Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 4251 customer ratings since 2021-01-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,045 Customer Reviews over 102 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I joined virgin media 12 months ago. At the time the messed up the package I should have had but they told me not to worry, they would apply a credit to my account each month to cover the error. They then told me i would be able to get another good deal when my contract expires so the original error wont matter

    12 months have passed and the new offer they are giving me is not as good as i could have had if they had set the account up correctly 12 months ago. Even though this is their error, they are prepared to do NOTHING to rectify this and even encouraged me to leave on the phone

    Shocking to say the least. I work in customer service and cannot believe how they treat existing customers! A new customer could move top them now on the same package as I have and pay £49 per month. My "special offer" as a loyal customer is £60 per month! Loyal???

    Why am I being penalised

    Good Bye Virgin Media. Hopefully other customers will read this avoid joining you before they fall for the attractive introductory rates you offer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    berkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    All was good with VIRGIN until I decided to cancel….been a loyal customer for years and would have recommended them BUT UNTIL I TRIED TO CANCEL….I am moving and needed to cancel my contract and virgin do not cover our new address....BUT!!!!!it is near impossible to cancel, took me over 4 hours to achieve this, on the phone for over 2-3 hours cut off twice...told I could not cancel by phone and to go on web site chat....did this again over 3 hours on line and did not get any response during this time.....very disappointed as up to cancelling I would have recommended virgin..... virgin aware on my frustration and disappointment BE VERY SURPRISED IF I GET RESPONSE??..... VIRGIN MAKE IT AS DIFFICULT AS POSSIBLE TO CANCEL...….due to the current coronavirus there will be a lot of people in financial difficulties and they make it near on impossible to cancel....who has time to hang on phone for 4 hours trying to exercise the right to cancel!!!!!!!!!
    It is absolutely disgusting the way they treat loyal customers …..on the phone I was told in no uncertain terms I could not cancel via phone..BUT I COULD ADD OR CANCEL SOME OF MY FEATURES ON THE PHONE!!!!!!.....I was told someone would ring me back....never did....asked to speak to a manager ….said I would hold until they were free...I did this for 45 minutes and then was cut off....they had took my number and promised call back if cut off…….never happened what a surprise!!!!!!!!

    I am really angry and would never recommend or use any virgin products again

    I HAVE WASTED OVER 4 HOURS TRYING TO DO ONE SIMPLE TASK!!!

    WHY DON’T THEY ….have link on your personal online account where you can cancel contract??????????????
    WHY DON’T’ THEY ...make cancelling contract on phone easy...…

    BECAUSE THEY TREAT CUSTOMERS WITH CONTEMPT!!!!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Virginmedia signed me up misleading circumstances tsaying they would provide me with all 3 services but didn’t tell me I would be waiting up to 3 months for the phone to be connected so as a result as sky cut me off on the date I agreed (I thought vVirgin would have switched by then)so have lost My home number of 35 years which wil cause me a lot of agro —- I would give Virginmedia -5stars if I could !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      5 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely astonished when I call to report an intermittent broadband fault all they want to do is try to sell me a more expensive router and mobile SIM card package… Customer services totally ****!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexleyheath
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    My bundle is 50mbs but what I get is 10/20mbs. So where that 50mbs???
    I lose connection to internet several times a week.
    Very, very Poor customer service. Practically non-existent.

    I with Virgin for nearly 4 years and I think now is good time to leave.

