Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 850 customer ratings since 2023-07-18 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,708 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely disgraceful customer service by amateurs based in the middle of no where with no idea of what life is
    This is not the way a multinational should treat its customers who are charged the best rates to expect the best service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful company. Broadband was not good and customer service is ridiculous. They owe me a refund of almost £50 and have offered to only process that if I renew my contract with them which I haven't.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appalling and harassing customer service: My mum having had a stroke and moved into an old folks home I have tried multiple times to cancel my mum's account. Written cancellations have been ignored and phone cancellations are not possible because my mum has lost her speech. Absolutely no compassion or understanding from Virgin Media. The monthly bills continue to mount up even though my mum's original contract ended years ago. Extremely distressing for for my mum and all the family. Please please please avoid Virgin Media at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The customer service is the worst I have ever encountered do not use this service you will never receive an answer to any problem or question.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Earls Court
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been a customer of Virgin broadband for the past 25 years.My monthly subscription is 51GBP.This company messed us up in the past 3 days . The engineer came to fix our neighbours internet connection 4 days ago, but after he left we discovered that our interenet has been disconnected. We have been waiting for an engineer for 3 days. All promises with no action.
    I will search for a better provider.Hopfully I will find it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    You would think a brand as reputable as Virgin would provide good broadband but it really is shocking. When it works it's great but the amount of times I've been on virtual meetings and it's completely cut off is around 50 throughout 2022. Not to mention watching a movie or TV in the evening and having to stare at a loading wheel. For £60 a month there is definitely better out there. We had BT at a previous property which we thought was bad but performed the same as Virgin for £20 a month.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Slough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely shambles as new customer very bad service just over 2 months still waiting for my connection and the customer service English is so poor,keep getting cut off after been on the pone nobody wants to take care of the problem
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newtownabbey County Antrim
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do yourself a favour for your own sanity do not join Virgin Media. The customer service is joke. the routers don't last a kick. the prices go up on a regular basis. I have get very poor service on every phone call to them their staff seem to be intent in pissing off the customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hamilton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TERRIBLE COMPANY
    Gail at Virgin media offered new package however had a few technical issues at her end however was told not to worry and it will all be sorted. The Nightmare starts. still await a call from 23rd Nov 2022.In the mean time i've been harassed for payments from virgin media by text email collections department. I have called Virgin daily/weekly and still to date no one cares. Shame on you Virgin. Perhaps you should call me rather that make vexatious demands for monies
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uxbridge UB10 0BN
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am a virgin media customer for more than 10 years. What ever the speed they promise to you it never happens. Every months you have to restart the router many times (UB10 0BN area). Also Since corona started March 2020 I have to travel therefore i do not have a chance to watch virgin TV (Paying £152) so I called them up on On 15 January 2022 @17:25 spoke to guy called Mohammed agreed a internet and home phone for £55.then October 2022 I check my bank statement they still charging £152, since made lot of call and made lot of complaint they never ever listen to those complaints or never acknowledge I even ask them to listen to my call recordings. Zero response I firmly ask them to refund the difference but instead of that I received hundreds of calls from retention department saying is will give me another 18 month contract pay £60 a month etc.. I waited till end of November 2022 no response etc.. so I called them up and gave notice to terminate my line. Totally waste of time now I am in a process to complaints to ofcomm.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maidenhead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have recently left Virgin Media to go to a City Fibre provider. My reasons for making this change were:

    1) Each time the contract came up for renewal Virgin increased their price by a disproportionate amount. I would then phone and complain and they would drop most of the price increase. On the last occasion they increased the price from £45 to £73.25. However once they realised I was serious about moving to a different provider they progressively reduced this to below £30

    2) I had constant blips in the connection causing work calls to drop. I have not had this with my new provider

    3) The new service is around 50% faster for less money

    4) Having ended the contract it is taking Virgin 7 weeks to collect their equipment (their choice of dates, not mine). They are now charging me for this equipment saying they will return the money one they have it back.

    5) There customer service is very difficult to contact and poor once finally do so. However, they hounded me to stay once I cancelled.

