Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 877 customer ratings since 2023-07-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2,297 Customer Reviews over 58 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Devon
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Sky ru a lyaltiy program whih cthey like to tell you makes you a valued customer, well as a loyal customer of more than 20 years they made little to no effort to resolve issues with our highly unreliable fibre broadband - download speed of 49mbps upload 0.11mbps - how is anyone supposed to operate a modern home using this speed of upload? Sky were disinterested, and almost rude, their advisor telling me to make sure i returned their equipment or i would be charged - well they are welcome to it as it doesn't work ! AVOID if you can
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I've been with Sky for ~8 years. Unlike many people here my connection has been always very reliable and as fast as the cable/attenuation/physics permitted.
    However, one which always bothered me big time with them is that after 18 months they would always try to move you to the "no-discount" rate which nobody anywhere charges as it's ~30% more expensive. Even as a "veteran/platinum" customer I'm treated like an fresh imbecile while new customers are get cheaper deals they my current contract.
    I've always been able to negotiate "discounts" to keep my bills pretty much identical year-on-years. But this year is the first time Sky isn't will to negotiate. Which means 30% increase. Which means Bye Bye!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Frome
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst internet in the world. Not getting what we pay for. They won’t send anyone out to check the problem and constantly blame it on the weather even on clear days. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Martock
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID, do not use this company, the voice hub is worse than useless and I have lost 1000's of £'s worth of business. You can not tell if it is working or not other than not receiving calls like normal!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dudley
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Comments
    Apsolutely disgusted with sky ,I cancelled in October and they have been taking money out of my account ,tried to get my money back but they make up stories . everyone make sure you cancel your direct debit if you cancel with sky. I'm fuming ,won't be having sky ever again .**** internet aswell .virgin much better .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newport
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst Internet experience I would not recommend this company to anyone. I am supposed to have super fast broadband for streaming ect. It doesn't work to the standard that sky advertises. I am coming to the end of my contract in march, I have agreed to a new contract and a upgraded my broadband with sky. However after my experience especially over the past few weeks I will be cancelling that contract and switching to plusnet who have offered me better wifi for a much cheaper deal. No matter how much loyalty I have shown sky for the past 4 years I still get provided with the same old poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hook
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrendous support. Sky makes is almost impossible to reach them for problems as they have this annoying bot that takes you in loops- both when calling and online. The promises made on their speed are a blatant lie and then despite guarantee to not charge if a certain speed hapoen - full price is charged!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BRISTOL
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Started my program on Feb with an advertised price of 25/month, after 2 days I receive an email for an increase to 29 pounds/month. I understand the annual price increases on April but this is misleading and frustrating
  • Reviewer
    Location
    IPSWICH
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We've just gone up with sky but it keeps catching out out they're not very helpful on the phand I don't know what to do because I've only just signed up with him
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible broadband provider. Constant drops (50-100 times a day has been common), speeds that fluctuate massively and issues not resolved for months on end
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Writing this after my hub has broken again thats 2 in 4 months when it works broadband isn't that bad get reasonable speeds. Unfortunately broken twice and need engineer visit both times. Moved house 4 months ago and because my wife is now studying online decided to get fibre Unfortunately sky was not a good option and we have had to get a hot spot account just so my wife can still do her lessons. I wouldn't recommend sky to anyone and im now wishing I had read all the reviews on this site
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sprotbrough
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Oh dear. 22 years with Sky. Diamond VIP: none of it means a thing. I have wasted over 3 hours on the phone trying to resolve an issue started with one of their advisors putting me into an unsuitable contract. I’m afraid our relationship is over and I am now referring the matter to small claims court. I am not sure why they now have such an unreliable customer service team. The representatives all appear very helpful but promises of return calls fail to materialise and undertakings to offer a resolution are not honoured. I would urge anyone with similar issues to take legal action to at least air the matter.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I don’t recommend this at all there speed is ridiculous for all our devices the internet shuts if but the box is still on DONT GET IT!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Preston
