Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 3260 customer ratings since 2021-05-17 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,163 Customer Reviews over 417 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Constant broadband outages everyday and significant reduction of speed throughout the day causing severe disruption to working from home. Having to use personal mobile data as a susbstitute. Virgin have refused to provide me a dongle to access the internet and insist on a 30 day notice period to leave all the while they are unable to provide me a workable broadband service I am paying for. Poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Erith
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought of joining Virgin as my contract with other provider was about to run out. Big mistake. They set up date of installation, then I received text that there is an earlier slot, I replied back agreeing to it and on the said day no one arrived. Called them to find out that they know nothing about changed date and didn.t care that I could send them screenshots as evidence. They insisted on their date. I was off sick so I thought, whatever, I can wait. On the day engineer arrived at the very last minute of agreed time and said he wont be able to install the line as he knows that there is no one around to give him access to cupboard with thee internet lines and that he explained it to the head office before to set different time slot. Next day I received text + email informing me that the next available date will be in 2 weeks!!! I decided to call them and that's where hell broke loose. Apparently I supposed to have "phone password" to be able to identify myself. I told them that I cant remember setting one. I got internet account, set security question but couldn't remember setting anything for a phone. They were using secondary verification until I had enough and declared that I changed my mind and want to cancel installation/contract. They said I have to call different number which when I called was out of use. Called them again on normal line and they disconnected me 4 times after learning that I want to cancel and don't know my phone password. Called once more and asked how can I reset this password. They replied that its not possible as there is no option for it, not online nor over the phone... I asked then that this mean that I have been put in the limbo and have no way to leave them or even complain as I have no means to contact them, btw, if you try to inform them about leaving online you will end up on error 404 website... They declared that I can request a letter with reminder of my password which I agreed to... 2 weeks ago! My guess is it comes on a donkey from India as that's where their call centres are located. Cherry on the cake was a phone call from them after I replied to text informing me that next day will be my installation day, and declining to it. The guy was trying to set another date after I told him that I do not want it and I'm trying to cancel the whole thing! He couldn't understand what I am saying to him and it really started to feel like I am on the line with one of these scam call centres. I told him to go and find my letter and finished the call. Now I lost access to my online account as well so not sure if I'm still with them or not. Please do your self a favour and stay away from Virgin, they are not cheapest on the market anymore as well so don't let them to trick you in the trap similar to mine.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Doesn't deserve even one star!!!!!!!

    I have been with Virgin media for 17 years and have recently moved to my new house in December 2021. The move obviously is always stressful but what has made this worst for me is my decision to move my services with me. It’s been 6 weeks now and having spent countless hours over phone and having had several visits to property by technicians/surveyors and having spoken to countless people/agents and having paid more money and several cancelled/rescheduled appointments, I am still without Internet and media services till date with no solution in sight!!!!!

    Not only are there long waits to speak to an agent and frequent call drops but they are also not trained and lack knowledge and there is absolutely no coordination between various teams. Some agents have been insulting and rude. Their lack of knowledge has resulted in me getting false and misleading information and has caused me extreme anxiety and inconvenience.

    Each agent I have spoken to has given me different information which contradicted the information from previous agent and each one of them say that the previous agent has given wrong information. Majority of the times I was just being transferred from one team to other and would go through security checks 10 times and keep repeating myself every time when transferred to a new agent in a call. This is extremely frustrating and i firmly believe that no customer should go through such an experience!

    I thought I may have been an exception but reading other reviews posted clearly highlights that the company does not care about customers anymore and wouldn't pay any attention to issues/complaints.

    I strongly suggest not to consider Virgin media if you do not want to go through torture and harassment.

    Sharing few of my life experiences (or rather absolute harassment)!!!!

    There have been several days when I have made 10 calls or more, waited and spent more than 8/9 hours in a day, spoken to more than 15 agents in a day!

