Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 998 customer ratings since 2023-04-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,684 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    So when an experianced technically minded person approaches Virgin's Forum Team using the same user account they've used for many years helping other customers diagnose and fix faults you don't quite expect to be told that the troublshooting and investigation work into your own service problem is trash!

    I found a recent upgrade to the Hub 5 after using a Hub 3/4 at same property for 5-11 years, was a the problem causing streaming and connection drop outs (5000 in a month Virgin Media recorded) but the response from a Forum Team member with 6 years tenure says "The hub 5 is more than fit for purpose. I've had one for many months and no issues"

    So 4 weeks later, issues not resolved, 3 engineers, 1 network team manager visit later and nothing is fixed and we still know what I said in the first place, apart from now I've even investigated deeper and isolated the issue.

    Still though I'm told that Hub 5 is not at fault, so the Hub 3 connected right this second working fine must be magic.

    No replacements orHub 4 offered to test, just wasted time, appointment changes and now that same long tenured Forum Team member has said,

    "The only offer now of a complaint resolution would be a 7 day disconnection notice, not hold you to EDF's but I will be asking our Housefiles team to mark your property as a non-serviceable address as there's no issues with the Hub 5."

    Silly Me :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    tyne wera
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Shocking service virgan you are bigoted the lack of compassion is shoking you have not done nothing to resolve the issues rased you have lack of diplomcey and the totol lack of traning of your staf is shoking.Iv spent all day on the phon to you at virgan iv spok to to prox 20 peopel but still nothin you kept me on hold for one hour and two mins shoking then you cut me off now i am going to ofcom shame on virgan
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The product is acceptable however the renegotiation of service is appallingly. I experienced a brick wall when Virgin started to take out more money than I agreed. They would not refund or speak to me, failing to call be back and ignoring my repeated Emails. Its nearly impossible to cancel. My calls took 45 minutes to get through to cancellations and then the call disconnected. The has been going on for 6 months, after which I cancelled the direct debit. Because I didn't get to speak to someone, I emailed the person they told me too. Apparently this isn't acceptable. So frustrating, they are after all a communication company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Welwyn Garden City
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First few months no problems, 190-250mbps and around 20-40mbps upload which is what i'm paying for. After a few months it went bad. 200-700 ping on fortnite, 75mbps download and 5-10mbps upload. Overall **** broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dublin 10
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    6 months ago I renewed my contract with vm and they put me virgin mobile too, nothing wrong till then, what happened? My sim never arrived, I went face to face in tallaght and talked with a guy from a shop and he said the account number i have doesn t exist, so they probably made a misstake and i won t be charged, till then for like 3 weeks i wasn t charged, after they started sucking from my account 20 euro every month on SOMETHING I DON T HAVE and i didn t notice, In december they even charged twice, once on 5 december and once on 15 december, so 40 euro in a month for nothing, I called them they said they can t give me a refund because they don t know if i used the sim or not, I talked with another agency and they said as an agent you can check if an sim is used or not, after i cancelled i received ANOTHER BILL, I went to the bank and they blocked virgin media so they won t take money from my account anymore, but at the bank they told me to call virgin media for a refund, and virgin media won t do anything, i lost 140 euro on air!!! WE ARE NOT RICH, STOP STILLING FROM PEOPLE!! Not fair
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wembley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    In all my years of internet surfing, Virgin broadband services are probably the worst service ever experienced. The reliability is so poor and the time for rectification unbearably slow.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Darlington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Horrible company!!! No one responses to complain, charges are extremely high! Serves is s!#@! Please, please stay away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid and save yourself an absolute nightmare. Awful customer service. Impossible to communicate with them as they never answer emails or leave you on hold for ages. Rubbish service. Total conmen. End up with threatening emails about credit rating. Avoid avoid avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Extremely unreliable service, frequent ping spikes and an absolute nightmare to actually get any of it fixed.

    Not viable for teams meetings, streaming, games.

