Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 844 customer ratings since 2023-07-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,708 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Virgin has one major flaw, no guaranteed upload speed. This means they cannot guarantee you can send emails, upload videos to Youtube, put pics on Facebook or anything else for that matter of fact. I get 0.08 meg upload speed, meaning it could take 3 hours to send a 1meg email. Not good enough.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Didcot
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The broadband is fine but the customer service is appalling! I told them I will not be renewing my contract but they have continued to charge me! I have been trying to resolve the issue but I spent 2 hours being passed from department to department and having my calls disconnected while waiting for x department to answer - Shocking! I even told them that it is not fair for me to call 7 times and not have my issue solved - this is bad customer service! Just to be told "Sir, that is your opinion" whatttt? They still have not solved my issue of being charged for nothing! Goodbye Virgin - you lost a good and loyal customer!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I bought 50 megabit broadband. Actual speed is around 3 megabit during evenings. Virgin media acknoledges problems, regularly promises to fix them, but does nothing for at least 6 months already.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    singed up in 22 May and today is 6th September 2016 and I'm still waiting for my broadband to be setup. customer service soo rude. if you have any option avoid virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    This is the only company believes that that the customers are always wrong and liers and their staff can never be wrong I had the worst customer experience ever.
    When customer complains the least you can do is listen and investigate.
    Mr Lutz Schüler your staff are not doing you a service and I will be in touch soon I hope you have better listening skills than your staff
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hopeless- I am speaking to the agent from 830 am till 1230 just to paint a picture no exaggeration.
    I am new customer who has not even got the services yet,
    I have been transferred 4 times as they have not got the order correct or delivered and the cost
    the speed also is not guaranteed also they have NO CUSTOMER EMAIL ADDRESS FOR EMAILS so be warned
    take my advise pay a bit more and go elsewhere
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wandsworth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BB line speed / WAN connection is very good but that doesn't mean so much when the wifi signal is so poor in adjacent rooms. Worst of all when they have an outage it takes days usually 2 or 3 , to fix. We have 2 or 3 long area outages per yr and in all cases it has taken 24 hours before they even send anyone out to look.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Croydon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ###Avoid at all costs###

    This company is robbing people after changing my location they automatically decided to extend my contract and change my package without my acknowledgement before moving house I gave them three locations and they do they told me we cannot provide fibre broadband so can I end my contract now you still have to pay for your contract I finally found a property which I can provide fibre broadband and I’ve changed my contract without my acknowledgement from £28 to £52 Who pays that amount for broadband nowadays fck joke.

    I cannot believe this is how virgin media does business i’ve been arguing for the past of one of years to resolve this they keep telling me yes we have Applied the discount back to account every month I’m just getting the same amount of built over and over again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The most horrible network provider, I am paying 33 a month for the Internet which is down every day. I call at least three time a week and not only they are rude, but not willing to help or explain why the thing is not working. Last month it didn't work for 4 days in a row, I was meant to get a refund of 3 pounds and instead was charged three pounds more than usual. Waste of time, money and nerves. Never again!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Croydon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I've managed to plan to install Virgin 2 weeks before I moved in.
    Technician came in and installed internet in 30 min on the date I wanted. There was an issue with telephone, well still is but I don't use it much so I don't bother. Internet works like a charm, 54mbs/3mbps/8ping. Never had any problem with it. Router is really good, when I had others from other companies I had to reboot them all the time, this one works since 3 months with really good speed and doesn't need any rebooting, maybe they reboot them at night? Never noticed that but I am very happy with customer service, and offer I got and I can recommend this internet to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with VM for 6 years but the last year has been an absolute ordeal and I just cannot say how much I would recommend you stay away. Not only has our bill ramped up drastically (+£15/month), but our network has also been cutting off on a weekly, if not daily, basis. We have sometimes been cut off for entire days, without notice or indication of when it will be looked into. We both work from home and we just can't afford such high unreliability. On top of all of this, customer service, despite being very polite and trying their best, have just been incredibly unhelpful. Every time I have been in touch with VM's customer service, whether to get a better rate (seeing new customers pay half our monthly bill annoyed me slightly) or to actually get an engineer to fix a network issue, they have been very slow and never provided a real solution. Anecdotally, they also effectively blackmailed us into closing a complaint so we could get an engineer appointment, after months of issues and 3 previous engineers visits leading nowhere. Again, nothing to do with the individual employees, they have all been lovely, but VM as a company deprioritise loyal customers and does not care which level of service they actually provide. The company is frankly morally bankrupt. After much consideration, we are switching supplier because even if it is (very slightly) slower and if you don't care about ethics, we just really need more affordable and reliable internet. For all of these reasons, I just wouldn't recommend VM to anyone, really. I just don't see how.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Customer service awful, they cut me off twice and didn't think of calling me back when I had a problem! Very rude on phone aswell, they didn't listen to what I was saying.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Just the worst... definitely try to find a different broadband before going with virgin media, plusnet is pretty good!

