Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 998 customer ratings since 2023-04-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,684 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    SOUTHAMPTON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could leave zero stars, I would. I have been with then for over 10 years but this is it. They disconnected me for no reason. I called to cancel my contract and I had 30 days cancellation period from date of call but to my surprise, they disconnected me in less than 24hrs working day. I called on a Friday evening n I was disconnected Monday evening. Since then I have been calling and they keep passing me from one perso to the next. The most annoying thing is they all say I have been reconnected and should use the Internet in few hours but when I called again the next day, I was told nothing has been done and I am still disconnected. Why lie? Avoid at all cost. Service is always down everyday anyways!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I won't recommend virgin media to anyone a lot of money for nothing.
    Like everyone says customer service is completely rubbish there's no email service, I call and spend ages trying to get to human and when you do they can be rude and treat people like idiots
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    signed up with virgin media 25/03/11 paid them £49.95 for v+HDbox,7 weeks later still no installation. they gave me a installation day of 09.04.11 and then cancelled very late the night before, saying that i needed a drop down cable to my property, and to do this they needed to lift a service pit in the road, and would have to get permission from the local council to do this!ever since then, when ive contacted their customer service desk to enquire about this, they have just passed me about from pillar to post, kept me on hold for ages, and in two situtions just cut me off, after i'd spent ages getting through to them in the first place! VERY rude i thought!im now at the point where they are going to have to sort this out very quick and offer me some sort of compensation to keep my custom! :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Left the company exercising the right to leave during contract due to price February 2013 rises.
    Customer service is the worst I have ever en counted from any service provider ever.36000 and rising customers cannot be wrong.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst internet ever and customer service is one of the worst there are rud and helpless.clueless and worst of all is the way the go on and on with the security details. Jokers
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been a customer of Virgin ,Media ever since it was Cable and Wireless then NTL then Virgin. The speed has gradually crept up but so have the costs. Last year in March I moaned about the cost and my monthly bill went from£59 to £25 monthly for phone and 200M broadband. The reliability has always been poor and WiFi always patchy but with the router on a shelf upstairs it’s just ok.
    This March I called as my bill had jumped to £44 monthly and ended up cancelling my phone service however I had the rudest operator I have ever spoken to who dropped my call before completing the transaction. Next think, the line got swapped to another provider and someone at Virgin decided I didn’t need my broadband either so switched it off. After six calls and several hour wait, three operators promised to reconnect me and apologised for their mistake. Still didn’t happen so I called yet again and was told some cock and bull story about OFCOM rules and an 8 day wait to start reconnection even though it’s Virgins fault not mine.
    Cancelled the direct debit so they can whistle and BT installing this week for free. This would have been bad normally but I had a very major cancer op when our telephone and broadband were off so had lots of additional stress caused by Virgin. Of course all my friends and family know why they couldn’t call me so Virgin Media have lost several more customers already. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere
  • Reviewer
    Location
    tipton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    had no broadband and telephone now 4 months and no one still not been to fix it just keeps making exuses rubish customer service just keeps putting you off had my payments for over 20yrs they not bothered wouldnt recomend virgin media to my worst friend
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I could give 0 stars but its not possible. Customer services are inexistent, internet is only fast when it works, that's about 30% of the time, the other 70% its either down or it just keeps disconnecting over and over again. I'm paying 52£/ month for 350MB download and the average download speed is 60MB, again, when it is actually working. Trying to cancel my contract after 3 years of dealing with it and I'm currently on hold for 1 hour with no chance of someone actually picking up the phone. If you're thinking of switching to virgin media, just stop, don't do this to yourself. Judging by all the reviews I'm not the only one with this problem.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Croydon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Terrible customer service, wouldn't answer simple questions and kept offering new offers when I just wanted to keep the contract I am currently on. Very difficult to understand them over the phone due to the strong accent. Eventually sorted what was meant to be a simple procedure as I am moving house but didn't fully complete the process over the phone. Then sent an email saying I needed to update my details online for ebilling which surely would have been easier to do over the phone. I haven't been able to do this as the instructions aren't clear and the website is extremely confusing at times. Looks like I will have to call back and deal with the poor customer service again. Not happy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    chelmsford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    often very slow and unreliable sorted after lenthy phone calls dispite claims no fault found but only last a few days when signed up promised no limit on downloads yet throttled back regularly due to fair use policy (so the 100mb users can have more speed) be warned
