Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 844 customer ratings since 2023-07-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,708 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media is now simply appalling. It is very expensive at £84 per month. It is not working more than its working and now I have had no access to email for two weeks! Just remember that, if things go wrong, there is no way known to humanity to contact their "customer service/tech support!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North West
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Honestly, the question “what went wrong” should be phrased “what went right” and the answer would be nothing.
    The customer service is dreadful, they will do anything in their power to avoid resolving the issue for you. They have sneaky hidden fees, try and upsell you products when you want to cancel and are just SO unhelpful it is actually somewhat impressive. The WiFi is dreadful and drops out constantly, however when you ask them to check it they say there is no issue…? They also will promise you things over the phone and refuse to send it by email in writing and then when you ask about it, they will have “no record” of those conversations. Then if you ask them to check the phone call log that will take 60 days to review…..
    It really is shocking how this company is still running, although if their aim is to scam people out of money and deliberately provide the worst service in history, maybe they are fulfilling their deeply unethical plan. Will never be a virgin media customer again, and will tell everyone how dreadful the service is.

    P.S. The survey at the end of the customer service won’t take your feedback if you rate them negatively which is just hysterical.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wallasey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful. Just awful.

    Been with them less than a year and already had money stolen from us. Multiple payments taken for no reason, rises in contract costs that weren’t discussed beforehand. All this I could see past but they don’t even provide a basic working service.

    I only have WiFi via virgin and their supply is rubbish. Cuts out multiple times a week for days on end. One minute their website says there’s an outage the other minute it says they’re not.

    The customer service team won’t refund your monthly bill despite lack of services but will promise you a phone call within “4 hours”

    not a good experience for a first time customer and definitely won’t be paying for their half assed services again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    At a loss, 2 weeks after our install date with Virgin Business, we are getting ignored and no information is being given despite my daily calls, as to why we've not been activated yet. They sent the wrong engineer (after having done a 'pre-install check'). Every time I call I am told my order manager will contact, but they never do. I've tried escalating and formally complaining, neither of which have gained a response. As a business we cannot run without this service. Severely disappointed with how we're being handled, no faith at all that our account is being handled as any kind of priority. I am even thanked when I call daily (or even more often) for regularly following up....how ridiculous! I am wasting my time and Virgins, and getting no where.

