying generous and highly satisfactory Mbps right out of the box on day 1. No need for a “Settling Period”. No need to call customer service. No need for engineer call outs that don’t really do anything or even turn up….!!

    For those still reading, I cannot stress enough to stay away from TalkTalk.

    I am in the process of copying and pasting my experience on as many forums, comparison sites, review sites etc. as possible. - Consumers need to know!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Westminster, London
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Initially the offer and price seemed a good deal. After 2 years using their service I can guarantee the following:
    Many issues with the wifi. Horrible customer service.
    As I have read in other reviews, it happened to me as well that once your current contract expires, they automatically enroll you to an standard package which is double your previous monthly plan. Unless you are aware of this, you end up paying loads more for the same service. This is obviously made on purpose. Which is a very bad practice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South wales
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paid for the fastest speed. Constantly dropping out. I was promised 100+ mbps and whenever I did a speed test it was typically < 3mbps although would occasionally jump to around 30 (that’s if it was even working). At one point the power supply for the box decided to fail. Customer service quality was heavily dependant upon who answered the phone. More than once I contacted and was hung up on for no apparent reason (it was not call failed, but call ended). This was after being polite and friendly so it wasn’t like I was doing a Karen on them. I ended up having to pay out for my own power supply. I strongly recommend you avoid talk talk. Lesson learnt, I will not be purchasing broadband from them again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North East
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Recently moved out . Fortunately Talk talk don’t provide service at new address. Landline stopped working when moved to talk talk. They said they hadn’t changed it. First person spoke too helpful, promised certain things & not happened . Since then every time I’ve rung they said they can’t help as I failed security on email address I gave them. Yet I had received an email from them to the address I gave only 15 mins previously. They really are the WORST company to deal with. No issues dealt with satisfactorily all time I’ve been with them. They are the worst. Do not touch Talk Talk with a barge pole. Over priced and appealing service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Even when you have moved house and want to to cancel your fibre service Talk Talk will not let you and continue to charge notwithstanding this. Do not contract with them in the first place. They are not ethical and are after your money only. Avoid at all costs! They don’t deal with you went you raise a formal complaint and use tricks to fob you off for as long as possible. Fail to call you went they say they will and their online chat is useless and a waste of time!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service I have ever experienced. They even hanged up on me a couple of times, half the staff does not know what to do. Still waiting for an engineer to come to set up my fibre after 3 appointments, everytime talk talk did not know what the problem was and I "had" to reschedule. Avoid them at any cost, I am changing supplier because there is no hope with those guys.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    The customer service is absolutely unhelpful, i have been kept on the line for almost an hour. Fist I have been told it is not my account, then the person suppose to sent me an email but never received it. I kept asking what is the problem, why is it taking so long, company has my email address as I get the bill every month, no answer..Could not log in into my account even when I wanted to reset the password the website showed an error on several occasions and even though i mention that to Daniel (the person who suppose to help me), suggested him to get some help as well. I have been completely ignored and told to check other browser and call back tomorrow.. absolute rubbish.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    Yesterday I was supposed to have an upgraded to full fibre . I got a lot of email and messages before that I will be happy and I will have it. Yesterday should be an engineer from whom I got 2 sms also at what time will he come. I wasted a day because no one turned up. I called to helpline -it's a waste of time. I can not log in to my account because the e-mail address to which I received information from them does not exist. There is no contact with them. Daily router problem. Today I got msg to reschedule date. That's joke.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moving home is stressful enough with out having to deal with the constant lies of TalkTalk.
    This is how my home move has gone so far:

    11/8 - Called to advise of house move and that I would be in the new property on 22/8. Call handler explicitly stated that my ‘go live date’ would be that day and gave no indication it could change as he had spoken with Openreach and they had confirmed this.(Lie number 1)

    16/8 Confirmation email informed me that my go live date was actually 31/8. I called the customer services where a man said there had been a duplicate order and that by cancelling the duplicate, I would still have the go live date of 22/8. (Lie number 2). He also told me to ‘make sure I wear my wonderful smile’, for which he can go and do one, I called for broadband not advice on my face.

    On 19/8, following a further confirmation email of the go live date now being 31/8, I phoned to complain (not about the go live date because that’s an Openreach problem) about being lied to. I was told that I had not been lied to. (Lie number 3 and to be honest, a little gaslighty for my tastes).

