Hyperoptic Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Hyperoptic.

Overall Customer Ratings for Hyperoptic

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3.7 stars
  • Reliability
    3.6 stars

Based on 1187 customer ratings since 2012-02-08 (Show recent ratings)

Visit Hyperoptic   Read our Hyperoptic buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

322 Customer Reviews over 9 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst company I have had to deal with. Only signed up because I was told I could have internet by the end of the month. Then once I signed up they went silent. Took three months to get internet. Working from home etc a misery. Dreadful customer service. Don't respond to online customer service tickets. Don't offer information on the phone. Turn up without warning. Offer compensation then don't provide it. The whole thing has been awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Customer service levels are about as low as it can get. They fob you off for week after week, and still fail to do the minimum. I am owed £50 for the referral of a friend from March. I am about to report to Ofcom.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
    They told me I was getting Full Fibre up to 145Mbps - when actually I was topping out everyday at 65Mbps if I was lucky! They obviously cap it to save wherever they can, so 'sod the customer'(not wanting to type more ellaborate phrasing)!
    When my contract was ending they sent me the standard 'let us know if you want to cancel now, or we can continue your subscription etc'....so because of the pants speed and service (as they expected me to do tests to check if there was an issue when they were obviously capping my speeds at their end), I replied to cancel that same night. I thankfully got a response to say they acknowledged I had sent the cancellation request, but did they cancel my account - NO, they decided to ignore it and charge me the full price for the next months. Luckily when I sent the email to them I also stopped my Direct Debit with my bank, to make sure they got no more money, but then they started to chase me to say I hadn't paid and to make payment ot they would send the debt collectors round - YEAH, WTF!!! I replied with an email to say I wanted to open an official complaint and to not contact me about me owing them money again or I would contact 'OFCOM', 'my local MP' and the 'Media' (which is what you need to say to get the complaint marked as 'high importance' (having worked in the industry previously) and I then received an email a couple of days later saying sorry, the account was closed and I owed nothing. DIRTBAGS - they know what they are doing and it STINKS!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chigwell
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Possibly the worst UK service provider.

    I had two experiences in the last two years. Both ended up with me cancelling my order as they left me in the dark not knowing what was happening. Possibly the worst managed service desk.

    Their UK team lives on another planet.

    Whilst the team in Serbia are friendly and try to be helpful, the team in UK don’t give a glance to issues that are escalated to them. They are either not available, don’t have a clue, or simply don’t care. A request for a connection has not been responded to since 27th February 2024. Why advertise a service, why send a marketing representative to all the houses in a neighbourhood, why post flyers in all the houses if you can’t provide the service advertised?

    2 complaints have been ignored. Days spent waiting for an engineer visit are treated as “your loss” even an email threatening to take the complaint to communication ombudsman and Ofcom have failed to evoke a response or acknowledgement. If you don’t have a pre installed connection at your place avoid them like a plague. I ended up cancelling my order I will never again place an order or recommend HyperOptic to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not waste your time with this useless provider. I had the following experience in a flat with Hyperoptic's own line already installed:

    1) No progress whatsoever in activating my connection after eleven days (not an unacceptable time to wait, EXCEPT if you first promise it will be done in two days)
    2) Total lack of response to repeated support requests (despite promising a 24/7 support service)
    3) No attempt to provide any explanation as to the cause of the delay, or how long it would last

    This is not funny for hybrid workers; nor anyone who uses the internet to stay in touch with or entertain friends and family.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hyperoptic are good, until you have a technical problem. At that point they are WOEFULLY incompetent. It took them over 4 months of refusing to send anyone to the exchange, wasting my time with repeating the same in-house measures, re-replacing the same routers despite me, the engineers ALL knowing the issue resided outside my flat.

    Even after this escalation, unfortunately, their "specialist team" still haven't fixed my constant intermittent connection/syncing issues.

    I had 9 months of solid performance without a single issue. I haven't had a day in the last 4-5 months without multiple disconnections now. All my programs, multiple PCs, and on phone wirelessly, disconnect, windows shows as "no internet" all while their own USELESS hardware still says everything is connected, all green lights. Only ISP i've ever been with whose own equipment can't tell when it is or isn't connected.

