Shell Energy Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Shell Energy.

Recent Customer Ratings for Shell Energy

  • Satisfaction
    1.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    1.8 stars
  • Speed
    1.7 stars
  • Reliability
    1.6 stars

Based on 234 customer ratings since 2023-07-21 (Show all time ratings)

Find alternatives to Shell Energys to Shell Energy   Compare broadband in your area

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1,483 Customer Reviews over 38 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    So far great! OpenReach installed the fibre from the pole outside. Guy did a very neat job. I managed to connect my google nest directly to the fibre termination box. Speed is between 850 and 901. No complaints at all! Half the price of virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Possibly the worst service provider I have ever had to communicate with.

    Upgraded with Shell broadband as I couldn't access the internet with the previous shell wifi. Was told that on the 31st of May I would receive a wifi box. It is now the 8th June and I have had no correspondence or wifi boxes, despite still being charged.

    Spoke with 4 different customer service agents and had been told to wait in on numerous occasions and promised the box would arrive, still to no avail.

    It is a nightmare trying to get compensation for the days I have had no service.

    Avoid shell broadband at all cost; terrible internet and awful service. I don't think the people working at Shell even know what day of the week it is.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Merseyside
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Nightmare. I only found out that the post office internet had been sold to Shell after investigating why my Internet had started to run slow and keeps dropping out all of the time. It's been down for 5 hours again today and I am lucky that wasn't during work. Expecting to get no help again from customer services.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Spalding
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    very disappointed as we work from home they couldn't sort my problem over the phone. Was clear a problem with router, asked to send a new router to sort the problem instead they said a booster would be a better option. 8 days until receive the booster that still not sorted my problem. My only option was sign up to a new broadband that actually works with better speed and took them 1 day to come here and install everything. Shame on shell and shame I still have 10 months left to pay for internet that is weak and no need anymore. don't go for shell
  • Reviewer
    Location
    MALVERN
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    After a few weeks of phone calls my issue has been resolved, faulty cables so now fixed. I suppose these things happen. Very good customer service today.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I've had two different routers with Shell and they're the only two I've ever had in which the broadband cuts out all the time on my phone. It's fine on my laptop though. Customer service is VERY poor. They raised their prices during my contract and refused to let me leave the contract without penalty
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Changed to Shell 6m ago and have raised 2 complaints, another was raised on my behalf by customer services. May I was billed £59.80 instead of£21. I was informed the £38 over charge (which Shell didn't know why it was applied) would be refunded. It wasn't, it was applied to my account as a credit. June, I get call from Shell saying I'm wrong and the £ has gone back to my account AND it's £16 in credit as of today. Shell said I'd had a gesture of goodwill for £30 put on my account too (this was news to me)BUT, here's the clincher, only on paper, it wasn't actually applied.... So, £38 - £21(june charge) = £16 in credit on my acc. If they'd applied the GoG £30 my account would be £46 in credit. However I'm told by the guy on the phone I'm understanding what he's JUST said on the phone. Absolutely sick of it, terrible connection that keeps going off, on my 2nd router.... Going to be finding a new providr. I would advise anyone to avoid Shell.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    wakefield
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely despicable penny pinching company with no morals or customer commitment. PLEASE AVOID AT ALL COSTS. They have the advertising money to bury these comments away from new custermers because if they knew they wouldnt look twice at this company. please dont be fooled by offers and discounts they are only there to reel you in . once you are in then they have you and will drain as much money as they can legally get from you. please please AVOID ,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brentwood
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I ordered broadband on Tuesday. I got a email to say about the line that outreach need to sort the line. So I phoned on the Wednesday on phone for 40 minutes before anyone answered, I wasn't happy about that. So I phoned again on Thursday to find out more. They answered quick but they couldn't understand anything I was saying and said the line is bad I heard them perfectly well. Then they put me over to another department and they couldn't understand what I was saying at all. So we hung up he phoned me back and eventually the phone went dead. So I will phone again and cancel it. I was absolutely digusted with the service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tadley
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’d give no stars if I could. My landline doesn’t work frequently for days at a time. Currently, I’ve been without a phone for 4 days and no sign of Openreach. I’m supposed to be a priority customer but I can’t even dial 999 in an emergency. They know I’m disabled, vulnerable and don’t use a mobile phone. This is NOT an isolated incident and has happened at least 3-4 times. Broadband is very slow, often dips out and is non existent when there is a fault on the line. Staff are incompetent. Nothing gets resolved. Compensation is not given. Attitude is mañana mañana. Avoid this company like the plague. Shell Energy is a disgrace.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor router, keeps dropping Wi-Fi connections.
    Stay away not worth even if given free, sadly.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gaskell
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    His can you justify a 2 day wait to get my dads phone line back working when he relies on a care line package due to his frail health conditions
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I changed to Shell Broadband tempted by the lower price after my supplier tried to put my price up significantly. I should have done more research.
    The Shell broadband worked for the first day and was ok. Speed wasn’t great but there are always teething problems. After that it stopped working. I was told there was a fault in the line and BT Openreach would be in touch to sort it out. My lines and sockets are new. Fitted by openreach two years ago. It looks like I’ll be without broadband for at least a week. The customer service lady was pleasant and professional but essentially did nothing.
    Give these guys a miss and go with someone reliable. I wish I had stayed with Now. Never had any problems with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Utter nonsense. I was tempted in by low prices, but dont be fooled, those prices will be jacked up within a month or two. In combination with a truly terrible intenet service, was promised 70mbps downloads in truth its about 4 or 5mbps, which is a tiny fraction of advertised, and a wifi signal that drops out hourly for random amounts of time, it really is an utter waste of money. was previouslt with sky at same address, never had these issues.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    west midlands
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I pay for 38m currently receiving below 5m.I have regular problems with speed.
    I have given up trying to contact shell.Do not waste waste your time and money. Would you consider the reason shell broadband are allowed to provide such a shoddy service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dog ****! I have never had a network with such weak strength and a high frequency to stop working all together! Not only that but the contract has no way to back out of their piece of crap package,

