Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3.1 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 2672 customer ratings since 2021-01-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,492 Customer Reviews over 88 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Worcester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We discovered that someone that did not work for our company had set up a personal Plusnet account. When we reported this they not only refused to close the account but continued to take money for a year before finally admitting via a web chat that we were in no way liable, We cancelled the payments only to have the "debt" passed to their collection agency. We have been advised that they have behaved illegally and are in the process of complaining to the ombudsman and making a claim against this outfit.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bridlington
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful service, over a month and still not connected to the internet. Found out same as John Lewis, both should not be touched. Customer service is useless!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Calne
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT USE PLUSNET be clever unlike me and avoid this provider. First no internet for 3 weeks due to people not doing correct processes and sending out a router. Then I get 2 neither work...q..bt engineer 1 hour later it's working! For a few days. Consistent ongoing wireless error mostly not working when I ring no one cares just says it looks fine and they'll report it. Final straw Christmas day and kids have waited all year for xbox 1 s ..the result is crying a lot! Because Xboxes don't work without internet can't even watch a DVD. The best bit is now they've messed about so much I'm in contract up to my ears at a cost of £209 to leave. I'm broken
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fareham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We moved to Plusnet 3 months ago and since then haven’t been able to download a TV program to watch. Appalling service in my area.
    Am I fed up? Yes. Do I regret moving providers? Yes.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chorley
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Having previously read about Plusnets supposed great service I signed up for an 18 month contract. I was disappointed throughout due to the broadband regularly dropping out, in every occasion I rang customer service I was met with at least a 15+ minute wait to be answered, even the so called live chat took 17 minutes to be answered on the time I chose to try that. I moved to Virgin media the other day, I had provided Plusnet with their required 14 says notice, they sent a letter to acknowledge. I cancelled the direct debit with my bank. To my horror Plusnet took a payment from my debit card without my consent or knowledge (previously paid for initial set up as required by them via debit card), this is a disgrace and surely unlawful given the fact it was cancelled, and what gives them the right to keep my debit card details once a direct debit had been set up and used for the remaining 18 months. In the process of getting my money back and bank cancelling them from taking future payment from debit card. I would not recommend Plusnet, and will never use them again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute dire customer service. Constant lengthy queues to get through to speak to anyone - promise of calls back from Manager - as they are never available (which don't happen) Calls not returned, instead receive emails (if lucky) which I am unable to reply to (as account closed). Would not recommend this company to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Something needs to be done about this absolutely shambolic company. I so wish I had read all these atrocious reviews before I gave them my business. They need shutting down. Even though calls are recorded - this means nothing to them. They make false promises and lie through their teeth. PLEASE PLEASE stay well clear of this company. I cannot begin to tell you how much stress, time and aggravation they have caused me and my family.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for years but am leaving now for EE. When it's running well it's fine but when you need to contact customer support everything changes. A few weeks ago my service went off and I waited 25 minutes to get through to customer support. This week I waited 25 minutes and still didn't get through. Phoned back and waited 40 minutes without getting through. Phoned customer support and waited 20 minutes without getting through. Signed up with EE for a much better deal !!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Peebles
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Can i just say ive never had a worst broadband service ,slow to load , not good in other rooms tv, slow to load, none of my other providers have been as rubbish as this , will never use PLUSNET again wish id never changed
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BELFAST
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Shocking treatment from Plusnet, having been with this company for nearly 6 years they cut us off without warning due to their incompetence. Left without Internet and landline for 8 days now and they phoned mobile yesterday to inform us we can't be reconnected - something to do with copper fibre. Going to have to wait 10 days now for a new provider to install and we will lose our landline number also. I work from home and it has been an absolute nightmare. I would avoid Plusnet at all costs, conflicting versions of why we got cut off by different members of staff. Not truthful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    wf11