    I hear now as well that there may be peak-time throttling going on, which is unacceptable from a gigabit broadband provider.

    Honestly, if ANY other provider in your are offers gigabit, or close to it, don't go with hyperoptic.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They were awful. The service they provided was unsatisfactory. I paid an additional 6 months of internet after moving home. They closed my account and confirmed the service ended and then two years later sent me a bill of £70 then referred me to a debt collection agency. When I spoke to them on the phone, they admitted that no one had contacted me in over a year but was nonchalant about the whole thing and told me to make the payment. I would not recommend them at all. Not unless you want to be treated badly.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Applied for service in January - umpteen surveys later they claim they can’t supply. No tangible reasons given, despite the fact that I’m no more than 10 metres from a Hyperoptix vent, with easy block paving between me and it. Customer service are comprehensively useless and just treat me like a fool, so I will need to escalate to the CEO, Dana Tobak. They need to be regulated - cherry picking houses in a tightly knit neighbourhood is completely unacceptable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid this company at all costs. The worst customer service I have encountered in 40 years in the UK! A complete bunch of thieving cheats..misrepresenting their broadband speeds and contracts. Stand up to them, Use Ofcam rules to terminate their services if down for 2 business days. Fight all termination charges. Use UK Legislative to hold them to account. Eastern European owners and staff but registered in the UK.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst company ever.
    Over 14 days of my connection dropping constantly - support ticket raised 14 days ago.
    I have to go to a cafe and waste money all day to be able to work 'from home' as I cannot have any online meetings.
    Unable to watch a move without having 20 seconds to have the connection restarted every couple of minutes.
    Support and customer service keep ignoring me and refusing to send a new router.
    Hoping the Ombudsman forces them to care about their customers. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am paying £40 for one 1Gbps internet but I never received anything more than 70 Mbps. I have called them for 1 month everyday to tell them the problem everyday.
    I cannot believe a company can provide such a terrible service, act with customers like they are worthless, ignore the clients complaint and still survive. isn't there any authority which can stop them?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Took them 2 minutes over the phone to upgrade my package to a higher speed one, two months later and I am receiving a fraction of it (50MB vs 1GB).

    I call them/email them multiple times a week, they have not sent an engineer over and have me running in circles. Trying to raise a complaint but the customer service reps won't assist with that either. Unfortunately, can't rate them lower than 0 stars, criminals!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We signed up, having read reviews about potential the company taking months to dig up the road etc so already we were unsure about them. We call up to get an engineer to see how they will get a connection into the house (couldn't do it online which was a waste of half an hour). An engineer comes out says it shouldn't require digging up the road, you just need to ask your neighbours about attaching some wires to their houses. We do that, the next Engineer comes out, he arrives at 9am when he was booked to come in the pm. He asks us if we have spoken to a totally different set of neighbours and says he has to drill deep holes into their houses for his ladder (yes ladder, considering there they're only going up one floor I've no idea why you need a 5 inch drill into a house), I already know one of the neighbours in the other direction says they don't want any drilling into their home (pretty reasonable request) so I tell them that they've wasted our times. We've spent another £55 with virgin media waiting for them to come and do this work and they've messed us around. We then call up customer services to cancel and get our refund for the initial payment and due to the fact we got a second engineer out we weren't eligible for a refund. They would not listen to anything else we had to say, we asked for someone more senior and supposedly they don't speak with customers. They totally wasted our time and kept the cash. What an embarrassment of a company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve had this service for a year and a bit and it’s been down in that time twice totalling 1 month, the second time I tried to escalate this to get an engineer out quicker as it took a week and a half the first time.

    They said there is nothing they can do but I come to fine there has been an engineer in the building and the one next door that whole week.

    The customer service here is appalling! The engineers are great the people on the phone don’t care as long as the company gets its money they are happy!

    Cancelled my contracted today because they can’t deliver their end of the deal and I still get charged for this!