    Genuinely terrible service, stay as far away from virgin as possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid in ANY case.
    Worst experience in my life.
    Looks like Customer Service has been hacked by SCAMMERs!
    LIES AND LIES AND MORE LIES!!
    1)I ordered the Broadband 25 days ago - order accepted. After 3 days I received a cancellation by email because the previous account did not give a 30-day notice, which, as it turned out, was not true - they accepted notice was received but they did not register it. I lost the offer and a lot of time and days.
    2) On December 1st I ordered:
    Broadband only,
    26.50 per month.
    +115 credit,
    + cashback (from top cashback).
    delivery on December 12th.
    Confirmed and NO cancelled in any way. So,after lunch I called and no one could tell me why there would be no delivery.
    I spent many hours talking with Customer Service and received the drop call after talking with 3 people over 90 minutes. 2nd call. 3rd call etc.
    3)The last one I spoke to I literally told her 20 times that I absolutely do not want to open a new order under any circumstances, if she cannot give me my order dated December 1st, I will not take any order. She spent 30 minutes convincing me that this was the same order, only she needed to open an account for me. She said I will got the same order 115 credit, etc.
    4)FUTHERMORE. 10 minutes later I received an SMS with a new 18 Month order with 75 credit etc.
    I'm shocked - why lie so OPENLY?
    What I can say more...?
    I'm watching Ofcom, Financial Ombudsman ... or any advice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunderland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Shocking service, cancel contract after it ends and they don't process it and then spring high bills on you. Once you contact to complain they advise they will need to put a 3p day notice on even thiugh you advised you were leaving after your contract!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible in all respects. Have been a loyal customer for a few years but the negotiation around contract renewals, the ways they deal with customer complaints and the general disregard for loyal customers make it an all time low. If i could give it a zero I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We’ve been without WiFi now for over 3 days! Every time my husband calls he’s told they are working on it! I’ve nearly used up my data on my mobile because of this and have also lost job opportunities as I cannot access the internet to complete the required assignments. Absolutely shocking and frustrating. Customer service are very unhelpful and refuse to put you through to any management. Yesterday my husband said he wanted to place an official complaint and was told to do it online!! I would urge you to look at other providers as we have had nothing but issues since we signed up with virgin and although we pay the premium rate the WiFi even when it works is extremely poor. This company aren’t even worthy of one star rating!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Disconnection through customer service is cumbersome. Existing customers are chased away by high renewal rates.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Fantastic broadband never had an issue from the moment I connected it!! Could stream anything with no buffering. Unfortunately I moved to Cumbria where they don’t cover so had to cancel early and pay the costs but brilliant product otherwise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I write to share my ongoing ordeal with Virgin Media, hoping to spare others from the headaches I've endured. My journey started on the 9th of March 2022 when I eagerly signed an 18-month contract at a seemingly reasonable rate. Little did I know, this was the beginning of a series of issues that would plague my experience.

    Fast forward to the 22nd of May 2023, where I signed another 18-month contract at a reduced rate. The trouble began with unexplained charges in June, July, and August 2023. Feeling financially strained, I decided to halt my direct debit on the 1st of September 2023.

    Things took a drastic turn on the 29th of September 2023 when Virgin Media claimed I owed them an outstanding balance. Despite my complaint on the 2nd of October 2023, negotiations only led to temporary solutions and broken promises.

    Service disruptions on the 3rd of October 2023 required me to pay for reactivation. Virgin Media agreed to a one-time credit, but the problems persisted, leading to another credit agreement on the 11th of November 2023.

    On the 12th of November 2023, a new arrangement was made, only for my account to be suspended again on the 4th of December 2023. After a heated argument, they agreed to reactivate my service but claimed the remaining balance would be settled by a credit, yet emails continue to show overdue amounts.