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    worst wifi ever, i live in a small 1 bed,1room ,1 kitchen and a bathroom,you would think in such a small property the wifi would be excellent, plus nets answer was go to fibre at a higher cost, this i did and was provided with a new (different style) router, omg the wifi is even worse, i have had to buy 2 cables to connect my 2 tv's directly to the router, can't wait till my contract ends so i can go with a better (hopefully) company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south-west Scotland
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet since the spring of 2010, apart from once when they were down, therefore you can't check as you have no internet, I have never been disappointed. I have unlimited broadband only as yet, I don't have another package with them, but I can say I have had nothing to complain about and I'm happy with the speed and reliability, of course it can always be improved.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT go with Plus. I have been with them for several years now but this year the connection drops all the time, even though I'm in North London, hardly the Outer Hebrides. They sent me nerdy instructions which I followed to the 'T'. Lo and behold the connection drops off all the time, several times a day. Useless, am planning my escape.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I had read these reviews before being duped in to signing an agreement with Plus Net. I have to ask where the hell is OFCOM allowing Plusnet to provide such shocking service? Where are our customer rights? If I stop paying my DD I'll be taken to court so what other options do I have?
    From the day I signed my contract I have experienced nothing less then abysmal service for all aspects. The audacity of Plusnet to they'll only visit my house if I agree to pick up any costs should the fault not be their responsibility. As I pointed out to them I have moved to a brand new house, their engineer installed the line, they provided the router, they set everything up on a 'virgin' site.
    I worked from home yesterday. The broadband was so slow I nearly missed deadlines and I now have to work on a Saturday to catch up. The router was restarted and my partner even logged off his laptop to see if the speed would improve - wishful thinking. As I was working I was listening to a documentary on iplayer. The one hour documentary took 5 HOURS to complete because of the buffering. It now Saturday morning and I thought I would watch The Last Leg on All 4 on my brand new TV. It's been on for 45mins and I'm not even through the introductions of the first part before break..and would be the point of complaining to Plusnet?
    I truly haven't experienced such awful broadband (even PSTN was better). And one final point, my neighbours on the development don't experience the same problems with their service provider.
    So, in a way I feel a little better to read that others have the same problem but angered even more that Plusnet continue to take our money, advertise as the best and take no responsibility for clearly thousands of unhappy customers. If they are not prepared to do anything we are all tied in as good, hard working consumers paying our bills with clearly much greater integrity than Plusnet which gets us no where.
    If you read the reviews and still take an agreement with Plusnet document all your dates, calls and emails with them so you can keep track of the process and good luck.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Exeter
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    15/3/19 Decide to join Plusnet due to positive reviews and my son having joined recently with no problems.
    Supposed to go live on 29/3/19
    On 25/3/19 no router had arrived. Tried to call but waiting time was too long for me to wait. Tried online chat, all lines busy.
    I then went away for 2 days. On return on 29/3/19 no router or Royal Mail red card. My previous provider had disconnected the line so I had no internet.
    Tried to track order from email with link to ‘track your order’ to be informed that I had no order.......
    Rang customer services. Explained. After checking, member of staff said the router would be delivered in 2-3 days and apologised. I asked about compensation and was told I’d have to call back after set up to claim compensation.
    1/4/19. No router. Rang customer services. Was told the router would be 4-5 days. I said that I was told it would be 2-3 days and that it hadn't arrived. I was told there was nothing she could do. I again asked about compensation and was told that I would get refund of the rental for however many days I was disconnected. I asked if she thought that was sufficient. I rang off.
    2/4/19. No router. 14 minutes of online chat waste of time. Was told there was billing error on my account........Offered me one month line and broadband rental refund. He didn’t answer my questions. When asked when router would arrive, was told 3 working days. Online chat recorded.
    Simultaneously got email saying my hardware had been ordered and would be 3-5 working days....
    14.27. Rang customer services again..... was offered £40 to go and buy a router. Told 3-5 working days for theirs to be delivered. Asked to speak to manager. Said I didn’t want to buy router as I knew nothing about them. Asked why their router could not be sent express delivery. Their routers sent out from warehouse not them. Explained it all. Data on my mobile running out. Error made by first person who took order? Manager will look in to it and get back to me within 2 hours. This call was 22 minutes.

