Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 1090 customer ratings since 2023-03-03 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,651 Customer Reviews over 117 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    VIRGIN MEDIA IS THE WORST INTERNET PROVIDER
    They lie on every single matter: external work, internal installation, billing, cancellation of the contract !
    There is no ethics in this company, they don't have any respect for their customers
    One advice; AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shrewsbury
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had a terrible experience with VM.
    I recently moved to a new house. I opted for their service and I got very disappointed. I couldn’t reach out to their customer service and I send the cancellation form and kit to the address on the econtract I had with them(which was sent to my mail). I am being forced to pay for the service that I never used. Also I was told their kit was not received on the same address that was given to me. I would not recommend them to anyone. Their services are wack, human resource department and customer service is really terrible. I was told I would be reported for debt and they spoil my credit score. I would be forced to pay for it. I didn’t use the service at all. The kits wasn’t even opened before I rang for cancellation. Some of their customer service representatives have very poor human relation and terrible speaking and understanding skills. Please, I will encourage anyone to go for better broadband service who will put your priority first and ensure you have the value for your money.
    If there is zero rating that is what I would’ve given for the terrible experience I have/am having with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not trust the sales pitch

    Avoid this company at all cost .Do not angree to anything until you have check what you are agreeing to .

    Everything about this company is very deceptive and They will lie and mislead you and hit you with hidden charges and double bill you when you upgrade . I specifically asked if I would be double billed or if there was any hidden cost numerous times I couldn’t be any clearer and told no and the amount I will be billed . I got sent a message to confirm the agreement also very deceptive and misleading with the layout ,

    Tried to bill me double what was agreed I had already explained I couldn’t afford any hidden charges or a double over the phone .they couldn’t care less .This would have left me in finances hardship next month .

    I’m sure I’m not the only one who they have mislead
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rotherham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking!!! I was with sky and had 2 men knocking on my door to move to virgin so i looked to move over to them as they were offering higher speed, one day 2 random men turned up at my house taking pictures of my house then started drilling into my house, the men then used my bin to put all there cans of pop in, food, ropes and equipment, i had an appiopment booked for 27th of december come home early from my parents house for the appiopment for nobody to turn up, i ring up to see where they are, my 'appiopment' was never booked even they ive got emails and in my contract it says there are coming on the 27th, while on the phone i tried to cancel they just wouldnt let me cancel kept passing me to different people/departments, finally i managed to get through to someone who cancelled my services, they sent me a bill on £30 for my broadband, even thought nothing was up and running, i had no wifi hub but on their end it was all working, ive put nothing but compalints in and nobody has got back to me, finally spoke to a manager last week and all i got from him was 'we have cancelled your services what more do you want?' Customer services is shocking and rude, i will never ever think about moving to virgin!!! They keep asking me to return the equipment but there isnt no equipment to return!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uxbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After 15 years with this company. I will be looking to move away asap. It’s now the worse company for broadband and customer services. No broadband, telephone or tv for a week now due to fault. Engineers telling lies and rescheduling appointments whenever they want. Do yourself a favour and avoid this terrible company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    OXFORD
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very bad, harassment when leaving.