    I really fed up with all virgin media lies. Advertised 50mbs internet, but I get a not reliable 10/20mbs internet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexleyheath
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Wished I hadn't left sky all the hype Virgin dish out does not meet up to the advertising. Broadband very slow. TV useless. Phone very bad crackly line,no tone on phone to inform you that a message has been left. I have now had to pay to have evening and weekends added to my package as daytime calls are very very expensive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexleyheath
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely appalling speed! No value for money!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    The last time I called was to cancel as the prices shot up and the offer they gave me was not suitable. The guy I spoke to was the most rudest arrogant person I have ever spoken to in my life, he seriously should not be working in customer services if he does not have any manners or people skills. I would make a complaint but I know either nothing will get done or he will get a minor telling off. Wouldn’t stay with the company if they’ve offered me the services for free now after the way I was spoken to. Being spoken to with respect and politeness has a big impact on your customers!!! Never ever returning to virgin media again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Honestly the speed is so unreliable and virgin media have failed to compensate customers for the slow speeds everyone has been experiencing for the past 6 months. I really hope after the maintenance works in Feb 2017 that things improve but I certainly will not be sticking with them once I move nor will I be recommending them to anyone. Another thing I really don't like about them is that there are no good deals for existing customers - if you've been loyal to them whether it 1 year or 10 years (my boyfriend has been with them for over 10 years) they charge you an extortionate amount - basically you pay back the discount you received when you first joined them plus some more! I tried to change my contract to a cheaper one but they told me that it was only for new customers and that I should be grateful because I was already paying the discounted price at £32.70/month for broadband (and for new customers they were charging £18/month for broadband only). Honestly they need to be nicer to existing customers. After the first year of your contract, it just gets way too expensive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Contacted Virgin media due to broadband at service fault all the time. Worse customer service from India call centre. Very rude!! She was making you feel stupid as if you don’t know you don’t how to reset the modem. She even told me that she can not provide compensation as it was just our household who had a problem with the broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bickershaw
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    i cant get any programs after 6.00pm
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Billingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Awful customer service. Was trying to find out how much notice I needed to give to cancel my contract, and potentially renegotiate a new deal. The cancellation team were awful. The woman was aggressive, rude and patronising, and refused to pass me on to a supervisor or someone else. I eventually had to put the phone down. When I called back I spoke to another woman who went to check / speak to the first person I had spoken to. She then came back and immediately informed me my account would be cancelled in 30 days. No attempt was made to keep me as a customer or apologise. The best way to judge a company is how they deal with an issue. Virgin Media are awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birchington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Totally disgusted. Was barricaded from my own house after over an hours drive home by orange and white barriers over my drive way Never asked or told this would happen. What Right does Virgin have to deny me access to my house? Fuming :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birkenhead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Virgin have major over utilisation issues, and they just pretend it's not a problem. Paying for 50mb, lucky to get 2mb in the evening. Been promising to fix for over a year, promises fix dates come and go (5th lie date now I believe), they don't care as they get paid, I don't think it will ever be fixed as they can't (complete system overhaul). They will still take on new customers and not tell them. Check the forums this is a major problem Country wide! Avoid!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birkenhead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Unstable connection, Tried to phone up and telling them that the connection keeps randomly going off, They lie to me and try say its fine but its unstable sometimes, I do give them that i got £25 off my bill because i didnt have any connection for sometime when i first joined, Worst experience when i first joined ever, Treated me like crap, Rubbish customer service!, When its working the speed is really good but Broadband reliability is awful!

    Would not recommend Virgin Media if you are new to them like i was!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birkenhead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I got it setup about 1 and a half weeks ago and i wanted the super hub up stairs and he refused and installed in down stairs were i didnt want it!, Not getting the promised speeds and it keeps sying randomly, Got told i had to wait 1 week to get this sorted?, Im new and im already very unhappy... Do you treat everyone like this?, Horrible service!

    First time i ever first tried it
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4909882683 (Wireless) but it changed and got worse with wireless, (Not a stable connection)

