Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 4282 customer ratings since 2021-01-25 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,045 Customer Reviews over 102 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    The worst customer support you are ever likely to experience
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BRIGHTON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I have lived in my house for 18months now and I have never had over 70mb speed and it always crashes. And I'm paying for 500mb
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Awful customer service. Price for TV service just goes up and up every year, yet we lose the TV service regularly, no explanation provided to us, and no refund offered! If you call them it will take you 10 minutes to get through to someone human and they are rude and unhelpful. They almost seem to play games with you on the phone so you run out of credit and go away. Awful, avoid this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Unbelievably bad customer service. They disconnected me by mistake and I've been back and forth with calls to try to get re-connected for the last 5 days. Each time I call I wait for more than 30 minutes and then whomever I speak to in customer services usually has no information about what is happening with my account, or passes me to another department at which point I'm usually cut off. How can they get away with treating customers like this.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Worst service ever, every couple of months we gave issues with our internet and it stops working and it takes Virgin days and weeks to fix. On Sunday our internet stopped working and we have been waiting days for an engineer to come and each day they cancel and make us wait for hours. Each day we call the customer care and they still ask us to repeat the whole story and they don't seem to be saving the history. We are looking for another provider this week, six days with no internet and still no word on fixing it is unacceptable in the UK in 2019!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Albans
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    The internet problems for weeks.The speed was always much slower than promised but at least was working. However,for the last 7 weeks is more off than on. Virgin Media became very unrealiable and cannot provide the service. They keep saying that they are changing cables, upgrading the system etc but reading all the comments this is going on for ever.We had 5 engineers here so far and still the problem has not been fixed. We have connection for 10 min, if we lucky. We wrote a complaint to Vergin M Head Office and received a few lines of apology. Can anyone find out what is going on there? I often work from home and this situation makes it extremely difficult and inconvenient to complete our tasks at home and deal with work emails. We are looking for another service provider,had enough of hasle and VM!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I had VM fitted in April 2020. Sinçe May 2020 till todate 24th Aug 2020 I had problems with broadband. It seems that Virgin Media are falling down in their services. Also they cannot provide the engineer to come and check the issue. Kids are at home wanting to watch their favourite programs, which they cannot. We cannot work from home. I feel Virgin may be facing financial problems. I would not suggest anyone to go with VM.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    About 4 months ago we tried to install the internet, and we waited for more than 2 weeks because we had some address problems, but then the guy came to install the internet he checked that we don't have the cabel which was obvious because our house is new, so he told us that AGAIN we need to wait 2 weeks, but we were upset so we cancel everything, but the thing is that the same day they charge us 25£ pounds but they didn't do anything, and after they promise to send the money back, and tadaam, is almost spring and the money is still missing. It's a big shame, cos its the second day I'm trying to call and they can't do anything about it !! You can take the money for nothing, but you can't give it back? Nice job.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    leicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    The service that i have received has been pathetic to the point where i am frustrated First I had to wait in and there was a no show after calling them we had an engineer out who came and said another engineer would need to come and replace the cable which is another wait in off half a day in total a day and a half.
    After the first no show I was told that someone from customer service will call me the next day. Did I get one?.Ans NO!!!. A few weeks later I called them Told customer service would call me the next day between 9 and 12pm again no call. So here is a review af customer service don't expect any because i am still waiting for that call
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Broadband service rarely peaked above 40MB and that was on a good day. Average was 20MB. Rang 4 times over the past year because service randomly dropped out and they had to "update firmware".
    Having to leave property and now lumped with an extortionate £130 disconnection fee. I would NEVER recomend their service again. Truly awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London catford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    There are no words to describe how bad their service is.
    They're advertising 200MBS and I'm currently getting 15MBS more than 10 times slower.
    I have moved from Talk Talk to them back in February this year, based on their advertised speed, but that was nothing than a trap, i have complained several times they have said they will monitor it and fix the issue but that story is going on and on and speed and reliability is worse and worse.
    Stay away from them, not to say that they're customers service is in some foreign country who bluntly just cannot comprehend the situation.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Went to virgin from Sky the promise of faster broadband
    Just over 2 weeks in no broadband
    Need to prosses payroll told an engineer can come in 3 days!
    On the phone to virgin tonight for over an hour and half
    No solution
    Can't imagine a worse service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I have left the star rating system out as VM deserve no credit.

    Had VM install fastest unlimited package, worked well, 3 weeks in I receive a letter from VM stating that I am abusing the unlimited download, I think it is a mistake as I paid the highest band for unlimited. 2 Weeks later VM switch off my broadband.

