Vodafone Home Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Vodafone.

Recent Customer Ratings for Vodafone

  • Satisfaction
    2.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.6 stars

Based on 448 customer ratings since 2023-03-03 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Vodafone   Read our Vodafone buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1,466 Customer Reviews over 37 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worse broadband connection ever, keeps dropping off every couple of hours, biggest mistake to go for such a awful broadband company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Midlothian
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would rate 0 stars for each, as simply had no chance to experience anything Vodafone can offer as they never installed broadband in the first place. Order placed. Few weeks later was told after the installation date it was cancelled, giving system glitch as a reason. New order, few weeks later cancelled again with no specific reason given. If you are already with vodafone, maybe you have a wonderful time, but new customers beware, and make sure you have another provider set up as plan B.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Just a quick note... I've only been wiht Vodafone for a month and not had any issue, nor have i contacted customer services.

    I'm very happy with the service and have been getting the promised sync speed, although connection speed does tend to be a little lower which is not explain by my WIFI connection.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Very happy with everything that Vodafone are providing in terms of their home broadband. The service, speed, cost, set-up, information they send are all first class. Have recommended the service to my friends as I believe it's great value.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cwmbran
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Tried to switch via Money Saving Expert. First order mysteriously cancelled (blamed 3rd party provider). Tried a second time , order seemed to go through and checked progress, confirmed. Next day their system couldn't find order, checked at 8 am customer services said its still there. 10.45 am another customer services person in India wanted to check if I wanted to add any extras ( odd call), 30 minutes later I had a new confirmation with different number, called again and low and behold she had put through a new order, losing my £100 voucher. CANCELLED. Seems like a bad practice from Vodafone,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cirencester
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Moved from a cancelled 2 month disaster with BT. How OFCOM permits this shower to trade as a company is beyond me .The back office function is chaotic and the Indian call centre good for nothing. BT uses unacheivable line speeds to sell broadband . Vodafone changeover came and went with no issue .The promised speed is exactly where it should be and something never achieved with BT. Vodafone does not seem to traffic manage or prioritise . This maybe due to the massive capacity of the old C&W business fibre network Vodafone bought in 2012 .
    I have very stable bb at the promised speed and my monthly bill has been halved. Yes Vodafone has had its problems but there is a will to improve unlike BT who just want your money.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Totally Awful, router no range and Parental control useless, you have to block the entire router to stop your kids being online all night. You can't use third party router as there content blocking prevents you accessing normal sites, EG HMRC whatsmyip normal sites! My son can't even download games from Xbox Live!!!!!!!! load load load lost connection. Using VPN is not much better, you'll be sorry you got it. Had it for week sent it back. Who do they think they are Policing the internet!!!! and badly.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pontefract
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    For a telephone company these are a disgrace. All they think about is getting your money. I signed up with them and internet was great, then it kept going offline. I have lost count on how many time is Have contacted them. Their communication is non existent, as in they don't ring up to arrange for an engineer to come to your house. No they just turn up. I won't be renewing with these cowboys and I suggest you go elsewhere and don't bother trying them as we never got the speed advertised and promised.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Totnes
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A near miss. I can't comment on speed or reliability as I cancelled just before installation. Customer service was appalling. I signed up at an agreed rate but received a letter two days before switching with the wrong charge. I wasted an hour with customer services explaining this and all they could offer was a call back in 3-5 days to tell me if I would get the agreed deal. I wasn't prepared to risk this as it was after connection so would be much more difficult to cancel. I was then told the cancellation team wouldn't take my call! I tried directly and they refused to allow me to cancel. Furious I called my current provider and they have blocked the switch. I honestly feel like they were conning me and the hassle of getting through to speak to someone - who then say they can't deal with the issue gave me no confidence in the company. If you are tempted by their offer make sure you get it in writing before going ahead.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So I signed up to broadband back end of 2019, to begin with speed and reliability was not a problem. We wasn't getting the stated speed but they matched the price of the next tier down. 2020 arrives. Speed is appalling (1 hour to download 500mb file) Speed to internet has been throttled down so low, that it would be quicker to go back to 56k modem and dial up. (videos on Youtube stutter like hell, remember the buffer face with Kevin Bacon. Yeah that's it.)

