Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 844 customer ratings since 2023-07-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,708 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uxbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worsted broadband I hate it I've had better broadband connection from talk talk and I had lower speed virgin is crap will never get this again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Shields
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Left Virgin. Due to CS behaviour. Speed of Broadband. Absolutely awful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tyne and wear
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Disgusting service can not sort out the problem because there staff don’t understand your problem due communication and language barrier
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID!!
    We live in London and we have been experiencing loss of broadband consistently on a daily basis since July 2022.
    When calling we were notified. Y an automated message that the company had identified an issue on the line and the engineers were on site to fix it.
    This message has been repeated to me every single day.
    Every day we would experience loss of broadband ranging from 15 minutes to a couple of hours.
    Given it was not a full loss of service for a day, we were never given compensation for the lack of service.
    But the reality is that it was impossible for us to work from home, we had to use our mobile phone to provide internet connection while working and we also bought a pod from another provider in order to have alternative internet as otherwise it would have been impossible for us to hold a full conversation.
    Literally every phone call longer than 15 minutes would fall and would take 30 minutes to get back online, meaning that I always had to use other means for phone calls not to be fired.
    Despite various complaints, the client service team never acknowledged the issue, they just answered standard questions saying that the issue was being solved, which was never true.
    Ultimately I closed the account, but I would not advise anyone to use them for broadband and it is extremely unreliable and there is no service nor willingness to solve issue and speak with clients.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    New Malden
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking customer service, awful call centres who have no idea what is happening. I came to the end of my contract and cancelled as instructed. They then reconnected me against my express consent and signed me up to a new contract. I cancelled my direct debit and had to spend hours on the phone to get refunds due plus they sent me overdue emails for my "new contract". They will use under hand tactics to retain you as a customer. So dodgy. Needs an investigation to close this thieving organisation down.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Great speeds, awful customer service and very high prices masked with introductory offers to get you in.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi! HORROR with VIRGIN  
    Contacting customer assistance via chat is not possible. The employees that transfer your call from one country to another do not speak English. I've been on the phone for two weeks now trying to communicate with someone who doesn't speak English. They don't want you to cancel, and when you offer them a reason, they transfer you to sales, where it is impossible to cancel, so it will take me another week of calls to do so. In order to continue stealing your money after the contract expires, it is their tactic to make you give up on cancelling the agreement.
    Service very slow no like advertising by Virgin hence change for reliable provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    It was a torture. They gave false promises, they did not delivered it.I called them 13 times and when ever I call they will make me wait for more than hour and end up by giving another false promise.. again no change in my monthly charge.. calling again.
    ... This cycle continues and they are torturing me.

    Please don't choose this company it's a hell.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been trying to cancel my contract for 4 hours and they keep hanging up on me I'm within my 14-day cancellation period
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So where do I start?
    Today Virgin media decided to take an extra 35% extra above the already extortionate amount, so I jump on the web to have a chat with them, this isn't available, so they suggest WhatsApp, so I start my conversation @ 8:20am, 8:28am they say that they will put me through to someone, 9:51am I actually get a reply from a human, I ask to cancel my contract, more messages later than I care to count and at 18:03 nearly ten hours later, they finally agree to disconnect me on the 15/02/2023

    19:30 I have been disconnected - surely thats theft, I have paid (according to my bill) for services from the 9th January to the 8th of February - I have paid you Virgin and at a 35% higher premium

    I could have been talked into staying if they wanted to be sensible about pricing, however the broadband service very rarely gets above half the speed of what I am paying for and often much slower than half the speed.

    You derserve zero stars today Virgin - Theives
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Plymouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Woeful. Rubbish.

    Paying for fibre and my broadband was better 15 years ago.

    Avoid at all cost. They don’t respond or answer complaints either. A cobbled together letter that fails to address issues raised.