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I had been with sky many years and left 2015, joined sky broadband and now leaving, they charged me £8 for leaving 1 day before contract end date. Now sorted with Michael who works from home. Top bloke removed charges.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southend
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had to get unlimited data on my phone as the WiFi keeps dropping out, cat 6 cable hard wired direct to hub is perfectly fine so it must be the hub boxes themselves that are rubbish, got conned into paying an extra £5 a month for sky boost but this does nothing, I will be moving to another provider when my contract runs out, counting down the days
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sandhurst
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Excellent customer service and great prices for loyal customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    England
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    'Tell us about your experience with Sky'? how about you tell me why this broadband sucks butt and cant even go a day without something happening. i got told to leave a review when trying to complain, leave your broadband in the bin you jokemen
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hebden Bridge
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am paying over £32 a month, i am supposed to get 20 megabyte's which continually keeps dropping down to between 1 & 3 megabyte's. Which makes it impossible to do the trading online as i need a steady fast connection. If you are looking for a reliable speed and connection i would not use SKY Broadband!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South london
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really shocking I place an order on 25/11/22 for full package including tv ,phone and broadband I was told that my broadband installation will be on 3/1/23 i was waiting all day no one turned than after making call to them they said we are not coming today .we will update you on the 12/1/23 just received an update that I will get another update on the 24/1/23 for installation date
    After 6 weeks they still cannot give me a date
    Please use other companies for internet
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Terrible service, new customers receive a better price than their long time customers. If you have a problem with the price they say they 'cannot' talk to you about it until the bill that you are unhappy with is paid.. shocking!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I phoned sky about my TV subscription, however they would not listen until that had offered me every up grade on broadband, mobile, phone line, I refused all, having just recieved a new up graded hub I looked at my account to see they have gone ahead and upgraded my service at an extra £7 a month, I have e-mailed them and they are now cancelling my broadband altogether,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Herts
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ha ha Try actually using sky broadband for any Live Stream ..buffers, picture goes out of focus ,sound repeats or cuts out, picture freezes ......having to PAY money and NOT actually able to Watch ..really ????? Shame they can't be done for obtaining monies by deception rather than boring civil crap
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute **** told that we can have upwards of 50 devices connected to the hub without slow down and it's cutting off half of the 16 devices we have on granted we use a lot of bandwidth but we told them that we have a lot of devices connected and need more bandwidth when we signed up so now we have 7 or 8 devices that just can't access the internet and to top it off the ones that can might aswell not be connected because out of the 30 mbs we are paying for we get a consistent 400 KBS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve tried 3 times to get broadband with Sky. Despite receiving a text to say “great news, your broadband will be connected today by midnight”, I’ve had to call the next day to say it’s not connected then someone telling me I can play a new order in 48 hours and it will hopefully be connected one week after I place the order. Why are they not rectifying the issues? Why keep going in circles. Avoid at all costs!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fleet,Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Sky Broadband for a number of years even after I stopped subscribing to the TV package. Never had any problems with the broadband reliability, the router gave good wifi coverage through out my house and a fair way into my garden. Nice to be able to surf while relaxing in the sun.
    I've had very little to do with the Customer Service as everything worked. When I had queries the staff were helpful.
    I moved away from Sky when their packages became pricy for the speed being offered compared to competitors.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Wi-Fi is constantly buffering and then the streams are alway freezing I’ve got fibre and that’s not cheap so we want the fastest. However from the same week we have had problems and called customer support but the problem still not fixed. This service is paid for every month and does not cross reference correct.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We are requesting to upgrade our broadband a mont a go the Friday 23/12 the Open Reach Service came at 13.00 change the cable and the router, then said in 15 minutes the wi fi will be ready, but still not working, we are contact with Sky and they are said the service will be available after the Wednesday 28/12,all these days we are out from the wifi, this is unacceptable, we are very disappointed with these unprofessional staff!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cookstown
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Just got call from sky and boy offered me sky tv , after my answer no thank you he just hung up. I tok that very personal just before Christmas. Why I should continue as customer after that?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely abhorrent.