    Won't be stopping around with them and I suggest you don't either.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dover, Kent
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Vodaphone Broadband, shambolic, Inept, liars, useless and a waste of time.

    Hope that people will read this and take great note, if Vodaphone wish to respond to try and defend their shambolic performance then please feel free.

    Having had Vodaphone at my previous home I made the mistake of asking them to provide my broadband service at my new property, what a mistake that has been. Prior to contracting I was assured that I would receive at least 60mbps, on the day of activation my speed was between 9 and 12mbps and has remained so despite being charged for the higher claimed speed that I would receive.

    I telephoned on the Friday to report the poor speed, and advisor stated that this was because my new property still ran on copper and not fibre, however, an engineer would complete some external works on the Monday and change me over to fibre, no need to be at home and all would be up and running on Monday evening I was assured. I was also told by the advisor that I would receive a call on the Monday to confirm all was well.

    Monday came and went and surprise, surprise, no call and still the same old speed of between 9 and 12mbps. On the Wednesday I contacted Vodaphone and as per normal sat in a queue for the best part of 40 minutes and to chat to yet another advisor who gave a different story. I was told by her that the colleague I spoke to on Friday should never have told me what he did, could I now remove the faceplate of my master socket and plug my line into the test socket for 24 – 48 hours and they would run some tests and give me a call. This I did only to receive no call or update. On Saturday I yet again telephoned Vodaphone only to wait yet another 30 minutes, yet another advisor agreed that there was a problem as they measured the speeds at their end only to find that I was getting the speeds that I told them from the start, Vodaphone agreed to send an engineer out for Friday 23rd November 2018 as I run my own business and being at home is rare. I received a confirmation text for the engineer, so all seemed ok.

    Friday 23rd arrived, my appointment was from 1300 to 1800. My wife and I ensured we were indoors for midday so as not to miss the appointment, at around 2pm we received a call from a second line support assistant who did not seem to have a clue what she was on about, after the conversation I again telephoned Vodaphone to report the call and that the caller appeared to be confused about what it was she was meant to be doing. Yet another support assistant took the call only to tell me that an engineer’s appointment had been booked for Monday 26th November 2018, I assured her that she must be confused as I had a text from Vodaphone to confirm the engineer was booked for Friday 2rd hence the reason for taking the time off at a huge expense, she assured me I was wrong so I asked to escalate the case, a lady called Eman took over only to confirm the assistants view that the engineer would be attending Monday, I again pointed out the confirmation text from Vodaphone to say that the engineer would be out today (Friday), Eman then started to change her story and said that the call I had taken from second line support earlier that afternoon was to confirm the engineer would be calling out on Monday, when I called her a liar and instructed her to pull the voice recordings of the calls she became very defensive and again changed her story, she now stated that an engineer had called out to complete some external works but was unable to rectify the fault and that’s why they needed to get an engineer out on Monday. I told Eman she was lying and I now wanted to escalate the case further, she did her best to try and not escalate the case but I am fairly persistent.

    I was next passed onto someone who claimed to be from the Directors complaints or support division, I explained the above to him in great detail and stated that I wanted a resolution by the end of the call, he went of the line for 5 – 10 minutes to try and sort things out but the long and short of his answer was that I may have been routed through a wrong exchange and my line was over 2.5kms from an exchange to I would not get the speeds that they had guaranteed me and they could and would not improve on the speed of 9 – 12mbps, staggeringly we run fibre optic cables below the sea to other countries with no issues yet Vodaphone cannot provide a fibre optic line over 2.5kms. I then asked them to send an engineer out on a weekend but he claimed no BT / Openreach engineers work on a weekend in Dover, having spoken to BT Openreach this is incorrect and Vodaphone will not pay the extra for an engineer to come out on the weekend.

