Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3.1 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 2672 customer ratings since 2021-01-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,492 Customer Reviews over 88 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful customer service constantly given different answers to same question very unhelpful cancelled at earliest opportunity thats tomorrow apparently!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Disaster from start to finish. Automatic order processing didn't process the order. When chased to find out what was happening (very long wait on all call times), was advised that order hadn't been placed but could be done manually after another two week wait. On appointed day when nothing happened and engineer hadn't turned up- another series of hanging on the phone chasing. This time advised order had been rejected - but notification to me. As a result lost my existing line and broadband. Sky subsequently resurrected my line and broadband for me. Wouldn't recommend Plusnet to my worst enemy
  • Reviewer
    Location
    southport
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst broadband I've ever had, not worth the lower cost. It cuts off randomly at times, slows down regularly Please don't go with this company it's aids.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    warwick
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    they took over my phone lines but because 'their supplier was late transfering the account' I got to pay an full month to the old company, as well as a month less 5 days to plusnet, when I complained it took 1 hour and forty one minutes on their chat line before the words above were admitted but there was nothing I could as they were not allowed to give me the suppliers details.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID PLUSNET, THEY DON'T CARE TWO HOOTS ABOUT YOU.

    I used to get 9 meg with Sky. Swapped to plusnet a year ago and this dropped immediately to 7 meg (at best).
    Recently had a line fault and lost everything. Openreach quickly fixed the problem at the box at the end of the road.
    Since then my max speed has been 4 meg. Plusnet will make no attempt to get me back to 7 meg because it still meets the new ofcom minimum requirement of 3.5 meg.
    Beware of the minimum guaranteed speeds when you sign up because that is what you may end up with for the whole contract period. The speeds splashed all over the adverts are no guarantee that you will get anything like this. The minimum speeds are buried in the small print.

    36 meg fibre broadband !!!!! You might end up with 10 meg from one provider I noticed. These advertised speeds need to be changed to minimum guaranteed speeds.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barnsley
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet since I cancelled with Talk Talk (Rubish ), great service, Yorkshire based company who usually look after their costumers. My contract is up for renewal, but on looking at the speeds offered my upload speed will go down from 10mg to up to 2mg unless I upgrade which will cost me more.I' looking round now for a better deal, but not many good compliments for other providers !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wakefield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The big problem with Plusnet is that they are so difficult to contact. They couldn't be more awkward if they tried.

    We have had a fault on the phone line occurring for the second tome in two weeks. They expect you to telephone them; How when the phone isn't working!! I got onto the chat line where they just couldn't care less. They said they couldn't do anything, which means they weren't going to try. They said I had to ring. I managed to get a mobile to call but their call centre is hopeless on a mobile. Pressing the button as instructed just cut me off and I tried several times. I had asked the chat line for an email address of the Complaints Manager but was told that you have to write in. For a company selling modern technology, including email, it is ridiculous to hide behind the postal service. I want action now not the week after next.
    I'll just be glad when the contract is finished then goodbye and Plusnet.
    How can their customer service be “award winning”?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackpool
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    First class moved from Sky only £23.99 pm and £50 reward free
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Highlands
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for many years and they used to be good. Unfortunately the service now is hopeless. If you have a problem,it takes at least 20 minutes to get through to customer services and when you do, you are speaking to a computer with a human voice. If you want to speak to a real human, you have to get a call back which can take up to 72 hours. Of course the chances are that you won't be at home when this occurs. I definitely would not reccommend Plusnet so don't be fooled by the TV adverts that boast about the wonderful customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I have been without a fully operating answerphone since 23 September 2015, I have raised at least 7-8 questions; and no-one at plus-net seems to have the ability to ensure repairs have been undertaken correctly. today an engineer telephoned and said the line was faulty and crackling fading, total garbage, the fault is at the exchange and responsibility of BT...apparently it needs a working port -a lift/shift and someone has got their wires wrong!
    NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE plus-net they have cost me considerable money in missed appointments and to new users I say that unless we see change with compensation forthcoming then I shall not renew my contract FEB 2016 NO WAY!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bracknell Berks
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Decent provider customer service is quite good - do not have to wait too long to speak to someone and they are courteous.The speed is a letdown only 2.6megs aginst a standard line max of 4
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I really thought Talktalk were bad until this lot came along. Slow speeds, cut off broadband as they continue to repair lines and blame BT. Never again will I use Plusnet
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cornwall
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Informed I wished to switch service to new property, gave 4 weeks notice told no problem? After 5 weeks eventually had a phone line then informed they had misplaced order for broadband ? so will have to wait 2 more weeks ! Customer Service wait approx 30 mins, sometimes informed that you need to ring back later as C.S busy ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rochdale
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for 3 months and have superfast broadband. Quality of service, price, broadband speed and quality are excellent and exactly as described in my contract. I do not have to speak to Help/Centres overseas which is a big plus. Have had Virgin, BT and Sky in the past Plusnet is so much better. Virgin might claim faster speeds but no good if your system has repeated outages.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Outrageous. Miss sold product resulting in heavy bills with no recompense from customer services other than "well you can complain if you want but it's just the way it is" I'll be cancelling today.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Addlestone, Surrey.
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We were with Plusnet for 7/8 years.. I chose them because of the award winning customer service which was awful.