    On 31/8 I used the chat function on the website to confirm that I would still be connected, given that there is industrial action involving Openreach. I was told, by ‘Angelica’ that that this would not affect me as I didn’t need an engineer and the line activation would be done remotely. I asked her to clarify this because I had waited a further 9 days after my house move, specifically for an engineer to turn my service on at the local box. She reiterated that I didn’t need one and my service will be activated by midnight. (Lie number 4)

    1/9 I called as, predictably, lie number 4 was confirmed and we have no broadband. The call handler confirmed that I didn’t yet have broadband because of industrial action from Openreach and that I needed an engineer to come a turn on the service. My new go live date is 5/9. Let’s see if that happens.

    I don’t expect TalkTalk to refund the couple of thousand in lost wages between my partner and I due to lack of service, nor the exorbitant extra mobile data we’ve had to purchase because we know they won’t. They cannot even get the basics right.

    They are liars, gas lighters and totally incompetent.

    I would recommend they be totally avoided.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    the second time I have Internet from them. I am not satisfied and do not recommend it. do not fulfill the contract, including what they say on the phone.you have to stand up for yours because they play fools and of course they always say "we understand" at the end I'm waiting for the end of the contract and say goodbye to them. I haven't had internet for over a week. no one was fixed. nobody spoke. you are just hopeless
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Highly unreliable connection.
    Very poor speeds
    Its impossible to raise a complaint. They take atleast 45mins to 1 hour over a phone to diagnose and then blame it on your device
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with talk talk for 19 years, and would not think of leaving them. Today, I had a technical problem. I spoke to a young man in South Africa his name was Siphmandla. He was so helpful, and sorted out my very complicated problem. I wish there was some way I could get through to his department. He was friendly, efficient, and certainly knew what he was doing. I have spoken to many such people within the talk talk organisation, but this one really excelled. Thank you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Fine if no problems, absolutely appalling service as soon as you run into any issues.
    We had to wait over 6 weeks for a total broadband outage to be restored
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yeovil
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Biggest mistake we made,stay away from these.Customer service-0,Broadband reliability-0.
    Honestly cannot believe how totally inept this company are,they really are a disgrace.
    Been with them a few years,all was good until 18mths or so ago,our internet is intermittent,we have had it “tested” by their technicians on the phone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Initially brilliant. After a few weeks most evenings the Internet dropped our completely around 9 pm to 10 pm. Rebooted router. No good. Repositioned router. No difference. Added a WiFi extender. No difference. Used cable to TV. Still no difference. Talktalk sadly does not deliver a quality product.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    TalkTalk informed by email on 4th August 2022 that FullFibre Cable would be installed on 19th August. I immediately placed a phone order for their Fibre900 package. The installation went fine, but the link did not switch on. After 6 hours of calls to TalkTalk, it was finally switched on. However, it was to my existing Fibre65 package. Over the next 6 days, I phoned and used their online chatline to get this fixed. Twice, I was told that it'd be done within 24 hours. Lies. Finally, on day 5, I was told that they had never received the order - so how could anyone promise that the requested package would arrive within 24 hours? More lies. I tried to put in a new order. TalkTalk told me that I, the customer, had to contact City Fibre and get the RFS Code changed from 4 to 1 or 2 to enable the service. City Fibre assured me that it was TalkTalk's Tech Support people who had to request this of them. Tech Support claimed not to have the power or knowledge to do so. I'm currently on the chatline waiting for the FullFibre section to reply. I'm seriously contemplating action in the Small Claims Court. TalkTalk are liars, incompetents, and don't give a damn about their customers. DON'T SIGN UP WITH THEM!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This company it’s a pure nightmare. I never publicly speak about this issues but I’m so exhausted.
    They supposed to cancel my contract 2 months ago. Seriously since that I called them more then 10 times. Every time they say they cancelled it but they don’t. I cried already so many times because of it because it’s so frustrating. I want have it done and it’s not. Calling them it means spending at least 1h on the phone if you’re lucky. They transfer you from one department to another and very of then on the way the signal is lost.
    I never had such bad experience with any brand.
    I’m right now waiting in line for them to pick up the phone because again I got the bill to pay. It’s ridiculous.
    I hope somebody will read it and avoid this company. It’s a pure scam.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Very very disappointed.
    Month after month I have been overcharged on my direct debit, month after month I have to call them to ask for a refund of the overcharge (in the process spending an average of 45 minutes on the phone) and month after month I am told the same story that they're "looking into it". The situation is still not resolved. Shame, because the product is OK. I just want to pay the advertised price for it, which surely shouldn't be too difficult to arrange.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    CH76GD
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    Not poor service, NO SERVICE!! No answere to questions. Order not raised by me took several hours to cancel.