    When I informed them that Vodaphone was in breach of contract and misrepresentation to gain sales he said he would allow me to leave my contract early, wow what a gent and gesture, as I told you I would be leaving regardless of your gesture as you have failed to provide the service you are contracted to.

    Needless to say I have now asked BT to take over my services and when the 44 mobile phone contracts are due for renewal for my business guess who will not be getting them?

    I should also add that when asked about compensation I was informed that none would be given as Vodaphone do not pay compensation, well Vodaphone watch out for the Small Claims forms which will be in the post Monday for breach of contract and loss of Retention.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warwick
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I was a bit dubious about moving to Vodafone Broadband as there seemed to be so many bad reviews of their service, but I have to say that the company has exceeded my expectations in every way. The changeover was handled quickly and efficiently, I was kept informed during the process, and the service was activated on schedule. The initial speed was very slow, but when I raised this with Vodafone they organised for an engineer to visit within less than 24 hours. He found a problem with the wiring in the main socket in the house and sorted it out at no charge. My current download speed of 40 Mb/s is even faster than Vodafone's claim of 38 Mb/s. This compares with the 36 Mb/s I was getting on a service rated at 76 Mb/s from my old provider, who definitely didn't do me proud. I'm a happy customer. Well done, Vodafone!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liskeard Cornwall
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst broadband provider, WiFi dropping out continuously, tech support just blamed my house and how I had things set up. I was with Sky for 3 years with no issues, unfortunately I decided to move to Vodafone, don't believe what they advertise, they should be reported to trading standards.
    Providing me with an unusable service then charged my £225 to leave.
    Avoid at all costs, we are not all wrong, please read the reviews
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have copied a previous review as we are experiencing the sane issues instead of sending a new Router they have let me terminate my contract 6 months early,
    As per other reviews on here. The WiFi router is absolute junk! The signal constantly drops out. The router has to be rebooted at least once a day and sometimes multiple times in order to regain a signal. When it works, it’s great! The problem is, it fails to work more than it does!

    Customer service is an endless loop of being fobbed off. This issue has been going on for two months now. First I’m told an update didn’t install correctly, then I’m rod it’s a cache issue, then they reset the router, then it’s more updates! The excuses go on and on. I have requested a replacement or an envy - they won’t provide either. The latest response is, everything is ok from their side, so as far as they are concerned, there is no problem - even though I can’t connect to the internet! I was also told to run an Ethernet cable and use that instead!

    The company is a joke. I’d like to know why ofcom are not taking them to task, as they are in breach of contract by failing to provide the service being paid for - and seem incapable of resolving the issue.

    To cap it all, they couldn’t provide me with a copy of their complaints procedures. Only to say they have raised a complaint on my behalf! Utter and complete nonsense.

    I will not be using them again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I've never before felt compelled to write a positive review, but seeing all these negative reviews I thought I'd try to balance it out. Sure the customer service is difficult to reach (whose isn't), but the Web chat is not bad, and I have been able to get through to talk to a human when needed to. Installation was on time, had an issue with transferring the phone line over, but they did it on the next working day.
    But the speed is awesome. I got an excellent deal 500mbit for <£30 a month. Its symmetric too, so you can upload videos etc super quick! So much better than openreach! Stable line so far (two weeks).
    Very happy with it
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Vodafone router simply is bad, connected two lan cables to it from 70 Mbits/s I am now at 16 Mbits/s... simply bs. If I use one lan connection the lan connection is seeing 50 Mbtis/s, wi-fi is at 3-10 Mbits/s
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor quality customer service:

    Asked for a home move the line doesn't get moved at all. This then meant another months wait for it to go through after the move in date. This is particularly bad if you're working from home - in my case I had to delegate to a mobile internet hotspot with another provider for an extra £30. Not only that when they did the home move they force a new contract on you which means you're locked in with them again for a fresh contract length. To exit the contract you have to pay the entire cost of using the broadband for the remaining term.