    I have been paying overpriced internet since the end of my contract in may 2023 : 51£ a month !!! so of course, when moving out of my flat, I want to cancel !
    I felt harassed when asking to cancel my contract. They made it impossible.
    Instead, the team created a new contract WITHOUT my permission, which, I am sure, is illegal, while I was asking for cancellation of my internet from the beginning.
    Also no help and no commercial gesture when I want to leave on the 24th of january (end of my last bill and date where I will be moving out) ! Instead they asked me to pay a cancellation fee which was 30 pounds (I was not under a contract anymore, it's that you need a 30 days notice!!! I guess, anything is good to force people not to leave, I didn't know I was signing a pact with the devil!).
    Basically, virgin media are thieves, stealing money and time from people ! Indeed, it took me an afternoon and 4h the next morning to cancel my internet and the new contract they created without my authorisation.
    ALSO internet is mediocre ! I had a 250mb speed contract in a 35m2 flat, router in the bedroom, I could have good signal in the bedroom only !!!! Ridiculous !
    DO NOT go there, I wish I could have put no star at all, but not a possibility.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We were offered a £75 voucher when we signed up for Broadband with Virgin Media on 12th June 2023 and as of today (9th Jan 2024) and more than a dozen emails of complaint later, we are still awaiting our voucher.
    After first contacting their customer service team to confirm that their 120 day deadline had passed for receipt of the voucher, we were told that our case would be looked into.
    Since then, we have been passed to their Resolutions Team, who spout all the right words about us being "a valued customer" etc., but don't actually do anything. The upshot of this is, that I am now supposed to contact a third party who supply the vouchers on behalf of Virgin M and they have so far provided two different company email addresses to contact! I have emailed both of these companies twice and have heard nothing from either of them. I am sick to the back teeth of Virgin Media, they have been an absolute nightmare to deal with, not only with our complaint about the voucher but also with the whole Broadband installation. Once they had our money and we'd signed the contract everything just fell apart. They're so "good" (not) that they didn't even connect the cables to our house properly!! From the junction box in the pavement outside our house, they just laid the cable across the surface of the pavement and then buried it 1" below the surface of the soil in our front garden. Anyone passing our house could easily have cut the cable, as about 18" of it was laid across the top of the tarmac!! ABYSMAL company and even worse customer service. I don't think I've ever dealt with as poor a company in my life. Had I been able to give them MINUS 5 stars instead of plus 1 star I would have. Stay away from them if you have any sense!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    So when an experianced technically minded person approaches Virgin's Forum Team using the same user account they've used for many years helping other customers diagnose and fix faults you don't quite expect to be told that the troublshooting and investigation work into your own service problem is trash!

    I found a recent upgrade to the Hub 5 after using a Hub 3/4 at same property for 5-11 years, was a the problem causing streaming and connection drop outs (5000 in a month Virgin Media recorded) but the response from a Forum Team member with 6 years tenure says "The hub 5 is more than fit for purpose. I've had one for many months and no issues"

    So 4 weeks later, issues not resolved, 3 engineers, 1 network team manager visit later and nothing is fixed and we still know what I said in the first place, apart from now I've even investigated deeper and isolated the issue.

    Still though I'm told that Hub 5 is not at fault, so the Hub 3 connected right this second working fine must be magic.

    No replacements orHub 4 offered to test, just wasted time, appointment changes and now that same long tenured Forum Team member has said,

    "The only offer now of a complaint resolution would be a 7 day disconnection notice, not hold you to EDF's but I will be asking our Housefiles team to mark your property as a non-serviceable address as there's no issues with the Hub 5."

    Silly Me :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    tyne wera
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Shocking service virgan you are bigoted the lack of compassion is shoking you have not done nothing to resolve the issues rased you have lack of diplomcey and the totol lack of traning of your staf is shoking.Iv spent all day on the phon to you at virgan iv spok to to prox 20 peopel but still nothin you kept me on hold for one hour and two mins shoking then you cut me off now i am going to ofcom shame on virgan
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The product is acceptable however the renegotiation of service is appallingly. I experienced a brick wall when Virgin started to take out more money than I agreed. They would not refund or speak to me, failing to call be back and ignoring my repeated Emails. Its nearly impossible to cancel. My calls took 45 minutes to get through to cancellations and then the call disconnected. The has been going on for 6 months, after which I cancelled the direct debit. Because I didn't get to speak to someone, I emailed the person they told me too. Apparently this isn't acceptable. So frustrating, they are after all a communication company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Welwyn Garden City
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First few months no problems, 190-250mbps and around 20-40mbps upload which is what i'm paying for. After a few months it went bad. 200-700 ping on fortnite, 75mbps download and 5-10mbps upload. Overall **** broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dublin 10
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    6 months ago I renewed my contract with vm and they put me virgin mobile too, nothing wrong till then, what happened? My sim never arrived, I went face to face in tallaght and talked with a guy from a shop and he said the account number i have doesn t exist, so they probably made a misstake and i won t be charged, till then for like 3 weeks i wasn t charged, after they started sucking from my account 20 euro every month on SOMETHING I DON T HAVE and i didn t notice, In december they even charged twice, once on 5 december and once on 15 december, so 40 euro in a month for nothing, I called them they said they can t give me a refund because they don t know if i used the sim or not, I talked with another agency and they said as an agent you can check if an sim is used or not, after i cancelled i received ANOTHER BILL, I went to the bank and they blocked virgin media so they won t take money from my account anymore, but at the bank they told me to call virgin media for a refund, and virgin media won t do anything, i lost 140 euro on air!!! WE ARE NOT RICH, STOP STILLING FROM PEOPLE!! Not fair
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wembley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    In all my years of internet surfing, Virgin broadband services are probably the worst service ever experienced. The reliability is so poor and the time for rectification unbearably slow.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Darlington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Horrible company!!! No one responses to complain, charges are extremely high! Serves is s!#@! Please, please stay away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid and save yourself an absolute nightmare. Awful customer service. Impossible to communicate with them as they never answer emails or leave you on hold for ages. Rubbish service. Total conmen. End up with threatening emails about credit rating. Avoid avoid avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Extremely unreliable service, frequent ping spikes and an absolute nightmare to actually get any of it fixed.