    With plugin
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4915129177
    A higher download speed but a worse upload speed (it changes all the time!!)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingam
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Not good
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingha.
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Will never again use or recommend virgin to any family or friends. Customer services advisors are rude and serve no purpose to help! Turns out the "small tv package" is free but you pay 5 pound a month for the tv box? If much rather buy a freeview box and watch the channels on there, for 1 there's more of them and for 2 you don't have to pay a monthly charge for having it! Absolutely ridiculous money grabbing company to be avoided at all costs! Oh and don't try to leave them because the just want to slam you with a 150pound cancellation fee! I thought sky was bad well hello to something even more worse.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve been a virgin media customer for over 20 years up until 3-4 years ago there service was good until I started have lag and interrupted service will after continuous calls I finally was told there is high utilisation in the area and should be fixed by January 2016.Well after upgrading my internet with virgin media from upto 70 gig to UPTO 200 gig in just a week I’ve had to contact them every other day with this totally rubbish service so I get an engineer come out just for this engineer to tell me that there is still a high utilisation and should be fixed by January 2019. None of this was told to me when the operator was signing me up to another 12 month contract please beware if you in the Northfield area of Birmingham as this isn’t just by myself it’s the total area
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm trying since 10 days to talk with one of the staff of virgin media and I'm asking him to help me to find out a broadband for my house, everytime I call him he says to me 'I'll call you back tomorrow" but he never calls me back!! Very bad customer service!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was misold a Virgin media contract and then misold upgrades, the staff on the phone lied to me about introductionary offers. I have since complained about this and been told the calls are recorded for training and monitoring purposes only and will not be used to prove whether I was lied to. I can either pay an extortionate cancellation fee or bend over and take it from them. Absolutley discusted.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely rubbish customer service. Continual issues with reliability and quality of service only to be told the issues with their internet were not guaranteed as part of their service. No attempts to resolve issues and no callbacks despite escalation. Finally chose to leave the company. Could of been handled so differently.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm giving it one star because of how ridiculous the customer service line is. You go through the menu system, then it says "Please check your equipment and call back if you're still experiencing problems."

    I just went through the entire menu system and it didn't even put me through to an operator, just a message saying to check my equipment.

    I always have to call twice because of this stupid system.

    This is extremely unprofessional.

    Also, my internet goes down frequently with Virgin and sometimes doesn't come back until hours or even a day or two later.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    Comments
    They claim to be the best but they are the worst. broadband has always got problems always something wrong in the are not true the fact is they employ incompetent people to perform the jobs BT service is way more reliable and cheaper. I was supposed to complete my work for college but thay had whole day and they could not fix it some minor issue I bet


    pros: broadband speed is on point.


    cons:everything apart from the internet speed. so;costumer service, services, TV, prices ,reliabilty very very poor. avoid virgin media if you can
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting. Recently moved into a house and rang virgin media a week prior to moving in to sign up for our tv, broadband and phone. The installation appointment was booked for a few days after we moved in which was fine. They came to install it, only to leave telling us the cable coming into the house is damaged and needed repairing, again fine.

    After another week and a half, they came and repaired the cable and told us the install would then be another week and 2 days away! But again, manageable.

    Fast forward a week and 2 days, they come to -finally- install the equipment. Fast forward another 2 hours, when the man came in to tell us that there is no way we can get virgin media here, as the cabinet out on the road no longer has virgin media in, and hasn't for some time, meaning my property and ththe other surrounding me can't get virgin.

    The problem isn't the fact of not being able to have virgin, there are other providers. The problem is the fact that we were even allowed to sign up in the first place!! They would know the area is inserviceable to virgin media yet we were allowed to sign up regardless, wasting 3 weeks of our time, 3 weeks of no Wi-Fi, tv or landline. When I rang customer service to give them what for and to cancel my contract, all they could say was 'sorry.' No explanation, nothing. Absolutely disgusting.

    Rang sky straight after, getting tv and Wi-Fi (which takes two separate appointments) in under a week.

    Please avoid virgin, I'm shocked at the way they treat people. And how bad their administration must be letting people sign up even when they live in am inserviceable area.