    Logged an official complaint for hassling customers, miscoordination (Internal installation & external installation team/ Movers & Preinstallation team), mis informing customers and appalling customer services 2 weeks ago but have not heard anything back from anyone, not even an acknowledgement!

    Installation was initially scheduled for 17th Dec but couldn't be carried out as the cable has been pulled up by Construction Unit to a wrong place.

    Since then, trying to rectify the simple issue as above has been more difficult than reaching Mars!

    One of the calls to report this issue- the Agent promptly cancelled the order and hung the phone without any proper discussions

    The installation was moved to 12th Jan (earliest) which meant no services in our new home for 3 weeks specially during holidays!

    One of the agents said that mobile dongle would be provided free to ensure we have internet during Xmas and asked me to speak to Mobile team which was an absolute nightmare as all agents subsequently refuted each other and told me to buy it!

    Another agent when followed up in December (20-24th Dec) said that the external team has gone again and fixed the issue that morning, but this was untrue as the issue was still unresolved. Not sure why these agents are forced to lie perhaps to placate or get rid of the call soon!?

    To summarise, there is an issue with how External installation team has left the cable and all the calls I have made and countless hours I have spent since then is to get this corrected because the internal installation team would not be able to do anything until this is fixed and I will keep experiencing this pain until then and would not have any services too!!!
    ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!!!!

    Hope someone, somewhere in the system takes a note of how far the customer services have deteriorated and how much pain it is causing the customers but, in the interim, would strongly suggest everyone to consider Virgin Media only if you are not left with any other option!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst appointments ever. They scheduled my appointment for installation 3 times until now. I am still waiting. 3 months until now and they didn't install my internet connection until now
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grimsby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely the worst customer service I have ever had the displeasure of enduring. Contact information is not on the website, when you do find it you have to call twice since the first time is a bot and restarts the router and hangs up.
    When you eventually get through to an agent, they're poorly trained and often don't know how to resolve any issues past restarting the router (again) and will often offer to transfer your call before disconnecting you.
    Complaints about service level are often met with them trying to sell you a business package if you want actual customer service.
    All in all I am hugely dissatisfied with virgin media and will be running very far, very fast the second my contact is up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Romford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I took out virgin media as there was a refer a friend reward of £60 each person . The one taking new connection and whoever refers you . After one month I got text message. Says my £60 reward cancelled . Called virgin media , they said they don’t know why . Called their partner who deals the reward , they said if it’s virgin media who declined your reward then they have to give answer . End of the day I did not get any reward money , I took out expensive broadband connection , now I cannot cancel my contract until end of 2 years
  • Reviewer
    Location
    basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    worst customer service ever . just about impossible to get through by phone or live chat , then get passed from one agent to the next non of whom seem to care or have any intention of helping with your enquiry . i suffer mental health issues and following a recent house move on medical grounds to an area not covered by virgin was still charged £130+ cancellation fee . now i am now being harassed for £40 for their equipment despite them sending me an email saying they have arranged collection . at one point i asked one agent if i could speak to a manager and was told i would be wasting their time . without doubt the worst customer service ever
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Judge for Yourself… Full Chat transcripts kept as evidence