    It should be embarrassing just how shockingly and horrifically bad the poor excuse for an internet connection that Sky call 'WiFi' is. If you have a Sky TV box and use it at the same time the already poor internet connection ceases to do ANYTHING. It took me two days to install a 2.4MB file...

    There are multiple times every day where I am tempted to take the router and break it over my knee out of pure anger from the fact that Sky have the audacity to actually charge people money for this abhorrent so called 'Internet Connection' - to be honest I don't think breaking the router in half over my knee would do anything to make the connection worse. Spare yourself the money and the headache and choose another provider for the sake of your sanity. Sky is shockingly bad and MAJOR improvements need to be made before Sky can realistically have the ability to call this WiFi.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Sky broadband made 2 appointments with me that we both missed without a call or text to apologise, costing me hundreds due to waiting in and time off work due to a fault on there broadband service.

    This has now been going on for 2 weeks. No calls at all from sky for the past 2 weeks to give updates despite me having to call multiple times a day. Partner works from home which has caused massive issues.

    Communication with Sky is so poor and I believe they have broken GDPR laws as they refuse to accept they sent appointment by text but the text sent knew I was with Sky the time and date of the appointment if they didn't send it the information must have been passed on by them.

    Unhappy is an understatement.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nuneaton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Dont use sky fibre worst customer service ever. Had an open reach engineer Install over a week ago and still no broadband get palmed off between and sky and open reach constantly the middle man they cannot supply broadband so I do not get why they say they can I'm going back to Virgin who can provide broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wokingham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paying for 59MBPS, receiving 4MBPS... Scamming and unreliable. Reached out and was told to change brand. How can we be paying for 59MBPS and not even get 10% of the promised speed???
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    512 full fibre buffering very poor WiFi even with booster great upload consistent but download very poor not worth the money will not be renewing
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunbury on Thames
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Comments
    The WORST SERVICE EVER. Sky fibre is appalling and does not even work. Self employed and left with no internet access or phone line. Do not even deserve one star. Customer stuck in the middle between sky saying it’s not them and Openreach. Appalling!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carlisle Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve been with sky since 6/12/2022 I should of been on up n running with my sky broadband internet n tv my internet as never worked since they put it on can’t get my tv to work properly because it as to be paired up with the internet I’ve tried ringing them u just get a silly answer message telling you to do this to do that n it still doesn’t work I’m going to wait till this Monday 12/12/2022 n if it isn’t working then I’ll go with some one else
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cirencester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    Had no wifi now for over a week and I am told by customer service that it will be another 3 days. meanwhile I am spending a fortune on data for my phone to use it as a hotspot. Truly useless - though they will blame Open Reach as always.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very rubbish, I would give it <1 If I could. It is a absolute scam! Rip off! Jailtime! Bad quality for a ridiculously high price not worth a single penny.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Oversubscribed, unreliable, unhelpful and useless broadband provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Worc's
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Like so many on here that have been ripped off by Sky, I thought I'd add my story and review this tin-pot outfit.

    No-end of drop outs once they put me on their 'superfast fibre' superfast my arse it is. I was first on 59 mb package and lucky if I had 36 to 40 and that was on a CAT 6 direct to the router. I called their, well, what they have they nerve to call 'customer service' and they were useless! This was over a period of 8 months of no-end of drop outs and poor speeds. In the end I took my complaint to CISAS and I would everyone who has an issue with Sky, TAKE THEM TO CISAS, they were very good indeed, backed my claim for compensation and I was now dealing with dedicated Sky complaints dept. Oh yes, their services are that crap they actually have a dedicated dept to deal with their shoddy service.

    I'm currently trying to get the media and BBC's Rip off Britain involved as now they have upgraded me as I wanted to leave them. They put me on 152 Mb fibre to which I average 62Mb on wi fi and 79 to 82Mb on a CAT 6 direct to the router, it's utterly rubbish! To get anywhere near 152 Mb you'd need to be on 500 Mb. With SKY you never get what they charge you for. if you want a 60 Mb fibre package you need to sign up for the 152 Mb to get close.

    Whatever you do, don't bother dealing with the Derby 1 centre, what a bunch of clowns they are there; absolute idiots! When I asked Sharma to put me through to her line manager she went away, came back and said the manager does not want to speak with you. The call was recorded so, go on Sky, I dare you, put that conversation online for everyone to hear the conversation and how your operatives lie and conduct themselves.

    We have all seen the advert for EE broadband where the machine shaves a guy using a blade on their fibre network to shave a guy on the mountain. You've also seen the one where they land a plane from someone's lounge with a 100 devices connected. Trust me, you'd never want an open blade or ever want to be on a plane using Sky's fibre broadband, OMG what a joke. You'd either get your throat cut, or the plane would nose dive!

    I'm about to file another complaint with CISAS and this time I'm done with these cowboys. I shall get my credits that I'm due and NEVER-EVER use Sky ever again!

    How these cowboys can operate in the UK and rip people off like this, it's just a joke!

    Sky is old hat now, their technology is draconian, there are much better companies. If you can get it, go with Hyperoptic or Gigaoptic they have over 15,000 5 star reviews.

    Report Sky CISAS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst broadband and company so far. They will charge you for service you are not enjoying. My broadband is not working and they said I would have to wait for when the engineer will be available and I will still have to pay for the period the broadband is not working. And they agreed the fault is from their side. I will never advise anyone to subscribe to sky

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.