    Cancelled contract. Over £1k per annum and woeful service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Norwood
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Useless, when the wifi goes down you’re sent on a short loop of ‘help’ which doesn’t get you anywhere and doesn’t give you the option to talk to anyone, terrible service and terrible customer service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    i have experienced worse customer service ever from virgin throughout my 18 months contract period. it is so bad, thanks god I'm leaving now,

    different ppl give different information, no one takes ownership, even after logging a complaint no call back from them, i had to call so many times. poor service ever. now lets talk about Internet broadband, it was a worse Internet connection ever in my life. its a trap, please guys stay away from virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible. They overcharge, service cuts out 16 times a year for 'fixes'. Not worth the money. I'm paying £150 for slow connections that are supposed to be 1G. Company is a joke.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely appalling service.
    Call centre agents rude, disinterested, manipulative and ignorant. Complaints dismissed. Attempted to charge me for no service whatsoever (85 installation, 64 final bill) even though I cancelled in cooling off period.
    Worst service I've ever received after EDF
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Took out a deal with virgin broadband, it came with TV and phone for £23 no installation fees, mind you by the time I got the first bill total was £116, which includes installation, cost of Tv box etc, when I phoned up to ask a question, been given the run around, until I was told am owing £55 paid it cause at this point just couldn’t take the runaround, and my credit file could be damaged, by the time I got to the next rep, I was asked to do at a further £75, I refused and now am going to complain and go further, cause I have debt collectors emailing me and Virgin is still trying to add a negative on my credit file. Please have everything in writing from this company and be very careful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Originally ordered package in November, Missed Appointments, Customer Service lack training or knowledge, Virgin Media charge premium for bad service and poor business process
    Originally ordered package in November, and multiple problems have occurred since.

    Made another appointment on the 29th Dec 2022, the engineer did not show up, nor did they ring to cancel or postpone this appointment. However when checking with customer service, they said the next available appointment is 3 weeks away... considering the engineer didn't show, making customer wait more than 3 weeks after the error is Virgin media side seems a bit insane to me
    I also spoke to customer service team reps several times, who gave the wrong information about what dates were available, one customer service rep also said one date was free and booked a completely different date, all very strange, incompetent and confusing as customer service reps do not seem trained, knowledgable or well versed in customer experience at all.

    Coupled with problems and delay after delay, they even gave the owner of the property the wrong information about where internet would come through to the house, they said it would come through the front but it was indeed the back, which caused landlord headache because they had to rewire the property. then after this, engineer didnt show up, and more wrong info, delays, failed call backs etc...

    In particular, it was rather amusing because a customer service rep called Dovile Ozbemir even hung up the call because she couldn't be bothered to deal with the complaint, also sounded very badly trained and unprofessional.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Please avoid using them if you can. Their prices are good and you'll be broadly fine as long as you dont need to involve their service (although to be fair i would have low speeds at nights and on Sundays...). I've been having all sorts of issues when moving homes, although I was keeping them as my provider. I thought keeping the same provider would make things easier but it didnt! First they got the date of my move wrong and so they disconnected my line 1 month too early. It took me a week and at least 3 calls to get it back online. One week!! My actual move is taking place tomorrow and they disconnected my line again today. They are now telling me it's their policy to disconnect the line 24hrs in advance. That is bullocks!! How come in 2023 you need that long to activite/deactivate lines?? And even if it were the case, then they should carry the (minimal) cost of having 2 lines up for 1 day just to make sure their clients can use the Internet.
    My decision is made. I'll get my move done but then will terminate my contract within my 14 day cooling off period, just out of principle
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Wednesday 27th, on text message I change emails passwords and have a message as below....
    "Great! Also we have a great deal for you this is our PH & BB Dual Bundle
    Volt 1GB (500-1GB) Broadband
    Weekend chatter
    for £48 only in 18 months contract
    And 10Gb O2 sim unlimited minutes and txt for £10 only in 18 months contract. you will get a estimated download speed range to your router is between 1,092 and 1140 Mbps and a free Hub 5.This is our Volt package you will also get a free wifi pods.
    The WiFi Pods are clever little devices that plug into any normal three-pin socket in your house. They’ll team up with your Virgin Media Hub to supercharge your WiFi coverage – eliminating blackspots and giving you WiFi, all around your home.
    As part of the Volt package we can offer up to 3 pods at no extra cost! Sounds good right?". ..

    I decide to leave as don't want a O2 sim. SO... Virgin confirm 27th Jan as leaving date -.... they offer me this deal BUT I decline and have also changed my email address and passwords.....THEN..