    Have to deal with frequent disconnection..

    As well as this it is so hard to get through to them and they make it as difficult as possible to cancel... if they transfer you through to a different department often disconnects.. and have to go through the whole process again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    After being completely screwed over by BT, it’s nice to have Virgin Media back in our lives. Our activation date for BT was over a week after signing up. Then there were “issues” and they delayed it by another two weeks! Called Virgin and they sussed us a router and got us fibre broadband in TWO DAYS. Currently have an avg download speed of 150+ mbps! The only issue we’ve had previously was at our previous property and the WiFi kept going down - turns out too many devices. Upgraded to router and no further issues! We love Virgin Media!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    You already cancelled my account and you keep sending me a bill for £278.40 and now handed this over to debt collectors! Its already been cancelled and your colleague phone me apologizing and I have spoken to you 8 times! You promised this won't happen again and now you sent the bill onto the debt collectors!! Advantis Reference 24428856
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service ever!
    1 month and no news about the process yet. They don't answer my emails etc. It's ridiculous, save your time and do not go to Virgin Media
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The service was okay while I was with them but when I went to cancel they insisted on the full cancellation fee even though I've been with them for 6 years. I thought there would have been some courtesy for a loyal customer, if nothing else just to ensure repeat business. I could have switched when I moved, and I should have done.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basildon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful. It's the only way to describe Virgin. We were finding our internet speed decreasing. in my room, a mere 20 paces away, I couldn't watch Netflix without it doubling the watch time with buffering. So we called them up. And they quoted 6 months free of up to 200, the next day we get an addition charge on our bill. When we phone to ask about it they claim we are now on 200 Mbps download speed. We were quoted this free! So then we test it, it's made no difference! So I decide to run some tests of my own. 6 feet from our router we aren't even getting 90 Mbps (89.68). So I move to our kitchen a mere 14 feet from the router not even 80 Mbps (78.02). Lastly I try my bedroom. We live in a small 2 bedroom flat. My room is 20 feet from the router. I got 16.86! We told them this. They couldn't give a damn. So we told them we will go else where. They are one of the worst companies I have ever had the displeasure to deal with. They were rude, uncaring, and disorganised. We were being told "we've run this test" then passed on to the next departments, they said they will run the same test. Then said the test hadn't been done yet. We will be shopping around. That's for sure. My biggest piece of advise: look elsewhere, don't waste your hard earned money on a company that won't care when they make a mistake at your despence. Good luck to you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    More than two months for an internet installation. No feedback about the process. And now mi first bill came and I cannot see the discount promised. Virgin Media is a dishonest company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Salford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Mid contract price increase from £27 to £31! 15 % price increase was after 5 months I signed the contract. Very disappointed.
    Over charged by £20 - the mistake admitted by the virgin team, still waiting for the refund after few months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surbiton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID : 3 months with virtually no WIFi & all Virgin says is "we`re working on fixing it, but its complex"
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wakefield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I pay a lot of money every month for the privilege of being mid-sold the package I thought I was buying and faults quickly developing on the Internet , obviously not virgins fault! Only for the customer service to fob you off! Wouldn't touch them with a barge pole once I'm out of the contract!! Thiefs!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bolton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    An extremely damaging company especially when it comes to mis-selling and poor customer service. Today they closed a complaint I opened in January citing because I didn’t get in touch after the first response, they assume I was happy with their resolution.

