Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 4251 customer ratings since 2021-01-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,045 Customer Reviews over 102 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The broadband service itself is fair to good but the customer service is shocking and when a sales advisor tells you a price is fixed it is a bare faced lie. They can raise your bill by whatever price they seem fit at any point they like because it says they can in the ts and cs therfore once your stuck in a contract you have no choice but to pay (as it was for me) a near £10 increase over 6 months
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Perth, UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    My Virgin Smart Hub went faulty (completely dead - would not switch on) last week. Phoned Virgin who said they'd send a new hub. It is now 3 days I've been without internet. I phone Virgin again and go through all the options but none let you speak to an operator to check on delivery - eventually somehow (by accident I think) managed to speak to an operator who says it's in the hands of a 3rd party, and gives me the Yodel web site address and ref number. I check the Yodel tracking only to find my hub is not yet with Yodel. Could be days yet before I'm on line again. As a very long standing Virgin customer I'd expect a new hub would arrive in a day or two by express delivery. NOT IMPRESSED BY THE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    blackburn lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    when speaking to a customer adviser you find you are speaking to somebody abroad they dont seem to understand English and after 20 minutes on the phone i gave up
  • Reviewer
    Location
    mirfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Weare paying £70 a month for 200 mb fadt broadband and every time I run a test it is never higher than 50. I am in the same room as the hub and no other users are in the house. My connection and wires are all brand new installed by their own man so its not a wiring issue either. No excuse for charging people for something that isnt what it says it is.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have contract for more then 7 mounths , VIVID 350 fibre broadband ,but always have around 100Mb.When the contract expire i will move to another provider.I`m verry disapointed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    brighton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    If you want an expensive fast broadband then virgin is good, HOWEVER if you want a reasonable telephone service cost then Virgin is not for you at 10p connection charge for every call plus call cost !!! and land line cost WOW
  • Reviewer
    Location
    stoke-on-trent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Virgin offer a great service and the bundle package for £19.00 is great then they stick £11.99 line rental on it and that is what spoils it if someone is having phone tv and broadband the least you can do is knock the £11.99 line rental off i now have a tv which we only watch gold on a land line i dare not use except at weekends when calls are free and a broadband connection that is great the first company to offer all this or just broadband without line rental will corner the market on telephone landlines and internet users i am more than happy with my broadband but if it says broadband for £5.00 then it should be for £5.00 with no hidden costs if there is line rental to pay then this should be made clear so you cannot get broadband for £5.00 but for £16.99 and there should be no rise after 3 months if you want to get customers then be clear on prices and what you are selling it is price that has driven me away from virgin and by this date 09/10/2010 i have only been with virgin for 2 weeks if there is no change it will end.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rugeley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    200Mb fibre broadband. Speed fantastic...when it actually works! All was fine when we first had it installed around 3 years ago, but as time has moved on, so has our internet...downwards. Completely random outages at various times can be really frustrating. And getting hold of customer care is another tale. Proves the old adage that profit and customer service do not go together.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kidlington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Had to mark speed and reliability as high as we have had no problem with either. We just up graded our equipment with them. Engineer came out Saturday lunch time with the new TV box and router. Fitted both and could not get either working. Told to wait 2 hrs. Waited and nothing. Called customer service ha ha . Told engineer had to call and no one available untill Tuesday. That is incompetence not service..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rugeley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    My son is moving out on Saturday, and the broadband account was in his name, but we decided to change the account to my name as he wouldn't be taking it with him. He contacted Virgin, who sent the relevant forms. We filled them out and I received the new e-contract which I signed and returned. Great - or so I thought. I've now found that when I sign into the Virgin site I'm only a secondary account holder, giving me only limited access to certain functions, and not allowing me to sign into the My Virgin Media app as I'm not the 'primary account holder'. So I phoned them. Well what a waste of time that was. After over an hour on the phone, speaking to somebody I could barely understand - and she became increasingly ratty because I couldn't understand half of what she was saying, as well as me having to repeat myself - all they have achieved is changing my contact email address. I'm still a 'secondary account holder' with limited access, and still can't sign into the app. Pathetic. But as long as the money keeps rolling in, they really don't care. Shocking customer service - if I performed like that, I'd be out of my job tomorrow. Plusnet beckons.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Judge for Yourself… Full Chat transcripts kept as evidence