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    hello to all readers,
    I wanted to leave a good review, but because I received a letter from bpo I can't believe how thieves I am !!! my contract was terminated for a very long time and on the contrary I told him that I don't want to continue because I am moving and I don't need it anymore. But they say one thing and do another. a few months later I woke up with direct debit payments. I called them and they said I didn't tell them to stop :))) in the end they stopped and said they would return my money ..... but from where, on the contrary, I still owe :))) and still where .... bpo collection! SHAME VIRGIN MEDIA !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appalling company. Terrible customer service, tricks you into other products and internet is incredibly poor quality . AVOID AVOID AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Where to start! These people set new standards of low in customer services. I am working abroad now so makes sense for my wife to take control of our account. It has taken since August last year to do this, in between we have been cut of twice. Over charged, reconnected, had the phone cut of for 3 months and suffered terrible broad bad speeds. the broad has got so bad we called for assistance the guy has finally turned up today late and said not surprised your broad band is rubbish you should have been sent a new box 2 years ago. I thought it was all solved when i threatened the ombudsman and we did get some service to only then find out that they had not changed the payment process from mineto my wifes name and i was about to get a black mark on my credit rating. But you have to struggle on service only slightly better with other providers over the years. My experience of Virgin Care the parasite that is eating away our NHS is not better, company is constant though constantly terrible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swanson, Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    VIRGIN MEDIA, TAKE TAKE TAKE used to be good but not these days. If you phone customer service at night you get through to people in the Philippines where you can sometimes hear children talking in the background, among other things.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with Virgin before and ha no problems. Moved in January and since they I had no WIFI. No matter how many times I contacted them nothing was resolved. Not to mention that you loose half a day with them.
    Today, one representative agreed that I have no WIFI services and told me he will send WiFi pod free of charge. Later I received my invoice increased. I will not accept them when they come.
    I called again to ask and, because I’ve been waiting for so long for them to fix I recorded everything . When the lady representative answer she was adamant that the phone call will be finish as she does not give consent.
    I think that Virgie media is a joke. Obviously management does not have a clue of what is happening in their company and middle ma agent seems that doesn’t care.
    I already took this personal and started the necessary steps to resolve my issue with them. However, I would like to advise people as I would have liked to be , not to go ahead with this provider. It will be a loss of money and gained stress.
    The internet is full of negative comments about them and I wish I had a brain and search before agreeing a contract with them.
    In addition, they are asking me for 240£ if I want to end the contract with them, even thought I did not benefit fully from their services.
    I don’t want you to be convinced of what I am writing here. I want you to read people’s reviews regarding their services and then you will be 100% convinced.
    Thank you !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Poole
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We were contacted by Virgin and agreed tto subscribe to their broadband service with an installation date of July 6th. On the install day a Virgin technician called and said he could not connect us bacause the Virgin cable did connect to our house. In subsequent telephone calls we were told it would take 8 weeks, if Virgin could do it at all. On the telephone the Virgin staff were rude to me and refused to let me speak to a manager. Virgin has arranged for BT to disconnect me and we were without broadband for 2 weeks.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow on the Hill
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin is just the worse broadband company. I’ve been trying to book an engineer for months and finally got it booked last week for Monday (7th November) and guess what???? I called them on Monday to confirm the visit and they said it wasn’t booked