    Do yourself a favour and go to another company! Truly awful company to deal with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service!!! It is taking 6 days to send someone to fix the internet!!! 6 days without internet because of their problem!!
    Their customer service simply say they cannot book anything earlier because they are busy!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up to hyperoptic before Xmas 2023, installation followed in first week after new year.
    It is now 5th Feb and the service has not been activated. The customer service people day it's a problem with the IP address.
    I called them this morning and was assured there would be a response by 1700h (GMT). It is now past that time, and I gave not been contacted regarding the activation of my account.
    I work from home using my computer extensively. I have lost over £100 in wages today!
    Very poor service, broken promises, poor service all round!
    NOT IMPRESSED!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Tried signing up in September. Offered great initial deal. It is now 2 February and nothing has happened. Called my account manager numerous times with promise to look into it but he never follows up. In meantime my Virgin Media contract expired in November & rolled over to exorbitant no-contract monthly rates, costing me a fortune. Do not trust this company. I’m finally moving on, to G.Network.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible customer service.
    Asked for my direct debit details to be changed 3 weeks ago (my online account was assigned to my previous account so I couldn’t change them) and they never bothered to even reply to me all this time.
    They have THREATENED to suspend my services since yesterday (suddenly they are becoming very responsive!) and yet they are ignoring my complaints and keep threatening me when THEY are at fault!
    Incompetent company & customer service.
    Stay away from them!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Service was exactly what was promised and I really wanted to stay with them, until my fix finished and the price basically doubled. I said "send me your best price and I may stay", and they improved the offer only slightly. After I signed up with someone else and cancelled, magically they can do me a better deal. I'm sick of playing games.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I signed up in August (paid £194). It's now mid December and I'm still waiting for fibre optic broadband! Meanwhile I've had months of STRESS, FALSE PROMISES and WASTED TIME... Phonecalls to customer services that last hours (mostly waiting), invisible engineers, cancelled engineers, countless wrong messages, “problems” that need fixing etc. Even emails cancelling appointments that have already happened!? I am still waiting for activation. Hyperoptic is driving me crazy. After reading the reviews here, I realise I am not alone. Thankfully I didn't deactivate my old copper cable provider contract. I'm going to cancel Hyperoptic ASAP. It'll be interesting to see if I get my £194 back despite the lack of service provided.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awfull company to deal with is mildly said. Make sure you keep an eye on your bank account t as they tend to charge you almost double without telling you. £50 for sin internet seems like I should be getting a caviar with it. £35 for basic package is already a rip off. Customer relations and customer services are terrible to deal with. Uneducated for starters and keep repeating same things. I just cannot wait to get rid of them. I will certainly not pay £50 which they attempted to charge me if I have to I will go to court
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful!!! I'm trying to end a contract and it's a nightmare! The want me to charge full year even if I advised I'm leaving in one month!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Once again, they let me down MASSIVELY!!!!!!! After moving in my new place 2 weeks ago, I still have no internet and they claim that with a modem already installed, it'll only take minutes to get online. LIES LIES AND MORE LIES!!!!!!!!!! It then transpires from my developer's team that there had been damages to my internet cable which Hyperoptic did not even communicate to me despite my daily calls wasting time with their useless customer service!!! And here I am wasting more time!!!!!!!!!!!! They told my building management they sent me a dongle... about a week ago... guess where that is? NOWHERE... I did not even receive it yet one week later!!!! Today I had to work from home yet again using my mobile 4G which I've already spent way too much money on.. waiting for their engineer to come and fix it!!!!!!!! I was promised the engineer would come today - all my building management were on it, fixing whatever needed to be fixed in order to be ready for the engineer to do his fix today when he came but guess what?!?!?! He did not show up.... they said his name was Steve who did not even bother to call us to let us know... we had to chase him!!!! Now they said they're coming tomorrow and I can't be home tomorrow as you know... people have to work to pay their mortgage and stuff..... And I'm being forced to leave my keys with someone to let him in... I'm not comfortable having to leave my keys with strangers and I can't ask my boss again to work from home.................................. What an utterly useless company this is!!!!!!!!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID........... THEY ARE USELESS!!! WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER... LITERALLY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fulham, London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Order placed on 7 Sep. Very good value. Offered to cover the entire period I was locked into a contract with Sky and offered excellent speeds.
    It is now 1 Nov and not even the pre installation check has been done. It has been scheduled twice and cancelled each time by hyperoptic. the first time was because they sent the wrong number of people for the check. The second cancellation was over a week ago with no reason or explanation provided. No appointment has been rescheduled yet. Looks like hyperoptic is cheap for a reason and it would be a mistake to switch to them. I'm glad I didn't cancel my existing internet contract with Sky.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hammersmith
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hyperoptic is terrible, choose another company if you have a chance
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    Comments
    I've had friends who have recommended Hyperoptic.
    My property at the time didn't have availability so i signed up my interest and a few months later said hyperoptic is coming to my address.
    I was excited of course as i had really dodgy internet and work from home a lot so need reliable internet. I was going to switch to the usual SKY / BT etc, but because of this offer, i immediately placed an order.
    They did the preinstall checks and everything checked out in july. they said the only thing left is for the engineered work to do which is a bit of drilling and they have a team coming over.
    this took MONTHS to get them over. I rang and rang and they said they will schedule them to come.
    Finally, after 4 months, they sent an email saying sorry, the engineering team cant actually get the cable to your property and we are cancelling your order.
    It's an absolute joke. This should have been detected at their "preinstall checks". The speeds offered are a dream but they dangled this carrot in front of me for the last few months.
    I've been dealing with using my own hotspot from my phone and terrible internet for the last few months waiting for this to just be told sorry no can do.
    Their customer service has been okay and nice but the actual product has been a joke for me. bear this in mind when trying to place an order.
    I go to their website and it still says hyperoptic is available to your address.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really bad provider!