    I was a VM Customer and joined O2 and was given an upgrade from 500MB to 1GB broadband. I was informed that I needed an upgraded router which was sent out via Yodel. Tracking said out for delivery on Friday. Delivery never attempted, tracking said “Please arrange to collect your parcel from our depot by using the Manage your parcel feature above”. I sat in ALL weekend as Yodel promised each day that it was going to be delivered. Didn’t happen.
    Monday 22nd Nov 2021VM Online Chat (took 2hrs) and informed them I was at work. Asked for router to be put to a shop for pickup. Not possible finally got them to cancel first router and send out another for pickup from a shop near my work.
    Tuesday 23rd Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (5 hours 11 minutes) contacted again as no sign of old router being cancelled or new one dispatched.
    14:20, Nov 22 Alistair : Broadband TV or Phone
    16:33, Nov 23 Ayat: Apologies for the experience, I will go ahead and raise a new order for you, Alistair. Is it a new Hub4 you are looking forward to upgrade to with 1 Gigabytes?
    17:50, Nov 23 Ayat: Appolgies for the experience, Alistair. I just tried raised an Order for the new Hub4 but due to somereasons it is not happening, You please need to cotanct us after 24 hours, As the system will be refreahed and we will be able to send you a new Hub.
    18:01, Nov 23 Alistair : can you not just do this i have already spent hours over the last 2 days on this chat trying to get this sorted?
    18:13, Nov 23 Ayat: I can completely understand this, I am unable to place the order, Alistair.
    18:15, Nov 23 Alistair : this is not acceptable. VM is taking up too much of my time and I'm going round in cirlces
    18:16, Nov 23 Alistair : you give me a service that i cannot use and spendin hours on this thing. I want to cancel my broadband
    Alistair : this chat was intiated @14:20 hrs GMT it is not 18:54 hrs!
    18:57, Nov 23 Reliza: Excellent! We’ll need to go through a few security questions. I’m going to send you a secure web form for you to answer. Please put the 7th, 10th and 13th characters of your password in the secure link. This is the password you use when you call in, and not your online account password. Please keep in mind that the form will expire in 30 minutes once we have sent it to you.
    19:05, Nov 23 Reliza: Great. Thanks for that! May I know the reason for contacting us?
    19:06, Nov 23 Alistair : How many times do i have to repeat myself, 1 min until i copy and paste
    19:14, Nov 23 Reliza: I do apologize for that, Alistair. Just to confirm, do you want to have the Hub 4, right?
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i would but i cannot afford ANYMORE time dealing with this myself, too much time spent on this already
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i am risk my employment, I am supposed to be working not on this 19:18, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm very sorry about your frustrations today, Alistair. Let's work together and try to sort this thing out, okay?
    19:18, Nov 23 Alistair : ok 19:19, Nov 23 Alistair : its not just today though this is the second day on this
    19:22, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm so sorry about that, Alistair. However, if you really want to have the Hub 4 you can coordinate with our faults team regarding this because in this department we only handle the customers who are in need of new contract.
    19:25, Nov 23 Alistair : I DON'T HAVE ANY MORE TIME JUST CLOSE MY ACCOUNT
    Wednesday 24th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (33 minutes)
    16:57, Nov 24 Dixit: Hi Alistair I am so sorry to hear that you have not receive a response on your complaint not to worry I will quickly check the details and help you with a resolution
    17:06, Nov 24Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry to see that the hub was not delivered and you have applied to disconnect the account. May I know how can I help you today?
    17:07, Nov 24 You: well i am getting no repsonse on the forums so am looking for a conclusion one way or another
    17:08, Nov 24 You: have you read the forum posts?
    17:08, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry I am unable to read the forum as we are restricted from accessing any link.
    17:09, Nov 24 You: do you want acopy and paste of the transcripts for monday and tuesday then?
    17:09, Nov 24 You: if you don't have them there?
    17:10, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair No I have the details on the account notes. May I know what resolution you are looking for so I can get it Immediately.
    17:12, Nov 24 You: well what I have wanted all along a hub that will let me use 1gig as promised but if this can't befinalised today, I am on a 10 minute break just now at work. Then you close my account
    17:16, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry but to order the hub 4 we will need to cancel the disconnection request. So Would you like to go ahead and cancel it?
    17:16, Nov 24 You: if it can be done now yes
    17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    17:20, Nov 24 You: please don't use YODEL
    17:21, Nov 24 You: sorry ,my break is up I need to go back to work now
    17:22, Nov 24 You: see this is what I mean I spent 5 hrs on this chat yesterday and it looks like I am getting the same thing again today.
    17:22, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Not to worry I will leave a clear note on the account and then give a direct calling number to use so we will be able to do it once our free. will this be okay?
    17:23, Nov 24 You: someone needs to phone me not the other way round
    17:23, Nov 24 You: I will be at home tomorrow until 12:00 hrs