    Save yourself the aggro and go elsewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Let's just say I cannot wait for my contract to end in April 2024.
    The system in this company is completely messed up. When you try to call them up, there isn't an option for you to choose to directly talk to someone. They either send you a SMS then hang up on you or it will just get disconnected and you just need to call them up again and again hoping you could get the correct combination so that you would be directed to talk to a real person.
    Recently they increased my fixed contract price without notifying me in advance. I had to call them up, talking to many many staff and eventually they agreed to change it back to original amount. But then I lost my other promo offer.
    What really annoyed me was that it seems none of the customer service staff knows how to deal with your issues. They like to say "I'm sorry but we're unable to do this, or do that blah blah blah".
    To make matters worse, they constantly call you up trying to sell you their service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very bed services,
    Initially even they didn’t provide broadband kit on time, have called to customer care for delivery of kit and they tells that we don’t have any updates event they don’t have any update from Yodel who are their delivery partners and When I asked to them for Yodels number they gave me common number and application shows that parcel will be deliver in between 2 to 4 but there were not any single person came for courier, Initially they will not provide good services then how we can trust on them for after customer care services, very worst and blunder services of virgin media as well as their Delivery partner Yodel. Very bed.minus star….for me not even 1 star.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rated 1 out of 5 stars
    Awful, repeatedly awful. Steal money from direct debit, awful customer service, terrible technical service
    Unfortunately I cannot give zero. DO NOT GET YOUR INTERNET FROM VIRGIN MEDIA, run away while you can. This is the umpteenth issue I have had with Virgin Media while being a customer for 5 years.
    They messed up my billing serveral times, stealing money from my bank account that was above what I had agreed to pay them, which was the basis of me entering into contracts with them (as per UK contract law, which dates in customary form to the middle ages, was crystallised into formal law following this). They have done this on at least three ocasions and they have only paid me back in full once.
    They messed up my moving house twice - once when I tried to delay the move date and they cut off my account, and then when I actually moved. I had confirmation in writing that they had changed the moving date, having had to contact their awful whatsapp customer service from abroad when my move was delayed. Then, once again, when they reinstated it - and in doing so , had to set up a new account - they 'accidentally' overcharged me. I filled a complaint and - for the only time - CS actually dealt with it properly. They credited me with recompense and my account was in credit when I moved. Then they failed to do my installation on the agreed date (later claimed that there were building works that made it impossible for the engineer to access the house, which is a lie). After hours on the phone and a threat to not install it for 3 months unless I paid a premium charge to have it in a month (I work from home) and promsing to refund this, they finally installed it. They never did repay that fee. Then started a new account, meaning I lost the credit that they repaid after they helped themselves to money from my account previously. They agreed to having the same contracted amount (£24 per month) as previously for 12 months from August 2022. Then, the service was like being in the 90s. I live in central-ish London, in an area with superfast broadband and fibreoptic cables, but you could only use the wifi withing 3metres of the router. After many calls, with people speaking to me like I was an idiot and just following a script telling me to restart their modem etc and then telling me that I could pay to rent pods to boost the service. My flat is 60m2, so this is ridiculous. How weak was it? the extender kit that I have so I could previously use wifi in my long garden from my old 100m2 house would not even pick up the signal to boost. Eventually, they agreed to send an engineer, who just said 'you have a weak signal' (well done, einstein) and left without resolving it. After many more calls, they finally sent another engineer who ordered new cables from the street. But then they left a huge roll of cable in the (shared) front garden and didn't actually connect it to my flat. eventually, two engineers later, it was connected and the router relocated. Fine service in half the flat, nothing to get excited about, especially if you wanted to lie in my bedroom watching a film as service there non-existent still. Ah, I will change when the contract is up in Aug, I think. Then, they lose my credit from their previous mess-up, refuse to pay back the connection fee (I moved house, which is meant to be free), failed to apply the discount to the bill that would keep my £24 contractually agreed amount. Eventually after many phone calls, They replied to my written complaint with lies and weird accusations - like it was my choice to open a new account and then chose an express connection service! And they did apply the 'discount' and charge me the correct, agreed amount (I will note here that they do this £51 contract less £27 discount so that they can accidentally not apply the discount and help themselves to money from your account and so that you cannot leave until the contract ends - a vile business practice that says everything about this company). Someone then called and offered a month free as compensence. Fine, that was applied in an and Feb and I just wanted to never contact CS again. THEN NO NO NO. Normally, I do not bother opening mails if I know the bill will just say £24. Until last month, when I opened one and it said £58. And the two before are £51. And tomorrow is £58 again. They just take this from my bank account. Which is theft as it is not the amount that I agreed to pay when I entered into a contract with them. Another 2 hours on the phone and nothing resolved. Spoken down to by three men (another was pleasant, but unable to assist so put me through to someone else, but I just was on hold for an hour), being passed from department to department, being called the pejorative 'miss' despite explaining my gender-neutral title eight times, being told that the contract was 7 months (a lie) and that I wouldn't get the money back (well, I can through court and a complaint to OFTEL) and maybe he could give me a new contract with a great deal.UR
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst customer experience I've had in my life - and that's saying something.

    I wish I could tell you the whole saga but I'd end up writing a 3 page essay. Absolutely offensive level of service. To say Virgin's customer service 'doesn't even exist' would be a compliment.

    Constant repeating myself. Getting nowhere. Bots. Agents who are somehow more bot-like than the bots. Being ignored. Patronised. The most farcically frustrating responses, like I was being tested in a new circle of Hell. Going in circles over and over. Waiting hours for a reply. Agents who smugly pat themselves on the back when they've achieved sweet F.A. and haven't even read your replies. Agents who clearly don't have the authority to help me yet pretend they do. Agents who argue with me even though my evidence was staring them in the face. Arguing with their own stated company policy. Being fobbed off. Attempts at bribery with a stream of new offers to get me back in line. Having complaints procedures auto-resolved without even contacting me let alone doing anything. Having to restart the whole process EVERY SINGLE DAY with someone new and astonishingly incompetent. Patiently explaining to no avail. Writing big, clear messages with attached evidence (and, later on, polite fury) that I may as well not have bothered with for all anyone looked at them. Nothing I did to get their attention seemed to matter. None of my communication given any attention or respect - like it was destined for the trash pile. Like my frustration was being laughed at. Agents who seemed to deliberately misunderstand and screw up and then not care a damn.