    Not viable for teams meetings, streaming, games.

    Genuinely terrible service, stay as far away from virgin as possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid in ANY case.
    Worst experience in my life.
    Looks like Customer Service has been hacked by SCAMMERs!
    LIES AND LIES AND MORE LIES!!
    1)I ordered the Broadband 25 days ago - order accepted. After 3 days I received a cancellation by email because the previous account did not give a 30-day notice, which, as it turned out, was not true - they accepted notice was received but they did not register it. I lost the offer and a lot of time and days.
    2) On December 1st I ordered:
    Broadband only,
    26.50 per month.
    +115 credit,
    + cashback (from top cashback).
    delivery on December 12th.
    Confirmed and NO cancelled in any way. So,after lunch I called and no one could tell me why there would be no delivery.
    I spent many hours talking with Customer Service and received the drop call after talking with 3 people over 90 minutes. 2nd call. 3rd call etc.
    3)The last one I spoke to I literally told her 20 times that I absolutely do not want to open a new order under any circumstances, if she cannot give me my order dated December 1st, I will not take any order. She spent 30 minutes convincing me that this was the same order, only she needed to open an account for me. She said I will got the same order 115 credit, etc.
    4)FUTHERMORE. 10 minutes later I received an SMS with a new 18 Month order with 75 credit etc.
    I'm shocked - why lie so OPENLY?
    What I can say more...?
    I'm watching Ofcom, Financial Ombudsman ... or any advice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunderland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Shocking service, cancel contract after it ends and they don't process it and then spring high bills on you. Once you contact to complain they advise they will need to put a 3p day notice on even thiugh you advised you were leaving after your contract!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible in all respects. Have been a loyal customer for a few years but the negotiation around contract renewals, the ways they deal with customer complaints and the general disregard for loyal customers make it an all time low. If i could give it a zero I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We’ve been without WiFi now for over 3 days! Every time my husband calls he’s told they are working on it! I’ve nearly used up my data on my mobile because of this and have also lost job opportunities as I cannot access the internet to complete the required assignments. Absolutely shocking and frustrating. Customer service are very unhelpful and refuse to put you through to any management. Yesterday my husband said he wanted to place an official complaint and was told to do it online!! I would urge you to look at other providers as we have had nothing but issues since we signed up with virgin and although we pay the premium rate the WiFi even when it works is extremely poor. This company aren’t even worthy of one star rating!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Disconnection through customer service is cumbersome. Existing customers are chased away by high renewal rates.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Fantastic broadband never had an issue from the moment I connected it!! Could stream anything with no buffering. Unfortunately I moved to Cumbria where they don’t cover so had to cancel early and pay the costs but brilliant product otherwise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I write to share my ongoing ordeal with Virgin Media, hoping to spare others from the headaches I've endured. My journey started on the 9th of March 2022 when I eagerly signed an 18-month contract at a seemingly reasonable rate. Little did I know, this was the beginning of a series of issues that would plague my experience.