    Thursday 25th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (46 minutes)
    Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Hi Arbiya
    8:05, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Can you please look at the notes from my chat yesterday please?
    8:05, Nov 25 Arbiya: Hi Alistair! I am really sorry for the wait time you have experienced. I do see that you havecontacted in order to report that you are looking for cancellation. Not to worry, you have reached the rightteam. I can surely help you today. Absolutely, let me have a check on your account notes.
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: thanks
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: from the transcript
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    8:07, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: this is what we need to do. If this isn't possible then I will leave cancellation in place and start my ordert with another provider
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: I am really sorry for the inconvenience Alistair. Please do not worry. I do see the retentions team online now. I can connect you right away if you agree, they can surely help you getting hub 4. May I connectyou?
    8:09, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: yes please
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: We can transfer you through our Messaging service to our Customer Relations team to help you further.
    8:24, Nov 25 Lisa: I can see that and I will feed that back to Yodel but I can not order a new one.

    Received a final bill with a demand for £240 for termination of my contract early:
    Thurs 6th Jan 2021 VM Online Chat (2 hours 15 minutes)
    17:07, Jan 6 Meena: Thank you for your patience, I have looked into your account and I see you have cancelled services within the contract period and hence you have been charged early termination fee as per the terms and conditions Alistair.
    17:10, Jan 6 You: you ugprded me to 1GIG and sent out a router which was never delivered by yodel. I even requested another router which was refused. So unable to use the service as you didn't supply hardware I spent HOURS and I have proof trying to sort this mess out with you
    17:11, Jan 6 You: I couldn't use a service without the hardware so why would I stay with a provider that cannot provide?
    17:29, Jan 6 You: here I am again over 90 mins repeating myself and getting nowhere
    17:29, Jan 6 Meena: I am sorry to know about the hassle which you have come across Alistair, I feel really bad after going through all these and you have been so patient so far. Dont worry I will see what best can be done for you. But we could have definitely cancelled the order and placed a new one before cancelling Alistair.
    17:30, Jan 6 You: but you didn't and as per the transcripts refused to send out another until you got the one that Yodel lost Back
    17:31, Jan 6 You: yuou will see that the transcripts over the days contradict themselves
    17:44, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, I understand what you are telling but this is completely the issue with yodel and it was supposed to be dealt by them else we could have cancelled and replaced the order. I have tried my best Alistair, but unfortunately we cannot waive off the charges as you have been able to use the services and itcould have been resolved alternatively. But as you have cancelled it between contract, you was been charged with disconnection fee Alistair.
    17:46, Jan 6 You: Did you not read the information i poasted??
    17:52, Jan 6 Meena: Okay where you not informed that you will be charged termination fee if you are cancelling the contract Alistair?
    18:00, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, we booked for the second time and you never waited for the delivery to be sent, you immediately put a request for disconnection Alistair. Please understand this charges cannot be removed as itsvalid from our end.
    18:03, Jan 6 You: no, i made contact with VM as you had not even bothetred to disptach the second one. Eve though yousaid you had. Enough, I will now seek compensation for the time and stress your company has continued toput me through over these months

    I have now raised a complaint through offcom and seeking an apology for time, stress, lies and incompetence and now compensation too.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reed
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    There is nothing wrong with the broadband but the customer service from Virgin Media is appalling, one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune of having to deal with. Their staff gave me false information, they were totally dishonest, all to make sure I had a final extra bill from them when I ended my contract. I will never enter into another contract with Virgin Media again. Worse than Talk Talk and I didn't think anything could be worse than that. Avoid Avoid Avoid I would give Virgin Media -5 out of 5 if I could.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Went to sign up online, and did the old trick of filling in my contact details before closing the tab (companies tend to then contact you with some kind of incentive to get your custom.) As expected, i got a call within an hour from one of their customer service agents offering me the same contract i was looking at, but with £100 account credit. I said yes, signed up, and this credit is nowhere to be seen. After contacting them, they say they have no record that i was offered this, and that theres nothing they can do! If they make you any offers, make sure you get it in writing! Speeds and reliability are great though. Supposed to get 100mbps, and its consistently around 110mbps.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    macclesfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Ok sometimes its slow but overall Im pleased with my broadband speed. Im signed into the old 10mb service and usually got 9mb. Recently Doubled to 20mb...never got that ofcourse but usually get 12mb - 17mb depending on time of day etc. Re customer service...well we all know Virgin is a nightmare but thankfully only ever had to contact them re tv service...which is rubbish compared to sky so dropped Virgin tv. I feel for those who are tied into 18 month contacts however and are not getting what they payed for. Refusing to pay means they will put you in arrears and that will stuff your credit rating.....I believe they are ruthless when it comes to this.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln.
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    I had problems with them last year for 3 months! And this month it is second full day without Internet... Super unreliable. Avoid if you can
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Broadband is fast, you can find that in other companies.