    I strongly recommend avoiding this provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Lothian
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Didn't even get as far as having fibre installed, engineers didn't install the box as discussed previously then refused to move it. What a nightmare trying to cancel, when you eventually get through its to someone you can barely understand. AVOID like the plague
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    0 stars. Virgin media must be the WORST customer service EVER experienced in my life. weeks after scheduling broadband no one turns up, can answer a question. They just transfer you OR cut you off. If you value your sanity DO NOT SIGN up
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Upminster, Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do yourself a favour and keep clear from using this company unless you have hours of your life to waste. Absolutely disgusting service, appalling customer service and inexistent continuity in client care. I am making this publication hoping that I will prevent other people experiencing the pain and time waste I have been put through. Even though it’s almost traumatic for me to go through this timeline of events:
    My partner first signed up for Virgin Fibre Broadband services in October 2022. We were told we had to wait about a month until the installation could be done – during that month we contacted Virgin twice to make sure that the cable/ pre-installation work had been done as we knew the area surrounding the house was owned by a property management company and suspected a permit must be needed. Each time we were reassured the external work had been done and there was no expected delay for the engineer visit and installation of services on the 2/11/22. On that day, the engineer said he could not install the services as the external work hadn’t been done. This was then the beginning of countless hours on the phone to try to understand what the problem was.
    We then got an email out of the blue saying “I am sorry to hear you have cancelled our services”. We called Virgin to see why we received that and they said they could not explain it (shocker) – in their records we had cancelled it (but couldn’t say how and there were no records of it (!!). We then had to sign up all over again, with the sales team questioning the prices and not honouring the original offer. We asked them to go back on the record and listen to the original phone call but they seemed unable to do this – again not being able to offer any continuity.
    After that, I stayed on hold for hours and transferred to the wrong people more times than I can count. I would try to have any sort of continuity by remembering the people’s names to then be told I was speaking to a different call centre altogether or the previous person had made no notes. I was reassured by Virgin that the visit would be done “that day” so many tinmes – I waited days at home, not leaving, afraid I would miss the visit. Again, so much time wasted. The next day the pain of being on the phone again without getting any answers.
    The lack of communication between the subcontractors who do the external work and Virgin is ridiculous – I kept being told they had no way of speaking to them! I assumed the delay was due to a permit problem (even though on the phone I was reassured countless times it wasn’t) so I contacted the property management company myself, asked them to sign a Wayleave and sent it to Virgin.
    Finally, I am contacted by Stacey from Kelly who explained that the pre-installation team had been going to the wrong address all this time! Hence the cable work not been done yet. Even though we now knew the problem, they still could not tell me when the cable work would be done. I had to chase it again multiple times when then I am told they now needed a permit from the council. Days go by again and eventually they tell me the permit was for the 19/11/22 and then the engineer visit would be done on the 26/11/22. You have guessed right: not the external work nor the engineer visit happened AGAIN! Virgin sent us a dongle after we spent hours and hours on the phone but that did not even work properly as our house has very poor signal (hence we needing the fibre installed).
    This has caused an immense inconvenience in our personal and work lives. It's now 6/12/22 and when I called Virgin today I got the usual “we have a note on our system saying the work will be done today” – a sentence I have heard over 10 times in the past month! We STILL DO NOT HAVE INTERNET (it’s been over a month). This is an absolute joke.
    To make it all even better, when we claimed the compensation we are entitled to according to the website “£5.25 per day if we don’t install your services on the promised day until installation is complete” they have also said no and given us a £26.24 cheque instead. Seems fair, right?
    Please learn from this experience, and use a company with minimum dedication to costumer service instead.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Stuck in a 24 months contract (never again with any new suppliers) I can' wait for next July to wave goodby to Virgin; continuous broadband issues/total blackouts lasting hours on end plaguing Virgin broadband and costing me money in lost work. Do not subscribe!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Westbury
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would not recommend Virgin broadband to anyone.
    Waited for ages to be set up by its specialist, as some external works were needed, only to find out the day before, that they would not be able to connect my property.
    And I called them twice before, they assured me that everything is going as planned.
    That's just silly. So much time wasted.
    Avoid at any cost!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    CB24 8UL
