Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.7 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.4 stars

Based on 1943 customer ratings since 2021-07-02 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,571 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was lied to when taking out my product and would not have signed up had I known. Resulting in bills much higher than quoted when selling. However by the time you get the bill you are outside the leaving stage and are stuck with them. Also very hard to try and get an actual breakdown of your bill - this should NOT be difficult to find PlusNet! Appalling customer service if they EVER answer the phone. Website pages are also unavailable - I have currently been trying to pay my bill for 2 days as they NEVER answer the phone and the webpage to do this is unavailable. Learn from my mistake and do not join Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Ok until something goes wrong! Their routers often don't last as long as their contracts. I have been through four. My option to get a new router was to sign up for another 18 mos. or pay £99. I had been a long term customer, but that doesn't seem to count for anything. 1/2 hour wait for customer services seems normal.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I cannot believe that I changed from BT to Plusnet!
    Do not believe any of the things they say on their website about how good their service is. I have joined Plusnet back in November 2021, since day one we have had problems. Everyday we would lose internet for about 15 minutes up to 5 times a day (mostly during working hours). We have asked a few times to fix it, each time they either said oh let us update your router, or sent an engineer. After the problem not being resolved I asked them to cancel my contract and eliminate the termination fee, however they are refusing to do so. they say each time you have reported a problem, we look at it as a new fault and we have 30 days to fix it, but each case is only open for 14 days, meaning if on the 15th day we have the same problem again, they oncemore have 30 days to fix the problem. This is company is a joke. I don’t even know why they are allowed to still run their business. Today they were supposed to send an engineer again. I took a day of and only after the time that the engineer was supposed to be here they called to say he can’t come! STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I moved from SKY (previously O2) to PlusNet on 7 March 2016 as wanted a phone/broadband package & Money Supermarket suggested a good deal.
    What a mistake!
    The 1st Router they said was duff (3 days internet connection down & lots of hours on phone to 2 teccies before replacement router arrived). After a few days, connection failed. Hours and hours yet again spent hanging on for up to 30 mins for phone to answer and teccy trying to sort problem in vain. Said replacement Router must be faulty, so they sent me a 3rd Router & guess what - after a few days broadband connection failed. Emailed CEO who passed to Customer Relations guy LL whom he'd "charged with sorting this out once and for all". LL twiddled remotely & said problem now permanently fixed. OH NO, connection failed again on 31 March and again today, 3 April (both sorted by me with paperclip reset).
    LL keeps office hours so no-one to contact evenings or Sundays.
    I may not like Murdoch, but at least Sky (and O2 before it) never once gave me a broadband problem.
    I need broadband access for my work 24 hours a day and here am I, less than one month after moving to PlusNet and 3 Routers later, still without a dependable service.
    Caveat emptor!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    An abomination since their takeover by BT. Got a problem? You can't contact them on-line because the facility is perpetually down; & so they tell you to phone, while keeping you on call-waiting for an hour. This is supposed to be a broadband & telephony provider. Disgraceful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Abandon hope all you who enter here. Do not be deceived by the cheerful north-of-england vibe. The "Customer Service" I experienced was endless waiting on telephones, unanswered messages on their help system and (kind and apologetic) people in far flung places running through scripts that they and I knew had nothing to do with the problems I was experiencing. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved phone & broadband on 7 March '16. 1st router duff. 2nd router required 3 calls for tech support to try to reset & finally said I needed yet a 3rd router!! Just set 3rd router up but had to use their 192 etc address on Safari to get a connection. As have had to do this before with 2 previous routers, not convinced will solve problem.
    Also gobsmacked to learn after moving that PlusNet is not accessible on Firefox so can't get a connection on my Dell. Also that their support website cannot be downloaded to a Mac.

    Having trusted the Martin Lewis site which recommended PlusNet, I made a very big mistake.
    Buyer beware!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely awful, was a customer for 3 years, 18 month contract,plusnet promised to reduce my monthly d/d. Never did, Continuous drop out losing signal.ment to be optic fibre, when complaining asked to buy another modem, which I did, the same problem, I payed well over what I should of done, again when complained , plusnet had no records suggesting of conversation after 18 months contract was up, still paying the same how convenient.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely poor service, I was meant to recieve my internet 1 week ago and they still haven't came, infact they cancelled it twice and still hasn't given me a date. Poor customer service and reliability. I would ask for my money back and cancel my contract but they have already took my deposit, plusnet is a professional bunch of thieves.