    This continuous cycle of broken promises and billing issues has left me frustrated and disheartened. I caution anyone considering Virgin Media's services to think twice, as my experience underscores their lack of accountability and persistent billing problems.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Total waste of money, I upped my speed and have gotten a less reliable service. What an absolute shambles of a company with no accountability or person to talk about the issues. Has turned not a faceless organisation with poor customer service and reliable internet speed and strength.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with virgin for years mostly due to easiness of just keeping the contract running and avoid changing but my contract expires in January and I cannot wait to leave. Trying to cancel with them they will keep you on hold once they know for least half hour so you just give up. I lost internet for 3 days and they didn’t care and then refused to compensate me for the loss of service I’m paying almost £100 a month just for internet and basic tv package unbelievable. Don’t get fooled by the promise of quick speeds if I turn my phone on the tv buffers and I have their highest package for broadband. I’m counting the days to leave
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No stars NEVER EVER get Virgin broadband, tv and phone package. We had it fitted on 11th October, had no phone for two weeks , engineer comes 2 weeks later can't sort it , next morning no devices whatsoever. Few days later they put the internet back on still no phone or TV. Eventually over 4 weeks later we get TV, 2 days after that we get the phone with a temporary number ( not so temporary as we still have it ,) in the meantime we are sent several new contracts , why ? We don't want a new contact we just want our original one honoured. Then we get a bill 3 X what we were quoted! So today we made our 24th phone call which took over an hour and a half and are no further forward. To say we are pissed off , angry , frustrated and at the point of pulling out hair out is an understatement.
    The virgin product when working is great but the customer service from them is an absolute abomination.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Downfall of Virgin's Reputation

    Using Virgin Broadband for my properties has been an absolute train wreck:

    Customer Service: Endlessly Horrendous - Every call is a descent into madness with endless waits and abysmal support. It's a vortex of despair.

    Phone Support: Excruciatingly Incompetent - They're not just unhelpful; they're a liability. Complete ignorance and utter disregard for customer issues.

    Installation: A Complete Joke - They've never met an installation date. It's a chaotic mess of broken promises and sheer incompetence.

    Service Quality: A Total Failure - The service is not just bad; it's catastrophically terrible. Constant outages, snail-like speeds—it's a disaster.

    Virgin Broadband is not just the worst in the market; it's a stain on the Virgin legacy. Their business practices are laughable, and their service is a joke. It's obvious they're headed towards inevitable bankruptcy. Everyone knows Virgin Broadband is the bottom of the barrel in internet services. Avoid it like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin Media for 12 years and had quite a few issues with them to be honest, but this one takes the biscuit.

    I moved house last November and called them to say I was moving and want to transfer my contract over to my new house, however little did I know they did not carry it over but actually restarted my contract completly making the contract date end 6 months later, however they did carry over my Promotions, meaning now my promitions have ended but my contract still has 6 months left, putting my contract up from £29pm to £57pm, I contacted them several times and made a complaint, the customer service were all rude and unhelpful and in the end claimed no fault and refused to rectify the situation, leaving me paying a contract I cannot afford, I am disgusted with Virgin and when my contract renews now in May I will cancel and move to BT, never to return and make everyone aware of there antics, BEWARE!!!!, do not use Virgin Media they are scammers and cheats.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bradford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really poor customer service. No Internet in certain rooms despite it being fine to behin with. Tried contacting to get an engineer out to fix it. They didn't turn up. I rang and complained. They told me someone would call me to rearrange. Still waiting for a phone call
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grays
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's been four hours of connection for just one PC and a mobile, here is no option to upload a real time video that could save other to be cheated from big promises.
    Please do your OWN researches to go for a contract with VM
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible service no help from the child who delivered it as he was on his phone talking...since I plugged it in it still isn't working. Arrived Saturday and now a engineer has to come out Tuesday...but of course they've taken the money from my account....shoddy service !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warwick
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband speeds are consistently lower than advertised and drops out multiple times a day. The temperamental connection makes working from home incredibly annoying.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The WORST.

    Do not use this company, honestly, it’s a plea from the heart. They are simply, horrendously, irretrievably awesome. I am saying this as someone who has been with them for 20+ years now - Telewest before it was even Virgin Media!

    Customer Service is non-existent. Call the call centre and wait 2-3 hours, try on line chat and never get a response or wait 3-4 hours at best.

    Broadband in recent years has absolutely fallen through the floor, for the last 8 months I get dial-up speeds and a TV that is so poorly linked to the internet that you can’t watch Disney, Amazon, Netflix etc. This is despite my house being about 10 meters away from the main ‘box’
    Advertised and bought a package that should give 1TB and I get 1MB. No one will help and nobody there could give less of a monkeys. Both my wife and I ‘work’ from home - i put this in inverted commas because we can’t damn well work! Teams calls? No chance!
    Open a web page? Better make a cup of tea while you wait? Download a file? Pop to the shops and do the weekly grocery run.