    They are thieves and they take your money, make customer service difficult, so you cant really talk to a human being. Service is rubbish!

    Thats it really. Never again! i say spare your selves, time and money on something more genuine,

    Cheers!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stevenage, Hertfordshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    In Dec2014 I upgraded to faster broadband and the Tivo box. Since Feb I have had drop out problems with the broadband. When up and running I am always getting 130Mbps+ (last check it was 161Mbps). This is fabulous but not when it lasts for 20mins. Physical reboots don't fix it. Web resets don't fix it. Multiple phone calls to Virgin DO fix it - for about 1/2 hour. Even the change of the hub by virgin (who turned up on time)on Saturday gave me a day of the internet only.
    Fed up. I have no wifi so Im paying for data usage on my phone. I cant log in on my playstation so game trophies are not being recorded properly, and I am unable to go on the internet to log in to work. So I've had to drive in on Bank holiday to deal with a couple of issues I could have handled remotely in 10 mins.
    Phone calls to virgin tend to fix the problem but nothing permanent but I had no problems before Dec's upgrade.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Enfiled
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Miss sold a phone line that Tripled my bill!
    I was sold a bundle for internet, tv and landline, the landline was meant to come with free landline call and was sold on that being when ever. My bills went from £78 to £227! When I explained I was told I had free landline calls they said it was only for weekends and it was all my fault, they did help in the slightest and frankly didn’t care, the attitude of all the staff from customer service in India was disgusting to the point that I have cancelled everything. As much as the Virgin TV is a good service, this has completely tarnished the company for me, back to Sky I go...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    hartlepool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    After spending about three weeks on hold, being passed from one person to the next, i am still without a phone line, my business is losing money hand over fist and I am desperate to take my business elsewhere. From one mistake to another, to another and another, no one has a clue what they are doing! its appauling
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    Comments
    They claim to be the best but they are the worst. broadband has always got problems always something wrong in the are not true the fact is they employ incompetent people to perform the jobs BT service is way more reliable and cheaper. I was supposed to complete my work for college but thay had whole day and they could not fix it some minor issue I bet


    pros: broadband speed is on point.


    cons:everything apart from the internet speed. so;costumer service, services, TV, prices ,reliabilty very very poor. avoid virgin media if you can
  • Reviewer
    Location
    west yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    OK so this is now a part two of three I guess, my first was a couple of days ago, and an engineer has come out since then.

    Long story short, all was fine for 3 weeks, then for almost a week the system was working only at 12mbps anywhere really, then just literally minutes before the engineer slot was to happen, it jumped up to 80mbps in the living room (hub location) only.

    It fell back to 12mbps. 2 hours later, the system again jumped up to 80mbps in the living room and a better but paltry 30mbps in the kitchen, twelve feet of open doors away.

    Five minutes later, the engineer said he would be there in 5 minutes. I know, right?!

    Engineer does his bit, discovers two faulty connections, and as a result of one the phone began working.

    The eventual decision to change the hub box seemed moot, as it behaved in the same, better, but changeable fashion.

    Here is the upshot of the visit:
    - faulty phone connection sorted
    - faulty/not fully plugged-in fibre connection pushed fully home
    - wifi began behaving as follows:

    Cyclical, seemed to go fast then slow in cycles of a few minutes. I began to think virgin had a special way of throttling, that did not choke the data speed to a fixed low level, but cycled it high/low for five minutes each.

    Hitherto, I was able to treat power of wifi as inter-related with speed in mbps. IE if we had 4 arcs of wifi, your speed was good.