    The people who developed this should be ashamed of themselves, you are a group of scammer scum and I hope you all rot
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I phoned Shell a month ago about connectivity issues and they suggested I reboot the router. When that didn’t work, they told me that if I requested an engineer to come out, if I couldn’t prove there had been a drop in my WiFi while they were there I would have to pay £73. This is absolutely disgraceful as I have never had a missed payment but would be on the hook to pay for their engineer. I don’t even understand how they could justify that with their record breaking profits.
    I continue to be handed around from department to department with no one able to assist. It will cost me £200 to get out of my contract and this is an absolute disgrace. My internet continues to drop in and out which affects my ability to work.
    Avoid this company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Currys PC World sold me Shell's broadband package on 29/04/23.
    I had a confirmation email from Shell that my Internet service will go live on 17/05/23. They sent me the router on 13/05/23 but they didn't send the optical network terminal (ONT) neither booked an engineer to set up the router.
    I've contacted their customer service on 15/05/23 (23mins) call to inform them that they still need to send the ONT and booked an engineer. The staff I've spoken to guarantee me that somebody will ring for this matter.... nobody rang.
    On 17/05/23 I rang 5 times to their customer service, I've been transferred from different department each time I rang and ended up spending in total 2hrs 29mins on the phone repeatedly explaining that I had no service because they missed to send the ONT and engineer to set up the service. Later that day, they sent me an estimated bill of £51.00 to pay by direct debit.
    On 18/05/23 I rang again several times without any information to when they expect to send the engineer or why they didn't send it in the first place. After being so tired of repeating myself, I decided to cancel their non existing service at 11:51 on the same date for the sake of my time and sanity.
    On 22/05/23 I had a call from their loyalty department (I think) asking me if I was enjoying the service. On the same date I received an email from support+id19147458@serl.zendesk.comcancellation with the below information:
    "As you’re ending your contract within your minimum period, you’ll receive an early termination charge. We estimate this to be £321.92 and will be included in your final bill"