    Soon after joining we had an intermittent problem. It was then I found Plusnet were poor in delivery, service and resolution.

    Loads of 60 min cs calls Waiting and In 7 years it was never resolved until I paid for it.

    Useless. Less than poor.

    Whenever I spoke to someone I was told it was my end. They sent charts, suggested changing hub channels (after I had told them twice I had already done it),

    So I listened to them and bought a nighthawk router. £165 to fix the one thing that could be wrong. No change.

    I gave up for a couple of years and then during Covid I picked up the mental fortitude again. This time I got someone that really tried to help but, now, after 4 circuitous email I paid for an engineer to come and fix it. He changed the lead from the sub box (which is 20 feet from the house) termination box and cable. And it works a treat.

    Plusnet are poor in spirit and delivery. I’m so glad we left
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No one should give Plusnet their bank details or set up a direct debit for this company. They steal customers' money. When you call them they apologise and promise a refund but this never materialises. I was with Plusnet and I moved house. They took over my neighbour's internet and phone line! They apologised and acknowledged it was their mistake. I asked to terminate my contract since it was within the 14 days initial period after I started a new contract for moving house. They promised to refund me for the month they charged ahead. Instead they stole £58 from my account. I phoned them several times, every time they promise to refund me but they never do. This is a dodgy company. Peopel should not give them their bank details or set up a direct debit with Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swansea
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was supposed to switch to Plusnet on the 26th November from Talktalk. My Internet connection was cut off on the 21st November,and I lost my phone connection on the 26th. Eventually, after much drama, I got my Internet connected a week late, on 3rd December, but still no phone on the 5th December.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    You get what you pay.
    It is cheap, however the line is intermittent and slow most of the times.
    Be careful when you leave them, as when you notify them, they will send you an email to acknowledge the fact you're leaving, however they will then deny and explain that the email was automatically sent. They will finally charge early cancellation fees. Probably best to send them a letter to cover you in case you decide to leave them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    County durham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is a joke. Tried phoning and not got through yet. Takes an age to get through via chat.
    They eventually answer twitter or Facebook.
    Not like TV adverts....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wakefield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have just left Plusnet after an awful two years. I don't normally leave reviews, but this is the worst company I have ever had to deal with.

    To summarise my experiences - I have made 94 calls to this company for faults, failures and mistakes. It took them over 3 months to get my internet working, and then it was dial up speeds. It took them another month to get the speed up to what I was promised. The majority of the people that work in their customer services and call centres are generally incompetent, unprofessional, sometimes rude, idiots. On the rare occasion that you do deal with someone who is capable, their service is soon let down by having to refer you or hand you over to another employee out of the talentless pool of dead carcasses that work there.

    Every time you request a change to the service or there is a fault, prepare yourself to have to make numerous phone calls to resolve even the simplest of problems. Of the 94 calls I have made I have found that the person you speak to (obviously you have no control over this) has a much higher bearing on when the issue will be resolved, rather than what the actual issue is. Some of the simplest faults have taken weeks to rectify, and if you don't keep calling them, they can take a lot longer.

    Thankfully I have now left and switched to another provider. The experience has been a breath of fresh air, there have been a few minor issues with the new provider, but they have all been resolved quickly and promptly. This is a very different experience to PlusNet, who I am still having to call as they have cocked up the final bill and rather than rectify it before it leaves my account (Over two weeks to sort this before the bill date), I have been told to wait until the excess charges come out, and then I can contact them to get it refunded. I am sure I will break 100 calls before this is resolved.

    "We'll Do You Proud" - Far from it!
    AVOID LIKE THE F****ING PLAGUE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Moved from talk talk regarding security issues but had trouble from day one with lack of correct billing and plus net failing to take payment but insisting it is not their problem. Speed is okay at best of times but regularly drops out or slows down to a crawl. Not satisfied with their service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We are a property investment company. We signed up to Plusnet to supply broadband at 3 properties. After 1 month only 1 of them is up and running, at 1 they failed to set up the account at all and at the other they refuse to accept there isnt a phone line at the property and keep cancelling my installation appointments (3 times now)

    I wish I had never signed up with company. Buyer beware!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Is it possible that you could be further away from how you project your company on adverts...
    Shocking on every angle! Double charged me for 9 months (endless battle's to get my money back) minimum 30 minutes to speak to customer service, then a web of lies to fix your faults..
    Avoid at all costs
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of Lewis
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Can't actually speak for the internet quality, but I moved house on 12/01/2021 and we were guaranteed the internet to be installed and working by that week. I can work with a weeks delay, even 2 weeks at a stretch but it's now 04/02/2021 and we've only just had it installed completely.