    Manager called back as promised. He’d arranged router to be sent out recorded delivery and gave me delivery tracking number.
    His confirmation email said that the agreed ..... was ‘XXX’....... phone call agreement was £30 credit.
    7pm. Tried to track router on Royal Mail. Not trackable. Tried again at 11pm. Still not trackable.
    3/4/19. 7am. Router still not trackable on Royal Mail
    9.42. Tracked again. Royal Mail saying it’s been delivered. I was in at time of delivery so it had been delivered wrongly. Eventually went to neighbour the other side of estate, not in. Back home to write letter, delivered it. Owner of other house (not my address) contacted me having picked up my letter.
    Got back at lunchtime and collected the TWO separate routers sent... the address on both parcels was wrong. The first one I opened had wrong power cable. Luckily 2nd parcel had right one. Connected computer after some help from Technical Support. Phone and printer also connected.
    Later:
    Smart TV not holding connection via WPS. Dropped connection every time I turned TV off and I had to reconnect by pushing WPS button and starting again. Rang TV company. They found same problem. Suggested it was router at fault as TV had worked perfectly with previous provider.
    Ookla speeds through the night poor - worst at 7am when upload was 0.02.... best was 35 so average well below 38/40 for which I am paying.
    4/4/10. Tried Smart TV again. WPS lost.
    Rang Plusnet. 31 minutes later got answer from Technical support. Established it was probably faulty router as I had suspected. Told they’d send out new router. As I had been sent 2 routers in error, I agreed to change routers as most likely problem was that. Now have to reset phone, computer, printer and TV.....
    4/4/19. Installed new router. Connected computer, iPhone and printer. WPS on Smart TV still very dodgy but appears to be working and not disconnecting every time.
    Speeds extremely slow - often less than 1......
    Online chat said the speed to my property was 38 - of COURSE IT WAS!!
    Changed channel - speeds slightly better but nothing like 38 - 40.
    Have asked for increased compensation as Plusnet is part of BT who have signed up to Offcom agreement at £8 a day. I had no internet for 5 and a half days. Awaiting answer.
    Totally fed up with the whole service and after all the t5ourble, still got slow speeds.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid this shark company we moved house the broadband didnt work i withheld payment until it was fixed and now they have charged me £300 and disconnected my service + put bailifs on to me. We now have talk talk its much better, faster and the customer service is great..they actually answer the phone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Plus net has a bad reputation in my area, speeds vary from 0.01mbps down, to a whopping 1mbps on a good day. Ping is around 300 to uk servers, upload of 0.05, virtually non existent and extremely expensive. It's all our fault, despite a payment towards a new router, and nothing wrong on our side.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Started out fine with about 36 Mbs on a 39 Mbs service and over time dropped to less than 20 Mbs with a 32 Mbs threshold. Then went for faster service when renewal came up and it got even slower - not faster. More engineer visits and as before OK for a while. My service threshold on 'new contract' for the 'faster' service had been lowered to less than 25 Mbs. Went back to 'slower' service and after a visit or two more, back to 36 Mbs, but still on a sub 25 Mbs threshold and after three months it is now down to just over 25 Mbs. I can't wait for it to drop that extra 500k! I realise that the 'wholesale service provider' is the real culprit, but why should I be paying the same for 2/3rds of the service?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Preston
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Do not trust this awful company.
    I was unhappy with Plusnet, because they always used to call with better deals and appreciated your custom and that is why I originally stayed loyal to them. After many years of being on contracts, I had foolishly allowed a contract to lapse, no call or email from Plusnet with an offer for a better contract and I was paying full price plus paying the line rental saver.
    when I realised I was paying over the odds for my broadband I gave Plusnet a call. They offered a rubbish package with only a £5 saving for 18 month, in fact they first tried to tie me in for 24months, which was no good as new customers get a far better deal with line rental saver thrown in.
    I almost went for it, but after a quick discussion with my husband, we decided against it.
    I asked the representative to not to go ahead with the 18 month contract and cancel it as I felt I would prefer to leave when the line rental saver was almost up and not be penalised for leaving.
    I have this call recorded thank goodness!
    I have just received a bill for £102. They told me I was signed up to an 18 month contract! So even though they could see I was not receiving any reduction on my bill, they charged me the same amount as a non contract customer, then they have gone ahead and penalised me for leaving.
    Off to the Ombudsman I go with my recording! I am disgusted with them, daylight robbers.
    This company went downhill many years ago, poor customer service, rude staff, drop outs in connectivity, higher prices. I did not want to stay with them any longer, I think they are despicable trying to take penalty payments for a contract I was never on, never benefiting from any reduction in price, they are scoundrels.
    If I was elderly, this would still be happening. You would think companies would tighten down on this bad practice, especially during the Covid tragedy. Yet they would seek to rip off a loyal customer of seven years.
    I repeat, Do not trust this awful company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I can't comment on broadband performance because we didn't get that far. Twice I tried to sign up online and both times it crashed. I should've listened to the alarm bells ringing. Then they altered the time of the installation. Finally I get my welcome letter with all my details wrong. I should say that I gave up my online application in favour of speaking to a human being so I know I gave the right info. But details can't be changed, apparently, without cancelling and starting all over again. No thanks. You've just lost another customer through sheer incompetence and bad service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    leicester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID DO NOT GO WITH PLUSNET... I recently moved from talktalk to plusnet with the promise they would be faster and would be hassle free switch, on the day of the switch talktalk stopped the internet as they should but plusnet did not start the internet I rang them and after a 45 min wait spoke to a man who kept putting me on hold for 5 mins at a time and came back with no answers, in the end it took over a week to restart my internet as plusnet state: WE DID NOT HAVE A LINE TO PUT YOUR INTERNET ON... surly this line should have been held when we paid which was 6 weeks before we even moved over to them. we was promised speeds between 3-5 as talktalk was only 2.. currently my speed is not even 0.5 rang them and after waiting for nearly an hour to speak to someone was told they would look into it.. 2 weeks later still waiting on a reply... we are currently trying to get out of our contract as they have breeched speeds they promised... I will advise anyone to get out of it THIS COMPANY IS A COWBOY NEEDS TO BE SERIOUSLY LOOKED INTO... I was told they had won awards for customer service however I seriously do not know how they have done this because eberyone I speak to does not have a clue about what im talking about and everytime I speak to someone I just get fobbed off with another excuse...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South West England
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Switched from BT to plusnet and what a mistake that was. The day my broadband went live, I plugged in the router and the light was blue signalling that it was working, however whenever I tried to access any website I was taken straight back to the hub manager and told that everything was working fine. So I called Plusnet, waited 50 minutes for my call to be answered, the lad on the phone said that they don't have enough staff at their callcenter to take calls quickly enough, not his fault and I respect the honesty. Anyway after trying everything they suggested which I had already done multiple times, I was told that I needed an engineer to come out to address the issues, which I had to pay for! I declined that and I said that I wanted to cancel my service, but as I had to wait almost an hour for my call to be answered I was told that department was closed and I had to call back the next day, so I did, after another 45 minute wait I was then told that it would be £240 to cancel my contract with Plusnet as I had gone one day over the 14 day cooling off period, but I hadn't even had my "service" for a full day! Eventually I was told that I could cancel and not have to pay, but I was then told by another "team member" that in fact I was lying and that no one told me I could get out of my contract for free, I was then threatened with being taken to court and to have debt collectors come to my house but I explained that they original called were recorded and that I wanted to speak to someone more senior. I was told I would be called back within 24 hours, no call for 4 days until I had to call again and wait 70 minutes this time to get through. I had the router plugged in for 3 weeks and the problems never resolved themselves. Went back to BT and the difference in their product and customer service is night and day.