    And all this from the most BASIC single request. But no, Virgin were pathetically greedy and wanted to drag this out just so they could extract a bit more money from me, even though they weren't owed it - the terms detailing this written clear as day in their own emails, that they desperately tried to contradict! It was there, simply stated, in black and white, screenshotted, and they STILL tried to debate it or ignore it! They outright said I could leave without incurring early cancellation charges if in response to a (obscene) price rise, as long as it was before X date. I did leave before this date. And they tried to charge me anyway! The sheer grotesque cheek of a company attempting to contradict its own stated policy that it wrote in customer emails, just to exploit its customers further, wring out some more pounds, hoping the complainant (me) would give up in frustration before they did. But no, I can be very stubborn when I feel like I'm being shown a callous level of corporate disrespect. And so I kept trying. For literally months.

    Ended up having to file with the ombudsman. Only at the 11th hour did anyone actually do anything for me - a call and apology from a manager - and then it was sorted. It could've all been done so easy. And instead it took, what, 4 months of constantly badgering them, tearing my hair out at the sheer ineptitude, the corrupt greed baked into the system, the utter contempt for any customer that isn't a new customer?

    I'm so glad to leave Virgin. I know all these companies are awful, but how Virgin treated me was so rephrensibly **** that I refuse to give them my money any more, even with the last minute cheap deals they tried to bribe me with at the end when I made it clear I never wanted anything to do with them again.