    Today 30th Dec - I try to go ahead with deal (only Virgin does fibre) but they forgot to change my password and I can't do it on message. I ring up and 45 mins later two Indian speaking English so badly I can't understand them at all. I ask them to set up the correct email so I can do it online and they still have not done it. The worst customer service I have ever experienced and there Fibre broadband is rubbish too.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Since I've got a hub 3 my speeds are fast but connection constantly lost making calls and meetings impossible. Any enquiries with customer services are fobbed off as a fault with my equipment. Terrible company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fleet, Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I've been with Virgin Media for 18mths. Got a good discount deal. Will be leaving shortly before the contract price almost doubles :-O
    Regular speed tests show I'm getting 110Mb download and 19Mb upload. The apps to check wifi coverage with the feature to adjust the router settings are great. Good to have a service status too. Even with the apps help I've needed to use a powerline wifi extender to get full coverage in the house as the routers wifi ability doesnt seem up to it even after trying all the tips. The wifi drops out occasionally during the day. The service status says the broadband is ok and my tv connected via ethernet is ok too. Not sure what is wrong with the router.
    The apps have good diagnostic tips which mean I've only had to contact customer services a couple of times. When I have contacted them the staff hace been helpful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tonbridge, Kent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid Virgin Media. Awful company. Took 4 months to install broadband and they still charged us while it wasn't working. Spent 20+ hours speaking to their customer service team on numerous calls to get it sorted. Still chasing compensation now. Please avoid. You don't need this BS in your life.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    England
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Impossible to deal with, refused to let me cancel and hung up on me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I didn’t really have an issue with virgin other than them trying to charge me twice the amount I was paying for the same package after 18 months, however recently I had a call from them saying that my package was nearly due for renewal and to see if I wanted to change anything in my package. This was great timing as I had been looking into getting full fibre with another company, so I told them not to bother renewing my contract because I was thinking of leaving. The woman on the phone was very rude and continued repeatedly to get me to stay. Ultimately she said ok I will put that on your account. As I have recently found out all she put on my account was “looking at other providers”. After getting my new broadband fitted I called them back to finalise everything (make sure my account has been cancelled) and I was told that if I were to cancel now there would be an early cancellation fee of £300. They refuse to accept that it was their mistake because my account said my contract was up nov 2023, I got a call nov 2022, so clearly someone has just read the date wrong. They are handling it poorly and said they’d get back to me before Christmas. It’s now a week later. Overall the service from them over the 2 years I was with them was alright, the broadband speeds I paid for were never actually correct but they were close enough that I didn’t bother kicking off. It was always a stable 200-250 when I was paying for 300. I would not recommend using them as all providers I spoke to said if I was with any other company they could sort the swap over for me but virgin refuse to cooperate. Says a lot really.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service experience I've ever come across. Cancelled my phone and broadband package over a month ago and they continue to charge me. Finally got them to cancel today but they can't confirm whether my refund will be back dated to my original request to cancel. An offshore customer service operation with non English speakers reading standard scripts parrot fashion without any context to the issue at hand over laggy and distorted telephony equipment which is pretty ironic given that Virgin supposed to be a media service provider - what a joke!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Smethwick
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very disappointed with this company, please do not use them, when I wanted to cancel the contract I was passed from pillar to post around various departments, they fobbed me off, hoping that I would get fed up and just hang up, that's another month of payment for them. I tried calling numerous times, in the end I just had to keep saying that I just want to cancel and nothing else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Smethwick
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very disappointed with this company, please do not use them, when I wanted to cancel the contract I was passed from pillar to post around various departments, they fobbed me off, hoping that I would get fed up and just hang up, that's another month of payment for them. I tried calling numerous times, in the end I just had to keep saying that I just want to cancel and nothing else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media(VM) proved to be the worst customer service I ever experienced in my life.
    After a faulty broadband router I asked VM to replace it. A courier came a few days later to pick it up, without providing me a replacement.
    As I felt that something was wrong, I started to record every interaction with VM (audio and chats).
    To make it short, I battled with VM's so-called support to explain the situation and it turned out that absolutely nobody was able to understand my simple problem: "my broadband router was faulty and taken away by a VM courier, without being replaced, and since I am still paying the service with no Internet service at all. I need a new broadband router (can be refurbished), and without having Internet my work productivity is seriously hampered".
    After wasting countless of hours with VM agents trying to explain the problem, I decided to cancel my service because the situation had become unbearable (I was even blackmailed to renew a 18-month contract if I want to receive a new broadband kit) and I couldn't keep working without Internet (has anybody tried to have an intelligent conversation with donkeys?)
    Now that I left VM I am claiming the "Virgin Automatic Compensation" for 2 months I paid without enjoying the service, and the cherry on the cake, VM are harassing to return the broadband kit or face £145 fee.
    I am not only going to file a complaint to Ofcom but my lawyer is also preparing a complaint directly to the court because it's bigger than small money claim (I can't give the details here).