    Lines are usually very busy if you want to report any issues of which they're are usually many.

    Poor quality line:

    Broadband quality is very inconsistent sometimes it just cuts off intermittently. This is not a WiFi interference issue either WiFi packets are consistently echoed back from the router.

    Sometimes the entire line goes down for a day in this situation I then have to delegate to the mobile hotspot.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am appalled at the level of disservice provided by Vodafone over the last 14 months.

    I have lost countless hours of my life on the phone, trying to resolve issues caused by Vodafone's wrongdoings.

    Here's a description of my experience trying to order Vodafone home broadband:

    I order broadband and on three separate occasions the Openreach engineer does not turn up at my house to fit the internet. Vodafone blamed Openreach and vice versa on each occasion for the incorrect communication that caused the mistake. Either way I lost three seperate days of annual leave as a result.

    Several text messages were also sent to my phone saying that an engineer was due to get sent out. Luckily I phoned Vodafone first, before booking another day off work, who informed me that these messages were incorrect.

    It took me close to four months till the internet eventually got fitted. Which was frustrating as I know that if I had went with Virgin, it could have been done within 5 working days.

    While all this was happening, I made a number of complaints over the phone and had to explain my story countless times to different people. I was passed from person to person, but nothing ever really got resolved and I felt my complaint was never taken seriously.

    I spoke with someone in a more senior position, who said to compensate me for my inconveniences he would give me a free dongle device, so I had internet in the interim. He told me it would cost me no money, but I had to sign up to it and he would credit my account so I would never pay.

    I found out this week, that Vodafone have been charging me £32 a month for the last 14 months to use this device and that the whole time I have been using that device in my flat for internet and that the £21 broadband I ordered was never fitted when the engineer came out. He simply fitted the slower and more expensive Mifi device instead - which was not what I ordered.

    I complained over the phone about this several days again and I was told that someone would phone me back after looking into my case - I received no call.

    I received a text message to my phone saying that an engineer would be visiting my flat to fit the broadband, even though I didn't schedule a time with anyone (I am at work a the time that came through on the text).

    In short, as a long-standing Vodafone customer, I find the way I have been treated disgraceful. I have been misled, miss sold to and been caused a lot of unnecessary stress.

    I have lost all faith in this company. This letter is purely for documentation purposes.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer experience ever!!! Decided to move away from virgin do to the big increase in price. Decided for Vodafone as my mobile internet works great with them and price was decent. When I called to become client they were eager to take details and of course they mentioned we will deal with everything. Called a couple of days before installing to say that virgin is not saying anything regarding a cancellation. They say they can’t cancel Virgin and i need to do it myself. I tell them that was not mentioned. They reply we will listen to the recordings and will call you back in two hours. No phone call! Call back and tell them I dont think this is starting well and I want to cancel and not proceed with the installation of broadband. Answer we cant as it is 48 hours before the installer. I tell them I wont let them in. Get transferred to a different department and get told that is fine I should give him my broadband router and that everything will get cancelled as the broadband never got installed. Month later got my first bill!!!!! Called back and after 1 hour they couldn't see in the system that the installer hadn’t installed broadband and for them it was active!!! They were going to cancel and would let me know if they could cancel the invoice!!!! Got a message this morning if I can call them!!! Worst ever avoid at all cost. At the end got an offer from Virgin and sticking with them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tamosius
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I read lots of negative feedbacks and decided to ignore them and give Vodafone a try. Wish I would of done opposite. One months waiting for the installation and then 6 weeks waiting for Vodafone to fix intermittence broadband connection. No luck. Internet dropping out all the time, talking with theirs technical department on weekly basis and now I understood that they do not know how to fix this problem. They did replaced router ones but after that speed became even slower, 7 to 14mb/s out of promised 35 mb/s. this gives me reason to cancel broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canada Water
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible experience! I was on a call for 45 minutes to set up a home broadband account and at the end they told me that they can't provide this for my flat. First they could have checked from the beginning. Second their website was saying that they do provide broadband to my address!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Simple home move specified a month before results in the Internet being cut off 2 weeks earlier than the date specified, no Internet as a software engineer who works from home completely messes everything up. As the home move comes they send an email saying the internet is being activated at my old address. I phone up apparently it's ok.