    After 1 month without any BB, I stop payments. I have to get a new number from BT as VM will not transfer.

    Over the next eighteen months, I get threatening letters from some 16 debt collection agencies, yes 16. I tell each one the facts, and they drop any further involvement, but VM send to another each time.

    I would rather go without ANY BB than sign up with Virgin Media, & I'm a Webdesigner.

    NO ONE SHOULD SIGN UP WITH VM!

    I simply do not believe the positive 5 star ratings found here.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somewhere
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    appalling speeds. "upgraded" to vm to get faster speeds. paid for 300 mbps, promised at least 180 mbps and we out here getting no more than 4 mbps. more stable connections become unstable every 2 minutes and then go back to normal 2 minutes after. if ur planning to use this isp please reconsider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    If I could give zero stars I would. Intermittent broadband. Engineer always #on their way#. It's been bad for seven weeks now. Numerous calls to customer service, who just fob me off. Won't let me out of my contract even though they are not providing a reliable service. I really really really HATE Virgin. I have going to pursue my complaint to CISAS the broadband ombudsman who deal with Virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bolton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible company. Customer service impossible to get hold off. Using current covid 19 as an excuse. Broadband speed no where near what you pay for. Don't go near these scammers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I would give no stars but not sure if i can -? Actually minus stars! Join Virgin Media:
    -If you have literally nothing to do and enjoy endless hours waiting to speak to customer services and then getting repeatedly cut off after your 55 minute waits (rack up 60+ hours of calls over 9 months trying to resolve a few things Virgin should never have done e.g. charging you for a TV package you cancelled 8 months prior -when you promptly returned the TV box to them 8 months earlier and acknowledged receipt of it. This has been going on since mid 2019 and now June 2020 so way before the pandemic before that is used as an excuse!
    -If you enjoy being sent from department to department since no-one can resolve simple issues, hours and hours wasted, calls are routinely disconnected after long waits and if they repeatedly promise you that a manager will call you back -know that they won’t!
    -If you enjoy being overcharged for all sorts of thing.
    -If you enjoy being put on a overpriced broadband contract (almost double the offers they have online) which you never agreed to after your last contract ended and you repeatedly told them you didn’t want to be on a new contract (which they agreed to) but would only be on a rolling one until they resolved the issues (which it took them 8 months to do)! They agreed one price for the rolling contract but charged £12 extra /month and refused to refund it or listen to their recorded calls. As an extra bonus they will charge you another £40 set up fee for the 2nd/new overpriced contract that you never agreed to and will refuse to refund this illegal set up fee.
    -If you enjoy a dodgy service (when I had the TV box it only worked 40-50% of the time so I ended up just not watching it as I’d have to call Virgin each time and it was too painful. The internet is fine (where I am in central London, can’t speak for elsewhere) but several issues even with that. I’m assuming that most would disagree re the internet being fine as the WhatsApp group for my area -300+ people- are always complaining about Virgin’s internet.
    -Etc. I could literally carry on with numerous other examples but have wasted too much time already. Literally feel like I've been tortured by Virgin Media as they messed up so many things and one issue took 8 months and about 60 hours of me calling and still not resolved -promised calls back by managers I never got, could never get through, etc. So painful. I’ve just paid them their illegal charges to be rid of them and to cancel the contract but will write a more detailed report for the Communication and Internet Adjudication Scheme (CISAS) -Virgin is not signed up with the main Ombusman services so CISAS is who you contact if you if have an issue with Virgin. Will be several months quicker than trying to get Virgin Media to resolve it! Avoid Virgin if you can!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    ISLEWORTH
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    DONT USE VIRGINMEDIA COMPANY THEY ARE BAD NEWS VERY UNPROFESSINAL ESPECIALLY THE MANAGERS NO BODY KNOWS WHAT THEYRE DOING.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    After 9 years of being with Virgin Media I have now finally left them and just joined up with Sky. Never known a company with such poor communication between not only me and them, but also between them and their colleagues!

    I moved house 3 weeks ago and when my installation for transferring my services came there was a problem. The cable that runs under my drive way was basically damaged. Virgin media wanted to dig up my drive, being a newly brought property with a newish driveway I refused. Several different engineers even told me that Virgin Media will make a mess of the drive. So at this point I spoke to an area manager whom we discussed an alternative route for new cables to be laid.

    I was told the cables needed to be laid before my new installation date and that someone would be out. This didn't happen and I continuously rang them up until my new installation date on the 27th September to say that my cables still hadn't been laid. I was assured that the engineers coming to do my installation would be laying the cables and doing the installation.