    Warning to everyone!!! Don't choose plus net!!! Pay the extra money and go with someone better!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Dont do it!

    My family and I have had real problems with plusnet in the past. So so lucky if you can get through to customer service within 30 mins. Do not look after customers once they have you in their hands. Just paying more than we should after year massive problems and two teenagers doing final exams with poor internet. Finally came out and checked system. Only decided we need fibre which has proved most expensive. Emails often not arriving at destinations.

    Phone service - ouch. Suggested we had new phone number because of unwanted calls. Took advice to find they had given BT number which previously belonged to someone else but never told us this. We now have more unwanted calls than ever. Tried paying for these to stop with additional £4.00 month but this did not work. No apology from Plusnet blamed BT!!

    Under no circumstances will I stay when the present year expires. Poor customer service and they do not look after existing customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Once is enough.

    I initially had problems with the broadband cutting out all the time. So it meant video calls in Skype would drop and I'd be logged off 5 min at a time. Plusnet technicians tried to blame me and my equipment, however I am an engineer, know what I'm doing, and swapped out everything with a spare - including the router and it made no difference. Eventually I moved house and got angry with them because my speed also dropped to around 1 to 1.5 mB, had plenty of droppouts and were still blaming me. Suddenly after a lengthy and angry exchange I went back up to around 6mB download with me not changing anything on my end and had far less dropouts.

    This company are at it, they're a bunch of little liars not able to tell you the real reason why there is such instability and low quality of broadband - they keep piling customers onto the same nodes.

    I CANNOT WAIT to get rid of plusnet and I'll go with anyone, even if it's more expensive, as long as it's not plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The People at Plusnet custermer service offered a very prompt and friendly service, when dealing with my complaint they looked into my problem in a very quick and friendly manner and they where really good at talking me through how to fix my problem, they also stayed with me on the phone and where very patient. Much appreciated⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️! However, Sometimes your broadband speeds can be a bit slow sometimes. But, hey these guys things happen!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Helplines always busy, 15-30mins or more. The staff are always protecting their own backs. The accounts dept are useless. They are still better than some.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambrisgeshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Was with PlusNet for years. When I moved house I transferred and that's where the issues started.

    I was getting drop-outs a few times a day - the router was connected but there was no Internet connection. I went round the houses many times with support, being told there wasn't an issue. Even had an engineer out who found nothing.

    Eventually I'd had enough and asked to move with no exit penalty. PlusNet agreed but stated that the issue would likely remain with new provider.

    I moved to Sky and guess what, the issue is completely gone. Faultless broadband for 3 month. No more lock ups.

    It doesn't end there though. I had a domain registered with PlusNet that I ran my e-mail through. I arranged (and checked twice with different operators) that I could keep the domain and e-mail and be charged a couple of pounds a month. All was well for a couple of days after moving BB, but then got an e-mail from PlusNet saying my e-mail would be shut in 2 hours. On talking to them, they knew nothing about the arrangement I had made and could do nothing about it.

    So, I lost my domain and my e-mail. Took ages transferring everything over to a new e-mail provider. Still don't know if I have caught everything.