    Come move in date the line hasn't been activated at the new property so it wasn't ok. Currently being pushed around departments; 36 minutes on hold so far on my phone.

    Automated message keeps saying 'we're really busy at the moment sorry for the delay'. I'm really busy at the moment trying to do a home move and I've got mr fat fingers at Vodafone not typing the right date into the form for my home move. Why do I need to sit around waiting for people who are breathing through their mouths on a phone line when I can type into the form more accurately than them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northants
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely horrendous support and overall process when moving house, cut off early and charged for the pleasure. Unable to provide a service at new address. Poor communication over the phone, no clarification via email, so so poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    the most worthless piece of garbage i have ever come across, the connection is terrible, signal strength weaker than a prawn cracker, drops out 24/7, useless customer service departments, they do nothing to try sort out problems. i have to constantly restart the router to get the speed back up on it, only to have to do the exact same thing 5 minutes later. so basically don't even bother with them because they'll just take your money and screw you over. its so bad in fact we are actually taking out a broadband package with Virgin while still having to pay for this crap.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    It's awful service, I've spent 3 hours placing order on broadband setup. They ping-pong me from one operator to another, and now, imagine that you have a problem with the internet and it is urgent? After this i decided to use another (any another) provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Renfrewshire, Scotland
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don’t trust Vodafone + CityFibre on “gigafast” internet.

    I switched from Virgin to Cityfibre due to assurances that it’s reliable from
    trusted friends, and the promise of symmetrical upload and download speeds.

    This was a huge mistake.

    Installation was supposed to be Monday 26th September. I cancelled Virgin that day and cut the cable so the engineers didn’t need to drill another hole in the wall. Then they said there was some sort of “gap” in the cabling further up the street to the cabinet, so it couldn’t be finished. No idea what the issue was, but whatever. It took Cityfibre until yesterday, Friday 7th October, to send an engineer out to blow the cable. I was promised that it would be arranged “within the next 10 days”, which seems mean “we’ll bother to call you to arrange the visit exactly 10 days from now, then the visit will be at some point after that”. That seemed to work, and the lights on the ONT are all green.

    But the internet is STILL not connected. The Internet light on the router is flashing red indicating it cannot be authenticated at Vodafone’s end. It was doing this all day yesterday. I wasted an hour on the phone to be told “everything is done our end, it can go live any time until midnight” even though it was patently obvious it would not magically fix itself at 2 minutes to midnight.

    Quelle surprise, it doesn’t work this morning either. I have wasted another hour on the phone to Vodafone, only to be told that it is something Cityfibre need to fix, and they may need an engineer visit. But they’re shut on weekends, so I need to wait until Monday

    I have been 12 days without broadband, relying on the 4G backup dongle. I have had to waste HOURS on the phone to both Cityfibre and Vodafone to find out what’s going on. And now it will be 14 complete days without broadband, assuming they actually fix it on Monday, which is seeming increasingly unlikely. No doubt I’ll be waiting another 10 days from Monday for the Cityfibre engineers to bother looking at the appointment system and scheduling me in. I am not even convinced it’s Cityfibre’s issue here, as the connection test the guy did to the ONT yesterday worked, it’s just the Vodafone authentication that’s not working. It’s definitely not the cable or the router hardware, as I’ve tested my own router (with the correct PPPoE credentials I was provided by Vodafone) and other cables.

    I asked Vodafone to just try resetting the PPPoE credentials, as based on other forum posts, this seems to be the solution. They flat out refused and said “the problem is with Cityfibre”. This would fix the issue within minutes, but they’re unwilling to even *try*. This constant buck passing and refusal of both sides to accept any responsibility is absolutely ridiculous.