    Only I did get in touch several times by email over the last month directly to the resolution team, I also called several times and was promised several calls back – none of which were returned, and I recorded all my outgoing calls! Finally, I sent a letter to their complaints department in Sunderland, citing my complaint, the original reference number, and copies of all correspondence. Royal Mail obtained a signature but still according to Virgin Media I didn’t get back in touch!

    Even yesterday trying once again to resolve this on the phone I spoke to the resolution team who decided to pass me back through to Virgin Mobile an overseas call centre where the staff sound like robots and have absolutely no idea about customer service!

    So, thanks Virgin Media and thanks to your outbound retention team based in sunny Birmingham for mis-selling. Please don’t respond asking me to text you, I think I have made adequate attempts to resolve this and you have failed. As for closing my complaint I have escalated it now to CISAS and the Financial Ombudsman, next stop the ICO for the fact your employee stole my bank details from my Virgin Media account and set up a direct debit with my bank for Virgin Mobile, I misuse of my personal data. You are an awful company and as soon as the next price increase occurs I am gone never to return and I’ll be taking at least seven different customers with me, friends and family who are absolutely appalled at how you have handled my complaint.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    After 9 years of being with Virgin Media I have now finally left them and just joined up with Sky. Never known a company with such poor communication between not only me and them, but also between them and their colleagues!

    I moved house 3 weeks ago and when my installation for transferring my services came there was a problem. The cable that runs under my drive way was basically damaged. Virgin media wanted to dig up my drive, being a newly brought property with a newish driveway I refused. Several different engineers even told me that Virgin Media will make a mess of the drive. So at this point I spoke to an area manager whom we discussed an alternative route for new cables to be laid.

    I was told the cables needed to be laid before my new installation date and that someone would be out. This didn't happen and I continuously rang them up until my new installation date on the 27th September to say that my cables still hadn't been laid. I was assured that the engineers coming to do my installation would be laying the cables and doing the installation.

    Surprise supirse when the 27th September came (yesterday) the engineers turned up and said they aren't qualified to lay new cables and are only here to connect my boxes up. They then rang the area manger that I had previously spoken to, he assured me that a construction team would be out that day to lay the cables so the two engineers that were here could complete their job. Guess what, that never happened, these poor engineer guys kept coming back out during the day to complete their job only to find everytime that the construction team still hadn't been!

    I then rung and complained as was assured by a lady at the technical team that the installation would be completed by the end of the day. So 5pm came and the area manager decided to ring me and ask me "Are you sure you don't want us to dig up your drive?" This is a question he had already had an answer to over 2 weeks ago when I told them NO. I them asked if the team were on their way and he said no he had been in a meeting all day so was unable to arrange it!! This was a blatent lie aswell as several times when the engineers arrived here throughout the day they was on the phone to him! So he basically had no intention of arranging this work to happen even though he had 2 weeks to do so after my first installation was meant to happen. Therefore I sat in all day long yesterday under the false pretention that I would be all connected up!

    I advise if you are thinking of going to Virgin them DO NOT. The centres just tell you anything to get you off the phone and are no help whatsoever and the managers are even worse.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Husband receives a massive bill because our contract has finished, no notification of that, at all.
    Treating existing customers, despicably, we suggest you don’t bother with them. Computers are down we can’t deal with you, from a broadband company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is poor and does not make it easy to find the answers you need.
    The broadband itself is really fast but it is badly held back by the network equipment. The router they provide is slow, short range and unreliable. I switched it to modem mode and used a different router, the WiFi jumped from 10mb/s to 70mb/s.
    If you want to get the WiFi you paid for you will need to switch to a third party router.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shiplyey, West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Dreadful, absolutely atrocious.
    A simple task of cancelling my account (I am moving house) has resulted i over 10 calls; numerous emails; incorrect bills, overpayment. It goes on. Dont tough Virgin Media with a bargepole. Still not resolved either.
    A
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Judge for Yourself… Full Chat transcripts kept as evidence