    Fast forward to the 22nd of May 2023, where I signed another 18-month contract at a reduced rate. The trouble began with unexplained charges in June, July, and August 2023. Feeling financially strained, I decided to halt my direct debit on the 1st of September 2023.

    Things took a drastic turn on the 29th of September 2023 when Virgin Media claimed I owed them an outstanding balance. Despite my complaint on the 2nd of October 2023, negotiations only led to temporary solutions and broken promises.

    Service disruptions on the 3rd of October 2023 required me to pay for reactivation. Virgin Media agreed to a one-time credit, but the problems persisted, leading to another credit agreement on the 11th of November 2023.

    On the 12th of November 2023, a new arrangement was made, only for my account to be suspended again on the 4th of December 2023. After a heated argument, they agreed to reactivate my service but claimed the remaining balance would be settled by a credit, yet emails continue to show overdue amounts.

    This continuous cycle of broken promises and billing issues has left me frustrated and disheartened. I caution anyone considering Virgin Media's services to think twice, as my experience underscores their lack of accountability and persistent billing problems.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Total waste of money, I upped my speed and have gotten a less reliable service. What an absolute shambles of a company with no accountability or person to talk about the issues. Has turned not a faceless organisation with poor customer service and reliable internet speed and strength.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with virgin for years mostly due to easiness of just keeping the contract running and avoid changing but my contract expires in January and I cannot wait to leave. Trying to cancel with them they will keep you on hold once they know for least half hour so you just give up. I lost internet for 3 days and they didn’t care and then refused to compensate me for the loss of service I’m paying almost £100 a month just for internet and basic tv package unbelievable. Don’t get fooled by the promise of quick speeds if I turn my phone on the tv buffers and I have their highest package for broadband. I’m counting the days to leave
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No stars NEVER EVER get Virgin broadband, tv and phone package. We had it fitted on 11th October, had no phone for two weeks , engineer comes 2 weeks later can't sort it , next morning no devices whatsoever. Few days later they put the internet back on still no phone or TV. Eventually over 4 weeks later we get TV, 2 days after that we get the phone with a temporary number ( not so temporary as we still have it ,) in the meantime we are sent several new contracts , why ? We don't want a new contact we just want our original one honoured. Then we get a bill 3 X what we were quoted! So today we made our 24th phone call which took over an hour and a half and are no further forward. To say we are pissed off , angry , frustrated and at the point of pulling out hair out is an understatement.
    The virgin product when working is great but the customer service from them is an absolute abomination.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Downfall of Virgin's Reputation

    Using Virgin Broadband for my properties has been an absolute train wreck:

    Customer Service: Endlessly Horrendous - Every call is a descent into madness with endless waits and abysmal support. It's a vortex of despair.

    Phone Support: Excruciatingly Incompetent - They're not just unhelpful; they're a liability. Complete ignorance and utter disregard for customer issues.

    Installation: A Complete Joke - They've never met an installation date. It's a chaotic mess of broken promises and sheer incompetence.

    Service Quality: A Total Failure - The service is not just bad; it's catastrophically terrible. Constant outages, snail-like speeds—it's a disaster.

    Virgin Broadband is not just the worst in the market; it's a stain on the Virgin legacy. Their business practices are laughable, and their service is a joke. It's obvious they're headed towards inevitable bankruptcy. Everyone knows Virgin Broadband is the bottom of the barrel in internet services. Avoid it like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin Media for 12 years and had quite a few issues with them to be honest, but this one takes the biscuit.