    Honestly, the experience was so bad (and I know it's common for others) that I truly believe that Virgin Media doesn't deserve to exist as a company. I will applaud when it collapses under the stinking weight of its own **** and sinks into the sea. Never to be heard from again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    i have been with this awful disgraceful theiving company for 14 months on an 18 month contract hahaha i must of got 8 months of service the rest was down time, disruptions, on some days in a row 3-5 net was on 5mins off 15 mins all day long for days called them they cant resolve untill one guy spilt the beans he said we are using over 120gb a month and gone over which is lies we never went over our 40 gb in years with other providers, he then says you need to upgrade i told him i have been to citizens advice and they said diconnect get another suppklier and dont pay them any more as they are not provided you for what your paying for and they lied in their terms and conditons about price increase this April 2023 so have right to walk out, he then says ok there is one way i will reset your data, which was lies again because they are just doing it from their side manually it worked 4 hrs then exactly 19:55pm it started happening again and still going off every 5 mins they waited till closing time and started it off again DONT GO WITH THEM TRY ANOTHER like GIGABITE or CITY FIBRE you get fastewr download and upload incase you dont know virgin upload is only a couple of meg when they are the same as download making your internet 10 reliable and faster i know this as i have it at my new address.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south west London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    May 20th, I order a virgin broadband box because my friends are telling me it’s the best. Few days later I received it, unfortunately couldn’t set it up, called the customer service to book a technician. May 23rd, a man comes and tell me he can’t set it up. Said he will report it and that I will get a call the same day or the next day. May 26th, I call back the customer service as nobody contacted me. We will call you tomorrow (27th) the woman says. May 27th nobody calls me so I call back AGAIN. Are you home tomorrow (28th) the lady says ? I can send somebody to your house between 8am and 1pm. Yes please. No confirmation message was sent or received. 28th I wake up early to walk my dog and set the house for someone to come. NOBODY CAME AND I WASTED HALF OF MY DAY OFF. I call and I call and nothing. June 8th, I contact the customer service to cancel my order as I’ve been for 3 weeks with a stupid box that doesn’t do the job. Termination fee is £400 they say. I cannot help you with your query but I booked a call for you tomorrow ( 9th of June) between 12 and 4 and we will sort this out for you days the gentleman. Thank you for your patience your kind heart and being a great customer and person to chat to says the assistant honestly what kind of service is that. But anyway. June 9th, NOBODY CALLS !!! What do I need to do ??? When I log in my virgin account there is no contract and no bills, I try to start an online chat and it takes me back to the home page !!! how can you leave me like this !!! I serve customers for a living and this is honestly the worse experience I have ever ever had !!!! HELP ME PLEASE
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If it was possible to give no stars I would. The worst service ever received. Booked in to install fibre broadband in March and still don't have it installed. Have finally given up trying to get it sorted after delay after delay with no real reasoning. When they did give a reason (awaiting council permit for outside works), I contacted the council to ask them to please go ahead and approve the works but there was no permit requested in the first place. Hours and hours of calls and trying to confirm engineers, but all time wasting! Promises of engineers to arrive on a certain day but never did. Could go on, really terrible experience all round. Went with another provider and was up and running in a week. Avoid completely.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin broadband gave us the worst ever experience with a broadband provider. We switched to Virgin broadband in March 2023 (4 months ago) and we are still waiting for the installation, which Virgin delays each time 2 days before it happens. I would advise avoiding Virgin broadband as the customer service has been bad, their sales offers are alluring (especially when they offer O2 sim with Volt), their initial installation date is not true, and they have the right to change it without the customer saying anything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Long story short. Broadband was up for renewal, checked virgin website for deals. Virgin agent called day after with an amazing deal. I accepted. Virgin meant to go live while the other provider would deactivate. Day before due date got notification that engineer would attend to my case 13 days later than original appointment. Called customer service multiple times to get an answer. No solution. Called again multiple times to cancel. All and all not a great experience, I rather pay more a bit a stay with the same provider I have had for the last 6 years. Customer service is non existent.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What an appalling company. Avoid at all costs. I signed up for broadband and was promised a 2hour delivery slot. Took a day off work and waited in all day. Nothing. Called them and was promised a two hour slot. Still nothing. Then the fun starts when you try to cancel the service you never actually received. To cut a long story short Virgin go out of their way to make it as difficult as possible to do this, including insisting that you speak in person to someone but giving out the wrong number, then bouncing you around between departments and making you give your details over and over again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barnsley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    For Broadband- it's fine. Never really had a problem.
    However, the customer service is appalling!!! I'd go so far as to say there is no "customer service". Don't get me wrong, the agents themselves are just doing their job. But, my god it's sucking the life out of me trying to get them to end my contract. They keep offering me "deals" which are twice the price of what I am paying now and what I can get elsewhere. When you say no, they seem surprised.
    When my Mum was with them and tried to leave, they wanted £300 as they said she changed her contract midway through. She is 75, is used to paper communication and speaking with a human. I had to bail her out so she could leave them. Then they said she hadn't returned all their equipment & tried to charge her £75, despite us having proof of postage & tracking number.
    So, be warned. Don't try leaving them, or asking for help.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Im very sorry to write this.virgin media has really bad customer support services.basically i called them and they picked up my call but thar guy who was on phone he put the phone away and i was saying hello hello but he didn’t respond me and cut off the call.i request to virgin media they should take action on helper All helper are same i tried 3 4 times but ihve got same respond.but I appreciate for service thanku
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Paisley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin Media for a few years and have stuck with them as I was pleased with the service and customer service.

    Our internet has been terrible for ages. It is continually intermittent and even our TiVo box rarely connects to the internet. The family are relying on 4G.

    I have reported it and, I had a terrible chat with an assistant who kept insisting that everything was fine who cut me off in mid flow. I called them again and assistant no 2 said we had too many devices using the internet. We shut some devices down, but no improvement. Even when only one person is in the house, it is intermittent.

    I have gone through the hoops online. It is mental - you phone about a problem and they send a link to find help - a link for an internet that does not work!

    This morning, after resetting the router, I tried the automated chat - took ages as the internet kept cutting out. Was told to continue conversation on Whatsapp. I got a message, sent a reply 2 mins later and have had no reply from Virgin Media.

    I see that this seems to be a common situation with other Virgin Media customers. I don't want a generic reply about fish tanks affecting the signal - I want this to be fixed - the way it was for years until more recently.

    I am paying for this abysmal service!! I am being robbed each month by Virgin Media. I will be charged a penalty to leave them. I am due a refund. Unless, there is a vast improvement,I will never use them again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I’m writing on behalf of a friend. He thought he has paid his bill with Virgin for the internet giving his bank details and blabla to the employee on the phone but that employee put his bank details for someone else bill and then his internet cut off and now he has to pay £7.50 of late payment because Virgin team mess up and they don’t want to cancel that fee of they mistake or anything to compensate that trouble. Would say find a better internet provider with human being on the phone than them and it’s up to you if you find yourself generous to pay some else bill and trouble to get everything sorted, rude staff on the phone and trouble to talk to a manager
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stoke on Trent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hello Virgin Media,

    I want to express my deep disappointment with your service. Our internet speed has been frustratingly slow despite paying over £60 a month. We’re certainly not getting the service we’re paying for.