    My wifi is not working since few months now, and when I called to cancel my contract as its a daily issue with my internet connexion and I am working from home, the customer service who was very nice explain that she is not able to cancel my contract as the internet cable connexion is working but wifi no. So I need 1st to try and replace my router ro try everyday to connect via cable and not wifi. Is it really stressful situation as I am working from home, and missing a lot of calls and meeting as I cant be connected, I have started feeling really anxious every day and praying to not have any internet issue at home during my work hours- and this provider don't want to let me cancel my contract. I have all the poofs that the internet speed is really low, but they won't let me just go- I am paying my bills on time and respecting the terms of my contract and even nit asking them for compensation or anything just cancelling my contract but it seems not possible. Can someone guide me here please
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hammersmith
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Good service for 6 months. Cheap tariff. Then an outage affecting the whole area that has now lasted 12 days with no sign of repair. No useful response. Just apologies from Hyperoptic. My feeling is that they are cheap for a reason. They don't have adequate manpower or infrastructure to deal with problems in an acceptable time frame. I have learned my lesson. You get what you pay for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      4 stars
    Comments
    The test of an ISP's quality comes when something goes wrong. My internet connection with Hyperoptic went down 10 days ago and has remained down the entire time with no sign in sight of it being restored. And it's not just me, Hyperoptic customers all over my postcode in West London are affected.

    The response from Hyperoptic has been shambolic.
    I understand outages happen but you would expect a speedy resolution if a company knows what it's doing.

    10 days of outage is utterly unacceptable from any ISP, let alone a supposedly award winning one. If your network is that susceptible to catastrophic failure of this nature, and isn't resilient enough to be restored within a matter of hours, then it is not fit for purpose.

    Their customer service finally told me today the source of the outage is damage to one of their underground cables. It took them 10 days to find that out and now supposedly they need to wait for a permit from the council to dig up the road and access their own network! Ludicrous.

    The poor quality of their network has been completely exposed by this failure. Any network worth its salt will build in redundancy so it can handle a single cable failure of this nature.

    I would be less critical if the cable directly serving my property was damaged, in that event only I'm affected. But this single cable has brought down the service for what must be hundreds, if not thousands, of customers.