    I moved house last November and called them to say I was moving and want to transfer my contract over to my new house, however little did I know they did not carry it over but actually restarted my contract completly making the contract date end 6 months later, however they did carry over my Promotions, meaning now my promitions have ended but my contract still has 6 months left, putting my contract up from £29pm to £57pm, I contacted them several times and made a complaint, the customer service were all rude and unhelpful and in the end claimed no fault and refused to rectify the situation, leaving me paying a contract I cannot afford, I am disgusted with Virgin and when my contract renews now in May I will cancel and move to BT, never to return and make everyone aware of there antics, BEWARE!!!!, do not use Virgin Media they are scammers and cheats.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bradford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really poor customer service. No Internet in certain rooms despite it being fine to behin with. Tried contacting to get an engineer out to fix it. They didn't turn up. I rang and complained. They told me someone would call me to rearrange. Still waiting for a phone call
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grays
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's been four hours of connection for just one PC and a mobile, here is no option to upload a real time video that could save other to be cheated from big promises.
    Please do your OWN researches to go for a contract with VM
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible service no help from the child who delivered it as he was on his phone talking...since I plugged it in it still isn't working. Arrived Saturday and now a engineer has to come out Tuesday...but of course they've taken the money from my account....shoddy service !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warwick
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband speeds are consistently lower than advertised and drops out multiple times a day. The temperamental connection makes working from home incredibly annoying.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The WORST.

    Do not use this company, honestly, it’s a plea from the heart. They are simply, horrendously, irretrievably awesome. I am saying this as someone who has been with them for 20+ years now - Telewest before it was even Virgin Media!

    Customer Service is non-existent. Call the call centre and wait 2-3 hours, try on line chat and never get a response or wait 3-4 hours at best.

    Broadband in recent years has absolutely fallen through the floor, for the last 8 months I get dial-up speeds and a TV that is so poorly linked to the internet that you can’t watch Disney, Amazon, Netflix etc. This is despite my house being about 10 meters away from the main ‘box’
    Advertised and bought a package that should give 1TB and I get 1MB. No one will help and nobody there could give less of a monkeys. Both my wife and I ‘work’ from home - i put this in inverted commas because we can’t damn well work! Teams calls? No chance!
    Open a web page? Better make a cup of tea while you wait? Download a file? Pop to the shops and do the weekly grocery run.

    I say it again, DO NOT JOIN. If like me you are already cursed to be with them, get the hairy heck out of there as quick as you can and join someone who actually cares. If I could give them 0 stars I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve been with Virgin Media for around 6 weeks.
    I’ve had nothing but problems and had to phone customer service 6 times!
    Their customer service is absolutely awful. They’re based in the Philippines and don’t let you speak, constantly talk over you and can be very rude!
    They try and sell you packages but don’t explain in detail what they include.

    I recently upgraded my package to M350 volt broadband, landline and 360 box.
    But none of these services have worked for 7 days, as they cancelled the package!!
    Waited 3 days for them to call me back, and I heard nothing.
    I had to call them today and waited 45 minutes to get through.
    I now have to wait an additional 8 days for an engineer to come out!

    Dreadful!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am absolutely fuming and appalled, at the way your overseas staff spoke to, and treated my daughter.
    Who for your information is disabled.

    She also has verbal palsy, so her speech is affected .

    It was only a few Months ago, that I suffered a heart attack, and had issues with your overseas staff treating me as if I were an inconvenience.

    My complaint is that, my daughter tried phoning your company, and after an hour plus of being on hold to the same track of music, finally spoke with someone who refused point blank to help her.

    I am an emergency service worker, and I find this manner verging on contemptuous and unacceptable discrimination!

    My daughter had been a whole day without Television or internet.

    But your overseas staff did not care, and we're NOT, willing to assist

    As with a few weeks back when, apparently there was a local virgin media network blackout, she was treated in the same way.

    After hearing my daughter explain how she had been treated, I called a second time.

    I had been over 51 mins on the phone with same music blaring, and no answer, and then for someone to cut the call.

    Earlier on with my first call, I was told, the issue will not be fixed until Wednesday, and being told there may be a fee to pay!


    What time of service are you providing these days?

    Not only have I served HM forces, I worked tirelessly through the corona virus, putting my life on the line, only to be treated with contempt by virgin media.

    I will be taking this matter up with Ofcom , trading standards, BBC Ones Watchdog, and Panorama.

    I await your pre rehearsed response.