    Years ago I had recommended VM for it's sustained speed but now the service has become so execrable that it's far better to leave this company because me all they claim about quality and service is just a scam.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very poor service and unreliable.still Waiting for installation 6 weeks after starting the contract. Still no idea when it will be be installed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carlisle
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    16 times faster than what? Just done a speed check, we get 3.0 mbps. I wish we had checked these reviews first. We have just moved here and had Sky before we could get broafban at the bottom of our garden in summer house. We can't even get it in the house now. The hub is in the attic for some bizarre reason.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Billingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with virgin for a few years definitely vastly over priced have had to argue each time as I only get broadband and they keep trying to hike the price over £50 but the worst thing is the constant drop off of service its everyday two or three times a day for a couple of minutes and its never their fault its always gota be my top of the line equipment Ive finally had enough because despite their really good internet speed, their one redeeming feature ill be leaving when my contracts up
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dartford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute liars!
    I was given a connection date of 29th December. On the 21st December I was advised my connection would now be 13th of January
    I called and asked if they would be advising my current supplier of the delay so that I wouldn’t be disconnected early and was told they can’t do this and that I should contact them myself to cancel the cancellation date for a few weeks (29/12/22 - 13/01/23 - original installation date to revised installation date)
    My current provider explained that because Virgin had taken over the line, and it was technically theirs now, I am unable to make any changes through them.
    I explained this to Virgin and they offered me a dongle with unlimited use free of charge to use in the days I wouldn’t have a phone line/internet. I agreed and was asked for all my personal information and bank details….. They wanted to credit check me for the FREE dongle!
    I’d just had a credit check to join them and now they wanted another one! For a free product!
    These hard searches affect your credit score and to have to have one done for a free product is a joke!
    As I refused and explained it wasn’t good enough, they said they would now make my repair appointment a priority and that someone would be out today and if all went well I would be connected by my original instal’ date.
    Surprise surprise, nobody turned up, a whole day wasted!
    I’ve now told them I don’t want their services no matter what and now I’ve got to wait for them to contact my original provider to verify they won’t be taking over the line and that can take up to 48 hours! Probably longer because of Christmas hours.
    Messed about and lied to for nothing!
    Disgusting customer service.
    No wonder they rank so low on here.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The customer service is genuinely insane. It’s on WhatsApp which is the only good thing so at least you’re not on hold forever. I called to enquire about a discount because our broadband is so poor and cuts out at least 5 times a day. All was going well until Kaila the customer rep decided to send me a new 18 month contract in order to receive this discount. Why on earth would I want a new contract for a contract that doesn’t even work ? I asked if it would be possible to transfer this as I wouldn’t even be at my rented property for 18 months to which they responded I don’t know that’s another team. I googled it and apparently it’s 20 pounds to transfer it but I can’t even get Virgin in the location I’ll be moving to. Meanwhile they responded they had just spoke to the “moving team” and it’s apparently free. This is untrue. I also checked how much it would cost to end the contract before it’s up and it’s capped at £288 which is what I would have been charged so can you imagine if I’d approved this and wouldn’t actually be getting any discount but actually paying THEM more ? Absolutely ridiculous, greedy behaviour and unequipped customer service. Completely untrustworthy and as soon as I move I’ll be thrilled to end my relationship finally. I urge anyone thinking of using virgin to think again. It is so overpriced
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NEwcastle upon Tyne
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would not recommend this company if they were giving away their services for free! I called them to change my package as it was due to end and I was given a great deal and told my future bill would be £70 per month to virgin and £25 per month to O2 for my mobile sounded great till the confirmation email came through stating my next bill would be £236.59??? I called about this and was told they had no record of this email and I PROBABLY wouldn’t be charged that so I asked the guy to just cancel the new deal and I would call the next day to sort out the deal again. The guy then proceeded to cut my services off there and then, the phone went dead as we spoke. I called back on my mobile and got a manager who said the guy had in fact cut me off even though I was still in contract for another 6 weeks??? He got me back up and running as I needed the internet as I work from home and he sorted out the new deal, great or so I thought later that evening my internet went down again and the Indian tech guy said, get this ‘there has been a Wi-Fi blockage and you will just have to give it an hour or so to clear’ I mean really? The next morning was the same and the woman at tech support said she could see my internet had dropped out 112 times in the last few days and I would need a technician but she couldn’t book one so I would have to wait till lunch time for her supervisor to come in. Well that was enough so I eventually got put through to disconnections and then ended up speaking to the rudest woman ever who said she could sort out a technician but not till 3 days later which I pointed out was no good as I work from home and rely on stable internet. After a while of her telling me that if I cancelled not to expect to be able to get the same deal and various other reasons why I should not cancel she did the discontinuation request but then said I’d have to sort out cancellation of the O2 contract as it had nothing to do with virgin despite the fact they set it up?? Anyhow I’m now out of this rubbish service from the end of January and can’t wait as there wireless internet is despicable and just to cap things off I got a call last night from their customer relations team to reassure me they could sort all of this out and could I give her a brief summary of what had gone wrong, so having gone through the saga with her I was asked what it would take for me to stay to which I replied that if they offered me all of my services free for a year I still wouldn’t stay! With that she said thank you and hung up. This is virgin media at their best so if your looking for a phone, tv and broadband package give these clowns a wide birth.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Luton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst experience i have ever had with virgin media there a big let down i have been with them for years and never called up first time i called up for help with my router i got missed led information by a member of there staff promiseing me a technician will come out i waited in all day and no one come i have 4 kids screaming they can't play the PlayStation so i called up and i got told there member of staff never logged it it so then i asked to speak with a manager i wanted compensation for the trouble they cause me so the manger said they could give me a dongle with internet to last till my new appointment for the 22/12/22 by this time my router been down since 17/12/22 but i never received the dongle i got promised either so i called up again and i made a compliant and also i got told they can't have the dongle i said i was promise by your mangerment team and she said we only give dongle to new customer so my wi-fi box come back on by its self on the 20/12/22 its come on and off my wi-fi router is faulty but the same day my husband called virgin media explain the wi-fi box has come on by it self and goes of by its self he said i still need you technician to come out on the date i was given and today i woke up to a email from virgin media to take it upon themselves to cancel the appointment i have waited over a week for because they can see my router working but i called up and explained that its comes off and on and i still need someone to come out this is the worst experience i have ever had with the virgin media team.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ipswich
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Broadband reliability ok .. customer service rubbish .. had calls against I didn’t make as I do not have a home phone .. failed to investigate it properly and refund me .. Decided to move at end of contract .. hounded me to change my mind and somehow managed to charge £140 .. when my monthly bill was half that .. no explanation how and why just took it .. they should rename themselves Virgin shyster.. don’t go with them .. nightmare getting away from them ..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Earl's Court, London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Our VM internet went down today, quite soon after a neighbour who also had VM had their problem fixed. Come on, guys, this is too co-incidental and a scam is going on. Another recent review from the 15/12/2022 in the same area also described the same thing happening to them. I reckon something fishy is going on and sadly it's we the public who pay for someone who doesn't do their job properly!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Ordered broadband to be installed on 20.12.22. Asked for a pre-install visit to check where cables would be laid outside as we have a very long driveway. We were told “anything you want!”