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The fact that I only give them one star is because zero isn't available first they tried taking payment wrong date then after recalling it because it wasn't my bill date I had set a date to ring up and pay been informed my services will work as normal n ther will be no restrictions on my account not only was it a double payment which I wasn't informed about then I was lied to only to wake up a couple days later to my services being restricted and told to get it. Ack on I have to pay money I don't have it's a joke first they miss the payment date then take it out on a wrong day then then they lie then restrict my services and expect a payment on the day to resolve it which as I was told wasn't gonna happen so now I'm left with no services and a bill of 65 pound to pay for while not having my services on for nearly a month not to mention they haven't dealt with my previous network company like they said and I ended up having to pay line rental from both broadband providers for one month to then be told If I cancel I have to pay yet more money coz that all that company is bothered about it's not about the services or the customers it's about how much money they can steal off you your and mine hard earned money is better off being spent for services you'll actually receive never heard of such terrible customer service and service in total if stay away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    NOT satisfied with the broadband outages that keep occurring quite regularly for at least a week for no real reason and how long it takes to get it sorted EVERY TIME, but EXTREMELY satisfied with the Virgin Media engineer who spent a long time sorting out the fault, which was successful. I don't know his second name but his first name is James and he visited our property on 21/10/2016. Thank you James! He persevered and was lovely and very apologetic
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reigate
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have to admit they are not the chepest but have an excellent customer service (they answer within 1-3 minutes, I asked for older bills- they emailed it to me, they give resonable offeres, etc)No internet from any provider is at the maximum speed promise. I have 100MB and I constantly receive around 60-80 , once I had 110MB, but also when is high traffic droped to 40, etc (traffic measured through wifi/ not ethernal cable). Anyway I could still do my things. very occasionally (1-4 times a year) the internet fell compleatly and they fixed it in with 1-2 hours and once overnight (was frustraiting but nobody's perfect) I have been with them since 2011. Initially in Derby then in Reigate. Reading reviews and dealing with other providers( talk talk for instance/over the phone)OMG I prefer virgin media anytime. As over all satisfaction; they are the best you can get.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reigate
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have to admit they are not the cheapest but have an excellent customer service (they answer within 1-3 minutes, I asked for older bills- they emailed it to me, they give reasonable offers, etc)No internet from any provider is at the maximum speed promise. I have 100MB and I constantly receive around 60-80, once I had 110MB, but also when is high traffic dropped to 40, etc (traffic measured through wifi/ not ethernet cable). Anyway I could still do my things. Very occasionally (1-4 times a year) the internet fell completely and they fixed it in with 1-2 hours and once overnight (was frustrating but nobody's perfect) I have been with them since 2011. Initially in Derby then in Reigate. Reading reviews and dealing with other providers ( talk talk for instance/over the phone)OMG I prefer virgin media anytime. As overall satisfaction; they are the best you can get.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Installation process really bad. Ducts blocked on pavement. First lot of engineers couldnt fix external installation as that is another team. Engineers failed to turn up twice to address. Got 3rd date. Customer care awful. Can't explain when ducts repaired so they have given me another date. So I challenged them so your going to do the pavement and the external installation and internal instalation on the same day then. I've told them if it doesn't get sorted on 3rd attempt im cancelling my order.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AT ALL COST, I signed up in December 2021 its April 2023, they did not connect me to internet for 15 freaking months!! I CALLED AND i emailed they still collecting money from my acc. I tried to cancel, no luck. Today after 2h on the phone, I swear to God I have anxiety when I need to call them, menager of refund department Steven, told me I am not gona be refunded cos I did not complain enugh!! Can you imagine?? I do not have brodband over a year, Iam using mobile data if I have too, and he have a nerv to tell me that I did not complain enough!! Omg what on earth.
    Future customers of Virgin Media be pl3ase do yourselves a favour and sign up with someone else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Knebworth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin is the worst broadband provider I have ever dealt with!!! The customer service is rubbish and you need to spend hours on the phone without getting the issue resolved. Do not go for Virgin!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hayes
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I frequently work from home and could never rely on virgin media to remotely connect to my work computer. The last few weeks finaly did me in. Why isn't there a 0 score, I would prefer to chose 0. Absolutely no customer care and I've used virgin for years. I have complained about my expensive service and lack of network services for months and told them I'm leaving. I replaced my Broadband and called to confirm that they have cancelled my service as I now get service from someone else. Thanks to Keira and her manager Kenny, I am being told that today is the start of my 1 month notice as the other people I told are not from the 'leaving' department!