    Ordered new package took well over 60mins bot helpful he was condescending. Then sent information 33, yes 33 of the same email. Told me someone would carry out survey, no idea if this happened. Installation due yesterday no one came. On phone over an hour no one dies or k ows anything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!! This company are absolutely useless. The most appalling customer service I have ever received!! Tried to upgrade my broadband and was told everything was ready to go, two weeks later it still hadn’t gone live on the new plan. After over 3 HOURS on the phone I was told that it hadn’t been processed properly and they would have to cancel my account and set me up as a new customer which is shocking! Told them I wanted to cancel my account all together as I would be going with a new provider due to the terrible service I had received. Again was told this had all been proceeded and I would receive a final bill and it was cancelled effectively immediately. 10 days later the contract had still not been cancelled and they have just sent me a bill for another month. More hours on the phone and I was told they hadn’t actually cancelled the contract even though I had received the cancellation email. I was told there was nothing they could do and they would cancel it today but it is a 30 day cancellation process. Absolutely disgusted with the customer service and apparently there is no was for me to lodge a formal complaint.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst company I have ever dealt with, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. You can’t even cancel, they just hang up on you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stockport
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    To be fair broadband speed was excellent. However I was no fault evicted from my property and they charged me over 140 pounds to cancel. They 4ang me two days later and an aggressive sales agent said he could remove the fee but only if I set up again at a new address. Would not take no for an answer. I am disgusted and even though my broadband was top notch the diabolical treatment of me and my wife has left me adamant I will never use them again. Advice to anyone thinking of using talktalk? Don't do it.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    The Talktalk is a thief company. It is also a ripoff from account. I had a contract from Dec 2021.Bill demand kept spamming till Aug 2022 for nothing. I cancelled by email and by phone. My regular was £21.70 and they raised to £39.20 which I paid. Their service is rubbish and I never would recommend this broadband service ever in my life again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pontypool
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We are paying £32/month for. A guarantee of 58mps. But we’re only getting an average of about 24mps speed to the router. The connection is horrendously unreliable . We’ve rang almost everyday asking and they ask us the same questions. Aren’t conversations recorded. Don’t they log in complaints. We’ve got a new router and their systems say our router software needed updating but they couldn’t seem to update it. Where are the engineers? Or do they have one? We decided to leave after all of these mess. But they’re asking for a £136 odd fee as penalty since we haven’t finished the contract . Aren’t they daft? if we are happy with the service and not being short changed will we ever think of leaving ? C’mon people ! I wouldn’t recommend Talk talk to anyone .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This company is simply the worst, It doesnt even deserve the 1 star out of 5. Talktalk should be ashamed of the horrible services they provide, i'm highly disappointed. Delay in go live date, broadband router not received. I have no idea what they do. They hang up on calls and waste hours telling fake stories on the chat and call. It was rated the worst broadband in 2021 and I totally agree, and they are headed that way this year(2022) too. 'With an overall customer satisfaction score of just 77%, TalkTalk was rated the worst broadband provider in Ofcom's 2021 annual report.' <--- from google. This is a horrible broadband service provider. Be warned! You will Thank Me later. AVOIDDDDD talktalk if you wanna avoid stress and an empty bank account!!!
    AVOID TALKTALK AVOID AVOID AVOID
    DANGER, BE WARNEDD!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blyth
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    @TalkTalk two months and still waiting for my broadband to be disconnected. 10 phonecalls, being transferred and hung up on 5 times, tried raising a complaint twice just to be hung up on. Being told three different stories, and then hung up on again. Still no further forward.Chats and messages just give me the phone number that I have been using for the last 8 weeks..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wednesbury
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I upgraded to the fibre package a while ago which proved to be no faster at all and keeps dipping in and out and at times freezing. Engineer checked and said no fault, I asked for a new router and they put me in a new contract, I told them to cancel and they said they want £90 exit fee. Never again. It takes hours to get through and the.online chat disconnect you once you tell them to cancel. Lesson learned to only ever sign a 12 month contract in future. A sign they have been taken over by private equity so I say no more. One time they were good but no more.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Peterborough
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Took a 18 month contract out for £24pm, was advised of a free fibre upgrade, scheduled this twice, no one has attended as confirmed on the day and time, when trying to call talk talk no one answers on hold for over 45mins each time, to then be cut of by the person taking the call, I have submitted 2 formal complaints, still not resolved abd no formal acknowledgement, avoid not worth the hassle.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    HORRENDOUS AVOID AT ALL COST. As all reviews say they have no level of customer service. Disconnected Wi-Fi when I changed my package and I use it for work. Misspelt my email address then charged me for paper statements. Staff refuse to put you through to a manager. They used to be good but now they are a nightmare all none UK call centre. Will never go with this company again after my experience and can't wait to leave when current contract up but I am guessing that will be a challenge in itself. Also call centre has inflexible working hours.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.