    The virgin system is not like that. I have wifi boosted it to heck and back, and it still just permits 12mbps. this is too clever to be by accident - 12mbps just about permits HD video but of course the BBC iplayer, has dreadful and unusable lag at these speeds.

    12 feet, and the signal has to take a left turn into our kitchen...dead. From 87mbps, to 68mbps in the lobby then 14mbps in the kitchen.

    I find the entire matter confusing. I think, there IS throttling of some type occurring, BUT another component has become apparent - I need to make use of my old ASUS 68 router it seems, that I used to avert all the BT hub problems we had, for similar reasons.

    Virgin in common with BT, seem to meddle regularly with their hubs/wifi units. So, in short, the advice is to get into your virgin hub (xxx.xxx.x.x address you can google it) use the password off the bottom of the hub unit, and set it to :

    MODEM mode.

    Now, the virgin unit does not do wifi. Now, you can use a decent unit to do that with, and ASUS certainly is an improvement. It has aerials and stuff.

    So now, I will be able to deal with a known quantity, that won't update unless I make it, and the virgin unit just acts as a modem, not modem and router/hub.

    Basically, someone else online has a video and all they did apart from the settings thing, making virgin box modem only, was take a rj-45 and cat 5e or 6 cable, from virgin box to asus router.

    That's as far as my planning has got. Part three, will be when I have solved this, by actually implementing a solution of the type outlined above.

    Setting the virgin hub to modem only, is by logging in to that xxx... address as above, then putting in the password on the bottom of the hub unit of virgin's, then it is in 'advanced' I think, or 'router' or something to set it to modem only.

    Back later with results, I cannot fathom a company producing the most advanced infrastructure in the company then lumbering customers with a creaky under-powered microwave unit (that's what wifi is).

    I also saw a guy advise on how to pump up the power of a BT hub to reach anywhere through walls galore, but my brother said ' You sleep right beside that hub don't you bro?'

    I think he was implying my brain would get fried. I bought the ASUS and put tin foil behind it instead. Part three later then...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Simply the very worst company you could ever dream of going to. Yes, the broadband is fantastic, but they tell lie after lie after lie after LIE.

    They DELIBERATLY missed me a package and then refused to adjust my contract to reflect the discount they were giving me.

    7 hours of waiting on th phone for 4 days and I get through to someone who simply isn't interested in answering me other than to say ' it's being processed'...a credit for £90 does NOT take more than 4 weeks to process.

    Then the contract...which needs to be adjusted by £30, as per Virgin Media's call notes. Except it isn't and no one knows whose job it is to do that and when it will be actioned.

    Spent over 5 days on hold for 4-7 hours at a time to be told completely different things. These people are LIARS.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wigan
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Never in a million years would I ever consider being a virgin media customer or tell anyone to go with Virgin Media. Customer service pass you on and on and on and on.....
    10 different people I was put through to, just to cancel my broadband and at the end one I just put the phone down because I had been on the phone 3hours! I will just cancel my direct debit tomorrow and write a letter to wherever because your trapped and there is no getting out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    purbrook
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    the broadband.....when it's fast its very fast.....unfortunately thats not very often
  • Reviewer
    Location
    slough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The VM 'customer service' phone line is pretty abysmal. In mid-December 2018, I requested (via web chat) that my package be downgraded. I was informed that it would be done by mid Jan 2019.
    This didn't get done and I continued to be billed the original amount. I called VM media in late Feb 2018 to inform them about this. I waited around 10 mins in the queue, and eventually spoke with an advisor in an Indian call centre. I informed her of my problem and during the call I was put on hole twice for around a minute each time - whilst she discussed my case with a colleague. After the second hold, and without being informed, I found myself speaking with another advisor (in UK/Scotland based call centre, judging my the accent)...who started by asking me why I was calling and going through the same security questions that I had already been through with the first lady! I explained it all again only to be told that I would be put on hold again for around 5 minutes whilst *she* discussed my case with her manager. I complained about my experience, about being bounced between advisors and having to provide them with the same information repeatedly.

    On the plus side. I was assured that my account changes would be applied immediately and that I would be refunded the amount that I had been overcharged. Also, the on-hold music doesn't feature the usual and infuriating 'your call is very important to us...' looped message. In a way this is probably an accidental admission that our call is in no way important to VM and they would rather we didn't bother them at with our problems.