    Moreover, we were promised that our contract would move seamlessly to our new address on the 10th of June, yet it was disconnected prematurely last night. This has caused significant disruptions to our work and personal lives, and it’s completely unacceptable.

    In attempting to resolve these issues, I’ve encountered further frustrations with your customer service team. As someone who works in customer service myself, it’s evident to me that your representatives are poorly trained. They’ve been stuttering on the phone and providing less than satisfactory assistance.

    Finally, your WhatsApp chat service is intolerably slow. Responses take between 30-60 minutes per message. It’s supposed to be a real-time chat, not a delayed email conversation.

    I must say, these experiences have been utterly disappointing. Please rectify these problems urgently and ensure we get the service we’re paying for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    COLNE Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible company, Tried to cancel when my subscription doubled from £26 to £54 for no apparent reason. When I asked they said it was because I’m out of contract. They have now said I am still in contract and want details of my new address to avoid early cancellation fees. Why would I have early cancellation fees if I’m out of contract. They are a bunch of incompetent buffoons who totally ignored my request to terminate and Lee requesting more money. I will not pay a penny more and if any of you have any sense you will avoid this company like the plague
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambs
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They promised high speed, ive seen faster snails!
    But the REAL issue is the connection just keeps dropping out for no reason? I have to switch my PC on and off until it works again.
    Customer service is non-existant
    Then they send me a letter to say they are putting their prices up! But they don't tell you by how much! Virgin Media..I cant put into words how bad they are!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North East England
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish. Over three months ago they dug up the top of my drive to put straws into the street. Three months on, they sent an email telling me that they were no longer going to install fibre into those straws. All that mess for nothing. No reason given. Shocking. Made worse because they are proceeding in parts of the estate where provision of broadband is already good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Livingston
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paying over £70 a month for the most appalling broadband service ever experienced. Called virgin media so many times to report slow speeds buffering outages etc and always get the same old story " we ran a test over 3 days and your service showed no problems at all" . Whenever we call we get promised there's no issues and yet I need to now go to the office to work because of how unreliable this service is. Surely I can get out this contract early due to the service not being as described, if this was a blouse I would have returned it months ago. Shame on you virgin media for ripping us off and lying to us about there being no issues.
    Tell me again how there's no better service??
    Screen shots of errors buffering etc available on request!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Service itself was very patchy - frequent drop outs, outages and slow network problems. Attempted to cancel my service at the end of my contract. No way to do this on the website, you have to call up. Did this, but was told I'd failed security, no way to try again, just have to wait until they've sent a letter with a new password. I wait several weeks, no letter arrives. I call again, am told that this shouldn't have happened, that I was misinformed on my first call, and that a manager would listen back to the first call and if it was found that I'd been misinformed originally they would set contract notice to start from that date. No further update, so two weeks later I call back. No one has checked original call, new customer service person was rude and unhelpful, so I asked to speak to a manager. Was told none was available, so someone would call me back. No one ever called me back. Had to call back a week later, still no further information, no one had checked the original call, still no managers available to speak to. Just the worst kind of company, poor product and poor service. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The appalling customer services may yet bring down this company. Despite already being a 'loyal customer' I was repeatedly cold-called by upsellers - this would stop for a while at my request, then begin again a year later. When I sold house and wanted to cancel, they made the process so time consuming and unpleasant that I will surely never use their service again. Way to go!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bracknell
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    So I tried to come out of our #VirginMedia broadband service we have had for 4-5 years.

    In 2021 we were sent a 'free' stream box which in 2022 VM tried to charge us for having the Stream service so I called and told them to remove it and readjust the monthly fee back to where it was. Of course the standard broadband price had gone up for Broadband so it was still £4 per month more expensive.

    Virgin Media put prices up this year another £7 per month (£10 in a year) meaning we have had to look around for a cheaper alternative.