    Utter rubbish. Don't do it!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambs
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They used to be great!!!. What happened!!! 30 min call wait re broadband problem. Sent a link which I couldn't open. Finally got the link after 2 days wait and it was useless as I couldn't access the info as explained on a utube site. What do I do now ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambs.
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Increasingly unimpressed by Plusnet. Download speed round 6 MB/s. Upload, 0.5MB/s.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Camden town
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst broadband ever,when I got the broadband they said the speed willbe between 10-17mb but I'm getting 2-4 mb.when you call them about this they don't responde to you,after a hard try if you get in touch with them still you don't get your problem solved.I'm using this broadband for 3 months and honestly,I called them 9 times for slow connection or dropping connection.I can't even cancel this broadband because I've to pay £60 for fee.Plesse those of who just about to join this broadband,I personally,request you guys do not join this crap broadband,if you do then your gonna have to face the issues that you never thought of.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    camden town
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worse broadband connection ever, when I first joined plusnet,I was told that I'll get upto 10-17 mb but I got 9mb. After about 2 weeks later the connection slowly started to get slower and it came upto 3-4mb.I called them and the connection got better but not for longer.I've got the same issue for several times.Now again I got the same issue. I've called the customer service and they said it will be fixed withing 3 days but now it's a week, there's nothing has happened. I called them again and now they are saying it will take more two weeks or even more than that to fix the issue. Not just that the connection will drop after few minutes of connecting to the internet. You'll only be able to use one device if you use any more than that believe or not you'll not gonna be able to use it at all. I am trying to cancel the contract but they are saying I'll be charged for this if I do so, honestly this will be the last time I am with plusnet, wish if I've searched more about them before actually joining them. This is worse mistake of my life.
    They do not care about the customers at all, when you call them you'll be on hold for at least half an hour and then someone will pick up the call but you'll not gonna be able to fix your issue. If you start any issue that's it you live with the issue. As I mentioned before, after joinging them I had speed issue and as well as connection dropping issue but I am living with these issue. They might fix the issue but this will not last for long time. I'll request everyone who is planning to join plusnet do not jump before you actually know about them more, it may be hard to believe me but you'll find lots of other people who is discussing about the same issue. Go to youtube.com and you'll find out the hidden facts about THE plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    camden town
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Plusnet is the worse broadband service provider that you will ever come across. The customer service is so worse, I've contacted them since 20/12/15 to 15/1/16, to get my fault fixed. I had issue with the telephone line which was making my speed slow and get the connection dropped every time. Now because the issue is on the broadband and also the telephone line, I was told to get refund soon after the issue is fixed. The issue is fixed now and they are lying about the telephone line issue.So they're offering me refund for full month of broadband and not for the linerental. There's many other things that plusnet does to its customers which you will not face it until you join them, let just say one of them.If you have any fault on your line it will take atleast two months to fix it and when you contact the customer service they will keep on give you the wrong information just to get rid of you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Cracking service, had some teething faults but plusnet kept us well informed and sorted the problems asap.
    Broadband speed is good, the main positive for us is reliability - it never drops out and never slows down
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I switched from Sky due to a price increase with no notification. I subsequently got told by Sky they would have cancelled the increase to keep me. I joined Plusnet, We'll do you proud?. From day one the phone worked, day 2 I got internet but it dropped out constantly. Customer service did not know what to do and I spent 15 minutes at a time getting know where.I canceled and still got nothing then received 2 threat emails of handing my debt over to a debt collection agency via email.To use the service only one device can be used otherwise it freezes or is slower than dial up. I am frequently useing my own data to tether the family which is far faster and more reliable. Do yourself a favour and do not join Plusnet as you will regret it.There is nothing more to say.Dont do it.Sky was a superior service from day one,no need to call customer service etc just a strong reliable service for 2 years. I am now going through a dispute with Plusnet via Ofcom and making a complaint to the Advertising Standards Authority for their misleading advertising. They duped me plain and simple.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    As a long serving Plusnet customer. I am suffering rolling service black outs every night at an ever increasing rate. After months of this Plusnet customer service did not want to know. I filed a complaint and I got a copy and paste scripted automated reply.

    I wrote to the CEO of the company who did not reply but passed me onto another drone who has been worse than useless and continues to play games as to get me to go away, live with it or give up.

    They are simply playing a game of attrition with me.

    My internet speed is ever decreasing. I had an issue with there speed a few years back it was running as low as 1mb at key times of the day.

    Due to these rolling blackouts I cannot take the risk of working from home and have to commute long distances just so I can perform my job.Costing me a lot more money.

    After years of dealing with Plusnet you learn to live with inferior service and low expectations.

    Over the years they have been rude, unhelpful and uncaring. The last time I was having rolling blackouts they would not do anything because they had a rate of something like 20 per month and I had 19.

    My whole Plusnet experience has been a dog fight. Ever increasing prices and decreasing service.

    You will not get any help from them. They hide behind there bureaucratic, cold, robotic anti people processes

    After having many internet service providers I've got to say Plusnet is by far the worst
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Cancelled my account in September but still taking payments, I have phoned up about this and was told it would be stopped, it has not, I have tried to phone them but it's 25 mins wait at premium payment. I just cannot afford that type of phone call. I have tried email and that does nothing, where do I go from here, ????
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock Staffs
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    ATTENTION !!!!!