    Hyperoptic do follow the Ofcom compensation scheme, so for every day you're without service you get £9.33 off future bills. That's all well and good but I'm having to fork out money (at a premium) to my mobile phone provider for extra data to stay connected via my phone at home. So the benefit of any compensation is lost. Plus to even benefit from that compensation I have to stay with the company and hope a repeat outage doesn't happy in future. Hey Ofcom, how about cold hard cash paid to customers instead?

    I'm now left in the position where I have to sign up for another ISP - locking me into a another 12 month contract - just to get back online. That means going back to good, old ADSL over copper cables or flakey mobile broadband using the 4G/5G network. And when (or should that be "if") Hyperoptic comes back online I'm then stuck paying for a second broadband contract that I don't want.

    In the past I always strongly recommended Hyperoptic whenever I was asked about Fibre Broadband, I will never do so again. Speaking to my neighbours, who are also affected, they all think the same and some have already cancelled their contracts.

    In short, if you're considering signing up with Hyperoptic then buyer beware - their speeds are fast but their network is not robust and when it fails, its fails bad!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I pay for the 1gb package that claims the average speed is 900mbps I only get 149mbps.
    Customer services takes weeks to get back to you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They have done the installation to my house. It has not been working for 4 weeks now. They keep on saying there's a problem outside the property, no engineer available. Why did they installed the broadband if they don't have any engineer to fix the problem. Still waiting
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Broadband - no issues with connections been fairly good

    Contracts - unethical contracts. If you move house, and they're not available in the new house then you still have to pay. They tell you about contract Expiry exactly 30 days before your contract expires and automatically place you on a rolling contract where the cost increases unless you notify them 30 days before. So you pretty much have only 1 day to work out your options and tell them otherwise you're gnna forced to go on a rolling contract for x days. Unethical.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Something to consider;
    I want to switch providers (been with hyperoptic for over 2years) because my internet has been down for over a month and they have been very slow in organising engineers to come and fix it. Several engineers have come and gone and done minimal diagnostics except for one guy who was the only person who seemed like he knew what he was doing.
    He comes and says there is an issue with the external cable, the team will come and fix it in the next 3 days. Get advised it is fixed and to book an engineer to complete internal wiring in the house. I take the day off work and engineer doesn't arrive! Ring hyperoptic and they said the engineer came and said external cabling issue still isn't sorted, he needs access to the cabinet which he isn't the right person to deal with. So basically wasted my time and day. Not even a phone call to tell me he is not visiting the property.
    No communication whatsoever within the department itself and everytime I ring tech support over the phone it feels like I am speaking to a brick wall; "we will get someone on it". So now it is over a month with NO INTERNET and I have no idea when the issue will be fixed/sorted.
    Overall internet is okay, speed does drop at times but from a customer service aspect, they fail to manage these issues in an efficient manner so I would consider another provider if possible
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bexley
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved in to a new flat, looking for internet providers we were interested in Hyperoptic. A salesman quickly informed us that a new installation to the building would arrive shortly, and soon after the internet would be ready to go. Great we thought.

    1 month passes with promises of "next week" being the installation date. Never happened. Finally we find out that the building is connected. Hooray! All we need is a tech to connect it all up for us. Perfect. Date of installation? 20 plus days after the building itself is connected. We tried getting it expedited, calling multiple times and finally we were able to arrange for the tech to come sooner.

    They were scheduled for a Monday. Over the weekend we received 2 optimistic texts saying that technician is coming. Wonderful we thought. Now its Monday. And what happened? "We are so sorry, your technician was cancelled.". We were notified of this AFTER the technician was supposed to come and only because we called. I bet if we hadn't we wouldn't have even been notified.

    How is it that an ISP in the UK is worse than the ISP from the Second World country I come from? How is this at all acceptable? How can you keep promising and promising and deliver exactly 0? Nothing. Nada.

    My review? Stay away. Stay far away from Hyperoptic. Almost 2 months promising internet. And it's not like we live in the middle of nowhere. We are 40 minutes away from central for gods sake.

    If you dont have the people to do the work, why even offer a service.