    VM are no probably better or worse than their rivals or corporate entities in general, who view customers as an unwelcome nuisance to be treated with contempt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Our whole package has been down now for4 days. & will go into the 5th since last update tonight. Due to an outage in this area, very frustrating, no information other than an outage and having to check ourselves on any updates. Never been without, telephone, t.v. WiFi altogether absolutely apauling and can’t even speak to a person
  • Reviewer
    Location
    banstead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    absolutely shocking customer service, keep me hanging on the phone for over 2 hours.

    they cut off my services due to a mistake they made re me moving.

    i was passed through to over 10 different customer service advisers and still was unable to connect back my services.

    the worse possible customer service that i have ever known
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    It's brilliant when it works but right now I'm using giffgaff internet to ask why my virgin simply isn't working at all even when the modem isn't flashing any suggestions of difficulties.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Billingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Awful customer service. Was trying to find out how much notice I needed to give to cancel my contract, and potentially renegotiate a new deal. The cancellation team were awful. The woman was aggressive, rude and patronising, and refused to pass me on to a supervisor or someone else. I eventually had to put the phone down. When I called back I spoke to another woman who went to check / speak to the first person I had spoken to. She then came back and immediately informed me my account would be cancelled in 30 days. No attempt was made to keep me as a customer or apologise. The best way to judge a company is how they deal with an issue. Virgin Media are awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    great download speed that goes up to 120mb when I only have 50mb contract but it also goes down to 1.75 mb at the same time which is the problem. They don't offer a stable connection which is terrible if you play games online or watch 1080p streams. Also when you report a problem you end up talking to a robot rather then a person which is quite stressful when you don't know what's going on
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The Speed is not what I expected it to be and is mostly very slow for a company who has upgraded to give the better speeds they are definatly lagging behind and don't deliver what they promise yet another case of being ripped of by these huge corporations who are only interested in getting their money from our pockets into theirs. Not a very good company at all they are all sharks who promise the earth yet deliver a very poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chigwell
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Be careful if you move house.

    When arranging a house move with Virgin Media, you will be forced to use the web chat which is great if someone answers you. Sadly, I had to wait over 5 hours for a response only to be told that Virgin media is not available in my new area.

    I was then provided with the joyful fact that my contract must now be cancelled, so I have the pleasure of paying them £240 for the privelage.

    It turns out that in the fine print of Virgins contracts, if they are unable to provide you with even a basic level of service then you will be punished financially for it.

    Be warned, always read the fine print and never get tied up in a contract with a company that takes part in corrupt practices like this.

    On a happy note, they told me I could have 2 months to pay before they sell the debt onto a collection agency.

    Amazing customer services as always Virgin, well done!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Orpington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    Slow service paying for something im not yet paying for no phone awate to speak to someone an hour or more even better if my company if look after my customers past and present
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oldham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    Comments
    Moved over from talk talk because of the promise of faster broadband and a better overall performance.
    Been a customer for 4months and so far not impressed.
    Broadband is constantly going down in my area and it's so slow. It's really frustrating.
    I will be changing providers at the end of my contract.
    If you are thinking of coming to Virgin, remember that the grass isn't always greener folks.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Penarth S Wales
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Actual broadband performance Good, and when fault appeared, fixed promptly.
    My Big Complaint is that when I tried to inform them that I was moving- I HAD to phone them - no other choice - pressed correct buttons, waited ages - eventually ended up with lady in India - who only dealt with mobile phones !
    Customer Service POOR !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Recently switched over from Zen on my kids wishes but since moving over we have been facing difficulties with broad reliability and inconsistent replies relating to virgin internet status.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    shocking customer service. they changed my package without notice and after 5 months of complaining after every bill had to cancel. 100 pounds out of pocket - but glad to see the back of them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Virginmedia signed me up misleading circumstances tsaying they would provide me with all 3 services but didn’t tell me I would be waiting up to 3 months for the phone to be connected so as a result as sky cut me off on the date I agreed (I thought vVirgin would have switched by then)so have lost My home number of 35 years which wil cause me a lot of agro —- I would give Virginmedia -5stars if I could !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    No one cares!!!! I am on a rolling contract with virgin media so I phoned to see if I could get a better deal before I left, as every other broadband provider does, I was offered a 12 month contract for more money than my current rolling contract. I said forget it I will leave and the customer service rep actually sounded happy about this. Dont bother emailing the new German CEO, you will get no reply. I think they have earned there nickname VERMINMEDIA!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The good - fast broadband speed; good hub box

    The bad - poor connectivity when the sun shines.

    The ugly - very poor customer service & ridiculous cost

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.