    Ok good I got your attention, you don't know me but I am going to save you money and more importantly ' time and trouble'. Plusnet need to change their name to ' Lonestar ' or maybe ' Minusnet ' cos that's all they get on any review forum, no point in me whining on with my story of woe so I'll cut to the chase and it's this, here are the six true key points you need to know despite what the sales guy will tell you on the phone .......

    1. They are NOT part of BT, they have no more influence or leverage over BT Openreach in resolving speed or line issues than any other ISP provider.
    2. There IS and WILL be a charge if you wish to leave Plusnet when you discover they are just a bunch of spoon whittlers, I have 6 mths to go on a 18 mth contract and they want £95.00.
    3. There IS and HAS been for the last 12 mths at least a 30-45 min wait if you need to phone them no matter what time of day you phone.
    4. There is a better than evens chance that the engineer will not show on the day you were told by Plusnet. ( not BT's fault ).
    5. The advertised speeds mean NOTHING, whether it's fibre OR superfast, it all depends on what comes out of BT's street corner green boxes and what goes underground, ask your neighbours if you want a true reflection of what your speed will be.
    6. The router a Technicolour TG582N that Plusnet send you is old technology and is past it's sell by date, it barely achieves advertised fibre speeds, has just 3x 10/100 usable Ethernet ports, has no USB ports to network drives or printers, has basic router settings and is just plain uggly fuggly !

    So, I know what you're thinking. " Should I sign up to Plusnet?" Well to tell you the truth in all the excitement of writing this review I kinda lost track of just how bad Plusnet really are. But seeing as how we live in the 21st century and not the 18th and other providers can give you a service that would blow your head clean off, you've gotta ask yourself one question: "Do I feel lucky?" ........ Well, do ya ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I've been with PlusNet for nearly two years and am about to cancel. Initially service was good and access to telephone support was generally prompt. Just recently I've been getting repeated issues with emails being rejected by PlusNet portal (i.e. the emails don't ever get sent - they're not rejected by the recipient mail server). Trying to contact telephone support has become more and more tedious - long waits for their call centre to respond and, thus far, no resolution.

    I have two accounts with PlusNet, both of which are business accounts - and one of the reasons for paying more for business accounts was to get better service ... which no longer seems to be the case.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I was told to expect minimum broadband speed of 32 Mbit with fibre, possible even 40 Mbit. What I got, after signing up, was 11 Mbit, not only that it has always been erratic and constantly running even slower or losing contact altogether. A few weeks ago we lost internet access for over three hours. E mails to complain remain unanswered and ignored, phone to complain and there is always as 45 minute queue so I have never been able to speak to anyone. The final straw today is that I have been locked out of my plusnet email account. I can't wait for my contract to expire so I can go elsewhere. Total rubbish service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been without broadband for a month. It normally takes about 14-40 minutes to get through to their award winning service. When I get through the advisors keep placing orders with BT. They have done this 4 times now. Each time they say the service will be activated in about a week, but it has not been.

    Clearly dopey people work there as why keep placing an order with BT if you know it does not get you anyway... trying calling them to explain there might be a problem? Just a thought.

    Advisors promise to call and and don't. They fabricate notes on the system and say they tried to call back when they did not.

    If I could give no stars I would.

    They estimated 8.5-16mb on my line. I barely got 4mb. The phone line has a hum which they can't seem to fix.

    Total nightmare experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I have had the worst experience with Plusnet please stay away from them and whatever you do do not make the initial payment because if you change your mind within the 14 day cooling off period they give you inaccurate information as to when you will receive a refund. First it’s within 7 days then when you don’t receive it and contact them they say it’s 48 hours and then when that does not happen you contact them again and get told they are sending a cheque within 14 days. WTF ridiculous.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We used Plusnet in our student house for two years. Be wary, we got a good deal to start but after 18 months the price rocketed. The speed was generally okay but unreliable and often dropped out several times a day.
    The worst aspect was the service at cancellation. I was the account holder so the £34.98 total was taken from me every month. I called and cancelled the contract in June, paying the extortionate £30 cancellation fee on top of our final bill. The account was supposedly closed, but come July the monthly bill was taken from my account again. I called several times over the space of two weeks to rectify the issue and it took almost the entire month for the company to refund me.
    Come August, the did it again. Once again I had to call and call, and finally sort a refund. That took 10 working days to get to me.
    I was and still am shocked and appalled that the company billed me not once but twice after I had cancelled. Incredibly frustrating and the service from the team dealing with my issue was basically dreadful.
    I would avoid plusnet, it turned out to be one big con.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Complete insanity and shocking incompetency.