    I say it again, DO NOT JOIN. If like me you are already cursed to be with them, get the hairy heck out of there as quick as you can and join someone who actually cares. If I could give them 0 stars I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve been with Virgin Media for around 6 weeks.
    I’ve had nothing but problems and had to phone customer service 6 times!
    Their customer service is absolutely awful. They’re based in the Philippines and don’t let you speak, constantly talk over you and can be very rude!
    They try and sell you packages but don’t explain in detail what they include.

    I recently upgraded my package to M350 volt broadband, landline and 360 box.
    But none of these services have worked for 7 days, as they cancelled the package!!
    Waited 3 days for them to call me back, and I heard nothing.
    I had to call them today and waited 45 minutes to get through.
    I now have to wait an additional 8 days for an engineer to come out!

    Dreadful!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am absolutely fuming and appalled, at the way your overseas staff spoke to, and treated my daughter.
    Who for your information is disabled.

    She also has verbal palsy, so her speech is affected .

    It was only a few Months ago, that I suffered a heart attack, and had issues with your overseas staff treating me as if I were an inconvenience.

    My complaint is that, my daughter tried phoning your company, and after an hour plus of being on hold to the same track of music, finally spoke with someone who refused point blank to help her.

    I am an emergency service worker, and I find this manner verging on contemptuous and unacceptable discrimination!

    My daughter had been a whole day without Television or internet.

    But your overseas staff did not care, and we're NOT, willing to assist

    As with a few weeks back when, apparently there was a local virgin media network blackout, she was treated in the same way.

    After hearing my daughter explain how she had been treated, I called a second time.

    I had been over 51 mins on the phone with same music blaring, and no answer, and then for someone to cut the call.

    Earlier on with my first call, I was told, the issue will not be fixed until Wednesday, and being told there may be a fee to pay!


    What time of service are you providing these days?

    Not only have I served HM forces, I worked tirelessly through the corona virus, putting my life on the line, only to be treated with contempt by virgin media.

    I will be taking this matter up with Ofcom , trading standards, BBC Ones Watchdog, and Panorama.

    I await your pre rehearsed response.

    Should someone have the integrity to call me and explain why your staff treat disabled customers in such a disgusting manner call me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Telford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service lies, they do not have contractors who will set up the line on time. The contract was signed in July, but no one has installed the cable yet. They wanted to charge me twice the monthly fee for a service they do not provide. The complete lack of control in the company and the incompetence of the management prove the problems they have. I think you are not fit to peel potatoes and you want to sell the Internet. They lied to my children who were waiting for the Internet Update 5.11.2023 Internet still not connected, they sent me bill 87£ with extra charge for unpaid bills. Claim with citizen advice office already done.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media's service experience has been deeply unsatisfactory. Despite their promises, the quality of service provided is subpar, making it a challenge for customers to receive the value they expect. Furthermore, their cancellation process is frustratingly opaque. When attempting to cancel the service three months ago, assurances were given that the cancellation would be processed. However, this conversation was misleadingly marked as 'dropped,' leading to continued billing for a service that was neither used nor desired. This miscommunication has resulted in an unexpected and unwarranted demand for an additional month's notice, adding to the overall dissatisfaction with Virgin Media's service.

    The company's practices raise serious concerns about their commitment to customer satisfaction and transparency. Not only does the difficulty in cancelling services create a barrier for customers wishing to discontinue, but the misclassification of a cancellation request as a 'dropped' call feels deceptive. This experience reflects a broader issue with the company's approach to customer relations, where the emphasis seems to be more on retaining revenue than genuinely addressing customer needs. The requirement of an additional month's notice, despite no usage of their services in the past three months, further illustrates a disregard for fair and reasonable customer service practices.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I would like to compliment Memit in the te nick’s division for his excellent performance and service today.

    He was extremely helpful and helpful as well as being polite and exceedingly my expectations.

    This gentleman it an asset to virgin snd I hope that he is praised and it given a copy of my review.,

    He went out of his way to accommodate me and he put a smile on my face:. He was extremely professional and explained everything in detail for me.

    Thank you Memit for your confidence and reliability. I appreciate all you did for me today.

    You have a very professional approach to life and make one smile when they are feeling down.