    I tried to cancel my service and was told in the call in 2022 I had 'agreed' to another contract verbally and now it will be £288 to exit this 'contract'. We are not even paying back towards the cost of the router so where on earth has the £288 come from?

    So I am now going to ensure everyone I know and meet never choose Virgin Media for their broadband service. Starting with my Mum who spends £55 per month who will be switching next month.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Their installation team were abismall. It took them 3 weeks to try and get a line to my house. They moved my dates without informing me and each person on their customer services team told me different things. In the end, I gave them a deadline by which to go live. They said they could bu they messed it up so I went ahead and cancelled my order. Unbelievably poor customer service. Stay away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT USE VIRGIN MEDIA - THEY'RE RUTHLESS

    I was with Virgin Media for just shy of 10 years for broadband only. I moved house in October 2022, and despite all the calls I made, and all the emails I sent to disputes, they still maintained that I hadn't cancelled. This arduous dispute continues on to this day.

    The first amount was for £125 in Feb 2023, which I just paid thinking this was the final payment just to get them off my back. How stupid I was. Approximately 3 days later I received another bill for £30.30. I told the debt companies straight away that I wasn't paying it. I hadn't lived at that address for 4 months at that point.

    Eight months later and I've been contacted by at least 3 debt companies for £30.30!! One will close down my account and Virgin sends it to another, and so the cycle continues.

    I would call Virgin to cancel and they told me to email disputes, so I emailed disputes and they told me I had to call. I spoke to at LEAST 13 members of staff and none of them cancelled for me. I would email disputes and they would basically ignore whatever I said, deny that I had cancelled and tell me to call up. When on the phone waiting to speak to Billing, the call would ALWAYS be dropped. I have wasted hours and hours of my life on this.

    I've just had ANOTHER call today 22/05/23 from the first debt company, still asking for £30.30.

    It's absolutely disgusting how this company treats you when you try to leave.

    Stop asking me for money that I don't owe!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You're not getting one more penny from me you bullies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you value your own time and sanity you will avoid virgin at all costs. I cannot begin to explain the awful experience that I have had with them... The customer service is the worst I have seen.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tate
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible Experience with Virgin Media - Overcharging and Poor Customer Service

    I recently had an extremely frustrating experience with Virgin Media, which motivated me to whine about it online.

    The main issue arose when I noticed unexplained additional charges on my monthly bill. Concerned about these unexpected expenses, I contacted Virgin Media's customer service not once, not twice, but three times in an attempt to resolve the matter. Each time, I patiently explained my situation and spent a considerable amount of time on the phone (in total almost 3h!).

    During these calls, the customer service representatives assured me that the problem had been identified and resolved. However, after every call, subsequent bills continued to state incorrect charges (over double what was stated in my contract!), despite the assurances given. Basically, Virgin added some extra services to my contract without my consent.

    Over the last 5 years, I experienced numerous problems with Virgin Media but it would take short book to describe in detail. I would recommend everyone to pick ANY broadband provider but not Virgin. They are absolutely the worst.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North East
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgraceful company, avoid at all cost. We have been with them for years and pay well over the odds for a shocking service. They don’t want to keep our custom as they will only offer a £2 per month reduction when we can go elsewhere for less than half the price. Horrid customer service, please do not go to this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have never been more disgusted by a company in my life.

    Called today to give my usual one month notice of moving out as I have done in past whenever I have moved, however I was told I will be charged over £200 early termination fee. HOW is that legal, let alone moral in a cost of living crisis? I’ve never had to pay more than £20ish for this in the past with any provider.

    Such a significant sum should be clearly communicated to a customer when taking out a contract - I can’t imagine anyone would expect to be charged that kind of money. Completely immoral and disgusting behaviour. I was even asked if I “knew anyone who would take over the contract” as if I could live with just dumping that on someone else.

    Many of my family and friends are with Virgin Media but knowing this and that some of them are looking to move in the near future I will definitely be helping them to find other providers at first opportunity.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chorley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After two separate delays (due to lack of and inadequate initial survey) totalling over a month for the installation of my broadband, we discovered that our technician was installing our router in the wrong part of our house.