    Received an email out of the blue saying I’ve been charged £197 for up an front advanced payment for line rental yet I had done no such thing. (This came at a time when I was about to move house why would I pay line rental for 12 months up front? I also had no contact with plusnet for months before this incident so it’s not like they could even have misunderstood another product that I was ordering.) When I called to ask what was going on I was passed around 4 different departments each with a 25-30 minute hold between all of them. Every person I spoke to had a new story from saying I must have agreed to this payment, to saying I had probably agreed to auto-renewal of an existing policy (became obvious this wasn’t the case when they checked the dates of my existing policy). Eventually I came to someone who just asked if I would like to cancel the policy I have taken out, at which point I said I need to talk to someone higher up the chain. At which point Team Leader came on the phone after another 10 minutes on hold.

    When I tried to explain everything he took issue with me using the word “incompetent” (bear in mind when I first called the operator simply hung up on me) Eventually he said he would pass it onto the billing department to find out what had happened and haven’t heard from them since. Well INCOMPETENT is the only word that could describe plusnet and if you think differently you must have such low standards of customer service that it actually begins to explain what’s been going on over there.

    After three and a half hours on the phone to them I’m not any closer to understanding if I’m going to be charged £197 for a policy I didn’t take out or not. I’m dreading calling them again just to find out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    To those who won't read this whole review, avoid like the plague!!!

    To those who do want to read it, and I advise you do to realise why I say this, I shall begin.

    I signed up for Plusnet Broadband on 2nd September 2015 after being reassured by a jolly sounding Yorkshire fellow that I will have my broadband installed within 10 days. Brilliant I thought, £2.50 per month (plus line rental) and I will be sorted. Obviously I am writing this today (29th September 2015), with no internet and not a single solitary toss given by the customer service team.

    On 6th September I received a badly written text message informing me that there was a cease placed on the line, to which I realised that there was an existing Sky phone line on the property which I just moved into. I then had to wait until 16th September for that to be released. Besides taking 4 days to even bother with my order, this can be put down to Sky however.

    Okay, I thought, I should be in business from that date. I spoke to a female from customer service (after waiting 40 minutes to get through), who assured me that the phone line will be installed within 24 hours and that my internet will also run. This was explicitly stated when I asked to confirm (Plusnet, check your recorded calls if you don't believe me!). I then hung up the call feeling vaguely satisfied. However, I immediately received a text message stating:

    "As per our conversation, when the cease has completed on your landline on 16/09/2015 we will restart this it will take 24 working hours. Once complete we will then place your broadband order which will take a further 4 working days to complete. As discussed, you will not be charged the reconnection fee for this".

    To make matters worse, the company also revealed that I will have to pay an extra fee to have the line fitted. This was later deleted in this conversation.

    The broadband order was then confirmed to begin on 17th September, with my home phone number then arriving the next day.

    On 25th, after inquiring and waiting over 45 minutes to get through to the customer service team, they finally admitted there was a problem with the order. No real problem was ever defined and I had several more phone calls after being promised date after date, with still no service to this day.

    At this current point, they now promise a review on 1st October 2015, with no guarantee it will be sorted. This is despite receiving an email informing me that my service is active.