    I was a VM Customer and joined O2 and was given an upgrade from 500MB to 1GB broadband. I was informed that I needed an upgraded router which was sent out via Yodel. Tracking said out for delivery on Friday. Delivery never attempted, tracking said “Please arrange to collect your parcel from our depot by using the Manage your parcel feature above”. I sat in ALL weekend as Yodel promised each day that it was going to be delivered. Didn’t happen.
    Monday 22nd Nov 2021VM Online Chat (took 2hrs) and informed them I was at work. Asked for router to be put to a shop for pickup. Not possible finally got them to cancel first router and send out another for pickup from a shop near my work.
    Tuesday 23rd Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (5 hours 11 minutes) contacted again as no sign of old router being cancelled or new one dispatched.
    14:20, Nov 22 Alistair : Broadband TV or Phone
    16:33, Nov 23 Ayat: Apologies for the experience, I will go ahead and raise a new order for you, Alistair. Is it a new Hub4 you are looking forward to upgrade to with 1 Gigabytes?
    17:50, Nov 23 Ayat: Appolgies for the experience, Alistair. I just tried raised an Order for the new Hub4 but due to somereasons it is not happening, You please need to cotanct us after 24 hours, As the system will be refreahed and we will be able to send you a new Hub.
    18:01, Nov 23 Alistair : can you not just do this i have already spent hours over the last 2 days on this chat trying to get this sorted?
    18:13, Nov 23 Ayat: I can completely understand this, I am unable to place the order, Alistair.
    18:15, Nov 23 Alistair : this is not acceptable. VM is taking up too much of my time and I'm going round in cirlces
    18:16, Nov 23 Alistair : you give me a service that i cannot use and spendin hours on this thing. I want to cancel my broadband
    Alistair : this chat was intiated @14:20 hrs GMT it is not 18:54 hrs!
    18:57, Nov 23 Reliza: Excellent! We’ll need to go through a few security questions. I’m going to send you a secure web form for you to answer. Please put the 7th, 10th and 13th characters of your password in the secure link. This is the password you use when you call in, and not your online account password. Please keep in mind that the form will expire in 30 minutes once we have sent it to you.
    19:05, Nov 23 Reliza: Great. Thanks for that! May I know the reason for contacting us?
    19:06, Nov 23 Alistair : How many times do i have to repeat myself, 1 min until i copy and paste
    19:14, Nov 23 Reliza: I do apologize for that, Alistair. Just to confirm, do you want to have the Hub 4, right?
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i would but i cannot afford ANYMORE time dealing with this myself, too much time spent on this already
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i am risk my employment, I am supposed to be working not on this 19:18, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm very sorry about your frustrations today, Alistair. Let's work together and try to sort this thing out, okay?
    19:18, Nov 23 Alistair : ok 19:19, Nov 23 Alistair : its not just today though this is the second day on this
    19:22, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm so sorry about that, Alistair. However, if you really want to have the Hub 4 you can coordinate with our faults team regarding this because in this department we only handle the customers who are in need of new contract.
    19:25, Nov 23 Alistair : I DON'T HAVE ANY MORE TIME JUST CLOSE MY ACCOUNT
    Wednesday 24th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (33 minutes)
    16:57, Nov 24 Dixit: Hi Alistair I am so sorry to hear that you have not receive a response on your complaint not to worry I will quickly check the details and help you with a resolution
    17:06, Nov 24Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry to see that the hub was not delivered and you have applied to disconnect the account. May I know how can I help you today?
    17:07, Nov 24 You: well i am getting no repsonse on the forums so am looking for a conclusion one way or another
    17:08, Nov 24 You: have you read the forum posts?
    17:08, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry I am unable to read the forum as we are restricted from accessing any link.
    17:09, Nov 24 You: do you want acopy and paste of the transcripts for monday and tuesday then?
    17:09, Nov 24 You: if you don't have them there?
    17:10, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair No I have the details on the account notes. May I know what resolution you are looking for so I can get it Immediately.
    17:12, Nov 24 You: well what I have wanted all along a hub that will let me use 1gig as promised but if this can't befinalised today, I am on a 10 minute break just now at work. Then you close my account
    17:16, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry but to order the hub 4 we will need to cancel the disconnection request. So Would you like to go ahead and cancel it?
    17:16, Nov 24 You: if it can be done now yes
    17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    17:20, Nov 24 You: please don't use YODEL
    17:21, Nov 24 You: sorry ,my break is up I need to go back to work now
    17:22, Nov 24 You: see this is what I mean I spent 5 hrs on this chat yesterday and it looks like I am getting the same thing again today.
    17:22, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Not to worry I will leave a clear note on the account and then give a direct calling number to use so we will be able to do it once our free. will this be okay?
    17:23, Nov 24 You: someone needs to phone me not the other way round
    17:23, Nov 24 You: I will be at home tomorrow until 12:00 hrs