    Disgraceful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband very poor used to be with sky and was told was faster which was false. Every couple of months payment went up against agreed payment plan and no extra services provided so not sure what pavement was. Wanted to cancel and was lied to when we signed up to pay more. Currently fighting situation and customer very poor, really troubled and stressed family situation not happy at all and when sorted would never agree contract again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Enter at your own risk
    Signed up to 350Mb Broadband service with this company and after paying full price for 15 Months I have yet to receive the 350Mb speeds as promised for more than a day since the beginning of the contract!!!!
    Have telephoned over 10 times to complain and after god knows how many hours of discussing the same issue of not receiving the promised speed over and over again Broadband still not working to promised level despite 4 engineer visits to rectify problem!!!! Broadband is typically running between 40-60Mb speeds when checking via Ookla. Have 12-15months of Ookla history to prove broadband speeds hardly ever reaching the bare minimum that is guaranteed by Virgin!!!! Let alone the full 350Mb!
    I am bitterly disappointed with the lack of service and the customer service and exhausted from calling Virgin over and over again without problem having been rectified. Despite never having received the promised download speeds or any kind of compensation for the failure of the agreement!
    My advice to anyone thinking of signing up to Virgin Media is to seriously look elsewhere, in fact anywhere except Virgin, unless you want to be over charged and continuously disappointed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BIRMINGHAM
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have requested switch to virgin in January 2021 but the installation date was postponed two times in Feb and then no installation date given till 20 May. Four months wait for nothing so terminated the never existing service. Very bad customer service and will not recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I will give zero star if I can. Took up 9 months student contact. Problem from day 1. Every time you called, they read from a standard sheet to give you identical answers. Then sent you email once how to improve Wi-Fi. They failed to admit it's because too many houses from our road are using Virgin so slowing down the speed. Nothing to do with my Wi Fi box etc. Useless customer services I will terminate as soon as I can.
    AVOID if you are in a high densely populated area.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Virgin media has always been a great provider of all the packages. My broadband and Wifi went down last night and I called for assistance and the gentleman was very helpful and told me exactly what he was going to do. He then stated it will be back on within 7 hours and true to form this was the case.

    You can’t always blame virgin media as a whole as it depends on the advisor you speak too and in this case he was very helpful.

    Thank you virgin media and I will continue use your services with great Customer satisfaction
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    recently lost Broadband connection. Spent best prt of a day trying to sort this out with a useless number of Virgin staff who were adamant the fault was at the router end which I knew it wan't. Eventually 3 hours later , lost days work it turned out to be a fault at their box causing a very high S/R ratio. This occured on the Tuesday Morning and no engineer available until Friday. I am now unable to work from home having to travel into the office costing me additional travel costs on top of the already lost days productivity and another half day at least on Friday.... Not an appology or anything Awful Customer service....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    there is an obvious problem with my broadband and TV package which Virgin, after several conversations with them, are not prepared to resolve. They claim out of this world broadband speeds but in reality I find them quite slow for what I pay for the service (almost £60)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    A disgusting Corporation with a growing reputation for customer dissatisfaction.
    I have been a Virgin customer for over 10 years, but want out because of the 100's of unwanted pressure calls trying to get me to add more services to my already excessively expensive bill to them each month. When I first tried to cancel ALL of my services they threatened me with a cancellation fee in excess of £700...next time (yesterday)when I tried to cancel with them...the operator grunted rudely, hung up on me and cancelled nothing. A truly horrible company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin are shocking we have had virgin for over 6 years and we are moving into a new flat in which they do not service so we cant take them with us they have said it is in your contract that if they dont service the new place then you have to pay off the contract even though they do not service the new place :S i just dont understand how they can even get away with it, if you want shocking snobby customer service then go to virgin if not then SKY is the way forward
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Crap. At least once a month it breaks. Their online checker always claims all is fine meaning you have to ring the bottom feeders they employ to begrudgingly tell you that your area is having problems and will do for the next two months. Try and fob you off with lies about ‘tweaking settings on your router’. And then once a year it goes up 10%. Utter sh1te.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Ok the broadband is good - From my experience I can't complain about that, But then you have a Tivo box which was slow and hardly ever worked. Customer service at Virgin is so bad words can't decribe it. It's as though they are deliberately trying to loose customers? Used to be great company to deal with but something seems to have gone seriously wrong. On top of this prices went through the roof. I was a customer for over 16 years but was treated with Disdain so cancelled and went with Sky. Wow what a deal and the Q box is amazing. Also when you call they provide amazing service - really top notch. Funny thing: When I cancelled Virgin they pestered me for weeks trying to get me back with deals that they would not offer me when I was a customer of 16 years? Laughable really
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I have to say I joined Virgin media a few years back and then all was good, broadband was fine and more than usable even in peek times. It was tweaked to 30 mbps and still all good and more than adequate for Apple tv and any other computing items and coping well with HD downloads. Early this year Virgin again tweaked the broadband to 50 mbps needles to say to compete with the now upcoming BT and sky 38 mb services and I thought brilliant another tweak in speed and with greater use of Internet tv services and interest in 4k tv through Netflix I was over the moon, sadly it wasn't to be as I started to notice that my broadband wasn't anywhere near doing what it should. I ran tests and found that I was pulling between 0.25-3.5 mbps and this was consistent daily. I reset the router and even changed the frequency as advised buy Virgin and no joy. I left it for a while and thought perhaps it's one of those things but the speed just seemed to get worse so I contacted Virgin media direct... At first they told me there were no issue in the area but after pressing matters they admitted the road needed digging up and they were awaiting permission from the council to do the upgrade then they gave me a £7 reduction which I had to contact them every month to apply to the account and for there problem which they kept under wraps. Even more frustrating were there price hikes.. You get a discount for the issue then within weeks you get an e mail saying something was going up. I have since tried to contact them only to be cut off after waiting on numerous occasions and other issue I had were when my wife left I wad in personal hell and because I was a week late on payment and despite me phoning them they happily slapped a late payment fee and cut me off for a whole 2 days even though I had never had payment issues ever in the past either. I have now had to go down the rout of e mail complaints and filling in online forms which generally I get a sorry and no action taken. Virgin treat there customers in a poor way and as soon as I can I am leaving, if anyone reads this thinking of moving to them then I ask you to go online and check the daily comments on there site on face book and every day you see the same with people paying top dollar fir there 150 mbps service and pulling about 1% of that. I have previously been with sky and although I have had my moans they did seem vastly more pro active in helping and even through the credit crunch after I contacted them to suspend services they managed to sort something out with the monies I had already paid and I paid next to nothing for 6 months but they had never ever suspended services if I had called in. So my advice is " DON'T EVER SIGN UP WITH VIRGIN, THEY SUCK YOU IN THEN ONCE YOU SIGN WILL TREAT YOU POORLEY AND TAKE YOU FOR EVERYTHING'
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid at all costs