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I had a hard time getting in touch with one of your consultants and after I got in touch they asked me for a lot of identification details more like a bank account but that wasn't a problem if the problem had been solved but after identification I transferred to another department and the same security questions again and again put me on hold for another department and after several minutes of waiting the call was cut off having to repeat the same story again and again and this happened for several days at in a row and finally I started a WhatsApp conversation which also continued a text conversation with the same repeated security questions after each conversation at a certain time I was asked for the same data even though I had written it countless times in the previous conversation and only in the end after a few days lost of stress and nerves to close a contract that was due to expire on time and my rate was extended and increased by 5 0% without my consent! I believe that this could be done very simply with a few clicks from the personal application where you log in with your personal identification data!
    I believe this is done on purpose to make it almost impossible for customers to get out of a contract with virgin media! Shame on you!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Poole
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not touch with a 10ft pole
    My father died last weekend, due to everything I have subsequently had to deal with, I was late paying my bill and was put on restricted service. I tried phoning virgin to be told to go online to pay bill. I am disconnected from internet, so how could I do this. My mobile is on virgin, but mobile data does not stay stable for longer than a minute before losing connection, but I managed to pay. All of this because they have now done away with all phone lines for customer service. The number they gave me 0345 4541111 is no such number and does not work. They remove all options to speak to a person, expecting you to do it all online, but you are disconnected. FFS, Virgin sort your act out, I will be changing supplier as soon as possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely stressful awful experience with them. From the day of taking out my contract, they knew there had to be an initial installation to get a connection to my building. They kept changing the dates of this initial installation appointment without checking with me and knowing that I am not at home during the day. I have spoken to so many employers and it comes across like no one knows how to do their job. And then they push the same excuse each time the date is changed without my consent. If they know there is an issue to install the first part, why keep giving dates and times that they can't fulfill. The complaints team doesn't exist, and who ever does take on your complaint does nothing about it. They forever are writing notes on your profile whilst you sit for hours on a call with them but what is the point of making notes when they have no regard/respect to actually follow them? They just change things according to what suits them, and then it goes as a missed appointment if you're not available. Their excuse is that the pre installation is done by a 3rd party company, but no one knows who they are so I cannot contact those people and complain that they have no regard for what they client says about their schedule. And after sitting for hours on a call being transferred to all the wrong departments because no one knows what they are doing l, we then agree on a date/time. Then randomly I get an sms with a new date and time which I didn't agree to. I would hate to know what it would be like actually having an active service with them if this is the stress I reviewed before even getting the connection point installed. They guy who sold me the contract didn't plan anything properly. My memorable word didn't even work for the O2 part of the package. And all they do is over talk and talk and just go on about things to sell you something, but they don't know how to plan /schedule all the things that need to be done with the sale. It's atrocious. And when you ask to speak to a supervisor, they make some excuse as to why they can't come to the phone. I don't want to ever deal with this again. It's as though I've been inside the Mad Hatter ls house rather than a business. I've cancelled everything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    morden
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    terrible company had problems from the first attempt of the works they lie and have calling centre's in India and the Philippines who can't speak English they are the worst company I've ever dealt with after 2 months of hell I've had to cancel because of there incompetence they are an absolute joke
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Woodthorpe
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Great service from your engineer.He had to find a box outside, run a cable to our flat and drill neatly through the wall.Every thing was done with a smile and he left with All working.Welldone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dublun
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The customer service sucks. I am a customer of virgin media from over two years and I am experiencing the terrible customer service. The waiting time is around 1hr to speak to one of their agents and when I asked to terminate my existing plan then they are charging 150euros extra. Please don't use virgin media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have only had virgin for 2 months. I am not happy with virgin. I feel like cancelling my direct debit. I am not paying another penny. My broadband has stopped working since Tue 29/11/22. Virgin will send someone to my home Sat 03/12/22. That is beyond a joke.