    I asked for customer service number and was told to cut off the phone and look for it. I asked if they were refusing with the number and Keira said yes she is refusing with it. Unbelievable lack of customer service. I'm now seeing on reviews all over that this is a common theme. No people skills at all and appalling Customer service, if you can even call it that!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I don't have any major issues with broadband or their tv bundle except that is not worth the money they charge you but what i do have an issue with is their rotten customer service. I was practicly shouted at for wanting to leave. Rude and aggressive and for that reason i really wouldn't recommend them to any one!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Worst Internet provider with awful customer service ever. Please Avoid Virgin Media. You don't need this BS in your life.

    I called Virgin Media customer service 5 times and each time I asked for the end-of-contract confirmation by email/post. However, each time I end up speaking with India, the last Indian guy was so rude and did not listen to my request. After 6 weeks, yet to receive the confirmation and yesterday I received another email which is asking me to pay the next bill. A bunch of sick people gathered together and called Virgin Media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Perth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Please Avoid Virgin Media. Worst Internet provider with awful customer service ever (hung up on me). Not recommended. Even not worth a single star. You don't need this BS in your life.

    I called Virgin Media customer service 4 times and each time I asked for the end-of-contract confirmation by email/post. However, each time I end up speaking with India, the last Indian guy (employee number: B7919632) was so rude and did not listen to my request and hung up on me. After 3 weeks, yet to receive the confirmation. I raised a complaint to Ofcom. Worst Internet provider with awful customer service ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Please Avoid Virgin Media. Worst Internet provider with awful customer service ever (hung up on me). Not recommended. Even not worth a single star. You don't need this BS in your life.

    I called Virgin Media customer service 4 times and each time I asked for the end-of-contract confirmation by email/post. However, each time I end up speaking with India, the last Indian guy (employee number: B7919632) was so rude and did not listen to my request and hung up on me. After 3 weeks, yet to receive the confirmation. I raised a complaint to Ofcom. Worst Internet provider with awful customer service ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bradford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    my bundle is 40MB but what i get is 4.3MB only i do the test through different speed tester i called the customer service to complain it took more than five minutes and i got nothing as usual
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Welwyn Garden City
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    they don't care about the service, they care only about money, they offer you something but they charge lots more for no reason
  • Reviewer
    Location
    SLOUGH
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    One of the worst company I have ever came across. I was moving the house so I went to Virgin media local store back in December. They told me that your installation will be done by 24th of December. its mid February and they are unable to install and always come up with different story..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Midlands
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst providers ever. Waste of time and very cluless. I have been getting charged a very high amount for my broadband than what i originally agreed for over the phone. When you get to customer services it takes more than 40min for them to answer and when they do they are not able to help or understand the customers problem. They place you on hold for more than 25min to end up with no answer or them hanging the phone up. Very rude and i definitely would not recommend them to anyone. They are expensive and their broadband speed is awful for the amount that am paying. On top of this they end up saying the reasons your media contract has gone up is because of the inflation prices even though i confirmed i have not received no letter nor an email about this because if i new i will be getting charged that ridiculous amount i would have cancelled it there and than. Their communications are awful and do not listen or just keep you waiting on hold for a very long time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ABSOLUTE B******S - IF YOU'RE EVEN CONSIDERING VIRGIN MEDIA OR MOBILE, SAVE YOURSELF AND GO ANYWHERE ELSE - PAY MORE IF YOU HAVE TO!

    The internet constantly shuts off for hours on end. They put it down to 'maintenance works. No heads up, no advanced warning. When you finally give in and call, they give you an incorrect estimate for the time it will take to get back online - further messing you about in making alternate arrangements for times when internet is absolutely necessary - doing a masters degree in my case. They refund you at best 73 pence (or similar) as a 'daily maximum reimbursable amount' and have or show no compassion to any of the previous instances you've had to face as a consumer. I'm shocked they are still open and receive new business, a company like this should have dissolved long ago. I warned the representative I would be documenting my experience online to which he said 'you are within your rights to do that'. He showed no remorse in loss of consumers and it became clear, Virgin - as a company, simply do not care for existing customers. I cannot wait to change company, only reason I can't is because I'd be 'subject to an early termination fee' which I am not going to be paying.