    On 19th December, we were woken up by an engineer (unannounced and no appointment) to lay cables under the hedge (where we didn’t want them laying). The contractor said that he wished people wouldn’t pre-visit who don’t know how to do his job! We arrived at a compromise, but only to be told that this was such a big job, he’ll have to come back.

    Later that evening (the day before our due installation date), we received a telephone call to inform us that they are cancelling and won’t be installing until 15.01.23! We had just cancelled our existing service provider.

    I won’t bore you with the very long process of the 2.5 hours, attempting to cancel the whole service, but let’s just say I was primal screaming just to comfort myself and I feel so anxious.

    IF THIS IS HOW THEY TREAT NEW CUSTOMS - I’D HATE TO FATHOM HOW THEY TREAT EXISTING CUSTOMERS!

    I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO MY WORSE ENEMY!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been a long term customer of virgin media, approximately 15 years and have noticed a decline in their service over the years. My contract has now come to an end and the upgrade prices are ridiculous. New customers get better deals which clearly shows there is no such thing as loyalty. I also keep receiving text messages with a deal on, when I call up for this deal they can’t honour it. You also get promised call backs which I’ve never received. Literally no way to try and get a resolution. An absolute disgrace of a company with extremely poor communication skills.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Watford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst broadband service with worst customer service. In addition to that, they are sneaky with their pricing. They gave us 18 month contract where promotional period ran out in the 10th month. Obviously this was in the fine print and we’re now paying double price on broadband. Tried to cancel but won’t let us know unless we pay 300 quid.
    In the last few months, broadband has been out of service at least half a dozen time and it’s frustrating for my wife who works from home. Never again shady Virgin.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.