    Thursday 25th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (46 minutes)
    Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Hi Arbiya
    8:05, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Can you please look at the notes from my chat yesterday please?
    8:05, Nov 25 Arbiya: Hi Alistair! I am really sorry for the wait time you have experienced. I do see that you havecontacted in order to report that you are looking for cancellation. Not to worry, you have reached the rightteam. I can surely help you today. Absolutely, let me have a check on your account notes.
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: thanks
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: from the transcript
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    8:07, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: this is what we need to do. If this isn't possible then I will leave cancellation in place and start my ordert with another provider
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: I am really sorry for the inconvenience Alistair. Please do not worry. I do see the retentions team online now. I can connect you right away if you agree, they can surely help you getting hub 4. May I connectyou?
    8:09, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: yes please
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: We can transfer you through our Messaging service to our Customer Relations team to help you further.
    8:24, Nov 25 Lisa: I can see that and I will feed that back to Yodel but I can not order a new one.

    Received a final bill with a demand for £240 for termination of my contract early:
    Thurs 6th Jan 2021 VM Online Chat (2 hours 15 minutes)
    17:07, Jan 6 Meena: Thank you for your patience, I have looked into your account and I see you have cancelled services within the contract period and hence you have been charged early termination fee as per the terms and conditions Alistair.
    17:10, Jan 6 You: you ugprded me to 1GIG and sent out a router which was never delivered by yodel. I even requested another router which was refused. So unable to use the service as you didn't supply hardware I spent HOURS and I have proof trying to sort this mess out with you
    17:11, Jan 6 You: I couldn't use a service without the hardware so why would I stay with a provider that cannot provide?
    17:29, Jan 6 You: here I am again over 90 mins repeating myself and getting nowhere
    17:29, Jan 6 Meena: I am sorry to know about the hassle which you have come across Alistair, I feel really bad after going through all these and you have been so patient so far. Dont worry I will see what best can be done for you. But we could have definitely cancelled the order and placed a new one before cancelling Alistair.
    17:30, Jan 6 You: but you didn't and as per the transcripts refused to send out another until you got the one that Yodel lost Back
    17:31, Jan 6 You: yuou will see that the transcripts over the days contradict themselves
    17:44, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, I understand what you are telling but this is completely the issue with yodel and it was supposed to be dealt by them else we could have cancelled and replaced the order. I have tried my best Alistair, but unfortunately we cannot waive off the charges as you have been able to use the services and itcould have been resolved alternatively. But as you have cancelled it between contract, you was been charged with disconnection fee Alistair.
    17:46, Jan 6 You: Did you not read the information i poasted??
    17:52, Jan 6 Meena: Okay where you not informed that you will be charged termination fee if you are cancelling the contract Alistair?
    18:00, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, we booked for the second time and you never waited for the delivery to be sent, you immediately put a request for disconnection Alistair. Please understand this charges cannot be removed as itsvalid from our end.
    18:03, Jan 6 You: no, i made contact with VM as you had not even bothetred to disptach the second one. Eve though yousaid you had. Enough, I will now seek compensation for the time and stress your company has continued toput me through over these months

    I have now raised a complaint through offcom and seeking an apology for time, stress, lies and incompetence and now compensation too.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Got the 100mbph as I assumed it would be good for working from home. Within these 18 months rarely have I had more than 15-25,mbph on average for download speed. The connection itself was unreliable kept dropping, leading me to some very big problems at work. Customer service is out of the question: an outsourced team at another country just copied and pasted the same useless response over and over again despite my desperate attempts to explain what the problem was. I felt like no one cared.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible online chat service. Waited for half an hour for an agent. But it wasn’t really a chat, you have to answer some automated questions. I answered and it said it’s more than 15 mins ( I only took less than 1 min) and they have to close my chat. This is really insane ! Terrible service and really bad at everything

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.