    My wife works home home and she needs the broadband to be working. We will have zero earnings for 4 or 5 days because of Virgin is taking this length of time to get someone out to fix it

    And I have 2 kids, you can imagine what my 2 kids will be like without broadband for 4 or 5 days. They cant watch Netflix, they cant play there playstation online, they cant stream movies.

    I understand my credit rating will get impacted if I stop my direct debit. But I have already made up mind.

    Terrible customer service as well.

    I switched from BT broadband to virgin. BIG BIG BIG MISTAKE.

    And another thing i am still waiting on my £100 Amazon voucher. I was meant to receive it for signing up. Well it's 2 months I have been waiting.

    And another thing, BT BROADBAND has a much better signal than VIRGIN.

    With BT I could get a good signal up and down stairs, all over my House I got a good signal.

    With virgin the signal buffers up the stairs.

    I would give virgin zero starts if it was possible.

    I am gonna find every website and give virgin a bad review, and hopefully people don't go with virgin.

    Everything I have said 100 per cent correct.

    If you go with virgin you will regret it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aldershot
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If could give -10 I would. Previously with sky for 18+ years no issues other then slowish internet so went for virgin for speed …… oh how ironic

    Please anyone thinking of moving to these jokers avoid

    Richard Branson et al makes millions and has all overseas workers whos standard response to any frustration is “I understand” and then carry on as normal

    Lies lies and more lies. Even have engineers come to house say simple job and personally call
    If any more delays… again no replies

    Give dates constantly move then more promises more dates moved

    Explained with wife in tears need internet to work anything. Kids homework her work from home

    Was set for early Nov then end nov then mid December then poss mid December

    Shame on you Virgin I doubt any change as simply don’t care

    But sure they will say “I understand”

    Please anyone avoid I promise it’s not worth the difficulty
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelsea, London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor reliability, really poor service and calling them is a very painful process.
    They hide charges within the contract which is awful. Take the customers for a ride and don't have the product capability to keep up with it
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    What an awful company!! Constant outages, constant failure to deliver minimum guaranteed speeds, and absolutely no customer service. no one in CS has a clue what the problem is when outages occur - currently ours is predicted to last a week. Customers cannot speak to anyone who does know. A constant stream of misdirection, bluff, misinformation and at times, outright lies. DO NOT UDSE THIS COMPANY. On top of all this they increase your rates without informing you and you have to negotiate hard to get any semblance of your originally agreed rate/contract. I'm complaining to the Ombudsman, they should be put out of business for clear profiteering and stonewalling complaints.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Chronic dropouts.
    Horrible support.
    Infuriating ‘self-service’ nonsense.
    Hours on hold.
    Repeating my problem 9 times per session.
    Useless.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LONDON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What an absolute joke of a company.
    They're happy taking your money but absolutely useless when things go wrong.
    I handed in my one month's notice on 23/10/22, as advised by their own customer service representative, due to lack of service, for which I'm paying £50+ a month. They said they'd resolve the issue before the month lapses or else, I'd be entitled to terminate my contract penalty free.
    One month lapsed but no such effort from their side.
    Contacted them on the morning of 23/11/22 only to be told my complaint is still under investigation and that someone would be in touch with me by the end of the day.
    It's now 28/11/22 and still, nobody has contacted me.
    I'm seriously considering cancelling my DD, and deal with any consequences later, even if that means taking these thieves to court.
    I can't stand paying them another penny for a service which I'm not even getting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor service. Poor internet speed even with IG. TV service is very poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Was a customer for a long time. Found the service to be reliable in that time. Switched to BT because Virgin would not do a package without TV and it was too expensive. They still charged me after my cancellation date. They explained this by saying they bill in advance and the bill was generated before the disconnection date. I was not warned of this when I went through the cancellation process. They then expected me to wait 40 days to receive a refund by cheque. I complained and was instructed to raise an indemnity claim with my bank. Apparently it is completely impossible to refund me themselves. My advice to anyone leaving Virgin is to cancel your Direct debit as soon as you have paid your final bill as they will absolutely continue to charge you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don’t use Virgin especially for business
    They don’t care, they are unreliable and if you phone the business line it will say we are experiencing a total outage permanently only to find that you still need an engineer to fix the problem. Virgin system down for the 4th time in 2 years and having to wait 2 weeks for it to be fixed. When you are an internet business especially on Black Friday period it is unacceptable. No internet service no phone service no card machine and they just come when they feel like it. Costing me a fortune in lost revenue. Don’t make the same mistake as me
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Virgin Trap
    2 years ago during lockdown we tried to cancel our virgin, we had issues ongoing since the install 2 years prior, after promises and lies, we had enough, we spoke to a chap who at the time was working from home (mobile) as most of us were back then, he promised to change our wifi to a more powerful one, and send us out two boosters, from the two main problematic rooms, once the engineer arrived, we soon realised that these promises were Virgin Lies. After months of calls and emails, we started to realise that we were not going to get anywhere, and were told, they don’t give boosters and that we had made this up, and Virgin lied its way out, at this point, we were out of our cooling off, and Virgin Trapped!!

    Fast forward to 2 weeks ago, after what seemed like a lifetime of rubbish internet, we called again to cancel, This time a chap gave us all the promises, he advised us to take small business internet, and that this would GUARANTEE us cover the whole house and in EVERY ROOM GARENTEED, it’s a different router and he guaranteed us that we will never call them again with issues (we have this recorded this time, you can trap us once Virgin, but we won’t be trapped twice) he even goes on to say, you even get a £100 back if this isn’t the case…. All recorded Virgin.