    Don’t bother upgrading to Cityfibre through Vodafone if you get a circular through your door promising fast speeds, it’s probably not going to work and they’re not going to expend any effort whatsoever trying to fix it promptly. When it does eventually connect, I’m fully not expecting to get remotely close to the advertised speeds.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appallingly bad. I've been trying to get Internet with them for over a month, but after 3 failed activation dates I give up. Utterly useless. I spent over 5hrs on the phone, each time they literally promised they'd get it working today, only to fail. Then fail again next time. And again. They also promised to ring me back twice, but never did. Plus they play the same four songs on repeat on their hold music which just adds insult to injury after 45 mins each time on hold.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Comments
    One of the worst experiences with getting broadband I have ever had. Router was delayed by 4 days, and they were unable to provide any insight as to when I could potentially expect it. I also realised that they had recorded the wrong address to deliver the router. After contacting them to correct the address over a week before the scheduled delivery day, it was still delivered to the wrong address which resulted in an additional delay. Getting through to them takes almost an hour, and once I am speaking to customer service, their connection is very bad and choppy. Terrible provider and ended up going with Hyperoptic instead
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    My family (5 members) and myself do not have internet for ONE week by the moment!!!!
    It was expected to come live on the 21/02/2018.
    This did not happen. Called vodafone on 21/02/2018 was promised that internet should come any minute. This did not happen. Chatted online with vodafone on the 22/02, spend 2-3 hours chatting, tested line and router, vodafone concluded that engineer should come and solve the problem with the external line, state that ticket is raised and the problem will be solve within 72 hours. Called vodafone on the 23/02, was told that ticket is not raised for some reason and that now they are rising ticket for sure and that problem will be addressed within 48 hours. Called vodafone on the 24/02-- the representative assured me that engineer will come in 24 hours and that he personally will be calling me to check the status of my problem. This did not happen! Called vodafone on Monday evening 26/02 and asked why engineer did not come contrary to the promisses to come soon -- the answer was that I could not be promised that somebody will come within 24 hours! It is 28/02 -- and still engineer did not call me and did not come. This is disaster -- too many lies, too many excuses, zero efficiency,
    and week without the internet -- disaster for me and my family.

    Just do not go with vodafone!!!! It is killing me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South East
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service on earth.

    My mistake for asking to switch to them.

    Vodafone's customer service reps insisted that I had set up the hub wrong and the problem wasn't anything to do with Vodafone. They continued to remind me of this. They threw me through 4 different departments "troubleshooting" the problem, asking me for photos of my sockets and turning my hub off and on repeatedly.

    I cancel with them and in doing so find out that the date on the contract they sent me and the date they have "on file" was completely different.

    Their hubs are faulty, their customer service reps struggle to communicate (they also hang up on you!), their documents and contracts are full of errors and their broadband service is nonexistent.

    Ombudsman!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful awful awful. The internet cuts out for around 2 minutes at a time on a regular basis - approximately 20-25 times per day.

    Onerous terms in the contract mean you can easily be locked in if you move house within the UK and then have to renew your contract and pay a huge fee for installation. Finally, onerous terms in the terms and conditions mean moving abroad to an area where Vodafone cannot provide service was not a move that qualified for exemption from the termination. The rate of the termination fee is extortionately high, being almost half of the cost of the monthly internet. They will do anything to extort as much unearned money from you as possible.

    Avoid at all all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    scotland
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Took over a month from my go live date to actually be able to get online. Complaints made regarding this were ignored. When I was finally able to contact someone I had to run a script on one of my devices to be able to connect. No refund, or even an apology, was offered for the month of service paid for that I didn't receive.

    Now it turns out that that script restricts what I can access online even when I'm not connected via their service - who knows what tracking cap is running too. And the page to change these restrictions - permanently down for maintenance.