    The Hank you once again and keep up the wonderful work you are doing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have requested the internet connection on 26th of Sep , virgin media kept changing the installation date and today is 10th of November and I'm still waiting for the internet connection, despite many calls and promises that the service will be supplied long way before 10th of Nov , through out many calls I felt the lack of transparency and credibility with their customer service , a very low level service and it quite obvious is not governed by a mature process or clear message that they can't serve my area at this point of time and their technical problems might take a very long time to be resolved.

    Watch out of this supplier , because it turns out that their infrastructure is not ready in my area , they locked me for more than 40 days where they are not technically ready to get us connected, if this is the way virgin media locking their customer , I believe they have to be investigated by the local telecomm ofcom authority.

    I don't have an active line that has never been supplied yet so I have requested to cancel the service and they asked my to bear the cost of sending back their equipment back.

    If they have been honest and transparent , I could have the internet a month ago from other suppliers. And if they have an atom of professionalism they should not ask me to bear the cost of sending their equipment back where I never had the service up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bracknell
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    For a communication company Virgin…
    For a communication company Virgin suck. I was off contract and it took me 3 hours to speak to a representative to end my service. One of the reps I couldn’t even understand. They even apply a 30 day period after notification so they sting you for more money yet I had no contract. The website says you can cancel online but the link has a 404 error “page not found”, computer says no. Then they throw you around the company trying other reps to pressure you into taking a new deal at a lower rate. They don’t understand the words “i want to cancel” and around you go. Now they have filed a credit report on Clearscore as a final kick in the gentleman parts, even though I paid my final rip off bill within two working days, they are trying to penalise me, we shall see about that. They only ever put your bill up and if off contract expect it to double. No loyalty for long term customer, pressure applied to try and keep you stay. If Broadband.co.uk had a zero rating I would have selected that begrudgingly. Useless, inept, no customer service and deserve to close down. Suggest person at the top goes and flips burgers for a living but he/she/they would probably burn them. Go elsewhere.
    Date of experience: 23 October 2023
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    To explain in more detail We have been with Virgin for 10 years, every 2 years we have signed a new contract and every year its gone up quite a bit. We stayed with them because they had the fastest broadband but this year they dont! We dont use the landline so we can get rid of that, we dont really watch anything we cant get on freeview except tnt sports which we can get for £15 a month.

    We would of stayed but we had a dispute where sometime in the last year we found out that they would be putting the price up but if people wanted to leave they could, this was music to our ears! I rang up to find out if this would apply to us and I was told in no uncertain terms that it wouldnt, ****!

    Fast forward about 5 months and the remote breaks, we order a new one and they send us a package with nothing in it (they did the same to us only a few weeks ago and we hadnt even ordered a new remote?!). I login to find out the account number as I needed to speak to them about this only to find out they had been charging us more money for the past few months, I was livid!

    I ring up, I tell them I was told that we wouldnt be part of that and the lady on the phone lied to me about being able to listen to the call from that previous call, she basically told me anything I wanted to hear. We did end up getting this resolved but that isnt the point, I am someone who will hunt situations like this down to their conclusion but how many people wont/dont even know they are being over charged? They must make millions from basically stealing from people and its wrong!

    So our contract is up in a few days, I rang up so I was going to give them 30 days notice just so I didnt get pro rata charges and guess what, they still tried it, I told them that I was giving them notice to cancel and wanted that to be set in place exactly 30 days from what when contract finishes, guess what they did, they cancelled it from that day forward so I had to pay an extra little but of money!

    So they said the best deal they could give me was like £60, this didnt make sense since I had been with them for 10 years and I could get all I needed for £40 a month (although I needed to buy a freeview box or a new tv). I cancel the contract then days later I get a call offering me my package for £40 a month, I tell them I am not interested! Funny how they can just knock off £20 out of nowhere and couldnt be good to such a loyal customer! I was considering going with it but then they tell me (after probing) that they now had a term in place that they can up the price when they like and I would not be able to cancel, no way am I going for that I say!

    So no fast forward some more days and I get an email, this offer is £44 for my package I alrteady gave but its now a "bigger bundle". They say that its for 18 months and even though they will put the price up it will only be inline with inlfaiton 3.9% and after 18 months when it goes up to £80+ we can cancel. We still dont go for it!

    However as time goes on its becoming harder and harder to find a tv or freeview box that works like we want and because my mother is ill and has limited movement we need a remote she can use easily and a system she can use easily. So we decide to go with the deal.