    0/10, give the company over to someone who can atleast get the internet installed when they say they would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Stay away from Hyperoptic. Speed is 1 mbit/s instead of 500 mbit/s as advertised. After 20 years with talktalk I was stupid to move. The Council of the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea allowed them to put wires in all their buildings. The biggest fraud. The speek I have is 1 (!) Mbit /s instead of 500. I had a very important career call and 6 people were on Teams Hyperoptic could not handle if. I failed and didnt get the role. Their call centte is in Serbia. No belp at all. They force you stay with them. Never move to them!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    ***Day 7 without a working internet connection***

    Following on from my initial review (posted on 29/08), Hyperoptic are still yet to prioritise getting my internet service back online. I am extremely disappointed with this level of service from Hyperoptic! Over a WEEK without working internet - PATHETIC!

    As such, I will continue to post a negative review for every day Hyperoptic fail to restore my service - so that the community are aware of Hyperoptic’s lack of customer care and abysmal technical support.

    For context (and warning to those considering Hyperoptic):
    - I signed up to Hyperoptic on the 14/08
    - The internet connection randomly stopped working on 24/08 - in the middle of the work day
    - Hyperoptic advised an engineer is not able to come out to fix the issue until the 08/09 - a full 16 calendar days later
    - Multiple calls, emails and complaints have been raised to Hyperoptic - to which I am receiving no urgency to get my service back online

    I have been offered compensation for the days I am without service (FYI: This is a bare minimum regulatory requirement, nothing special!). However, what I have not received is any urgency, or meaningful correspondence, whatsoever from Hyperoptic Support or their Customer Relations Department to restore my internet service.

    Additionally, I am still forced to wait until the 08/09 to get my internet service restored - which is unacceptable! I have to continue to spend additional time, money and effort to organise alternative access to the internet while I wait for Hyperoptic to respond.

    Based on my experience, I would strongly advise against anyone giving Hyperoptic their business.

    Complaint ticket number: 3105783
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ***Day 6 without a working internet connection***

    I signed up to Hyperoptic on the 14/08. The internet connection randomly stopped working on 24/08 - in the middle of the work day.

    I then called Hyperoptic and they advised an engineer is not able to come out to fix the issue until the 08/09 - a full 16 calendar days later.

    16 calendar days without internet is unacceptable - especially for someone WFH! After Multiple calls, emails and complaints to Hyperoptic, I have not received any urgency from Hyperoptic’s end to resolve the issue!

    I am extremely disappointed with this level of service I am receiving from Hyperoptic!

    I now have to spend additional time, money and effort to organise alternative access to the internet while I wait for Hyperoptic to respond. A working internet connection is the minimum standard I expect from an INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER - and Hyperoptic are not able to even provide that.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hyperoptic has completely spoiled my day. They are supposed to install today for the booking i made 2 weeks ago.. but last minute engineer called and said even though he install, there wont be service up and running till end of September..

    Highly unreliable service.. if you know that you cant provide a service what is the point in giving fake assurances. I need to spend extra money to get some dongle and use to manage my work.

    Completely spoiled my day and ruined with your unreliable service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I signed up for internet service with your organization on the 9th of August. I signed up for the 1Gb Fibre Connection - Broadband Only plan but my connectivity was poor and I was only getting less than 200mbps( not even 200). I spoke to different agents and we ran different testing together. I was asked to do a troubleshooting connecting the LAN cable to a device but I don't have a device that supports LAN, I've asked friends, and neither of them have it too. We either have a Macbook or the latest Windows. I was told there's nothing that can be done since I can not do that troubleshooting so no one will help me get the internet service I signed up to. I've requested for my contract to be cancelled now.

    The service was absolutely disgraceful. We're in 2023 how do they expect people to have devices that connect to the internet with a wire? Are they expecting people to buy a new device for a test? Why can't their technical team have another way to fix the issue rather than losing a customer because of it? or have an engineer come out - run whatever testing and done.

    Just a terrible time, I've never complained like this before but they stressed me out with all testing only telling me I should deal with what I have because I don't have an outdated 2003 box device for TESTING!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid at all costs. awful service and even worse customer service

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.