    Maybe it's OpenReach that's the problem, which is understandable due to the virus. But the support Plusnet has provided has been dreadful and completely uninformative. They keep you in the dark about everything, and just say "there's a problem" with certain things and that it'll take a week to fix. Week goes by, no fix and no idea what the hell is going on with the internet connection.

    What's more is they charged a £80 setup fee. Great, a setup fee to have my internet installed a month late and provide me with a loss of earnings from work. Thanks Plusnet, you really did me proud.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Always advocated for Plusnet being excellent and customer service and broadband was OK and reasonably priced. I switched suppliers so I could get fibre (through cable as I live too close to an exchange to get FTTP - rediculous I know!) They then cancelled the direct debit and began chasing for a payment which I was very confused about as they are the ones who cancelled it!

    Got fed up of the threatening letters and calls over a meagre £14 (probably spent more hassling me for it!) so tried to call to pay and tried to pay online. Yet their site didn't work, nor did the phone number!

    Got there in the end, you can tell that BT are starting to have their influence since the acquisition!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford UK
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Promised a reward card, not received. Called to enquire, I was told it was unavailable, my fault and there is nothing they can do. Absolute scam!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Plusnet keeps you on hold for an average waiting time of 30 minutes and when you finally get through you sometimes get cut off/disconnected so you're expected to phone them back and wait for another life time before getting through again.
    Why can't they have the decency to phone you back so they can at least try and rectify your problem instead of ignoring it. I joined Plusnet for their Customer Service but what a load of rubbish they are.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They sent me three routers which never arrived, every phonecall up yet just offfered me free month of broadband which is good except without a router there was no broadband to get free. Finally cancelled and the lady on the phone informed me none had been sent out. Thanks for the wasted time guys!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am writing this review after previously being with Plus Net and going back, foolishly thinking they're service would be as good as it was before.

    Before I begin there was a gentleman on Manchester support team who was incredibly helpful. I am now at the conclusion that Plus net are either buffoons or crooks. You decide.

    My connection has slowly gone downhill, not by speed, but by quality. I am already in a slow connection are due to my distance from the exchange however my latency has always been great so this is forgiven (love my gaming).

    During this increasingly infuriating issue I have been in contact with support, who initially took me back as to how professional they were. They didn't ask me to go through there usual script of things as I had already given them the list, and instead used logic. However after these attempts had failed, I contacted them again.

    My first two attempts to make contact again was met with simple tests, which had already been done. Unable to look at previous tickets, I humored them with the same results. They replied with a frankly ridiculous chart of numbers showing how stable to connection was, obviously designed to confuse rather than be informative. I replied stating stability was not the issue, the latency was.

    After waiting several days, and replying to yet more menial tasks, and even at one point, them just sending me a message saying "Your issue is fixed" with no context, I replied yet again with the same list of attempted fixes and issues which they were seemingly unable to find from previous tickets again.

    This time, the WIFI was blamed. Considering I stated on no less than 8 occasions the desktop is hard wired and answered this pointless accusation with the same list of things. I am currently awaiting a "Response".

    I am almost 99% sure the issue is because the connection is being momentarily throttled as the neighboring traffic is too much for the system so it is queuing people to let them through. At this point if they would just admit their fault and give me a timescale for correction/improvement I wouldn't be so annoyed. However it is now painfully obvious they just here to blind you with science and take your money for a less than mediocre internet connection.

    Being "Best Provider Customer Service" is all good and well, if you provided a good service to support.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The WORST company in every way. After 4pm BroadbNd is so slow, all phones are turned onto 4G. Customer service is appalling, no one speaks to anyone and you go through the same story over and over again. Chasing bills for money not owed after cancelling contracts. Terrible company AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst internet provider I've ever dealt with. Poor speed, poor reliability, next to no effort to try and resolve any issues. Every time I've been in contact with their customer support, I'm told to check the same potential faults with the router, as if I haven't tried everything under the sun already. My opinion, go for any provider but these guys. Virgin would be my no1 choice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I am so surprised at how good PlusNet are. Okay, the service is not the lowest in terms of price but the feedback/communication has been A1 and generally they have been very good.