    I feel sorry for anyone who isn't tech savvy and who signs up for Plusnet on the basis that it's cheap, family friendly and "great customer service" as I was conantly fobbed off with "reset your router" or "change the wifi channel", which I had already done multiple times and I know what I'm doing.

    Plusnet is cheap for a reason, don't buy into their stupid adverts. The big boys of the ISP world might not be perfect but they are a damn sight better than Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They have messed up billing systems dont generate Bill's properly they owe u a refund and then refer accounts to debt agency's when they still owe u a refund
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible and the tv adverts are crassly stupid and endlessly boring.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Romsey
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I live in a rural area so expect to have reduced broadband speeds but I do not expect to often have no broadband and occasionally have no phone line either. When things are going well I have a 1Mb connection and am unable to stream Iplayed etc. Although I have contacted PlusNet on several occasions they don't seen interested is sorting out the issues but are still happy to charge me a fortune for up to 38Mb broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined Plusnet fibre from Sky standard broadband as I was really keen to get a faster better connection. However straight from the off I noticed that although the speed was was ok in different places around the house the strength was terrible to the point where a very short video on Facebook was buffering. I have rung them and tried everything they suggested but the signal is still terrible and they are now suggesting that I purchase some boosters or use my old Sky router. Although they are polite on the phone they know I am tied into an 18 month contract and so I get the impression they don't care. If like me you mainly use wifi and are not intending using a cable to connect to your router do not go with Plusnet. I left Sky because it was all getting too expensive but I am regretting moving my broadband. If I could I would cancel immediately. I am going to post this review everywhere so hopefully I can prevent other people making the same mistake as me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    it was ok while we where with them,didnt reach the promised broadband speed ... but as i left i still was charged for another 6 months and i went threw the hell trying to get my money back!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Living in a rural location I accept a slow connection speed and I only have a choice of BT or Plusnet (BT owned) as providers but the difference between BT and Plusnet is customer service and reliability, absolutely none on both with Plusnet, avoid them, they are deliberately poor, there is no need for the poor quality router, the awkward replacement to a better router, the terrible automated support Bot (useless) and the total lack of a person to speak to. I contacted the telephone support line after 2 days of no connection to broadband and the answerphone told me to call back another day as they're busy at the moment and then cut me off. I'm stuck with the lack of choices but that day is coming with rural broadband being available to me in the near future, goodbye BT and Plusnet, you will not be missed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Plus net ruined by extreme poor customer service spoke to an absolute idiot called Asad who would not help or answer questions that was asked when I requested to speak to a supervisor three times refused then transferred to someone else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blyth UK
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We switched to Plusnet around three years ago onto a usual broadband contract and had no real problem. Then we ordered their fibre service and oh my god what a mistake, it is seriously bad.