    I was a VM Customer and joined O2 and was given an upgrade from 500MB to 1GB broadband. I was informed that I needed an upgraded router which was sent out via Yodel. Tracking said out for delivery on Friday. Delivery never attempted, tracking said “Please arrange to collect your parcel from our depot by using the Manage your parcel feature above”. I sat in ALL weekend as Yodel promised each day that it was going to be delivered. Didn’t happen.
    Monday 22nd Nov 2021VM Online Chat (took 2hrs) and informed them I was at work. Asked for router to be put to a shop for pickup. Not possible finally got them to cancel first router and send out another for pickup from a shop near my work.
    Tuesday 23rd Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (5 hours 11 minutes) contacted again as no sign of old router being cancelled or new one dispatched.
    14:20, Nov 22 Alistair : Broadband TV or Phone
    16:33, Nov 23 Ayat: Apologies for the experience, I will go ahead and raise a new order for you, Alistair. Is it a new Hub4 you are looking forward to upgrade to with 1 Gigabytes?
    17:50, Nov 23 Ayat: Appolgies for the experience, Alistair. I just tried raised an Order for the new Hub4 but due to somereasons it is not happening, You please need to cotanct us after 24 hours, As the system will be refreahed and we will be able to send you a new Hub.
    18:01, Nov 23 Alistair : can you not just do this i have already spent hours over the last 2 days on this chat trying to get this sorted?
    18:13, Nov 23 Ayat: I can completely understand this, I am unable to place the order, Alistair.
    18:15, Nov 23 Alistair : this is not acceptable. VM is taking up too much of my time and I'm going round in cirlces
    18:16, Nov 23 Alistair : you give me a service that i cannot use and spendin hours on this thing. I want to cancel my broadband
    Alistair : this chat was intiated @14:20 hrs GMT it is not 18:54 hrs!
    18:57, Nov 23 Reliza: Excellent! We’ll need to go through a few security questions. I’m going to send you a secure web form for you to answer. Please put the 7th, 10th and 13th characters of your password in the secure link. This is the password you use when you call in, and not your online account password. Please keep in mind that the form will expire in 30 minutes once we have sent it to you.
    19:05, Nov 23 Reliza: Great. Thanks for that! May I know the reason for contacting us?
    19:06, Nov 23 Alistair : How many times do i have to repeat myself, 1 min until i copy and paste
    19:14, Nov 23 Reliza: I do apologize for that, Alistair. Just to confirm, do you want to have the Hub 4, right?
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i would but i cannot afford ANYMORE time dealing with this myself, too much time spent on this already
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i am risk my employment, I am supposed to be working not on this 19:18, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm very sorry about your frustrations today, Alistair. Let's work together and try to sort this thing out, okay?
    19:18, Nov 23 Alistair : ok 19:19, Nov 23 Alistair : its not just today though this is the second day on this
    19:22, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm so sorry about that, Alistair. However, if you really want to have the Hub 4 you can coordinate with our faults team regarding this because in this department we only handle the customers who are in need of new contract.
    19:25, Nov 23 Alistair : I DON'T HAVE ANY MORE TIME JUST CLOSE MY ACCOUNT
    Wednesday 24th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (33 minutes)
    16:57, Nov 24 Dixit: Hi Alistair I am so sorry to hear that you have not receive a response on your complaint not to worry I will quickly check the details and help you with a resolution
    17:06, Nov 24Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry to see that the hub was not delivered and you have applied to disconnect the account. May I know how can I help you today?
    17:07, Nov 24 You: well i am getting no repsonse on the forums so am looking for a conclusion one way or another
    17:08, Nov 24 You: have you read the forum posts?
    17:08, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry I am unable to read the forum as we are restricted from accessing any link.
    17:09, Nov 24 You: do you want acopy and paste of the transcripts for monday and tuesday then?
    17:09, Nov 24 You: if you don't have them there?
    17:10, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair No I have the details on the account notes. May I know what resolution you are looking for so I can get it Immediately.
    17:12, Nov 24 You: well what I have wanted all along a hub that will let me use 1gig as promised but if this can't befinalised today, I am on a 10 minute break just now at work. Then you close my account
    17:16, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry but to order the hub 4 we will need to cancel the disconnection request. So Would you like to go ahead and cancel it?
    17:16, Nov 24 You: if it can be done now yes
    17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    17:20, Nov 24 You: please don't use YODEL
    17:21, Nov 24 You: sorry ,my break is up I need to go back to work now
    17:22, Nov 24 You: see this is what I mean I spent 5 hrs on this chat yesterday and it looks like I am getting the same thing again today.
    17:22, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Not to worry I will leave a clear note on the account and then give a direct calling number to use so we will be able to do it once our free. will this be okay?
    17:23, Nov 24 You: someone needs to phone me not the other way round
    17:23, Nov 24 You: I will be at home tomorrow until 12:00 hrs