    After calling customer service, the second person we spoke to after half an hour of explaining our issue started trying to talk to us about alternative package offers, despite us saying that we just wanted to have our issue resolved. He then said they would add a box onto our current package for no extra cost (without explaining what it actually was), and 5 minutes later he said "this will incur an extra £30 plus charge" and it was incredibly difficult for us to respond that we didn't want this. As soon as it was found we didn't want to purchase anything in addition, he then transferred us to tech support (so was obviously uninterested in / not his remit to solve the issue we had been discussing for the last 30 minutes and merely wanted to make a sale).

    We eventually got thought so someone who quite emphatically promised us we would be rang and seen by the technician the very same day by 5pm. As a result of this I had to leave work and remain in the house all day. No call or visit came. We then rang the next day to enquire why this had happened, and we were now assured we would receive a call and visit from the technician by the end of the working day for the second time, and a further promise that we would be called back at 9pm by customer service to ensure this issue had been resolved. Not one call from either party came, this after staying in waiting for the technician AGAIN.

    I have recieved 3 guarantees of a call and visit, and 3 times I have been outright and maliciouslylied to by Virgin customer supprt, and actively missed work as a result. Negligence is one thing but to be lied to on multiple occasions which has had active consequences for me is entirely another. It hasn't even been 48 hours, and I am now preparing to terminate my contract with Virgin, and can safely say this is the worst company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with not to mention the fact that the range of my router is far worse than the several year old sky one I have been using previously. AVOID.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had six months of unusable broadband service. Ignore the promises of automated refunds... The service needs to be fully off for extended periods to get this. I'm my experience, service will be unusably slow with regular periods off and on. They refused to refund at all even though they were well below gauranteed speeds.
    Customer service was almost none existent. I had to work very hard to get acknowledgement and engineer visits. Finally Street cable was modernised fixing the service, but I've now left for a company with actual customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Paignton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely awful service. We were rebooting the router 3 times a day to reconnect the wifi. Eventually an engineer came out and installed a new router - now nothing works at all.
    We have tried on three different occasions to contact Virgin and each time they hang up after 20 minutes.
    If you run a business, please, DO NOT USE VIRGIN MEDIA
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This company is the worst I’ve ever had to deal with. I helped a pensioner with her contract as tv part was too expensive, so after helping got a price for phone only, was sent emails and said would phone next day this was back to February 2023 never received call. Week later they phoned this pensioner she said about it they had no record even when I had emails with contract.
    This person then decided she did not want them at all, so we found her a cheaper mobile phone deal as all she wanted was a phone. So we contacted to cancel and a date was arranged for equipment collection on a Sunday, she stayed in all day as was worried and no one ever turned up, not even a call, we phoned at the time date was arranged, got cut off call so after phoning again taking over an hour spoke to someone, who then confirmed it was on there system. What a bunch of liars. Week later they took more money from her account, this was ending up hundreds of pounds of money she could not afford to pay. So after this she went to bank and cancelled her direct debit bank said let virgin know. She phoned them after some time talked to different departments again said I’ve had enough and cancelled my direct debit and put phone down as they, upset her once again with stress. Week later she gets a letter saying to pay her bill or get cut off, which is what she wanted.
    This company has the worse customer services I’ve ever contacted, everyone lies, all they want is your money. I’ve contacted CEO of Virgin media reply with info but never hear again, seems all he likes is his bonus. Richard Branson should be decussated disappointed with how his company name is being treated. Looks like we are not the first of thousands of complaints. He needs to step in and make his company great once again. As as it is I would not recommend this company like this. Please pass to anyone that can help.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grimsby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    For reliability of service probably the worse ISP provider.The internet has decent speeds but it's not much use when it is regularly down.Id honestly recommend if internet is your top priority to shop elsewhere even if it costs more money.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Notts
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Literally the worst ISP in the country. Regularly going down completely and when it is up I get an average of 1/10th of the speed I pay for which is criminal. I have received 1/2 the expected speed just twice in tests since upgrading to 1gb speed, it was honestly better speed wise on the 350mb service. Virgin media is a con and the company should be investigated by trading standards and ultimately closed down.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Charged me twice for the same bill absolutely disgusting
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Plymouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Generally ok, until you try to change the service, or cancel. Then they reveal themselves to be the worst - they don't listen, argue every point, grasp for whatever they can get from you, upselling with extreme incompetence. Never again.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.