    RUN AWAY FROM SHELL BROADBAND. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A NIGHTMARE AND DISENGAGED.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    expensive, poor connection, poor customer service, expensive termination of contract, unreliable - very much not recommended
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would not have given a star, not very good company do not care about their loyal customers only the money they can get even though you contact them about being in hospital for 4 weeks they still want to charge you for services you do not get to use
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales UK
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shell bought out the Post Office broadband in 2021 and my contract was automatically transferred to Shell. I’d been with the PO for over a decade and they were brilliant. Shell steal their market and within a few months the speed deteriorated. Over the last two months, it has has dropped to below 1Mbps. I work from home and this is simply not acceptable. I complained and they sent me a new router which made no difference. An IT expert told me that there must be a fault on the line was my speed was so bad. Shell denied this and said that I was not entitled to super fibre because I was on a ‘basic copper wire contract’ and wasn't entitled to anything over 1MBPS. This is absolute rubbish. My contract is for superfibre. The replies to complaints are the usual meaningless drivel about how they value your feedback blah blah. Laughable. They now want me to pay extra to get the speeds that I'm legally obliged to under the contract. I have told them to shove it and am switching. Disgusting. A greedy exploitative company. What do you expect? It’s all part of the Great Rip -Off by the corporatocracy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    manchester
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    utterly trash. frequent signal outages. over half the time, the signal will be gone entirely, flick back on for a few seconds, then be gone for a good 10-20 seconds. the speed isn't remotely close to what it was advertised and, using speedtest-cli, i lost over 80% of my packets. would not recommend, ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Morpeth
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Been a customer 1week
    Phone doesn’t work
    Broadband doesn’t work
    Communication awful
    Engineer didn’t turn up
    Wish I could give a minus rating
  • Reviewer
    Location
    n77RR
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    appalling service - internet goes down every few days. No help online or telephone whatsoever. Please avoid
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    When I joined shell broadband there was a deal that you get 3 months WiFi free charge and after the 3 months I was too receive a £100 amazon gift card called shell broadband up and now there trying to say it takes upto 120 before anyone will get it I feel its a scam in a way just to get customer's too join up as i see it's a false advertising just so you join there broadband and there not interested in helping you I called them today asking where my £100 amazon gift card after nearly 5 months with them wasn't helpful wouldn't listen to me cut me off all the time wouldn't let me talk broadband has cut off that many times when watching a film on Netflix not the best broadband read the small print before signing up with them they can lie about your contract and put the phone down on me today because I said I was going to ofcom and the customer service told me too do what I want she didn't care about me i think they customer services agents she get sent for training on there manners when dealing with customers I was shocked by they way I was treated can't really understand the customers services
  • Reviewer
    Location
    westhoughton
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do yourself a favour DON'T USE THEM FOR YOUR BROADBAND , Its slow when it works and you are forever offline its hit or miss when broadband is up and running, its always down nearly every week and their customer service is shocking STAY WELL CLEAR
  • Reviewer
    Location
    northolt
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    This Company is big Scam very poor customer service . They promise and later they said they dont know nothing . I trying to do this from currhs They are not installed in 2 month time and again they want more time to fix. They dont want to cancel contract and charging early termination fee without connecting internet .
    Pls avoid this company .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ainsdale
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had shell energy broadband installed in January 2023 it didn't work for the first month 2 engineers came out and finally found the problem ( router fault) so they swapped it with a new unit .so had no problems till yesterday when I found they had charged me £95 to repair there faulty equipment!!! You couldn't make it up after a 30 minute phone call getting passed from one advisor to the next ( 4 in all ) they agreed to refund the charges because it was there faulty equipment but this will take 30 days. Stay away from this terrible company you have been warned.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is horrific. Made it difficult to cancel. Unresponsive to messages, except for when it might be of benefit to them to respond. Far better suppliers available out there.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portrush
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Couldn’t even provide service -failed. 3 promised dates yet have yet to see service provided. I sat in 10 days for engineer - no dates ever given . If I could give zero stars⭐️I would. They offer £100 to spend in Shell Service Station yet have not computed that there are none in Northern Ireland. They sold off their garages here. Go figure!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancs
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was transferred to Shell from another provider under contract.
    I was with them for over 9 months,I have just left.
    Poor customer service,things spoken over the phone are not recorded properly.People you speak with don't always seem very knowledgeable,or particularly friendly.
    Massive price hike during contract.
    Poor connection speed especially at weekends,although I contracted for a super fast.
    Upon leaving threaten with extra fee charge if equipment is not returned when it wasn't even supplied by them.There is no need for this when it is just bined anyway,just another way to make money out of people.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had to cancel due to the rising cost of living they have charged me £265 on top of my monthly payment l have refused to pay l am almost 70 years old in very poor health l don't eat most of the time as it's too expensive l need a power wheelchair due to serious walking and balance issues l can't even afford that...they didn't tell me about the social tariffs l am entitled to...don't ever take broadband out with shell or you will get treated the same the company is rubbish and very ignorant they don't answer your complaints it's disgusting harassing pensioners they have got a debt collector to harass me
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's off more times than on. Hours at a time. I need broadband on for the smart services at my home as well as work. Looking into a new provider ASAP. Very disheartening. Really bad broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bridgwater
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely diabolical. Never have I ever had such hassle setting up a service. Shell are undoubtedly the worst Broadband provider the planet has to offer. The router arrived over a week late, The service which I was informed was live didnt even work when the router did arrive. Upon trying to close my contract before the first bill even came through, they're attempting to charge me the closing fee of £308 despite the fact that I havent even been able to use the service through no fault of my own. Truly despicable, absolutely useless. If you have the option between Shell and no broadband, youd be better off with no internet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Braintree
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    Shocking company avoid like the plauge 5 weeks internet still not connected everyone else to blame apart from themselves.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ne158pl
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shell says you have 28 days to change your mind, when you ring up to cancell ur broadband the say the will charge you £247 fees unless you give them 30 days to try and fix your problems, they are a load of bull, don't do it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wesham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really poor speed, intermittent and unreliable. Switched to Virgin and 6 months on its great. She’ll never sent me a bag to return router and despite my emails they charged me for not returning router.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Complete disgrace. After offering you 6 months 'free' broadband, they then decide to charge you and threaten to ruin your credit rating if you dont pay up. Terrible way to treat your now ex loyal energy customers. Of course I will now be switching energy companies. The bunch of scammers wont get anything from me for the 'free' broadband. They then called me yesterday and didnt even answer the phone for some random reason. Passive aggressive behaviour. i contacted Ofgem and asked for a deadlock letter from Shell. Don't let these people push you around.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    disgusting company, with them for 12 months, returned router but they decided I hadn't and passed my name now I have bad crdfit rating, I won't be buying anything Shell in the future!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tadley
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I dealt with Buckie in customer service , she was excellent in putting my complaint forward, and had really good customer service skills, and sorted everything out for me, including a £80 refund, I would definitely say this is the best result I’ve ever had. And would recommend SHELL BROADBAND .

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Shell Energy are not affiliated with Broadband.co.uk. This page does not constitute any affiliation between Broadband.co.uk and Shell Energy.