    Thursday 25th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (46 minutes)
    Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Hi Arbiya
    8:05, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Can you please look at the notes from my chat yesterday please?
    8:05, Nov 25 Arbiya: Hi Alistair! I am really sorry for the wait time you have experienced. I do see that you havecontacted in order to report that you are looking for cancellation. Not to worry, you have reached the rightteam. I can surely help you today. Absolutely, let me have a check on your account notes.
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: thanks
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: from the transcript
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    8:07, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: this is what we need to do. If this isn't possible then I will leave cancellation in place and start my ordert with another provider
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: I am really sorry for the inconvenience Alistair. Please do not worry. I do see the retentions team online now. I can connect you right away if you agree, they can surely help you getting hub 4. May I connectyou?
    8:09, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: yes please
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: We can transfer you through our Messaging service to our Customer Relations team to help you further.
    8:24, Nov 25 Lisa: I can see that and I will feed that back to Yodel but I can not order a new one.

    Received a final bill with a demand for £240 for termination of my contract early:
    Thurs 6th Jan 2021 VM Online Chat (2 hours 15 minutes)
    17:07, Jan 6 Meena: Thank you for your patience, I have looked into your account and I see you have cancelled services within the contract period and hence you have been charged early termination fee as per the terms and conditions Alistair.
    17:10, Jan 6 You: you ugprded me to 1GIG and sent out a router which was never delivered by yodel. I even requested another router which was refused. So unable to use the service as you didn't supply hardware I spent HOURS and I have proof trying to sort this mess out with you
    17:11, Jan 6 You: I couldn't use a service without the hardware so why would I stay with a provider that cannot provide?
    17:29, Jan 6 You: here I am again over 90 mins repeating myself and getting nowhere
    17:29, Jan 6 Meena: I am sorry to know about the hassle which you have come across Alistair, I feel really bad after going through all these and you have been so patient so far. Dont worry I will see what best can be done for you. But we could have definitely cancelled the order and placed a new one before cancelling Alistair.
    17:30, Jan 6 You: but you didn't and as per the transcripts refused to send out another until you got the one that Yodel lost Back
    17:31, Jan 6 You: yuou will see that the transcripts over the days contradict themselves
    17:44, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, I understand what you are telling but this is completely the issue with yodel and it was supposed to be dealt by them else we could have cancelled and replaced the order. I have tried my best Alistair, but unfortunately we cannot waive off the charges as you have been able to use the services and itcould have been resolved alternatively. But as you have cancelled it between contract, you was been charged with disconnection fee Alistair.
    17:46, Jan 6 You: Did you not read the information i poasted??
    17:52, Jan 6 Meena: Okay where you not informed that you will be charged termination fee if you are cancelling the contract Alistair?
    18:00, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, we booked for the second time and you never waited for the delivery to be sent, you immediately put a request for disconnection Alistair. Please understand this charges cannot be removed as itsvalid from our end.
    18:03, Jan 6 You: no, i made contact with VM as you had not even bothetred to disptach the second one. Eve though yousaid you had. Enough, I will now seek compensation for the time and stress your company has continued toput me through over these months

    I have now raised a complaint through offcom and seeking an apology for time, stress, lies and incompetence and now compensation too.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AVOID AVOID

    Had to take them to CISAS due to their incompetence and appalling customer service, Conclusion from CISAS

    a. The company has broken a term of the contract and has failed in its duty of care to the
    customer.
    b. The reasons given by the customer are sufficient for the company to remove the ETF or
    termination fee from his account, provide a written apology and pay compensation of
    £75.00.
    11. Therefore, my decision is that the company shall remove the ETF, provide a written apology and
    pay compensation of £75.00.