    Surprise supirse when the 27th September came (yesterday) the engineers turned up and said they aren't qualified to lay new cables and are only here to connect my boxes up. They then rang the area manger that I had previously spoken to, he assured me that a construction team would be out that day to lay the cables so the two engineers that were here could complete their job. Guess what, that never happened, these poor engineer guys kept coming back out during the day to complete their job only to find everytime that the construction team still hadn't been!

    I then rung and complained as was assured by a lady at the technical team that the installation would be completed by the end of the day. So 5pm came and the area manager decided to ring me and ask me "Are you sure you don't want us to dig up your drive?" This is a question he had already had an answer to over 2 weeks ago when I told them NO. I them asked if the team were on their way and he said no he had been in a meeting all day so was unable to arrange it!! This was a blatent lie aswell as several times when the engineers arrived here throughout the day they was on the phone to him! So he basically had no intention of arranging this work to happen even though he had 2 weeks to do so after my first installation was meant to happen. Therefore I sat in all day long yesterday under the false pretention that I would be all connected up!

    I advise if you are thinking of going to Virgin them DO NOT. The centres just tell you anything to get you off the phone and are no help whatsoever and the managers are even worse.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Virgin Media in my opinion does not deserve any star in view of the services received so far. The services and wrong charges to my account (for service not received) is fraud.

    The home phone constantly go off or connect to another line (calls ringing on another number). In addition to the regular service failure, it is difficult to report fault and some of the customer service are rude and incompetent.

    I cannot recommend Virgin media to anyone until the service gets better, for now the service to me is bad choice of purchase - money and time wasted.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Worst Company ever, I can't close my account for 2 months. They hang up or say that someone will call back for months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newmarket
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    We have had nothing but problems since day 1 .. internet not working multiple times . Tv off as usual ..
    Customer service are useless ... and will ve switching back to sky .. much better service from them ..
    AVOID THIS COMPANY !!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    SCAMMERS!!! Only signed with them cause Vodafone takes longer for the installation but now I regret not waiting. Virgin not only has a bad wi fi and internet connection but bad customer service. The are not helpful at all and tell lies. When I signed the contract I specifically said I need good wi fi and I got the fastest one (200 mbs), couple of months later they told me that is the wire speed not the wi fi speed, but even the wire does not give this much. Also they are splitting their modems to 2.4Hz and 5Hz. The 2.4Hz is limited to up to 40mbs so if you don't have a laptop that can connect to 5Hz you are stuck. NEVER AGAIN!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Horrendous. Booked installation. Never turned up. Called them and on the phone for 30 minutes to be told they cancelled the installation without telling us. Tried to say that we emailed them to cancel it, but then admitted that was not true. Told I would be put through to manager to rearrange installation and then left on hold for 30 minutes and nobody picked up. Simply want to cancel installation and never use them if this is how they treat customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    gt,harwood
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Had date arranged to leave next month after many years as the cost was too high and £32 OFFER on phone/broadband was only for new customers ,so I SENT E MAIL TO CEO and was pleasantly surprised to get a phone call from virgin offering loyalty discount at £32per month for 18 months. might be worth an email for others in the same boat ,I was polite pointed out how long I had been with them,and that friends and family were of a similar opinion and were also looking to find another supplier ,good luck
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I work from home and need to rely on a constant connection to the internet. Surprisingly in 2015, Virgin Media are not capable of supplying it. It can regularly go down for several hours straight, meaning I'm not able to work. The website always states that there are no issues in the area, usually a customer service rep confirms otherwise, but isn't able to do anything to fix it. I'm sure there are companies out there who provide a broadband service worthy of the name and I intend to find one asap.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wokingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Worst company ever, took over 2 months to install Broadband then I gave up as they keep changing the install date. Waste of time and money stay well away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I wish I could give them less than 1. We have recently moved house and went to Virgin to get an internet connection. They explained that it will get time, as they need to check whether our house is serviced or not. We had an engineer's meeting arranged in a week's time. On the actual day this person went to completely different address in different town (3 hours away from where we live). After we went to Virgin to re-arrange the engineer's visit they said that our house is not serviced so there is nothing they could do. In a couple of days we have received a new tenant letter saying "welcome to the new property. It is serviced by Virgin and we would like to offer our internet for you". Was it some kind of a joke from the company? Btw there is a Virgin box on the house servicing neighbors. No idea how these idiots work, but glad we are not with them and not paying them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    wigan
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolute rubbish , trashed the cladding on front of house, then bodged the repair and tried to say wed had it done badly in first place, customer services just dont want to know theyre short of saying blah blah, to your face waited 3 months for netflix even though it was part of package , they said so what its free youll get it soon.broadband is hit and miss.and good old Richard gets a knighthood, what for fleecing folk? Absolute disgracefull company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I being waiting for a engineer to come to my house today to install my broadband service between 8 am to 1pm. Still the engineer hasn't arrived. I'm so annoyed. Bad service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BROMLEY
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I was very happy plodding along with my pay as you go mobile when I received a phone call from Virgin offering me a so called fantastic deal as I had been such a fantastic customer. I was reluctant wtvfirstvas I don't like direct debits but they twisted my arm. The deal was £3 a month for 200 minutes and unlimited text but they failed to tell me that if your mobile is on roaming you get charged extra the following month I received a bill for £97 when queried they said I had been useing the internet, I HAD NOT. They then reduced the bill by £35 to save the hastle I paid the bill and told them I wanted the account closed and I immediately canceled the direct debit, they assured me there would be no further payments and that was the end of it. Today I received a letter saying they had reinstated my direct debit and would proceed to take £100 a month from my account for I don't know what, needless to say I have cancelled once again the direct debit, when I phoned them they said I was still getting billed as I didn't give 30 days notice, he phone concerned is no longer in use so how can they expect me to pay for a service I haven't used. Virgin mobile you are a bunch of crooks, Your staff cannot understand English and most of the time I cannot understand them, some people are on very low income but need there mobile phones, shame on you Richard Branson and your marketing team
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St. Helens
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Disgusting customer service ring them and try and cancel and been trying to ring them to cancel as there WiFi is rubbish and pathetic how the speed goes up and down 24/7 we have been ringing them for about 1 hour and they have just cut us off apsoloutely disgusting never ever go with virgin the worst WiFi service you can ever have go with bt sky or talk talk apsoloutly disgusting customer service and when they do answer the phone the can hardly speak any English NEVER GET WITH VIRGIN WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WIFI NETWORK IN THE WORLD
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leyton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Wasted 2 months of trying to get broadband installed. Installation date kept being shifted for no reason, noone could explain anything. I went into the store where i was advised if noone is coming to install on the given date then i'd better cancel the contract. What a service...trying to get rid of them is also not that easy. You can only do something by calling, where they transfering you to different people and keep you waiting for numerous minutes.. I don't recommend virgin at all!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sussex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    My VM email address of 20 years stopped working 4 weeks ago. Ringing VM daily - am told each time, 'yeah yeah it'll be fine in an hour' - 'we'll ring you later to check'... blah...