    I truly hope if you are not with Virgin and have read this message, you save yourself a long future of poor internet, poor customer service and hours lost on phonecalls with practically 0 resolution.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don't use Virgin Media, you cant trust them and very bad Customer service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm on the 50mb/s deal and we have been for a while now. the problem has been persistent for almost a year now where speeds would go down to about 1mb/s and under during peak hours (i.e. around 6-10'ish). I must have called them a couple dozen times only to be told the same thing; that it's a temporary problem. I then went onto their forum to seek answers, someone finally replies and after a few messages back and forth i'm told that there's a peak time fault in our area that causes the speeds to go down that much since the majority of the area are on VM. I ask if it will be fixed or not and they said that they would work on it from now till December where they will review and conclude if the fault still exists, if it does then they will continue working on it. 2 months ahead and the problem is still there; everyday the internet would go to a point where pages take minutes to load deeming the internet unusable for a couple of hours (a blackout if you wish).
    Considering they have a large number of customers in our area, who i'm also assuming are experiencing the same problem, it's outrageous that it's taking so long for it to be fixed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kingston
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer services department is full of Psycho's, even on chat (when they know everything is recorded they are nasty at their best).
    When you broadband contract is ending and you are about to pay more they will try their best to up sell you.
    The first thing you should say to them is my broadband contract is ending and I would like to terminate the service when it ends....
    At this point only they will try to give you a better price and package.
    I did a mistake, my broadband contract was about to end and I wanted to sign up for another year, the person on chat was just not willing to extend me to another year unless I upgrade my package to double the speed!
    At this point I was pissed off, signed up for another provider and called them to terminate my services, to my surprise they were very polite initially, is there anything we can do about price? I said no I already discussed this, sorry please close my account.
    Now they know that I'm sure to leave, their nasty side kicks in....
    Sir you need to give us one month notice if you wan't to leave, I said I only signed up for 12 months minimum and after that can leave any time, they cannot do that.

    Unfortunately they are in business of providing very high speed broadband, which I don't need....
    I stream on TV, computer at same time, while 3 mobile devices are connected and no issues with a 36MB broadband connection....

    I'm done with VM once and for all, having used them for 5+ years.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Walthamstow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I was with EE but have been having issues with poor speed. VM are providing 100mb for £38/m which is an increase of 75mb for £5/m extra.

    The guy on the phone was clear and it was easy to set up. They kept me well informed and engineer turned up on time. Didnt take long to set up as the router is kept next to the external wall.

    If you have 3 floors, the router won't reach the top. Buy a wifi extender. Don't pay VM for it as it is a £60 installation charge and £50 for the extender. Complete rip off as it is plug and go! Go to amazon/argos and buy it. If you pay more you'll get faster speeds. I paid £30 and am getting 35mb.

    In terms of speed - varies greatly. I find the router itself useless. My Ee router which is 2 years old is better and reached the loft without a drop in speed. If there are any walls at all speed dropped by upto 50 megs.

    Feel really disappointed with the router's performance. You expect better as they rave about their new cables.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was planning to leave Virgin Media in October, than after talking to their dedicated team we have agreed a deal. After a few months I have realised that they were charging me for totally different amount. I complained on the 21st of January and they said they will investigate it. I have been waiting since than. I have called them today and been told that the complaint is still open and somehow they can not see the deal they offered had been accepted therefore they can not honour the deal. If you can't see any deal achieved why would you keep a complaint open and keep charging a higher amount? Totally unprofessional and unreliable . Stay away !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have two virgin media accounts and can tell you in my honest opinion to avoid them at all costs.

    They will bill you in 2 months in advance whenever they feel like it without giving you notice half way through your contract. This has happened 3 times in my one year contract.

    The customer services is terrible. I wanted to set a credit limit on the account but they said that wasn’t possible. Then I asked for the manager, he said it’s poissible but only through another department... went around in circles to find out this was the same department that I got through originally.
    Another time they billed me wrongly, the were refusing to take ownership, got passed around many different departments until the call centre man in India told me to F off and hung up the phone.

    Although their internet is OK, God forbid you have any issues because seriously they are not their to help. I share this opinion amongst other family and friends.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.