    If your a customer don't put up with their crap and if your not don't join them!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grimsby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin repeatedly told me that my internet problems required me to shut down and restart my computer. Broadband running slow and frequently dropping out. We pay for the top speed ! After months of this they admitted that they have to few cables in the area to handle the demand and they refunded me £10 (approx) per month for my trouble. However, I know that they were still selling the service in our area to unsuspecting people. Is that even legal ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Kilbride
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Broadband speed is great, wifi is a bit disappointing
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Caterham, Surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    The broadband I actually think is good and reliable in my long experience. But the customer service is so so so abysmal its untrue. You can speak to someone fairly quickly, but they almost certainly can't help you and then you go on hold for the person that can, this takes forever and there is a very good chance you will get cut off! I know, I have been a long term customer and have had so so so many poor poor poor experiences! They just don't care to sort this major issue.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Well hats off to virgin they have succeeded where by failed.... they make by look incredibly good value for money, reliable and with broadband that works, not very well but it works the majority of the time unlike virgin. To be fair virgin Customer service is thhe best absolutely phenomenal but with no product to back it up!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Streatham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    After cancelling the installation more than 4 times and leaving us with no internet for 6 weeks during the lockdown, I can say that I am simply appalled, not just at their lack of bother towards their potential customer but also at the endless list of excuses they were ready with when we called them. Had they spent the same amount of effort generating actual results rather than excuses, we would have been happy customers. The most interesting part is that they refused to allow us to cancel out contract with their customer service team offering us endless incentives as an alternative option.

    At first we were understanding, knowing that Covid-19 has caused delays in the running of many companies but after no internet for 6 entire weeks, I can guarantee that this was less due to Covid-19, more due to the absolutely shambolic, unorganised and unprofessional nature of the company itself.

    We did not want the £5 per day or the reduction of the monthly payment. We didn’t want excuses either. We simply wanted WiFi! And that was something Virgin had claimed to provide however had the audacity to cancel the day before the installation.

    After having to go through the nightmare of doing my online law exams using my mobile data, I can guarantee that I will NEVER go for Virgin again and advise you not to either.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    After starting brightly when I first had them, Virgin Media have dropped off a cliff.
    They always had appalling customer service, but while the speed was good that was not so much of a problem.
    Now the speed is poor, it's hard to contact them and when you do you get a person in a call centre in India who although trying their best has no idea how to help you half the time (apart from stuff like "let's restart the router" - as someone working in technology who has a very good development team in India I know this is nothing to do with the people in India but their training must be terrible.

    I have finally pulled the plug after 4 years as they really are appalling now - I get ~10MBps but I'm paying for their XXL which should give me up to 200MBps. That is just a fantasy which they never come close to.

    Richard Branson should be ashamed to have his brand name with this load of muppets.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LONDON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible unreliable internet, sometimes fast but drops out all the time and regular lengthy outages.
    trying to cancel my account for weeks now and cant even get to speak to a person. Do not use Virgin broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    brighton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    If you want an expensive fast broadband then virgin is good, HOWEVER if you want a reasonable telephone service cost then Virgin is not for you at 10p connection charge for every call plus call cost !!! and land line cost WOW
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The broadband is running at 1 mb I'm paying for 50 mb my 02 iPhone runs at 25 mb no problems . Rang up to complain was told engineers are fixing it . However been 2 months now . Wanted to cancel contract was told I couldn't without a termination fee . Never again will I get Virgin . Going back to good old BT .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    coulsdon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Fed up of on going problems with Virgin Media, keep being told that it runs slow in the evening because of amount of people using it but thats the time I need to use it as my son has skype lessons. the customer service are so rude and most of the time hang up on you and I even tried the main CEO office and even they don't care and hang up on you. Please don't bother going with Virgin Media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Charlton Park Lane
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been Virgin Media for several years.
    Currently they asked me to pay £ 2650 (yes it's twothousandandsixhundred pounds and more) for allow me to have the cable when the road where I leave it's all covered with Virgin Media cable except my building.
    It's three years they promised that they will improve the network, it never happened instead the asked me the above mentioned figure.
    My neighboor leaves about 1 yard away from me and he has got cable.
    Virgin Media customer service and complaint department I believe have changed on the last three years.
    Virgin Media said they have change some major admn structure three years ago which might have effected their services.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.