    Still doesn't work.
    Still no call back from them.

    They are unable to fix their own simple error - or use a telephone.

    Incompetent and lazy
    No MORE MONEY FOR YOU, VM!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    What to say, been with them less than a month and they are rubbish. High latency and even the TV lags. Failed to import home telephone number too. Complete rubbish, avoid like the plague...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LONDON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    If you get virgin media it will either make you mad or dipressed this is the worst network i have ever got and the custermer service is even worse it goes smoe where in india and they dont care and even botherd what you say virgin media is just rubbish
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible service. No internet connection since a week, no answer from the technicians to repair it other than "wait to see if it comes back" I have cancelled my contract with Virgin and will have another week of no internet before the cancellation can go through.I am being reimbursed £7!! for 2 weeks of no internet!! - Don't bother with Virgin because they certainly won't bother to look after you!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I rate your whole service at zero, your broadband is slower than my 92-year-old aunt, and when you are questioned and challenged you say The service is working properly and when asked for a new Router you tell us we have to pay for it, your call centres are a joke and run on the cheap, I will be leaving your service at the first available opportunity, after eight years of customer loyalty you treat us shabbily and with contempt,If any of you had any shame you would be out stealing for a living ! Goodbye virgin and good riddance !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible rude customer services, have been overcharging me for ver a year...even when after hours on phone they accepted they had overcharged because. Had email evidence they said as a "goodwill" gesture they would give me three months refund although it the year previous overcharge when I disagreed they sent me a lette completely misrepresented our conversation and letter signed from Garry Menzies operation manger no contact phone number or email address just a PO box in Manchester for "Executive Office" this is an international media telecoms company that dissatisfied customers cannot contact. This is clearly a design to obstruct customer care or service. I want to cancel contract as they have breached contract by overcharging ..my request for 12 month previous bills was ignored even though was agreed to and I was told I would need to pay £3 per month for copy of bills , unbelievably bad do not go to Virgin daylight robbery
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible
    Rude staff
    Inflated prices And more so the longer you are with them
    On hold for hours and then cut off. Couldn’t be less impressed after 15 years!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.