    I sign up online, great I think. Then I get a confirmation email saying the deal is now £40, thats strange, that isnt what I agreed to, anyway we dont think too much about it. Then today we want to watch the football only to find out we no longer have tnt sports, they "upgraded us to a bigger bundle" and removed one of the only things they had going for them!

    This is not right I think, I login to my account but it tells me I am on maxittv package, this package has tnt sports?! I spend all day on whats app because their phones are too full of people likely wanting to cancel or to sue them! They tell me that I am not on maxit tv but mega tv 3, I thought maybe I was still on the old package until the turn of the month but that wouldnt make sense since if that was the case I would still be able to use tnt sports.

    The amount of reviews I have read that say the same thing. This company needs a class action lawsuit against them, they must owe millions to people. They are theives, they are scammers, they lie and there is no recourse!

    If I did this on the street, if I sold someone a bag of gold and they find out its actually lead, I get arrested, but Virgin are able to carry out fraud on a national scale and its fine. I am so upset about this I can barely type fast enough. Its disgusting.

    But I tell you what, go with a broadband provider and get freeview! Who watches sky cinema anymore? You can get tnt sports cheap as a solo deal, no one uses home phones so get rid of it, sky sports is the big outlay but again its likely you can get broadband for like £15 a month and a sky sports package for £30. Skysports with virgin broadband likely costs £60+

    Do not go with them, they will put your price up whenever they feel like they, when you call up, unless you have some real tenacity then you will be exhausted and give up. .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Whitton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    close to useless. whenever there is vistors around eg including me and my family theres 5 people, the wifi stops working and the connection is really bad, even if you're sat next to the wifi. My friends stopped coming over to my house due to the wifi not usable and they can't contact anyone in the outside world using the wifi. Made me pull my hair out as it lags for the 15th time within 5 minutes.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London, Walthamstow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My contract started on the 13th of June and beforehand we specified on the phone that I have no cables whatsoever and they need to sort this out.
    Engineer crews often came and couldn't install cables stating that a cable re-pull needs to be done outside of the block first.
    Since then I've had over 4 appointments of them doing this pull work but somehow they still can't manage to do them and they never gave any explanation of why this work hasn't occurred, only making different day appointments.
    In the meantime money has been taken from my account for billings and services I am not even using...
    Currently, I am looking for ways to legally seek my rights.
    Avoid this company they are frauds and will give you only extra trouble and problems.
    They take my money and I've never even used their services not to mention the fact I have to call them every week and explain my issue from scratch every single time...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Telford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don't sign an internet contract with Virgin. I signed the contract at the end of July. In September, a technician who only knew how to install a socket on the wall arrived and said that a team would come in three days and install the cable. They set the date three times and three times they didn't show up and they wanted me to pay for a service they didn't provide. They ignored my complaints at the customer service office, disconnecting the calls and saying they would call the manager. It's the end of October and I still don't have internet from this company. It's very sad when children ask why there is no Internet, I told them how Virgin ignores customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackburn
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Avoid!bad Costumer service my bills very expensive I asked to cancel then call me back told me they make discount and second bill more expensive!after I call again they make appointment to call me back and still nobady call they don’t care about old costumers.And when want cancel contract need to wait 2 hours tomorrow just I will cancel everything !never go back to virgin media!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Torbay
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After the last year of repeatedly rebooting system, we have given up with this company. So called customer help line is a totally waste of time. You might as well be speaking to a brick wall for all the help they give. They make promises that are never kept, send the wrong technician as they call them. Who when arrive know within seconds they cannot help the customer. The whole street knows what the problem is but VirginMedia will not deal with it. It’s out of date cables that have been damaged underground. Well we are voting with our wallets we are going with your more helpful competitors. We had the whole package at £150 per month with you. Bye.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Avoid Virgin broadband at all costs. This is a dishonest company out to trick customers in this difficult financial situation.

    They entice you in with a low monthly cost, give you poor broadband and wifi and then when your contract ends, hike the bills up to more than double. They then will only refund the hike, if you stay with them.

    So many customers say the same. Virgin should be embarrassed, but are not because they are a dishonest deceitful company out to rob people in an already difficult situation.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.