    Some of the rooms in the house have zero internet and the ones that do get drop offs every few mins. The router is a really cheap nasty thing that isn't fit for purpose in my opinion.

    Contacting their technical department is a complete waste of an hour waiting to speak to someone who when they eventually answer read through a scripted load of ***** about how to improve your speed/connection. The router is where their engineer sited it.

    The speed we get is half of what we pay for. It really is terrible.

    Oh and they are actually owned by BT.

    Our contract ends in two months and it can't come soon enough. I wouldn't stay with them if they offered it free.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Diabolical customer service. Ages to get through on the phone and advisors who blame the customer for any disagreement. I got hit with a £30 exit fee that I had no idea existed, even though I left OUT OF CONTRACT! This used to be a great company. Since being taken over by BT they seem to have adopted BT's shocking service standards. Shame - stay well away.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kings Lynn
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    After 5 years not needing any help and good service the minute i have an issue they are useless, also my contract is up for renewal and they cannot beat any prices and are not willing to negotiate to hold onto a customer, seems they are a company who would much rather deal with new customers than existing. Going to be switching after i have finished writing my rant!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Banbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have recently received a lot of nuisance calls from witheld numbers, and have reported this to the police. They have advised me to contact Plusnet but I can't get to them at all. NO stars for ccustomer service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Solihull
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After I joined Plusnet + fibre they took my landline number and was given another number so all my contacts did not know where I was. and have 100s, etc including doctor, dentist, clinics etc and hospitals etc.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wimborne
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    What a caring company! Having recently received a new router from them, I asked if they had a router without a blue light as it was affecting my seizures. The answer was no, but immediately they said I could get one on the open market, and would credit me with £35.00 towards it! They did not need me to return the old one. This is the sort of service you would expect from expensive providers. I thoroughly recommend them!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stockport
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Have unlimited fibre and we still cannot stream netflix reliably, file downloads rarely get past 2 mb even though line says 25mb. Connection is reliable, bit like the tortoise, it gets there in the end, but the hare always wins, will move to Virgin when contract up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No internet connection for 72 days. I have spoken with over 15 different people in their tech dept & no one can arrange a fix. username: antvic
  • Reviewer
    Location
    oswestry
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    waited 4 weeks for plusnet bt guy to come out and do my line and 8 more days to get internet going not very happy will look else were next year
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Redhill
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I choose PlusNet because they were supposed to have outstanding customer service. Well as good as you can get for an ISP. I have had nothing but problems with their CS team if you can call it that.

    The online department are rude, waiting times to get through on the phone are ridiculous.

    They take a payment from the wrong month and then punish me because of their mistakes. They even own up to it being their mistake and then still charge me the admin fees.

    Now i know when i choose an ISP to pick the cheapest because good CS does not happen with an ISP.

    I just hope this get out of jail free card in September is not a myth because i just want to leave and another 14 months of dealing with them is something i wouldn't wish on my worst enemy.

    The worst part is its all over a 5er which is not alot at all but why should i pay for their mistakes.

    The speeds have been great but the speeds would be the same with any ISP seen as they use the same lines. I wish i just stuck with TalkTalk atleast i know their CS team is awful.

    AVOID IF YOU CAN
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scarborough
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!! I called Plusnet back in October to cancel my policy as we were moving address and they didn’t provide internet in that area. We then called them again and made a payment of £50 and was told this was a cancellation fee which it wasn’t and instead we paid for a service we no longer needed in an area we no longer lived. While we were customers with plusnet they over charged us each month we were with them. This issues has been going on for over 6 months now with no resolution! Their customer service is shocking and It would be a shock if you called them and only spoke with the one person as we spoke with multiple issues with each call. I have set up over 3 complaints with Plusnet which have not been handled or even looked at for weeks at a time. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY WILL DRAIN YOU OF ALL YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME!!!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.