    I will most likely cancel my order, and post this review as far across the internet as possible to make sure that you, a potential customer, do not fall for the terrible service provided by these amateurs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If it was at all possible to give negative stars, I would give Plusnet minus 5 stars. The broadband is not only slow but redefines the word, frustrating. I am not exaggerating when I say that I cannot leave my room without the internet cutting off and needing to be reset and connected to about 10 times. Yes they're cheap but that is the only redeeming quality. Don't bother using Plusnet. You'll have a more pleasant experience repeatedly slamming your fingers in a door.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I have been a customer for just a few weeks and chose PlusNet for its alleged good customer service and award. The reality set in almost immediately when fibre optic broadband was said to be 32Mbs plus turned out to be 10-11 Mbs and actually not much better in practice than my previous 1 Mbs service from EE. A great disappointment. Loses connection regularly, long delays accessing sites and often get errors messages saying site not available (etc). Took 3 minutes this morning just to go to Google. email service indifferent and difficult to access. All attempts to get in touch with PlusNet customer support fail to get a response in answer to my complaint and when I try to phone there is always a 30 minute delay (and when I once stayed on line gave up after an hour without a response). Too late now to cancel but I won't renew when the contract is up. PlusNet? MinusNet would be a better name
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canvey island essex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Customer service extremely slow took me over 50 minutes to get through heard a lot of rubbish music to keep me amused!! The router came quickly but I was not told that I needed to phone and activate so when my old supplier finished I have been left approximately 7 days without anything. I explained a difficult situation regarding someone with learning difficulties that requires the internet however the slow workings of plusnet could not accommodate or move any faster, difficult when someone relies on something they have limited understanding of. I was going to have plusnet in my own home at the end of my contract with BT however have had to have second thoughts about this, so would not recommend this company to anyone, please take note go elsewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The connection is interrupted
    Very busy customers services, did not book the engineer appointment only after a week, so the appointment got delayed until after the new year, so 3 weeks without internet
    Dr Ashrf
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely rubbish keeps cutting out everyday only have 2 devices using at any one time. Most unreliable internet I have ever had suppose you get what you pay for which is rubbish service. Gives you a voucher for £60 which was in March 2020 and you still can’t spend it have tried always. If you want worst provider for internet Plusnet beats them all can’t wait till I’m out of this contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I've been with Plusnet for 3 years now. The first 2 year's were superb. But last year I had a problem with one direct debit payment & Plusnet cut off my bband within 24hrs.
    When they eventually put it back on, 6 days later, it wasn't the same!
    From that moment on it dropped daily. Signal strength was a joke!!
    Back then when I phoned to complain my call would be answered within 4 minutes by a polite human - nowadays it can take upto 25 minutes before they answer, whatever the time of day. That's if they don't cut you off before they answer or if I'm complaining, they'll now cut me off mid sentence! So infuriating!!!
    This has happened three times this week alone. They're queue free complaints line is a complete joke - I've never got a response from it??
    I've also got a mobile SIM only deal with them. They're supposed to advise you of the best deal for your usage...I rarely use a mobile but it's essential for when I'm riding my motorbike, incase I breakdown. I was inundated with emails offering me 'Mates Rates' all costing more than my then deal - even though I'd not used it once in that month...they should have offered me a less costly deal - but they never ever did, because that would make them less money!
    So I had to do it myself.
    Yesterday, was the final straw!!
    After waiting 40 minutes for my call to be answered, a stuttering buffoon asked me my details - no, good morning sir, how are you today...instead I was greeted with a yawn. After lowering my SIM only deal myself, things went from bad to worse. They kept on taking the old DD from my bank account aswell as the new lower one. When I complained & said I want my money back, that you've stolen(I don't mince my words) Their response was, we'll credit your account - unacceptable, I said!! I want my coin back not credit! We can't do that they said - I replied, nonsense! If you credit my account that means I'll have to stay with you for another 2 months, I said & I want to leave before then!! The line went dead, they'd cut me off again - I felt I was getting nowhere. So I called back later that evening, they offered me two identical options, just worded differently & neither put money back into my bank account! The person I was speaking to kept saying, please hold the line for two mins while I speak to my advisor...5+ mins later he'd return, no apology & with no answer to my query??
    This continued for twenty more minutes - I put the phone down this time, as I knew it was hopeless going any further.
    Offcom, here I come.
    PLUSNETS strap-line is,(We'll Do You Proud) Well, that now needs drastic changing! Because they won't & don't anymore - my advice is shop elsewhere. Sky was no better mind! The bigger these companies become the worse they treat us -
    SHAME ON YOU PLUSNET!
    (deep sigh)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined Plusnet and then changed my mind about half an hour later. I called and cancelled and they said that was fine. Three days later, they took £80 out of my account and made me overdrawn, which will now incur charges. I have tried calling them and tweeting them, but they are refusing to give me my money back. Avoid these crooks at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Ordered on 06th November. Money taken from account , but no transfer , no update, chat line closed, no email contact possible. Not very good start.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cardiff
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ive been with plusnet for7 years , They used to be an excellent company until bt bought them out , Bt do this all the time , Buy a company then drive it in to the ground so that customer return to bt and the bt brand . I have had no email for three weeks , despite promiss to fix it and hours on the phone nithing has been done , DO NOT SIGN UP WITH PLUSNET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.