    I saw a Virgin fibre broadband deal in August 2020 which I thought I would switch to from my current Sky. I then signed up for Virgin. I was given an installation date of 30th August, and was told that some external work would be done.

    I told Sky about the move, so my broadband ended with them on the 30th. However, on the 26th August I got a text from Virgin saying that they can't now install my broadband as external work has not been carried out. So with just 4 days left, I had to scramble to get Sky to keep my broadband up and til the 18th Septmeber, the new installation date. I received no apology from Virgin.

    On the 17th of September at 9pm, I got a text saying the Virgin Media engineer would not be coming down tomorrow as further work would be required. The installation would now take place on the 9th of October. As my Sky was being cancelled the next day, it was too short notice for them to prolong my internet.

    So now I have no internet access at all. As I work from home and use Zoom nearly every day, this is a massive inconvenience. To make things worse, due to Covid-19 lockdown restrictions in my area, I cannot travel to a family members house to use their internet. I have received no apology from Virgin, so I have cancelled them. Currently I am waiting for Plusnet to install my new broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ABSOLUTE B******S - IF YOU'RE EVEN CONSIDERING VIRGIN MEDIA OR MOBILE, SAVE YOURSELF AND GO ANYWHERE ELSE - PAY MORE IF YOU HAVE TO!

    The internet constantly shuts off for hours on end. They put it down to 'maintenance works. No heads up, no advanced warning. When you finally give in and call, they give you an incorrect estimate for the time it will take to get back online - further messing you about in making alternate arrangements for times when internet is absolutely necessary - doing a masters degree in my case. They refund you at best 73 pence (or similar) as a 'daily maximum reimbursable amount' and have or show no compassion to any of the previous instances you've had to face as a consumer. I'm shocked they are still open and receive new business, a company like this should have dissolved long ago. I warned the representative I would be documenting my experience online to which he said 'you are within your rights to do that'. He showed no remorse in loss of consumers and it became clear, Virgin - as a company, simply do not care for existing customers. I cannot wait to change company, only reason I can't is because I'd be 'subject to an early termination fee' which I am not going to be paying.

    I truly hope if you are not with Virgin and have read this message, you save yourself a long future of poor internet, poor customer service and hours lost on phonecalls with practically 0 resolution.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    basically poor customer service, no clarity, u can forget refunds, poor connection, rude. anything else. well try it and test ur patience with them. no longer will every get virgin, i would rather not have a broadband. useless, utter useless.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.