    If you want to pay for an ISP but not have one. Or like to have strict controls like some 90s workplace applied to your usage, then Vodafoney are your guys. Otherwise, pay a few quid more and go with some a service operated by some at least vaguely competent grown ups.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Woking
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID. I'm 7 calls in, I have had my router sent to the wrong address despite two phone calls to get the address corrected on the system, letters, texts and emails with different addresses for the engineer visit and I'm being told that if I'm lucky an engineer will be with me 18 days after I signed up for home broadband (after an hour wait to speak to customer services). I don't even have vodaphone broadband yet and I already wish I had never gone near this company. Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Appalling service, they promised the internet service to start on the 4th of April, then due to an unknown fault they delayed it until the 13th. However we could not use Internet until several calls in the 14th. Compensation? £15 and a very arrogant manager called Robert with no manners irle customer service skills...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BOURNEMOUTH
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible. Signed up for broadband, paying the bill. Still no router and no internet. No information as to when we will receive the router we just keep getting told in a few days.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I ordered a superfast 1 service from Vodafone on 2nd March, currently I am still without service of any kind. I have had 3 connection dates, nothing happened on any, this was down to 2 order mistakes their end and 1 Open Reach problem. I have now been advised that they need to start with another new order number 4. The call centres are primarily abroad and whilst they are polite, they are obviously not necessarily effective. The router looks great, just wish it would connect to something. I have since contacted BT who have advised that there is no fibre available at my address, which presumably is the problem. If only someone at Vodafone had checked this. Personally, I am sick of all this shopping around nonsense, U switch were the ones who said that Vodafone could provide fibre, that was the first mistake. I have no advice for anyone, other than if you have a good service from someone, maybe stick with them?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gateshead
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don’t waste your time on these people, Vodafone installed my equipment on January 24th 2023 but ran into a problem no fibre. I got told they was a problem and would get solved by February 1st rang up explaining problem wasn’t resolved to be told they need extra time and wait till February 7th absolute joke. NEVER AGAIN ALL BAISED ON LIES .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Contract is for a max speed of 76: Current download speed is 2.1 and upload speed is1.2, which are regular occurrences. According to Vodafone this is"quite acceptable and there is nothing wrong with my service"
    I've asked them to explain how this can be the case, but they tell me that everything is OK and there is nothing they can do.
    Having put up with this service for abou three years there is something I can do, and have now done; I have signed up with a new supplier who I hope will give me the service that I am paying for.
    Suggest that anyone thinking about Vodafone gives them ma wide berth. They aren't interested in sorting problems, and given their atrociously bad speeds and service, take money under false pretences!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LONDON
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Where should I start...I ordered the broadband to my new address, they sent the start up package to my old address!!. Luckily I had access to the old address. I then called to get the installation date changed, which they agreed to....a couple days before the installation date I decided to call them to confirm, only to be told the date I asked for has not been requested. I decided to cancel the whole thing, they agreed to cancel and that I would have to wait 10 working days for the initial payment of £60.00 to be refunded. This all took place at the beginning of December 2018...we are now at the end of Jan 2019 and Im still awaiting my refund. Ive called countless times and spent at least 4 - 5 hours collectively on the phone, and spoke to so many people who all gave me different stories...When I did finally speak to someone who had some sense, he told me I cant get a refund until I return the package and he would send the returns envelope to me asap. 11 days have passed and still nothing. I have now contacted them for the 100th time and spoke to yet another person, who said will send the package today....From my point of view, this company has the worst customer service ever. Every person who works there does not know their arse from their elbow. Avoid them like the plague guys... If you have the same issues, I suggest you persist and let them get piece of your mind. The amount of time I have wasted has easily surpassed the £60.00 refund.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Vodafone
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible can’t wait to get away, went fir fibre as needed faster speed, that’s a joke think I’m as slow as I was with the old dialup system, funny when you use the app shows up higher speed, but terrible speed.
    When you call customer service same old story try this try that still the same sick to the back teeth with them.
    They will be gone soon!!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.