    Should someone have the integrity to call me and explain why your staff treat disabled customers in such a disgusting manner call me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Telford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service lies, they do not have contractors who will set up the line on time. The contract was signed in July, but no one has installed the cable yet. They wanted to charge me twice the monthly fee for a service they do not provide. The complete lack of control in the company and the incompetence of the management prove the problems they have. I think you are not fit to peel potatoes and you want to sell the Internet. They lied to my children who were waiting for the Internet Update 5.11.2023 Internet still not connected, they sent me bill 87£ with extra charge for unpaid bills. Claim with citizen advice office already done.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media's service experience has been deeply unsatisfactory. Despite their promises, the quality of service provided is subpar, making it a challenge for customers to receive the value they expect. Furthermore, their cancellation process is frustratingly opaque. When attempting to cancel the service three months ago, assurances were given that the cancellation would be processed. However, this conversation was misleadingly marked as 'dropped,' leading to continued billing for a service that was neither used nor desired. This miscommunication has resulted in an unexpected and unwarranted demand for an additional month's notice, adding to the overall dissatisfaction with Virgin Media's service.

    The company's practices raise serious concerns about their commitment to customer satisfaction and transparency. Not only does the difficulty in cancelling services create a barrier for customers wishing to discontinue, but the misclassification of a cancellation request as a 'dropped' call feels deceptive. This experience reflects a broader issue with the company's approach to customer relations, where the emphasis seems to be more on retaining revenue than genuinely addressing customer needs. The requirement of an additional month's notice, despite no usage of their services in the past three months, further illustrates a disregard for fair and reasonable customer service practices.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I would like to compliment Memit in the te nick’s division for his excellent performance and service today.

    He was extremely helpful and helpful as well as being polite and exceedingly my expectations.

    This gentleman it an asset to virgin snd I hope that he is praised and it given a copy of my review.,

    He went out of his way to accommodate me and he put a smile on my face:. He was extremely professional and explained everything in detail for me.

    Thank you Memit for your confidence and reliability. I appreciate all you did for me today.

    You have a very professional approach to life and make one smile when they are feeling down.

    The Hank you once again and keep up the wonderful work you are doing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have requested the internet connection on 26th of Sep , virgin media kept changing the installation date and today is 10th of November and I'm still waiting for the internet connection, despite many calls and promises that the service will be supplied long way before 10th of Nov , through out many calls I felt the lack of transparency and credibility with their customer service , a very low level service and it quite obvious is not governed by a mature process or clear message that they can't serve my area at this point of time and their technical problems might take a very long time to be resolved.

    Watch out of this supplier , because it turns out that their infrastructure is not ready in my area , they locked me for more than 40 days where they are not technically ready to get us connected, if this is the way virgin media locking their customer , I believe they have to be investigated by the local telecomm ofcom authority.

    I don't have an active line that has never been supplied yet so I have requested to cancel the service and they asked my to bear the cost of sending back their equipment back.

    If they have been honest and transparent , I could have the internet a month ago from other suppliers. And if they have an atom of professionalism they should not ask me to bear the cost of sending their equipment back where I never had the service up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bracknell
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    For a communication company Virgin…
    For a communication company Virgin suck. I was off contract and it took me 3 hours to speak to a representative to end my service. One of the reps I couldn’t even understand. They even apply a 30 day period after notification so they sting you for more money yet I had no contract. The website says you can cancel online but the link has a 404 error “page not found”, computer says no. Then they throw you around the company trying other reps to pressure you into taking a new deal at a lower rate. They don’t understand the words “i want to cancel” and around you go. Now they have filed a credit report on Clearscore as a final kick in the gentleman parts, even though I paid my final rip off bill within two working days, they are trying to penalise me, we shall see about that. They only ever put your bill up and if off contract expect it to double. No loyalty for long term customer, pressure applied to try and keep you stay. If Broadband.co.uk had a zero rating I would have selected that begrudgingly. Useless, inept, no customer service and deserve to close down. Suggest person at the top goes and flips burgers for a living but he/she/they would probably burn them. Go elsewhere.
    Date of experience: 23 October 2023

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.