    I would always recommend them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Beyond terrible customer service. Avoid at all costs. Would give zero stars if it was possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burghfield Common
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Three weeks of faults two days off work for engineer visits and no further forward, worst provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had an intermittent fault with my service, booked an engineers visit which Plusnet automatically cancelled. Eventually got an engineer to attend, the service was then out for a while week with a further two visits. I spent 5+ hours on the phone, the agents don't have a clue and there is no consistency in handling calls. In the end Plusnet agreed that they would wave the contract cancellation fees. I think they'd given up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Herefordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Plusnet are absolutely awful, constant drop outs and slow speeds. No help beyond "have you tried resetting the router?" from customer service. Will change internet service provider as soon as I can. Please, I urge anyone to stay away from them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gorleston
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Great company! If you like waiting half hour for a 2 minutes clip... Terrible service, tried calling multiple times and they didn't even pick up... Finally got hold of someone and they said they would sort it.... They didn't. I don't know if it is incompetence or greed that's the route of this shambles of a company but seeing as they're jacking up prices for a terrible service, I'm guessing greed. I hope Your inadequacy doesn't extend to your personal lives or you'll have some very disappointed spouses on your hands
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stalybridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have had to cancel my Plusnet yesterday 15/07/17 after a complete waste of time and money.
    I ordered Plusnet fibre extra broadband on the 08/08/17 through one of there customer service reps over the phone, who told me an engineer would be coming on 15/08/17 between 8am and 1pm to install a new phone line at the cost of £49.99. I then received an email confirming this for the said date and time. I called Plusnet on monday 14/08/17 to ask a simple question to see if they would notify me any time in advance so i could make sure someone was at home at the time but was told they would try but couldnt guarantee it, So I took the day off work so I could be in for the engineer and sat at home waiting.
    The engineer never turned up, so I called Plusnet to see what the problem was, after 20 minutes on hold I got through to a very nice lady who searched through my account for a while to see what the problem could be, she then told me that the initial date for the engineer had been automatically rejected on there system the day the booking was made and that the engineer would be coming on the 22/08/17 to install the phone line.
    They knew it had been cancelled a week before the initial date and did not even have the courtesy to inform me, I lost a days pay and was charged £49.99 engineer cost for the privilege with nothing to show for it, to then be told I would have to be in on the 22/08/17.
    So I called to cancel, if this was how it was going to start I didn't want to risk any more.
    The first gentleman I spoke to was extremely pleasant and as I explained the problem and why I would like to cancel he was very understanding, he then transferred me to the Plusnet options team who would see if there was anything they could do to prevent me leaving.
    The second gentleman I spoke to from the Plusnet options team, the one who was supposed to try convince me to stay told me two things, that the date given was only a provisional date and not necessarily the date they would be coming which to me was a bit of a kick in the shins as the previous lady from Plusnet had already told me they knew on the day I signed up that the engineer date had been rejected, and secondly he told me that there was no point in cancelling as I wouldn't get broadband sooner anywhere else if I cancelled because they had already put the order In, again to me was one of the worst arguments of trying to keep a customer I had ever heard.
    I confirmed to cancel again and he agreed to do so.
    Within minutes I received an email stating Plusnet had auctioned my request to cancel with immediate effect and I would be refunded my engineer fee and first months payment totalling £79.98.
    I then received a second email stating no initial payment had been taken so no refund was required, so I double checked my bank and sure enough the payment had been taken out on 08/08/17 so back on the phone to Plusnet.
    After 20 plus minutes on hold I got through to again a very pleasant gentleman and explained the problem regarding the email saying I wouldn't be receiving my refund, he checked the system and couldn't understand why I had an email stating this as he could clearly see that the money had been taken by Plusnet and there was no reason to not to be refunded, after a brief hold I was told that it had been raised to the Plusnet billing team as he couldn't authorise it there and they should rectify the problem within 24 hours. We will just have to wait and see.
    Luckily I did record all my calls with them as I have automatic call recorder and double checked all my facts before writing this review on my experience with them.

    Regards

    Alexander
  • Reviewer
    Location
    England
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Absolute joke of a service. Had to pay 80 to get an engineer out and wasted two days annual leave because the first engineer who turned up couldn't do the job needed.was told oh it doesn't matter because you're getting 75 cashback once the service is up and running any way. The service itself took a whole month of back and forth to sort out. When it finally came I waited for the cashback. And waited. Just called up and asked where the cashback had ended up. They sent an email out 3rd September asking for me to claim it as if I wouldn't just want it automatically. Absolute scam. For whatever reason the email ended up in my spam box and because I didn't kick off with them asap I've ended up missing the "deadline" for a task I've never been verbally told I had. Such a disgraceful way to treat customers and that was a lot of money for me. There is absolutely nothing the company is willing to do because the email scam is in the small print. Never again and I'd advise all friends and family to stay far far away from these guys.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.