Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 998 customer ratings since 2023-04-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,684 Customer Reviews over 469 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunderland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Shocking service, cancel contract after it ends and they don't process it and then spring high bills on you. Once you contact to complain they advise they will need to put a 3p day notice on even thiugh you advised you were leaving after your contract!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible in all respects. Have been a loyal customer for a few years but the negotiation around contract renewals, the ways they deal with customer complaints and the general disregard for loyal customers make it an all time low. If i could give it a zero I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We’ve been without WiFi now for over 3 days! Every time my husband calls he’s told they are working on it! I’ve nearly used up my data on my mobile because of this and have also lost job opportunities as I cannot access the internet to complete the required assignments. Absolutely shocking and frustrating. Customer service are very unhelpful and refuse to put you through to any management. Yesterday my husband said he wanted to place an official complaint and was told to do it online!! I would urge you to look at other providers as we have had nothing but issues since we signed up with virgin and although we pay the premium rate the WiFi even when it works is extremely poor. This company aren’t even worthy of one star rating!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Disconnection through customer service is cumbersome. Existing customers are chased away by high renewal rates.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Fantastic broadband never had an issue from the moment I connected it!! Could stream anything with no buffering. Unfortunately I moved to Cumbria where they don’t cover so had to cancel early and pay the costs but brilliant product otherwise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I write to share my ongoing ordeal with Virgin Media, hoping to spare others from the headaches I've endured. My journey started on the 9th of March 2022 when I eagerly signed an 18-month contract at a seemingly reasonable rate. Little did I know, this was the beginning of a series of issues that would plague my experience.

    Fast forward to the 22nd of May 2023, where I signed another 18-month contract at a reduced rate. The trouble began with unexplained charges in June, July, and August 2023. Feeling financially strained, I decided to halt my direct debit on the 1st of September 2023.

    Things took a drastic turn on the 29th of September 2023 when Virgin Media claimed I owed them an outstanding balance. Despite my complaint on the 2nd of October 2023, negotiations only led to temporary solutions and broken promises.

    Service disruptions on the 3rd of October 2023 required me to pay for reactivation. Virgin Media agreed to a one-time credit, but the problems persisted, leading to another credit agreement on the 11th of November 2023.

    On the 12th of November 2023, a new arrangement was made, only for my account to be suspended again on the 4th of December 2023. After a heated argument, they agreed to reactivate my service but claimed the remaining balance would be settled by a credit, yet emails continue to show overdue amounts.

    This continuous cycle of broken promises and billing issues has left me frustrated and disheartened. I caution anyone considering Virgin Media's services to think twice, as my experience underscores their lack of accountability and persistent billing problems.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Total waste of money, I upped my speed and have gotten a less reliable service. What an absolute shambles of a company with no accountability or person to talk about the issues. Has turned not a faceless organisation with poor customer service and reliable internet speed and strength.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with virgin for years mostly due to easiness of just keeping the contract running and avoid changing but my contract expires in January and I cannot wait to leave. Trying to cancel with them they will keep you on hold once they know for least half hour so you just give up. I lost internet for 3 days and they didn’t care and then refused to compensate me for the loss of service I’m paying almost £100 a month just for internet and basic tv package unbelievable. Don’t get fooled by the promise of quick speeds if I turn my phone on the tv buffers and I have their highest package for broadband. I’m counting the days to leave
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No stars NEVER EVER get Virgin broadband, tv and phone package. We had it fitted on 11th October, had no phone for two weeks , engineer comes 2 weeks later can't sort it , next morning no devices whatsoever. Few days later they put the internet back on still no phone or TV. Eventually over 4 weeks later we get TV, 2 days after that we get the phone with a temporary number ( not so temporary as we still have it ,) in the meantime we are sent several new contracts , why ? We don't want a new contact we just want our original one honoured. Then we get a bill 3 X what we were quoted! So today we made our 24th phone call which took over an hour and a half and are no further forward. To say we are pissed off , angry , frustrated and at the point of pulling out hair out is an understatement.
    The virgin product when working is great but the customer service from them is an absolute abomination.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Downfall of Virgin's Reputation

    Using Virgin Broadband for my properties has been an absolute train wreck:

    Customer Service: Endlessly Horrendous - Every call is a descent into madness with endless waits and abysmal support. It's a vortex of despair.

    Phone Support: Excruciatingly Incompetent - They're not just unhelpful; they're a liability. Complete ignorance and utter disregard for customer issues.

    Installation: A Complete Joke - They've never met an installation date. It's a chaotic mess of broken promises and sheer incompetence.

    Service Quality: A Total Failure - The service is not just bad; it's catastrophically terrible. Constant outages, snail-like speeds—it's a disaster.

    Virgin Broadband is not just the worst in the market; it's a stain on the Virgin legacy. Their business practices are laughable, and their service is a joke. It's obvious they're headed towards inevitable bankruptcy. Everyone knows Virgin Broadband is the bottom of the barrel in internet services. Avoid it like the plague.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.