    So yesterday the engineer came, a nice chap, who tells us, he isn’t sure why but the wifi isn’t working in every room (shock horror) he was shocked to hear, that we were given a guarantee but not to worry, as all we need is two booster (arh the old booster promise) we explain that we had been promised these before, he told us that he wasn’t sure what had happened in the past, but this time he was writing up an essay for our case, and we would defiantly get these boosters, We explain we don’t want the wifi as we do not have faith in Virgin and wish to cancel our contract, he tells us, he cant do that, but not to panic, we have a 2 week cooling off period, in that time we will have the boosters and all will be fine….. HERE COME THE VIRGIN TRAP again…

    Today we called Virgin, as we don’t want to be in the VIRGIN TRAP again, we call and the person advises us, that we cannot have boosters, we have no Wi-Fi in every room guarantee, no £100 cash back for our inconvenience and worse of all, no cooling off period, we cannot cancel our virgin, we are again in the VIRGIN TRAP, after 84 minutes of being on the phone, being refused a manager call back and being told we cannot make a complaint or cancel, my partner finally got involved in the call and we have now been promised a call back, and advised that they have escalated a compliant, if this happens or not, we will see.

    A week later and still no call back from anyone!! We call again, this time we are told that a call was logged, but not complaint has been escalated, or they couldn’t see that one has, they can not guarantee a manager call back, but will let the field agent (the con man who sold us this) and let him know haha. The only thing they could confirm, is that we are now tied into a 2 year business agreement!!! That they will ask that a manager call us back, but they cant guarantee.

    2 days later, still nothing!! DO NOT DEAL WITH VIRGIN.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    the place to find true incompetence and terrible customer service. My email and webmail have been down since 11 November. each call to customer service is 30 minutes - they can't fix it, and the referrals they make to technical support and the complaints team never come to anything. Dreadful company!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible.
    When it's time to cancel they drop all your calls, harras you and then try to bully you in to extra charges for Kit that you've probably already returned.
    Avoid
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Helens
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First date was the 9th then 16 then 23 next they phoned from a call centre could understand the lady call not from uk they say now 1 ov December this is atrocious customer service I will be without Internet for two weeks. This is crazy
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the second time I’ve had virgin in and now I remember why we got rid of it in the first place. If a sparrow farts in the street the internet goes down. Utterly utterly useless. I can’t update any of my devices. I can’t play my consoles
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give Virgin Media a 0 I would: The worst customer service of any business in the UK by far! After being passed from call agent to call agent to find out why my service did not get set up on the day agreed, I was finally told I could not have Virgin Media for 23 days because Virgin Media would not set up my account whilst the previous owners of the property still had an active account -- which they never mentioned when they were taking my money.
    I finally cancelled my order which again took several calls from department to department whilst they kpts saying "sorry, I can help you with that" and "I can offer you a better rate" before they finally got the message.
    Virgin Media has the worst customer service of any company in the UK: expect long wait times to get through to "customer service" agents who pass your call around from department to department before disconnecting the call in order to meet their daily targets. I finally got fed up and tried to cancel my account and the agent kept asking me why and saying, "but I can offer you a better package." Terrible training! Avoid Virgin Media and go to BT who: answered my call within 3 rings from the UK, got me set up immediately on Hybrid Connect whilst I wait for their engineer - all very friendly; all very easy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    thomas
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrible horrible service the broadband pretty much doesn't work so if you're thinking of registering to this broadband DONT DO NOT DO THIS obviously unless you want to throw money away and pay for nothing
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lichfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Literally the worst broadband provider I've ever been with. Customer service is shocking, service itself is terrible. Don't bother.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Castleford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    All round terrible experience. When I first signed up, I did it through Quidco to get cashback worth £140. Factoring this into the overall cost made it an 'OK' deal. However, after 6 months, Virgin decoded not to pay out, so be aware if you get suckered I to one of these offers, Virgin don't pay out.
    Secondly, throughout the entire length of the contract I was supposed to get 500mb download speeds. The best speed I actually got on a rare day (perhaps 3 days in the full 18 months) was 100mb. There were lots of times when it was as low as 2mb. After lots of arguments, I was able to cancel the contract a few months early and as far as I was aware, I b
    Paid what I owed and we should have been done. They cancelled my online account, so I could no longer check balances etc. A few months later, they issue me a default for £23, which has now screwed my credit rating.
    Overall an appalling product, terrible service, poor value for money, they don't pay out on cashback and they will deviously screw your credit rating without making you aware you owe anything and make it impossible for you to even check.
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.